Carter Glass Ltd, Rochford, Essex Reviews - www.carterglass.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
82% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Carter Glass Ltd, Rochford, Essex - www.carterglass.co.uk

Carter Glass Ltd, Rochford, Essex - www.carterglass.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Misting of glass in door”

Written on: 27/05/2022 by hmAnderson238 (1 review written)

Carter Glass fitted a front door for me in 2016. Recently (March) noticed misting and as supposedly guaranteed for 10 years. However,after numerous attempts to receive a repair, no one ever contacts me and just makes up feeble excuses as to why they never respond. Like door, do not like after sales service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Replacement Windows - excellent.”

Written on: 07/04/2015 by ahandmjr (1 review written)

We can thoroughly recommend Guy and his team at Carter Glass. We had all windows replaced in our bungalow without any hitches or complaints. The ordering process and fitting was smooth, there was no damage whatsoever, and the fitters were pleasant and worked hard. The finished product looks lovely. We had leaded windows plus a new front and back door and are delighted with the results. There was nothing we didn't like, everything was as we would have wanted, from politeness and efficiency to the look of the windows and doors at the end. In our opinion, if you are thinking of new replacement windows and doors, look no further than Carter Glass, you will be as delighted as we are.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant service”

Written on: 16/03/2015 by Rggardens (1 review written)

really pleased with service received from Carter Glass, they have been really helpful and professional, providing quality products that we are so pleased with. We really like the personal service that you get from this friendly local company. Brilliant after sales service as well, would definitely recommend Carter glass.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Perfect Patio Door”

Written on: 02/09/2014

Having used this company very successfully years ago to replace our back door (no problems with this unlike our front door fitted by a different company), we had no hesitation in choosing them to replace our wooden patio door with a modern unit. Every element of the process has been trouble-free: the quotation was transparent and good value, fitters turned up punctually on the agreed date and were friendly efficient workers who left no mess and gave helpful advice, the door (which has been in place for 9 months) slides smoothly and shuts properly. There is a genuine desire to get the job right and a commitment to treating the customer with respect and consideration.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Simply the best. ”

Written on: 27/06/2014 by GeorgiaB (1 review written)

I can't speak highly enough of Carter Glass. I have had new double glazing all round which was installed proficiently and within a very reasonable time scale. Absolutely no mess for me to clear up, which more often than not needs to be done after workmen have left. Great guys that carried out the work. Would recommend Carter's to anyone whether it's a big job or small. I cannot think of anything I was not happy with(even the weather was good).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Updating my old leaded lights with double glazed units”

Written on: 19/06/2014 by YoselinPerry (1 review written)

Guy Carter knows leaded lights, so when I wanted my old ones upgraded I asked him for advice. I knew there were various techniques used, but most had problems. Guy has a good technique, and I had a "walkpast" one of his previous installations nearby. which looked real, so I just said I wanted "the same as now, but double glazed, please" and left the design to him. The work was duly carried out on shedule - the men just got on with it, and cleaned up afterwards. THE RESULT WAS JUST WHAT I WANTED. Guy had made some subtle changes, such as increasing the size of the window area of the front door to make the hall as light as it had been before, but they were so slight that my son did not notice any changes until I pointed them out. I have looked over the window frames carefully and the construction looks near perfect. The coloured windows themselves are an exact copy of the previous design. They look exactly like leaded lights from the outside, and as near as you can get from the inside. Expensive? A little, but I am only going to do this once! I can look at the windows every day and think no more painting rotting wooden window frames, and my house still has the charm of old-fashioned leaded lights! I am well pleased.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“job well done”

Written on: 31/03/2013

the chaps have done a great job, were so pleased. thanks very much.i would highly recommend carter glass to anyone

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Carter Glass- Brilliant”

Written on: 25/03/2013 by Clivebruce (1 review written)

I had most of my windows and porch door replaced by Carter Glass. [name removed] was really helpful when is came to selecting colours, frame types and he reproduced my stained leaded lights to perfection. The fitters were great, always polite, worked non stop and very informative. Totally trustworthy. I would go back to them without hesitation for any future work and I recommend them to anyone considering having windows, doors or soffits and guttering replaced.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rayleyitte's Response to Clivebruce's Review

Written on: 01/04/2013

agree with above comment men were brilliant and windows look brill.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Absolutley superb!”

Written on: 19/03/2013 by DanTheBeeMan (1 review written)

I cannot believe the difference that our new doors and windows have made. We moved into our house last year (2012) and the double glazing was, at that time, about 15 years old or so, so it wasn't completely from the stone age, but we knew that (a) it looked horrible, (b) some of the glass had cracked and (c) it was easy to break into - as a burglar proved!!! Guy's quote was within budget (always a bonus), far cheaper than the others and besides which, I personally prefer using smaller local companies, rather than larger more faceless ones ... I know, but it's my hang up and so I'm entitled to it :-) Fitting date was within 6 weeks of ordering, the job took 3 days and the two fitters could not have been more efficient, polite, tidy and helpful! The first thing we noticed was the dramatic reduction in noise (we live on a fairly main road) - I won't say that we can't hear anything from outside, but we are truly flabbergasted at the difference. The second thing we noticed was how much warmer the house is - it takes a lot less time to heat up (previously it took about 3 hours to heat our house from 18 to 21 degrees ... now it's under an hour!!! ... even when it's been snowing in March!) I genuinely cannot recommend Carter Glass enough ... in fact, I'm so impressed, I've even bothered to write this review.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great Service ”

Written on: 04/02/2013

We used Carter Glass in Rochford when we had all new windows and doors supplied and fitted and have been so pleased with the product and the excellent service we received. The company are a family business and we found this gave us a personal but professional service. When the fitters came they were friendly and they left no mess. We were genuinely very happy with the service we received from start to finish. Would recommend Carter Glass to anyone who wants a smooth process and great windows and doors.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Using Carter Glass was shambles. A terrible, terrible...”

Written on: 26/10/2012

Using Carter Glass was shambles. A terrible, terrible experience which I regret every time I have to look at the dreadful doors and windows they installed and the damage they caused in the process. I wouldn’t recommend them to my worst enemy. I have four box files of ongoing legal documents, surveyors’ reports and building control letters to show for it. It’s going to take me at least another two years to pay for the correction work to sort out the damage they did to my home. It’s heartbreaking. Every single day it’s heartbreaking. I foolishly hired them not knowing they’d changed hands within the family. Apparently Junior has taken over the business from Senior, and thus the problems. And a quick check of Carter Glass's free and publicly available company accounts at Companies House webcheck shows you the poor financial state of the business, so you can’t sue them for their shoddy work - you’ll win, but won’t get your money and expenses back, they’re too broke to pay out. Do yourself a big favour and go with any one of the hundreds of other companies out there. Install the windows yourself if you have to. Save yourself the tears, hassle and expense this lot brought into my home

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dangolding's Comment

Written on: 11/02/2013

This is utter hogwash!

I know this person and what she is claiming is 100% false.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Peguinuk's Comment

Written on: 05/03/2013

I'm with you on that, they've been great.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ahandmjr's Comment

Written on: 07/04/2015

Ignore this review, too many good ones to take any notice of one dodgy one frankly. There is always somebody.

I can only speak from experience. New doors and windows installed last month, absolutely brilliant, see my review.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Clivebruce's Comment

Written on: 11/03/2013

I have just used carter Glass for replacement windows and soffits and facias. They were brilliant, superb workmanship at a very reasonable cost. Guy reproduced my stained glass fanlghts perfectly. I can't believe that the comments above are about the same company.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 4 Comments
overview