Terrible company & customer service

1.3 / 5
6% of users recommend this
  • Facilities

  • Value For Money

ChristineFoster's review of Spa Breaks www.spabreaks.com


“Terrible company and customer service”

Written on: 14/10/2021 by ChristineFoster (1 review written)

We originally booked our wedding anniversary spa break via Spabreaks at the Old Thorns for August 2021. The itinerary wasn’t to our specifications and this was due to availability at the spa, so we asked for a gift voucher instead. This query took a bit of time but I was understanding and was patient.

Once the gift voucher was issued, we then chose to book at The Hampshire Court Hotel in Basingstoke and had an absolutely awful experience there – I won’t go into the main details now but have left a review detailing it all on Trip advisor.

However, one of the issues here was that Spabreaks sold us an upgrade option to have a 2 course a la carte dinner at the hotel rather than the £28pp allocation towards dinner, but on the day the hotel told us that they weren’t doing it so we had to have the £28pp dinner instead. Very disappointing considering the food was pretty much just sub-par microwave food.

I raised my complaint issues linked to the hotel directly with the hotel, but I was told the a la carte dinner complaint would need to be raised with Spabreaks as the booking was made via them.

I raised a complaint with Spabreaks on the 8th August, and the main reason why I’m leaving this review is because of the awful customer service experience I’ve had with Spabreaks overall, it’s been diabolical the whole way through. Right from the beginning of trying to get a gift voucher issued for the first stay was a battle, and now trying to get a refund (which isn’t a huge refund I may add!)

The timeline is as follows:

• Initial date of complaint: 8th August 2021 (promised a response from Chris Harrison within 28 days)
• I sent various email chases and calls and was simply told on the phone that they would ‘chase this up with the hotel’ I was told this numerous times so it felt like no action was actually being taken.
• Response received from Barry Thorn on the 17th September (day 40) advising that I would receive a refund for this mis-sold dinner within the next 14 days.
• I then replied complaining that the lack of communication overall with Spabreaks was unacceptable, so can they provide me with some form of compensation?
• Response received from Barry Thorn 24th September advising they will provide £40 gift vouchers for the inconveniences
• Chase email sent on 14th September as 14 days had passed and no sign of the refund.
• Email received from Barry Thorn on 14th September advising me the refund will be issued in 14 WORKING days (what?! This was not said previously!) as they have a much reduced team due to the pandemic.
• Chase email sent on the 11th October as this had now been 16 WORKING DAYS since the initial advice that a refund would be issued.

It is now the 14th October which makes it 19 WORKING DAYS since the initial confirmation of the refund. I have since emailed Spabreaks again to say whilst I am entirely sympathetic towards the current situation with Covid (I myself work for the NHS), I honestly cannot believe that I am still waiting for this refund. It's not even a big refund. I am starting to feel like Spabreaks are now deliberately trying to prolong this frustration out of pure spitefulness.

I have advised them that I will not be using their vouchers as I no longer wish to purchase any future experiences through them again and will be leaving a negative review. I have started spreading the word of how appalling this company is too, especially after reading other people’s poor experiences as well.

If this is left much longer I will be reporting them to Trading Standards as this is a case of mis-selling and theft.

Spabreaks – don’t you dare comment on this saying some generic spiel that ‘you require more information’ or anything like that from me as it’s been me contacting YOU chasing this up this whole time and the problem is:

a) Mis-selling something that never existed and
b) You not giving my money back!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0