The City Rooms Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
42% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The City Rooms - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The City Rooms

The City Rooms

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid these people”

Written on: 28/03/2021 by Alessiooo (1 review written)

Avoid this agency After a bit more than one year dealing with this people, my opinion is that there is a luck of professionality, competence, ethic and honesty from this company. To whoever is dealing with them, I can only say that I am sorry. I have been in two of their properties and they were both filthy and in really bad conditions. If you think that there are health and safety issues in the property where you live, my advice is to check what are the minimum standards for the HMOs (House in Multiple Occupation), and if they are not met, get in touch with the local councils. To whom is thinking to rent a property managed by them, my advice is to go elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“A brilliant service”

Written on: 28/07/2020 by Iriannewide (1 review written)

A brilliant service. Viewing was very good. No pressure. Once happy to go ahead service was very good. At first I was provided with pictures of the rooms taken just a few days ago with excellent description of the room and property. Very good that you have access to use the website for bookings, reporting maintenance issues and paying rent etc. I place an offer for a room which later was accepted and it was done. Also so much quicker than any other estate agents I know.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
★★★★★

“We are so pleased we decided to go with the agent at...”

Written on: 24/07/2020 by HuntDarren (1 review written)

We are so pleased we decided to go with the agent at City Rooms to rent our room, I couldn't recommend him and the company more. He is efficient, approachable and has excellent local knowledge. We chose to do our own viewings through 360 videos and it was made really easy. We are very happy with our experience from start to finish and would recommend City Rooms to our own friends and anyone thinking of moving to a room share accommodation.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
★★★★★

“Very reasonable and good agent”

Written on: 16/07/2020 by XiangZenXu (1 review written)

I recently a room with a person from Cityrooms and from start to finish I found him to be exceptionally professional. I initially spoke with a couple of other agents, but found this agent to be very honest with me about rooms, cost and the process, which is why I decided to go with Cityrooms. If I decide to move again in the future, I won’t use anyone else.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
★★★★★

“Great Service!”

Written on: 08/07/2020 by McCurdyzr45 (1 review written)

Great Service! I moved to one of the properties that cityrooms has in central London next to Victoria station and after a year I just move out. Everything went well, from the start until the end. I booked the room with a guy who is a great agent, and after move in we had some small issues in the apartment (boiler problem), but thanks to the property manager we sort out the problem in few days. After a year I can just say thank you for this incredible experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
★★★★★

“I have found the Property management to be excellent.”

Written on: 01/07/2020 by Emmagodwinlorey (1 review written)

I have found the Property management to be excellent. They are always available to deal with any queries in a prompt and polite manner and I could not recommend them in a more complimentary way. I have usually dealt with a person who could not be more helpful in his dealings with myself.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
★☆☆☆☆

“I’ve lived in London for over 2 years and have had...”

Written on: 09/06/2020 by James_Dean87 (1 review written)

I’ve lived in London for over 2 years and have had steady job, but there were people who didn’t one of whom is a friend of mine who is a construction worker, a plumber. He got fired after 3 weeks into COVID and asked me to move in together to save on rent. We found CityRooms by one of their ads, then we met and told the agent barely what we wanted and he showed us some rooms on his PC. We chose one that seem nice and asked how many rooms there are, what the state of the property was and so on. The agent told us that the room has over 22 square meters or 235 square feet and that all money is refundable and we can move out anytime. When we got to see the place, it turned out about 14 square meters and because of odd shape of the room it doesn’t fit two beds there. We decided to terminate the contract, to what the agency wants us to pay the whole sum of the contract. When I discussed it with the manager, he pretended like I made all this up, which seems extremely disappointing and frustrating.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lauranavarroalcon's Response to James_Dean87's Review

Written on: 08/12/2020

what happened in the end? kind of having same problem with them

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great agency ”

Written on: 30/04/2020 by Knobmoormaria (1 review written)

The person I dealt with from cityrooms was just great. He kept us informed throughout the entire process of renting our new room. Due to the current corona virus situation he asked if we’d be happy to do video- viewings of rooms so that we could do virtual walk in viewing and what a great idea from him. Within a matter of hours we had three options to choose from!! He is very friendly and approachable and nothing was too much of a bother for him to deal with. We would highly recommend him to be your agent

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★★★★★

“Just like to say thank you”

Written on: 22/04/2020 by MickAronld (1 review written)

Just like to say that the service I received from cityrooms during renting my room it was excellent especially the help with every stage of the person I dealt with who kept me up to date at all times and went far beyond to deal with my difficulties, he also showed commitment and patience when dealing with difficult times. I fully recommend the person I dealt with and his professional service if anyone is planning to rent a room in London

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
★☆☆☆☆

“Does not return £175 week rent for unfit rental room”

Written on: 18/01/2020 by Savannai155 (1 review written)

On Wednesday 18.12.19 approached Cityrooms through Facebook, Luca messaged me and asked me to come their office in the evening, just before closing time.. He showed me several properties online. I was confused to choose one online without visiting the property. He had a big property on Christmas special. He said the place was great, in a very nice area very close to the centre. They had a viewing for a lady going the following day, but I could see it the following day. I was asked to pay a week money rent and since it was late, I could come with my passport the following day and have a look at the property. I come back on Thursday 19.12.19 in the evening. It wasn't the fantastic posh place that Lucca told me. The room was a big but very busy place in an old council flat with a very basic balcony. The room was occupied by 2 people instead on the single occupancy that was advertised. The place wasn't clean. I had problems opening the flat door, and the room door and then I could not lock it. One of the residents tried to but it didn't work. She told me the outside door was also not opening properly, they did not have either hot water or heating for some time because the boiler was not working. They also had the WiFi on the floor in the middle of the stairs with a cable going across, which it is health and safety issue. I went back to see Luca to return the keys of the property and collect my passport. The office was closed and I met him and other cityrooms staff at the Wetherspoons pub. When I told him that the place was different from the description offered and the facilities were not working, he gave me the email address of his boss, Giovanni to get my money refunded. He said he would also talk to Giovanni. On Saturday 21.12.19 at 13.39, I emailed Giovanni a short version of the situation and I received an email back asking for the full address of the room that I booked. On Saturday I had to referee some matches and when I replied at 4.23pm and I received an automated email saying he was out of the office on holiday. Since I had no further responses, on the week starting on Monday 6/1/2020 I called the office number and Luca several times on his mobile, and on WhatsApp. On Thursday 9.01.20 at 15.16 I got a message from Luca saying that said he was busy and couldn't talk. He seemed surprised that I did not get any replies yet. He asked me to email Giovanni again. He said he would also talk to him. Straight away I emailed Giovanni again at 17.21, I and went to visit him on Monday 13.01.20 in the evening. After one hour wait, Giovanni spoke to me. I want the £170 that I was asked to pay for a week rent to view a property that it was not fit for rental purposes. No other properties were propose at the time. I have been 4 times to their office is not always easy and I have been putting a lot of time and effort from my side. No other accommodation was provided

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
★★★★★

“The experience I have had with cityrooms completely...”

Written on: 08/01/2020 by 175Lamb (1 review written)

The experience I have had with cityrooms completely changed my opinion of Agents. In particular Naira worked tirelessly to ensure my renting was carried out in a stress free, friendly, yet extremely professional manner. Having had bad experiences in the past with estate agents it was remarkable how far apart the standards are between the service I received from a number of estate agents to that of cityrooms and Naira. If I need to rent another room Naira will be my first port of call for an honest, reliable, friendly and hardworking agent!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★★★★★

“Excellent experience with Cityrooms”

Written on: 02/10/2019 by Finnegan263 (1 review written)

I had an excellent experience with Cityrooms in renting my first room. My agent Giovanni was incredibly helpful and was able to answer any questions I had throughout the process as well as being extremely flexible for viewings. In particular. 5 stars indeed

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
★★★★★

“I am in the process of renewing the tenancy, the...”

Written on: 26/09/2019 by EdithMiranda387 (1 review written)

I am in the process of renewing the tenancy, the team has been 1st class in discussing, arranging and sorting out the renewal.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 3
★★★★★

“Great work all thank you ”

Written on: 29/05/2019 by Joliev381 (1 review written)

We are currently renting with City Rooms and I have no complaints whatsoever. Their offices are really cool and relaxed. Their service is 5 stars.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 3
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid City Rooms!”

Written on: 25/10/2016 by 318Jorgensen (1 review written)

Do not go anywhere near City Rooms! I wish I read the reviews prior to my experience with them. They are awful, rude people that only care about taking your money, and as much as they possibly can. They will lie to your face to get you into a contract, which they will then continue to lie about later. They increased the prices after 3 months, after telling us this wouldn't happen - forcing us to leave the property and find elsewhere to live. They rip you out of a deposit, which they also take a considerable time to repay (way longer than they say). They are awful at replying to emails, constantly forwarding you onto other people & never taking responsibility for themselves. The staff are the rudest i've ever come across - shouting and being abusive over the phone. Mouse droppings were also found when we moved in, cleanliness is something they are clearly not aware of! Overall, avoid City Rooms at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 11 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible and probably breaking the law. AVOID”

Written on: 07/08/2016 by AngsMaulik (1 review written)

Called the agent on Friday afternoon, he insisted I decide if I want to take the flat and commit, becauae he has to come a long way. This is even before having seen the room. When he arrived the next morning he asked me if I knew where the property was as he did not. Insisted we put down a holding deposit £300 online on his phone then and there outside the flat, without a contract or anything at all. Long story short, went over to their office to finalise paperwork, the agent tried to shout at me when my card wont work before I put him in his place and told him to behave professionally. Then the icing, the agent demanded "£20/- in cash" "for the girl at the admin office" if we wanted the keys the same day. This is because we should "look after" her because she was helping us. Walked out then and there, but heard the agent mention without a hint of irony or shame how he has wasted the entire day trying to show me the flat.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 10 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST AGENCY EVER”

Written on: 04/08/2016 by Vaughnrr84 (1 review written)

This agency has no respect for its tenants and will try and rinse you for every penny possible. Reading all of the other negative review I really to feel for anyone else who has had a similar experience to myself. I was a tenant for them for over 3 years and seemed to be the only person who cleaned up and looked after the flat for that time. When I first moved in the flat was disgusting. The Bathroom was covered in mold and the kitchen was covered with rubbish and the fridge full of moldy food, which I just cleaned up myself in the end. I also found that they never have any intention of giving back the deposit and will make up so many excuses to not refund it. I gave the agency over a months’ notice when I was leaving and asked if they would waive one of the fees as we had issues for months with the boiler (multiple weekends with no hot water) and they also did nothing when there was an abusive flat mate who was physically and verbally abusing me on a daily basis. They don’t care about your safety. Jorge stretched out the whole process so I finally accepted the charges but because I complained about him, he said he wouldn't accept my notice and I now had to pay 4k in fees and rent and was going to take me to court. I have left the country so he can't do anything to me but also said that he is happy in the fact that I won't be able to get a mortgage in the UK as he will ruin my credit rating. What a petty man. He also keeps accusing my boyfriend of living there without any proof apart from what the abusive flat mate said.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 9 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID THEM at all costs!!!”

Written on: 22/06/2016 by 251Wade (1 review written)

Avoid CityRooms at all costs! From the very beginning their lack of communication, replying to my emails very late, having to call up to 5 times a day, several times a week just to have certain things sorted out, things that THEY were responsible for (no internet connection even after 6 weeks of moving in etc.). They're rude on the phone and lie to your face, that's why I'm now only using emails so that I have proof of our conversations. They charge you for every little thing and they spam you with emails even 5 days prior to the payment due date (in spite of always paying my rent on time), while their website online payment system is always faulty and gives errors - they once charged me twice and took me 2 weeks to get my money back, while having to pay overdraft fees to my bank because the double-payment caused my account to go into overdraft. I had to call several times a day, every single day for 2 weeks to get my money back and every time there was someone else on the phone because they were trying to avoid me. They're an unprofessional, rude, low-quality and poorly managed letting agency! Will never use them again and will tell everyone about their poor services and high prices!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 9 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Deserves less than 1 star”

Written on: 14/06/2016 by ALIfantastic (2 reviews written)

If I could give less than 1 star, I would. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. No one likes their tenancy manager/landlord in London, but these people are completely below par: money-grabbing and insincere, they are badly managed by what little senior members of staff there are, and subsequently provide awful service. Over the span of 12 months, I have lived with over 10 different people - the ones I currently occupy my flat with are filthy, ignorant, rude, low lifes who shouldn't be allowed to co-habit with anyone, least of which full-fee paying, respectful tenants. I have had no internet access for over 10 weeks and no reduction to my rent or any opportunity to fix the problem. They are ignorant and not at all helpful. Probably understaffed too, as I never receive a reply from the same person.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 9 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cityrooms took all £945 of my deposit without...”

Written on: 20/05/2016 by Irelanda244 (1 review written)

(If only I could give no stars) Cityrooms only care about money. We lived in a flat with a disgusting flatmate who'd smoke all around the house, as well as blocked up all the sinks and drains with either food or hair. After a unsuccessful attempt to speak to the flatmate myself, I escalated the issue to cityrooms as they suggested in the contract. All they did was send an email (with possibly the worst grammar and spelling ever) to all flatmates and called it a day. The flat was run down when we moved in. The bath was leaking through the ceiling, many things were falling apart, the heating hardly worked (especially in the winter!), and we were without internet for 3 months. When we asked cityrooms for help, they'd barely replied. In the rare occasion when they did reply, it took them weeks, if not months to solve an issue. When we finally had enough and decided to leave, they made sure that the fees were a few thousand pounds so that we would not leave. To top everything off, they decided to take all of our holding deposit, which was £945 without even letting me know. The only reason I found out was because I chased their highly unprofessional manager, who could barely speak English. It was so difficult to understand any of his emails and when you ask for clarification via email or phone, he was extremely reluctant to help.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
overview