Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey Reviews - www.adolescentdogs.com

Surrey, West Sussex & Hampshire, GU6 7SG
★★★★★
5.0 / 5
99% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Description (provided by business)

Adolescent Dogs offers residential training to clients all across the UK and group training classes in Surrey. They have a team of 10 experienced instructors who are able to offer expert tuition using positive, proven methods. The residential training programmes offered are of the highest quality. Your dog lives with the instructor in their home and all training is done out on a walk for a more realistic and stress free training experience. The level of training and aftercare provided is tailor-made to your requirements.

Media Gallery for Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com

Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com
Adolescent Dogs Residential Dog Training & Classes Surrey - www.adolescentdogs.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Excellent training and a very happy dog”

Written on: 05/09/2022 by Phillips07 (1 review written)

Our English bulldog recently had 3 weeks training and we couldn’t have asked for better results or more from the trainer. We were updated daily with pictures and videos. Not only was it great to see her progress in training but also to see how happy she was and how well she was being looked after. The trainer worked on key issues for us which included interaction with other dogs, being over excited with people (jumping up) and recall. We have been so happy with the results and have had follow up support since our dog returned home to give us the confidence to continue with the training. We would highly recommend.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A truly wonderful dog training service ”

Written on: 01/09/2022 by Vickiedoy (1 review written)

We honestly can’t recommend adolescent dogs enough. We first met the trainer about 8 months ago when we were struggling with our nervous puppy and signed up to 6 one to one sessions with her. She has been so kind, patient and understanding of our situation and used positive methods which have been invaluable to getting our dog through adolescence to where he is now. She spent time teaching us why we were doing certain exercises and how to apply them to real life and both us and our pup have grown in confidence during the time we have been working with her. After we finished our 6 sessions we have gone on to do a few more one to one sessions to check our progress and she has provided us with more tips and tricks we can be using. Not only that but she has been on hand with any hiccups or questions we’ve had a long the way. We will certainly continue to use adolescent dogs as our dog grows up and would recommend them to anyone thinking of getting a dog or needing some guidance with training.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Life changing!!”

Written on: 21/08/2022 by Tiff2022 (1 review written)

Hi, Adolescent dogs are amazing they have helped me change my life. I am autistic, and have a lot of struggles. since joining adolescent dogs and having them help me train clara to be my assistance dog I can’t honestly tell you how much easier my life has been, yes I still struggle but no where near as much as I did before me and Clara joined Adolescent dogs. What’s so good about my experience with adolescent dogs is that it’s all online, you can even do the certificates online too (the PA one needs to be done with them or your local trainer.) They have so many videos about teaching tasks and just teaching youto have a highly well mannered dog in general. Furthermore, they even do online programs like how to walk to heel. So yeh, overall I honestly can’t thank adolescent dogs enough, for always being there for me and literally just everything.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Amazing Service”

Written on: 15/08/2022 by BecKavanagh (1 review written)

We have just returned from 2 weeks away to a spotless house and two very happy dogs :) They have looked after everything so well. They kept in touch and sent photos and a couple of videos. They helped with some basic training as I have a very excitable Cockapoo and gave me advise so I can maintain and build on their work. He even mowed the lawn for our return and did some general garden tidying!l up. We are booked up again. For next year and can’t wait for August 2023.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent Pets and House Sitterd”

Written on: 24/07/2022 by foKenney110 (1 review written)

We have never had a pet sitter before and just came back from a two weeks holiday to a spotlessly clean and tidy house house and very well behaved dogs. Not only were my dogs well taken care of, my 40 odd koi fishes and plants were in superb condition on our return. Both of them are absolutely lovely and trustworthy people. We would highly recommend them to anyone who is planning to go away. We will definitely be using their services again and again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Amazing! Accessible! Supportive! ”

Written on: 07/07/2022 by Aliveround (1 review written)

I am signed up with the adolescent dogs online owner trained assistance dog programme, and was fortunate enough for my 14 weeks old Springador puppy to be gifted a residential stay with a trainee trainer, the trainer has worked wonders- before going on residential my puppy was too aroused/overwhelmed by the outside environment to take any treats, she was hyper all the time with no off switch and her ears were not listening, let alone any kind of obedience. She’s come back a new dog, still anxious and head shy, but all stuff I can now work with her on now that she taking treats. Her emergency stops, down stays are incredible, her recalls are sooo much better ( we have clear instructions and goals to get them bomb proof) and all the foundations are set for us working together to become an awesome team. The trainers are supportive, non judgemental and are happy to be contacted even after handovers are complete. I feel a huge level of respect for all the staff I have encountered both through the online academy and the residential. I can’t rate adolescent dogs more highly and I can’t thank them enough not just for me, but for all the past and future people and pups that are gifted a residential stay. It truly is life changing the work that they do, and having that gifted from money poured directly back in from subscriptions to help people who need it, is incredible.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING”

Written on: 28/06/2022 by KateGoodman (1 review written)

We recently used Adolescent dogs for House Sitting for our 3 lovely dogs… Having never used sitters before, I was apprehensive. But once I met them, all my fears were alleviated. They were so natural with the dogs and I instantly saw a difference in how my usually barky, jumpy dogs reacted. We have a very large breed dog, and again, they were so natural and unphased by her size which was so refreshing, as I’m so nervous of her being so big. She put my mind at rest and sent amazing photos and videos throughout the time we were away. The training during the few days we were away was phenomenal, I came home to calm, non jumpy, non barky dogs. Plus, My house was absolutely spotless, she had gone above and beyond to clean it. She gave us some top tips on how to continue with the training and it is still going well. I would absolutely recommend adolescent dogs for training and house sits… so so pleased I found them online.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Pet sitting in our home”

Written on: 26/06/2022 by EmmaJMoore (1 review written)

We recently used Adolescent Dogs Pet sitting services where they looked after our dogs in our own home. They were absolutely amazing and we cannot recommend them highly enough. One of our German Shepherds isn’t easy, but they were great. I had regular updates and photos and our house was spotless when we got home. Will definitely be using them again. They really went above and beyond.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best thing we ever could have done. ”

Written on: 20/06/2022 by Drossashby (1 review written)

We enrolled our little 1 year old Pomeranian, Peanut, for a 3 week residential training. And the results are just amazing!!! We got daily updates with photos and videos showing us all the training he was doing. Our biggest issues with Peanut were his jolting from side to side when walking on lead, barking like crazy at our doorbell and he gets very distracted when on walks by other dogs and people. She worked well in getting these bad habits sorted and has taught us how to keep up the training. Best thing we could have ever done for Peanut (& us).

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“4 week residential stay at Adolescent Dogs ...”

Written on: 15/06/2022 by 459McLean (1 review written)

I sent my 18 months’ old Cavapoochon Cooper for a 4 week residential stay to build on his ongoing training and for confidence building in general. Cooper is nervous around strangers; visitors to the house, strangers coming to close to him or even engaging with him. He generally responds very well to training and enjoys it very much. I was hoping that even the new environment he would have to find himself in and having to interact with many new people would help build his confidence. I did not expect to get back a changed dog, after all it is a living being and it is not possible to know beforehand how a stay away from his usual environment affects him. He was away for 4 weeks and it took him pretty much 4 weeks to completely settle back in after coming back home. All in all, I think his stay away achieved what we had set out to achieve. His trainer, did a very good job with him. We went back a couple of weeks later and Cooper was beside himself when he saw her. He definitely needed the 4 weeks there for the training to be effective, as it took him a little while to completely settle and be comfortable in a new environment. Cooper definitely gained confidence around strangers in general. Whilst he knew most of the commands before training, she has really helped us to actually apply them properly which makes all the difference. The 'let's go' cue works perfectly when he is on the longline and off leash. ‘Under’ and ‘middle’ are super helpful in cafes, on trains and in other tight spots. With training consistency at home, he is continuing to make progress.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Thrilled with housesitting !!!!”

Written on: 09/06/2022 by Shazzamoore1234 (2 reviews written)

We have recently had the pleasure of them housesitting our Bengal cat Simba and Miniature Pincsher dog Rufus whilst away on holiday. I would highly recommend this to anyone considering this option, we couldnt have left Rufus and Simba in better hands. We have always had struggles with Rufus and some of his behaviours, with the help of a residential stay a few years ago, we are now able to not just enjoy but love our walks with him, she has now tackled some further issues in the house with Rufus's fussy eating and barking at guests. We are really happy, and to top it off we came home to a very clean house....... 5 stars from us : )

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Adolescent Dogs is just incredible! Alfie spent 3...”

Written on: 06/06/2022

Adolescent Dogs is just incredible! Alfie spent 3 weeks with her. We knew there would be lots of ongoing training required but we still very very happy with what achievements he had made in his short time with her. The main issues we wanted addressing were his loose lead walking, his recall and also his focus on us during walks. Alfie made huge improvement in all of these areas. Although expensive the money we spent was very well spent. Alfie is a happier dog when out and about and we are much happier out walking him. Thank you, we really can’t thank you enough.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best decision ever”

Written on: 12/05/2022 by AzariaEgan (1 review written)

We sent our labrador puppy to be trained and it was the best decision we ever made. Now she is 2 and the training still shows. She has perfect recall and beautiful manners, friendly to our other pets and sometimes I'm actually embarrassed how well she behaves. We were worried about sending her away but actually I think she had the best time ever, it was like going to a 5 star all-inclusive with the best activities ever, and there were no issues with reconnecting after her time away.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I feel much more confident”

Written on: 13/04/2022 by Spookysista (1 review written)

My 8 month labrador had a four week residential stay to work on her impulse control, lead work and distractions. I received regular pictures and updates, and a full detailed report each week of her stay. The trainer was friendly and understanding of my needs (my labrador will hopefully become my assistance dog) I live a 7 hour drive from the trainers however they have a driver who offered to transport my dog for a reasonable price and I made a long weekend out of her collection. Hand over was detailed with demonstrations and plenty of opportunities to ask questions, as well as follow up messages and emails checking on our progress. I am hoping to book her in for further training later in the year to advance her training and look at starting public access. Cannot thank the team enough!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent and positive training for my reactive...”

Written on: 06/01/2022 by Laacoon (1 review written)

We sent our Otterhound off for residential training with a trainer from Adolescent Dogs as his reactive behaviour towards other dogs and people had become impossible for us to control, especially in confined spaces as he is a big boy of over 55 kilos. Apart from the trainer's consummate training skills, he has a real passion for and understanding of complex issues that can cause difficulties for nervous and fearful dogs like ours. Henry soon relaxed with the trainer and they bonded exceptionally well which gave him the basis to start giving Henry the confidence to stop his reactive behaviour and relax and enjoy life in a much more positive way. The communications he offered to us during the training to emphasize the changes and the strategies he used were excellent and the handover at the end of the 6 weeks provided us with the framework to modify our way of behaving which is helping us build on the success of his time away. We cannot recommend the trainer highly enough which is probably best emphasized in that he is having our latest addition to our pack for a 4 week " working holiday " starting next week

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Absolutely amazing!”

Written on: 29/12/2021 by NalaSmith (1 review written)

Absolutely amazing training by Guy the trainer, he had my dog Nala for a 4 week residential and the transformation is absolutely amazing, she now walks to heel, she sits & down when told, she settles when told. All these things will help towards getting Nala trained to be my assistance dog, Guy is amazing! The online academy is absolutely brilliant always available for help & advice I really can’t recommend them highly enough! My dog was a nightmare to walk before if she saw other dogs or people she would bark lunge & pull, not any more she’s an absolute dream now. I’m a quadruple amputee and lost my limbs due to sepsis after contacting adolescent dogs to ask if their training could help get my puppy trained to be my assistance dog they gifted me a 4 week residential stay, honestly I can’t thank them enough & I’m blown away by the transformation Guy has worked miracles! I can’t thank or recommend Adolescent dogs enough!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent, highly recommend”

Written on: 20/12/2021 by Connolly485 (1 review written)

Our puppy stayed with them for 3.5 weeks when we went away and we will definitely use Adolescent Dogs if we go away again, he had a fantastic time! We spent a lot of time looking for places he would stay that we felt comfortable with and Adolescent Dogs proved to definitely be the right choice for us. He learnt a lot of new skills with the trainer and apart from him absolutely loving training, it has also given us really useful techniques to use with him when out on walks and around the house. The communication before, throughout and after his stay has been really great, the trainer has still been on hand to help with any questions or concerns as Raff settles back in to life with us. For us it was really important that he stayed in a home environment and not a kennel, and it was clear that he was integrated as part of the family whilst he was there. We have started to use the academy lessons to build on his training, such a great resource and I like that the dogs in the videos have not been pre-taught the skill. Thank you so much to the trainer and Adolescent Dogs for looking after Raff so well!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“First-rate online training academy (VIP membership) ”

Written on: 28/11/2021 by TeamMona (1 review written)

Attending puppy classes proved a nightmare with my reactive spaniel (probably made her worse). Over the next 3 years I spent a fortune with various high profile, online training programs, but with limited success. I was at my wits end when I came across Adolescent Dogs, summer 2021. Distance precluded the possibility of residential training as we couldn't commit to 6 in person follow-up sessions, so I signed up for the online academy. The transformation has been amazing. We have experienced a step-change with leash walking, recall, leave it and reactivity. We can go for walks now without constantly pulling, we can see squirrels and turn to look at mum, we can see a cat and not lose the plot and can pass people and dogs with the right techniques. The online academy is brilliant value because all the lessons are available to work through at your own pace and it's monthly, so it's not a massive up front financial commitment. The trainer's video lessons are superb: her presentation style is calm, friendly and easy to follow. It's like having a one to one only better, because you can view it again and again and really study her mechanics. You can also geek out with husband on his live chats through their Adolescent Dogs FB group and the community is wonderfully supportive. For me, the cherry on the cake is footage of the trainer  and other professionals putting the skills into practice, so you can actually see what it looks like in the real world. I literally channel them instead of being me... and it works! Where there was frustration, constant management, disappointment, embarrassment and resentment, there is now joy and optimism and the love has come back. Thank you tot eh trainer and her husband,  you've changed my life with my dog.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Phenomenal puppy training for our Cavapoo”

Written on: 24/10/2021 by Lottiethecavapoo (1 review written)

I sought out Adolescent Dogs because we had a little 7 month Cavapoo puppy who stated to guard things as soon as we got her and would growl and start to snap if you tried to take things off her. With young children, I wanted to stop this early before it got worse and so I made the tough decision to send our puppy away for 2 weeks. I'm so glad I did because Lottie's trainer has just turned our lives around completely! We have gone from having a very reactive Cavapoo, to a calm, relaxed, obedient dog who is a joy to have around. Her trainer had such a natural empathy and obvious love for dogs that I immediately felt happy to leave Lottie with her. She sent daily updates, photos and videos so we were part of the training journey and saw first hand the training and progress she was making and most importantly, how happy and loved Lottie was. Being in a family home meant that she could train Lottie in a similar environment, plus gave Lottie the security and care she needed. She was so obviously happy there which was why her results were so huge. The aftercare and support since Lottie has been home is outstanding as well. Very grateful in finding Adolescent Dogs and especially the specialist trainer we had. Will use them again in a heartbeat.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant, adaptive, efficient training delivered...”

Written on: 12/07/2021 by CrystalSanctuary (1 review written)

I have used the Adolescent Dog team for four of my dogs across a ten year period now. I have trained with them through residentials, one to one sessions and online too finding great benefits across all access points. They have helped train our family pet in basic manners, healthy socialisation and additional things like fine tuning toilet and crate training. They have trained my autistic daughter an emotional support dog with specific tasks. They have also supported owner training my last and my current dual trained disabled assistance dogs. The way they not only look at a disabled individuals struggles but actually show how to train from a wheelchair for example by sitting in one as they do realising first hand struggles we have I’ve never experienced anywhere else and I have tried other trainers and assistance dog training support groups. I cannot put into words the difference that has been made to my life not only by what these guys do but in how they do it, forever grateful to be given back some independence and control over my life.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview