Industrial Scripts - www.industrialscripts.co.uk Reviews

Industrial Scripts - www.industrialscripts.co.uk
★★★★★
4.7
98% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Industrial Scripts - www.industrialscripts.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Industrial Scripts - www.industrialscripts.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“The course I purchased was so lousy, I could see it...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by FranciscoKoch on 26/01/2020

The course I purchased was so lousy, I could see it from the moment I signed in to retrieve my purchase. I asked for a refund within 10 minutes of my purchase because I knew I made a huge mistake. They told me they won’t issue me a refund and then they ignored me. $240 down the tubes just like that. They have terrible communication and make it impossible to get hold of them. They take your money and then ignore you. I never used the online course and never will, but they still refuse to refund me. Furthermore, I did some digging to find out who they are (because they have no transparency on their website) and it ends up they hire film school students to do their “professional script doctoring”... a far cry from a qualified professional. Stay away from this company. 

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Novel writing "course" a waste of $39.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by SirBuckosGhost on 10/05/2015

A friend suggested I buy a Groupon for Industrial Scripts' online Novel Writing Course. It was supposedly a steal at $39US rather than the customary $680US. I bought the groupon and signed up. The first thing I noticed was that the course isn't a course at all. Instead it is a series of thirty-odd web articles. Yes, there are a few questions that see if the reader comprehended the web article. That does not make it a course. The second thing I noticed was the horrible typos. These are typos that scream out: "I have never been published!" Why on earth would a person take advice from such a sloppy author? As an example: "you" and "your" and "you're" are frequently misused. As another example, the author speaks about "peaking your interest." I want my money back.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Highly recommended”

★★★★★

written by on 10/02/2014

On each occasion, I have been impressed with the level of detail adopted in the review of my ideas and storylines. The feedback is both highly constructive and instructive.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Certainly above-and-beyond the call of duty”

★★★★★

written by Tineluss on 04/12/2013

I've received my Project Analysis in no-time (8 days). Professionals at Industrial Scripts certainly went well above and beyond the call of duty, providing me with more information then I've ever hoped to receive. Not to mention I'm so very happy they've found my title well worth pursuing. Project overview is very clear and to the point, even with a sound advice on how to make the story better and even more appealing to the broad audience I'm hoping to communicate with. Notes work through the acts pinpointing the strong and weak points of the story. OK, I'm proud to say, in their opinion, I've had no weak points, except for one small glitch at the end that can be easily repaired. And the Conclusion leaves no place for doubt: this analysis is done by true professionals and I'm certain to use Industrial Scripts further down the road with my initial draft, as well as recommend them to anyone in need of similar services. Thanks, Industrial Scripts.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Review of screenwriting for beginners 1 day course (29/10)”

★★★★☆

written by on 30/10/2013

The day was intense but so very informative and I learnt so much. The course tutor had a great sense of humour and kept the pace going throughout. It is a long day and you don't stop writing from the start to the finish of the day. I think it would have been helpful a few weeks before the course to have a list of the films that would be referred to during the day as some of the films I hadn't seen in 30 years! Otherwise it was a brillant day and demystified the craft of writing for screen. I would 200% recommend the course to anyone wanting to write for tv or cinema.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Script writing for Beginners - Straight up and very...”

★★★★☆

written by on 29/10/2013

The course was intense and a lot was packed into the day. Luckily the tutor maintained a good pace, humour and managed to keep this up for the whole day which was impressive. The tone was very informative and not patronising or slushy - this was practical on the job advice, from how to construct formal story arcs to working successfully with agents. No bones were made about the script structures expected by the industry. Fee structures were skipped over a little as we ran out of time and perhaps we could have done with one or two handouts - or a simplified PDF to cover the key points from the day emailed after the course. Otherwise I would highly recommend this course to beginners or eternal procrastinators.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Everything America - Highly informative”

★★★★★

written by on 28/10/2013

Overall - I found it incredibly insightful as someone yet to acquire real experience in the industry. It was concise, informative and the person we spoke to was particularly helpful and willing to take questions during and after the course was finished. Some of the material you get given as part of the course has no price on it and it really puts the realities of working in the US in perspective. With regard to the format and delivery of the lecture, I have no real criticism either. It was a very friendly atmosphere too. Very pleased considering I missed Chelsea/Man City for the occasion.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Intensive, constructive and jolly good hard work....”

★★★★☆

written by E1WLondon on 28/10/2013

The day was busy and very dense... a lot of material was covered and it was very informative. Issues of construction, character and format where well exemplified. The difficulties and heart ache of being a writer where not shied away from and you are left with no illusions about how difficult the business is. The only reason this doesn't get 5 stars from me is simply the fact that a hand-out would have made the day a bit easier. The excerpt of 'Dark Knight' when played would have benefited from a hand-out to us of the script related to the scene. The OHP didn't cut it as it was impossible to read from the back, and the few pages that would have been given out would have been brilliant reference material for us beginners to take away. Also a lot of time copying down the course material could have been saved with the offer of a hand-out or the chance to download the course work from a website after. It did go through my mind that a large class kept busy copying can't be asking too many questions... (which there wasn't time for anyway)! But I did get to ask all the questions I wanted answering and the tutor was very well prepared and informed and the delivery was clear and concise. The other not so important downer, was the less than easy booking process. I would recommend Industrial Scripts Screen Writing for Beginners to anyone who is seriously considering writing for a living. Well worth it.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Screenwriting for Beginners review”

★★★★★

written by rhonalou on 27/10/2013

This was a fantastic day. Our course tutor was extremely knowledgable, and the course material was fascinating and brilliantly delivered - he made full use of every minute available and was a brilliant tutor. I would recommend this course to anyone with any interest in the film industry and storytelling in general.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Everything America Seminar”

★★★★★

written by Chris1975 on 26/10/2013

Really professionally put together session - very useful for anybody looking for a really pragmatic seminar on how to approach attempting to break in to the LA / American market. Even if you think you know it all, you're sure to learn plenty here you hadn't even thought to think of.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Use them....Brilliant Service....Well worth the money”

★★★★★

written by Seanscottgriffin on 25/10/2013

I sent my TV Drama script to Industrial Scripts, it was over the allotted page allowance (which is why I needed them to review it in the first place) and they let me send it in via the Standard Coverage Report for Feature Films service. Great. 1) They got back to me within the 10 days. 2) They sent me 6 pages of feedback and I found 90% of it exactly what was needed, I agreed with nearly all of what they critiqued and in fact was a bit taken back by the detailed analysis of the consultant, they really knew their stuff and saw every bit of subtext and homage/reference. This gave me confidence that the person reviewing was clearly very good, I have used other script consultants who missed all of the deeper elements, so it was great to finally find a consultant who firstly got the story and secondly were able to critique, this gave me a real confidence that if I follow their advice my script will improve. The other 10% which were commented on were elements which I plan to develop further into the series (but they were not to know this). BUT what I can read into this is that I should pay attention to that questionable 10% for the viewer to understand their will be development further down the line. 3) Has given me a second wind and confidence to dramatically alter the script, I have learnt a lot from their critique, I am not a professional writer yet but do work in the film industry so I will take everything on board and I am positive that this will improve my script and me as a writer. Use them.....it's worth the money.....I will be using them again.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Good Constructive Criticism”

★★★★★

written by harbinmac on 22/10/2013

RE: Coverage Report / 7 day service I e-mailed my screenplay on the Monday and received the Coverage Report on the Saturday. The feedback is very useful for further developing/honing the screenplay. Would thoroughly recommend this service for any writer wanting solid, constructive criticism and advice. (Especially when you’re fed up staring at the screenplay on your computer screen and need someone to help you get back to work.)

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Thank you so much for your feedback!”

★★★★★

written by bg1977 on 12/10/2013

I sent my first draft feature script in for the Dry Run analysis from Industrial scripts. They responded within 2 weeks and provided extremely valuable feedback regarding the rewrite of the next draft. I was given honourable mention status for this present draft. I am really grateful for the feedback and with this advice will rewrite and hope to develop my script to a recommended version. thanks!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was an intensive...”

★★★★☆

written by on 30/09/2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was an intensive day of listening, learning, watching and discussing everything Film & TV - it was right up my street. Not once did I look at my watch to check the time. I was impressed with the course tutor and the detailed course notes that accompanied the session. When I left, I felt well-informed and well-equipped with plenty of contacts to have a serious stab at script reading professionally.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A brilliantly structured course!”

★★★★★

written by on 30/09/2013

A truly superb course which was worth every penny spent. I was a little apprehensive initially but the lecturer was patient and extremely helpful. The people there came from varying backgrounds and it was a great opportunity to network. While the course was highly in depth and intense, I felt as though I absorbed much information. Being a writer what I learnt was already familiar to me but the second half of the course dealt with trying to find paid work as a script reader, which proved invaluable. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very helpful!”

★★★★★

written by on 30/09/2013

This is a great introduction to script-reading. It gives an overview of the main considerations when approaching a script as well as very useful course handouts and additional information. The tutor was engaging and knowledgeable and delivered a lot of information in a short space of time. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Effective Script Reading at Industrial Scripts”

★★★★☆

written by on 27/09/2013

In a field rife with charlatans and "experts" without a single successful film credit to their name, this course stands out as a genuine article. Industrial's sponsorship by Curtis Brown and Paramount was the clinching factor for me. Our Course Tutor ran through a comprehensive overview of not only the precise mechanics of script coverage but the basics of story structure and the key components of a good screenplay. Examining clips and an anonymous screenplay with plenty of participation from a diverse bunch of attendees was stimulating and well orchestrated. This course works well for would be script readers and new writers who need to understand potential story pitfalls and the examination process that their screenplay will be subject to once submitted. Course material was good although the contacts list, inevitably, was not as up to date as it could be.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Script Reading Course”

★★★★★

written by LauraLeanne on 26/09/2013

This is an interesting and informative course! The full day passes quickly and with ease. Although, don't forget to take a snack for during the day (your tummy might grumble before lunch). The day offers a snap shop look at script writing with an insightful focus on UK genres. The writing exercise after the course is by far the most valuable asset - having a deadline to work to lets you know if script reading is a suitable profession to pursue on the side of your original career. In addition, the contact sheet gives you a battle plan of action!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“An Informative and Enjoyable Course”

★★★★★

written by on 26/09/2013

The course deals with every aspect that someone aspiring to become a Professional Script Reader would need to know, beginning with what makes a good script, moving onto what makes a good script report, an overview of the British Film Industry, an analysis of a script and then the best ways to gain employment as a script reader. The course tutor led the day enthusiastically, speaking very articulately on every aspect touched upon, giving clarity and a deeper level of understanding to those things you think you know a lot about, such as the key elements to storytelling, whilst also keeping the day light and engaging. As a student you are required to read a script before the day, which is very useful because, once the tutor has been through what makes a good screenplay and good script report, you, the pupil, are then asked to apply this to the script everyone has read. This is a great way of re-inforcing what has been taught and clarifying the difference between thinking you know what makes a good script and having to argue your point in a professional and relevant way. The course also provides you with a script to read and report on afterwards, in order to obtain feedback on your work which is an invaluable element to the process. All in all this was a fantastic course, which I would recommend to anyone who has an interest in becoming a script reader or is trying to write screenplays for submission to professional script readers.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent introduction to script reading and film industry”

★★★★★

written by on 24/09/2013

Excellent and detailed course explaining all the elements needed to become a proficient and professional script reader. The course notes were exceptional and the enthusiasm of our tutor was a treat. I particularly liked the post-course homework option to enable you to obtain feedback on your own example feedback on a script. I thoroughly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning more about script reading or taking their first steps to becoming a professional script reader.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by JUANantonio on 23rd March 2014 Report this content
Hello, please can you tell me, where to get an screen righter, for my book, I need it to make a manuscript for film, thank you, waiting for your reply, Mr, Juan.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content ReiGreen Written on: 24/03/2014
Hello Juan, you can post an ad on castingcallpro website and other screen-writers networks/websites. Is your book already published?
Report this content ReiGreen Written on: 24/03/2014
Sorry I meant filmandtvpro.com and not castingcallpro.
Report this content ReiGreen Written on: 24/03/2014
i meant filmandtvpro and not castingcallpro
Report this content Mariannedwards Written on: 24/03/2014
Hi, You'll find guru stuffed with great writers doing work for very reasonable rates indeed. Also odesk. Stage 32 is like facebook for film bods, and there you'll be able to see a range of samples and characters and get a feel for what the writers are like as well as which themes they like to work with. Good luck. 
Report this content ieuanwatkins Written on: 25/03/2014
You could try the Writers' Guild of Great Britain- go to their website - saying that you are looking for a screenwriter (Note the spelling). Good luck.
See All Answers
overview