Artisan Fireplace Design Ltd - www.artisanfireplaces.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
1.6
11.0% of users recommend this

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Over priced fires”

★★☆☆☆

written by Jeremiah198 on 17/12/2023

I have just bought a dimplex optimist electric fire, I really should have shopped around as I have found out afterwards that I have paid £ 150 above the RRP it's not illegal to do that but very unusual as most sellers are below the RRP to attract buyers, so if you are looking for a bargain go elsewhere and don't make my mistake, I should have realized when there was only 2 customers in the shop 1 being me lol.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“One out of Ten ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TyroneDaly58 on 08/02/2023

I represent a customer of Artisan and i will share a post in the coming days

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Aviod At All Costs”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ytHoward345 on 19/01/2023

Artisan Fire Place and Design Company . I would like to say I have a beautiful fire place however I have only been left inconvenienced and disgusted by the whole process. Upon visiting the show room I was new to the whole process of buying a log burner and fire surround, the staff were very help full and gave me a lot of advice. The advice though was not always accurate. (a fire surround went from carved stone to poured concrete and the fact apparently they never sale (i asked in oct incase they went into sale jan they advised no and then went into sale on 03/01/23) They helped me pick a fire surround and log burner. It all went wrong was when I asked about installation and the liner for my chimney. This they outsourced however when you go in with a budget my advice would be make sure you get a price before you sign for ANYTHING, the staff advised me a Flue liner would cost £600, however when the company got in touch this figure went to £1400 leaving me in a position where I had to find a further £800. This was as I needed scaffolding. When speaking to the MD of Artisan Fire Place and Design she said “her staff would never give a figure for something they don’t sell” however this was not the case and the sales representiave did on several occasions give a £600 estimate. She even advised she would be holding her Saturday meeting and ensuring no prices of costs be given out in the future. she then went on to say in an email “We do not sell nor fit flue liners - and if asked can only give a rough idea of what they may cost, based on previous customers costings.” however she offered no resolution to the £800 loss I was now having to incur to ensure my property and future proof of my chimney. She did advise following a smoke test my chimney didn’t need a liner, however when I spoke to HEATAS and an IFE Safety Consultant given the heat off the log burner it was advisable to have a liner fitter. I have also been advised that some companies would not fit without a liner for safety. She was rude, un-compasionate and very clearly disinterested in my complaint, it felt like she had got her money and that’s all she was bothered about. She even went on to give the other company a completely wrong story that I was suing her for £800, which in caused them to almost not do business with me, however they did agree to do the work but insisted I pay upfront. Clearly she will happily miss advise not only consumers, but other business’s which might be needed to cause the maximum inconviencene and suffering to customers. Upon review of other reviews of Artisan Fire place and Design it is clear once she has her money she has absolutely no interest in anything further. I have reported Artisan to Trading Standards and would suggest anyone post or currently having issues with Artisan to report them to Trading Standards to get her company investigated for unfair practices. After a final email in which she allegedly passed to her solciotor they finally agreed after 4 weeks to refund my full deposit, however only did this 2 working days before they were suppose to install, leaving me with contractors who I had already booked to carry out work. They also delayed the refund for almost a further week in my view to only cause further delays to me If you do use Artisan Fire Place and Design, Please please please make sure you do all the leg work on any additional costs yourself, and take anything they say regarding additional costs with a pinch of salt as the MD will NOT show any interest in this after you have signed the contract. How they have been there for 23 years (Although Sue will state this is 36 year) is beyond me with the level of service she provides post sale. I am sure as per all the other unpopular comments and reviews left, The MD of Artisan Fire Place and Design will most likely leave a very nasty comment, bring a previous family member/customer or friend into her remarks, or even go as far to say am I sure this is the right company. I WOULD AVIOD

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“After sale service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jazminey309 on 03/01/2021

Had fire fitted in Nov 2018, after a year it was impossible to light. Artisan were not interested and told us to deal with the manufacturer. They said it was a years guarantee. We got nowhere. We paid for a gas engineer to fit new parts but once again these were not suitable and the fire was impossible to light. Cheap products at expensive prices. Don’t touch them. No after sales service, no communication and poor, very inferior products.

Was this review helpful? 6 1

“Excellent service”

★★★★★

written by TSBailiffBridge on 05/07/2020

From the start we found the staff helpful, friendly and courteous. We were kept informed of a fitting date as soon as they were able to resume work following the lockdown. The Fitter rang us and discussed preparation of the room before his arrival. The fitter did a brilliant job taking out the old fireplace and installing a inglenook fireplace and gas stove. Although we incurred a couple of problems Artisan quickly listened to our concerns and couldn't have been more helpful in rectifying them. We could not be more delighted with the end result. Thank you Artisan.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Don’t go near”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Brooky56 on 11/02/2020

As my review states don’t go near this company.Shoddy workmanship by fitter and dangerous.Fire was fitted and plaster boarded round.when the plaster I hired came to plaster he said they hadn’t done a very good job.He said he’d have to remove it as it was loose and couldn’t plaster to it.On removal the lintel that was fitted was loose and only seated either side by about 30mm building regs state 100mm.This being the case whole chimney breast was resting on this.Spoke to artisan and said it wasn’t their problem and i would have to speak to fitter.After many phone calls later work was rectified by a different fitter who did a better job.They sent me a report saying there were no dangerous issues.The chances of a chimney breast coming down mustn’t be dangerous then.Cant wait to post photos of aid work on Facebook. STAY CLEAR WAST OF MONEY

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Only interested in your money”

★☆☆☆☆

written by dqBall1945 on 10/06/2019

After paying a substantial deposit, the balance was paid before they would fit the fire. On delivery the fire did not fit. When the owner was called to confirm the fire was not suitable, the owner gave a foul mouthed response regarding the fitter being paid regardless. Subsequent dealings to find an alternative fire through the company were fruitless, and so a refund was requested. This was refused (in full, not just the deposit), and a lengthy battle to reclaim this ensued. Luckily we had paid some on our credit card and managed to get the full amount refunded through this. I would not recommend this company, but if you do decide to go with them, pay on your credit card just in case!

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“After sales service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 13/04/2019

We bought a fireplace and fire from Artisan in Brighouse in 2016 and were very happy with the service. When our gas fire was due for servicing last September the company rang us to arrange it, very friendly and helpful. When the gas engineer came the fire needed a new part, making the bill over £200. In March this year the fire wouldn’t light and we suspected that it was this same part. I rang Artisan to see if the engineer would come out to look. The rude woman I spoke to couldn’t have been less helpful. She was defensive and unwilling to arrange for the engineer to look at it, saying she would give him my number. Of course he didn’t ring. We had to pay another company to come out and tell us that yes it was this part. However, they rang the manufacturers for us who provided it free of charge. Won’t use Artisan again. I have emailed and written to them and received no reply. Seems a poor way to run a company.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst company ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DaltonPugh on 07/02/2018

Purchased a fire from artisan a year ago.. when it came to selecting the fire and the inspection to see the suitability it was all smooth sailing....once the deposit was paid!!!! Problems started. Delay with delivery. Fitter cancelled etc etc. once delivered and payment was made in full... NOW the real problems start.. once the fitters( who are not employed by artisan: outsourced plasterers and engineers) came in realised that the chimney breast I had and the flue was “” DANGEROUS” I assumed when the initial inspection was made this would’ve been detected. Had to pay the installer in full as he supposedly did the installation internally for which he was asked.. and now wait for another engineer to come for remedial external flue work.. another £600.. the fire worked for 2 weeks.. been ringing artisan ever since.... year later still no action.. please please please refrain from this company.. worst experience ever and £4000 out of pocket.

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Dreadful experience”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 09/01/2018

The mess was disgraceful and be aware that you will have to hire a skip to get rid of the rubble and they do not remove the mess (just create it). Stone was cut on my drive without trying to cover the flags or clean up afterwards. The floor round the fireplace was covered in what appeared to be solvent glue and brick dust and took me 4 hours to clean. The fitter was an angry young man and I found it quite intimidating as a women by myself in the same room as someone muttering under their breath and slamming doors. I had to get the wall skimmed afterwards and the customer service was nowhere to be seen. The whole experience was dreadful and they insist you have to pay upfront so you have not a leg to stand on. Just go somewhere else. Anywhere has got to be better than this. If anyone would like photographs of 'the work', I would be happy to share these as there does not appear to be anywhere here where I can add the photos.

Was this review helpful? 11 0

“Removal of rubbish ”

★★☆☆☆

written by RyanAdkins on 27/09/2016

We just had a fire fitted which was not tested so when I came to turn it on the whole room filled with smoke and set off all the smoke alarms. They also didn't tell us you have to take the crate and rubble away yourself. I feel that now they have your money their not interested. Poor after service.

Was this review helpful? 7 0

“appalling after sales service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Leonel3 on 12/07/2016

Pleased with the fire and the fitters who installed it.Then when the glass front stained and wouldn't clean with the recommended product and the coal bed split they promised to sort it out. A phone call later we were told we would have to pay for it sorting.As it was still under guarantee not pleased at all.They then had the audacity(on the same phone call) to ask if we wanted to pay for a service on the fire!!!!!! Brass faced if you ask me.We certaintly wont use or recommend them again.

K1Tt1's Comment

Written on: 01/02/2018

I think you can put photos on YouTube, shame you can't here.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Appalling after care”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kamren10 on 13/05/2016

No problems choosing and fitting. Fire damaged and broke after 4 months. Despite phone calls artisan are not interested in fixing the fire. Great at taking your money. No customer service, Avoid

K1Tt1's Comment

Written on: 30/01/2018

The showroom is all gloss and smarm. The fitting service and after care are at chav level. I thought 3 thugs had turned up when we were about to have our fireplace installed, it was ridiculous. You can't add photos here, it is a shame. But you could show photos on YouTube. It would be good if review centre will start to allow photos, as this is good evidence of the poor workmanship, and the mess they leave behind. It is a shame to read they are still up to their old tricks, but good to know others dare to speak out about them.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Terrible customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jonessq448 on 18/03/2016

Terrible service. When I complained about the fire to the owner he called me a f"ing c and told me to f off out of his showroom . Fires are nice but the customer service is the worst I have ever experienced I would advise anyone not to go there

K1Tt1's Comment

Written on: 26/04/2016

My advice to anyone dealing with the appalling after-care service from this company is to record every word you have between yourself and Artisan staff from the word go. They never reply by email, they always use the phone because they don't want anyone proving what shameless narcissistic rude people they are.
My guess is they will do well for some time due to the showroom and greasy sales staff, but at some point they will be shamed for what they really are..which is rude, aggressive and couldn't give a damn about customer service or providing you will a decent installation.
I would use a secret camera, if you haven't got one of these use a voice recording device, put them on YouTube...another site they won't allow negative reviews on...funny that!

Reply to this comment

Kimberleybooth's Comment

Written on: 07/03/2019

can I contact you privately please

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Too big to care!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Elsas258 on 06/02/2016

The range of products at Artisan is second to none thats for sure and the team are diligent and know their stuff [so far so good]. BUT when you've chosen your fire and sit dow to discuss the installation in more detail be aware that when the subject of A SMOKE BOMB TEST is raised if carried out this will not only give you information about the condition of your chimney/flue BUT IMPORTANTLY will also be the time the person conducting the test/survey to determine if the style of fire you have ordered will be a straightforward installation or not. Please take this seriously as when we chose our 'Hole in the wall fire' the installation/survey aspect of the SMOKE BOMB TEST wasn't explained at all hence we didn't have one this then resulted in an additional cost of around £600!! which only came to light when the installer had ripped out our existing Adams style fireplace! We were left with no choice but to pay or not have a fire. The fire was fit and we then had to wait over a month without it working until the remedial work could be carried out. When I finally spoke to the owner of Artisan one of his first comments was ' I can tell you now you won't be getting any money back you should have read the small print, we're hardly going to point out there may be problems when we fit a fire otherwise we might not sell any fires! The man continued to talk over me and all he wanted to bragg about was how successful his company was, how many fires they fit and so what if the odd one doesn't go to plan! He had no intention of listening, there was not an ounce of goodwill. The call ended with me saying he was a very arrogant man at which point he said I've heard enough and put the phone down. Wonder if the owner would have spoke like that if we had been his very first customer.

Was this review helpful? 7 0

“Great whilst taking the order, everything after is...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by WillDavidson140 on 27/05/2015

The Artisan Fireplaces staff and showroom appear professional on first impressions, and much is made of their installers' skills and care - even claiming to leave your house cleaner than it was before the installation - more on this later! We spent several thousand pounds on a new fire, huge slate hearth and installation, and were looking forward to our lovely new fire. The main installer (who I'll call The Pessimist as he looked for every excuse to abort the install) first tried to call off the install as we hadn't bought Artisan's own carbon monoxide alarms (we have very posh Nest alarms thank you very much), then the pipe was the wrong size, then our flue pipe MIGHT be too old (he wanted to know it's exact age?!), finally the existing flue pipe wasn't the right type, which needs replacing at the cost of £500 pounds, and is handled by their 'partner' company, flu-tech also based in Halifax. I suspect some kick-backs for referrals to the flue company... Lastly, their claim of leaving the room tidy is an absolute joke - they had one tiny cloth to cover our whole floor with, so I used mine as it's a very expensive restored stone floor. They cut sheet metal INSIDE THE ROOM, leaving shards of metal everywhere. They trod stones into the floor scratching and chipping it, and splashed wet concrete around the hearth - it was a complete mess and is still visible after cleaning. Worse of all were the black finger prints all around the fireplace on our newly decorated walls and cracked paint where the new plate had been crudely hammered into place which required sanding down and repainting. Seriously, it has been a total and absolute nightmare - think twice before you fall for their slick sales patter, the reality is very different...

K1Tt1's Comment

Written on: 30/06/2015

I am not surprised to read another review like this, we were disgusted at the level of ignorance from both main fitter and the company who did not want to address the issues we had with the fireplace. You cannot review them on Yell, they would never submit a negative review on their own website, they tried to remove our review on here. Basically we were warned about them but thought it could be competition between two traders...but oh no. You must have got the same fitter we had...pessimist is just the most fitting word...just a shame they say he is their best fitter...I can't imagine how bad it could have been! All gloss in the showroom and nothing else. Still disappointed we used them as we have to look at the faults everyday which we cannot rectify.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Dreading the Fit”

★☆☆☆☆

written by aogiiosadg862578368256 on 04/09/2014

If the service so far is anything to go by then we are dreading the fitting of our fire. All happy and smiley and boasting what a great company they are while taking the money. Promised fire fitted in 2 weeks when the fitting date became a 4 weeks wait. Only on paying balance were we informed that a delay in Manufacturer delivering the fire would mean a delay of 3 more days before the fit. Only to find on the day when enquiring that the fit would be going ahead that a mix up had been made and it would actually be another weeks delay. Time off work scuppered and preperation of room. A number of service/fixtures and furniture deliveries have been incvolved in our house move only for ARTISAN to be the ones who let us down Big Time! Dreading the fit if this performance is anything to go by or maybe they will redeem themselves. Oh and Check the small print as NO refunds are made allegedly as we wanted to cancel our order.

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Top quality service from start to finish!”

★★★★★

written by Garner1967 on 27/08/2014

I visited Artisan a few times over the last 2 months along with a few competing shops in the area and I must say that even on just first impressions Artisan won me over hands down. From the helpful staff in the showroom to the fitters in my house I can honestly say I was absolutely delighted and cannot praise the team enough! They were patient with me even on multiple visits, offering me advice when I needed it and even cups of Tea! I eventually narrowed it down to a stone fireplace with a stove/ inglenook design which I had previously thought I couldn't have. I ordered my stone fireplace, to my own measurements and booked in for installation. They even did a site survey free of charge which I didn't expect. I must say it is refreshing for a company or business to actually call you when they say they will. The two fitters who came to install were very polite on first impressions and I must say I felt comfortable having them in my house, not what I expected in all honesty. Both of the lads worked tirelessly. There were a few hiccups initially as my old stone fireplace was a bit of a nightmare for them to get off. Everything was finished in a day and they actually tidied up properly as advertised. My only gripe if you can call it that, is my old surround wasn't taken away and even though It was explained to me at the point of sale I still thought a persuasive word to the fitter would have done the trick. All in all though, I experienced a top class service and would be happy to recommend Artisan to anyone. I am now the proud owner of a beautiful stone fireplace and stove, better yet they even used the pictures on their Facebook as an example. Thank you so much guys!

Was this review helpful? 0 6

“Very disappointed with both workmanship and service”

★★☆☆☆

written by AlenaMiranda on 31/03/2014

Artisan claim in their own words ‘there are  none that can match their installations’, this is why we decided to use them.  But our long awaited fireplace was damaged and poorly finished. When Artisan turned up on the day the fitters were  ill prepared, missing tools, screws and wood for the construction, luckily we  had these items in the garage. They also turned up with a short ladder, so they  would not have been able to fit the new flue if we had not been able to assist  with an appropriate sized ladder for them to use. The flue was fitted with a  significant lean to it. The one screw which was meant to hold the flue was not  holding. It has now been taped to stop it spinning in winds. Our beautiful new York stone hearth was used to  down tools, no care was taken to protect the surface whilst the entire fire was  built around it. The surface got damaged and the fitter grinded some of the  damaged surface down so you could not see the chips, but it did more harm than  good. The top layer looks rough and stained due to the grouting used for the  join between the two pieces of stone being left all over the surface, this has  not cleaned off. We contacted Artisan about this and we were  promised a phone call in the New Year for them to have a look at the hearth and  see if it could be cleaned. This phone call never came. Our first review has  been removed, but I feel the customer has a voice, and a company like Artisan  should be able to take the rough with the smooth. We sure as hell have been  left with the rough and are expected to lump it. We were also left with one of the front feet on our  new fire 5mm off the surface, we noticed this when we came to clean the large  amount of grout dust off the surface. An egg cup full was swept up from under  the fire. Not one bit of our installation was cleaned and the fitter only  started to sweep and then went to pack up his van and told us that it is  probably better for the dust and dirt to be vacuumed up, and he left us to it. There are lots of niggling little bits of poor  workmanship, like vermiculite boards roughly cut and nasty edges we have this  to now look at now, not the exceptional finish we thought we were paying for.  The plasterwork is not to a high standard either, given that the fitter used to  be a plasterer; we were surprised he didn’t manage a high class finish. What we  thought we were getting was a fireplace installation like no other, but we feel  any other fireplace installer could have reached this level, and surpassed it  if more care was taken.

Was this review helpful? 4 1

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview