The Bridge Centre, Basingstoke Reviews

Click here if this is your business
The Bridge Centre, Basingstoke
★★☆☆☆
1.8
19.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Bridge Centre, Basingstoke - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Bridge Centre, Basingstoke

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Incompetent and utterly useless”

★☆☆☆☆

written by unOliver327 on 22/01/2022

After waiting almost a year to see them. I received their report it was full of inaccuracies, words I had never even said. If your suicidle they dont care what do they do refer you back to your local GP. No wonder there are so many suicides these days. People are not getting the support they so desperately need. The whole of Hampshire crisis and mental health teams should be ashamed of themselves.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Incompetent and Negligent!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by CKnibbs on 14/01/2022

My wife has been a patient with the Bridge Centre for over SIX months. At best they are incompetent and negligent. They are an overpaid suicide watch service! They have FAILED to create a treatment plan to teach my wife coping mechanisms for her mental health issues, the FAIL to attend meetings or phone when arranged, and the Psychiatrist has prescribed drugs that conflict with my wifes high blood pressure and heart issues, both drug treatments putting her life at serious further risk! The Psychiatrist is supposed to call regularly to assess my wifes progress, but her last appointment in December was cancelled, so it has been over 2 months since last contact!! The Bridge Centre manager needs to be SACKED! The word 'manager' in the job title is an indicator of the job responsibilities and those are being FAILED. The Psychiatrist prescribing drugs with any due diligence for pre-existing conditions should have his licence to practice psychiatry and prescribe drugs terminated, and face charges of gross negligence! In desperation my wife called iTalk, who immediately suggested CBT treatment and other ideas for coping mechanisms (within 1 weeks and two telephone calls). Sadly my wife cannot proceed until she is signed off the list with the above bunch of useless idiots!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“What patient care”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Me1991 on 15/07/2021

Having fought to get reassessed after a lot of fobbing off the assessment was the same as the first, not heard from them in months, don’t listen and the assessment write up painfully inaccurate and not worth the paper is written on. Couldn’t even be bothered to argue this one filed in the bin and given up with them. If you don’t fit into a neat little box they don’t listen and can’t get professional to accept I may have some insight into my own mental health. Let down again left to cope on my own again and to be honest, don’t even see the point in talking to them anymore.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Very Lucky”

★★★★☆

written by ShearPassion on 17/10/2019

I was extremely very lucky to get under the support of the bridge centre in basingstoke via NHS funding. I have reoccurrent depression & have really been struggling these past couple of months. I have just completed my 2nd session of CBT group therapy & am extremely grateful for the help & all the "tools" I'm being given to make life a lot less difficult & dull than it currently is. The only thing that I'm not happy about is that I have now seen 2 different Doctors/psychiatrists instead of being under & seeing the same one every time, which I thought would have been the case the very 1st time I attended but unfortunately it was not. Not many people find it easy/ let alone want to & have to explain (every time the doctor/psychiatrist changes) to numerous doctors/psychiatrists the reason as to why they are there & I am one of them. I would really like & appreciate it if I was given only 1 Doctor/psychiatrist that I could stick with & that I will be guaranteed to see every time I have an appointment there as having to start over again each time they're different, as to why I am under the Bridge Centre & all the difficulties I am having in life, I really don't like doing. I find it fairly difficult to open up as it is & have always bottled up my problems so far for 34 years, so having to start over and over again explaining why I'm such a mess & can't deal with all the stress, heartache & rubbish I have in my life to a different person each time I have an appointment really is frustrating. On the other hand it is nice to know that I am under the best place in Basingstoke to help me, instead of being stuck with awful I-Talk who really don't know their butt cheeks from their faces, let alone be experienced enough to help people with serious mental health problems & that's after you've been on their waiting list for almost 2 years!! With the CBT group therapy I am currently doing once a week for 6 weeks, it is really nice that it's only a small group with 6 of us including myself, so it's not so scary & uncomfortable when you have to speak and it is also very comforting to know that you are not alone in your battles, that we are all somewhat in the same boat & are there for one another if needed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Staff are rude, and show very little compassion.”

★★☆☆☆

written by Haynes16 on 02/12/2017

My regular consultant psychiatrist left after supporting me for almost 4 years. We had a very good rapport, and a great support network set up between myself, my family and my consultant. Everything was working perfectly. I was moved over to a new consultant, and that caused great anxiety for me as i do not cope well with change. I was assured by my previous consultant that he would leave notes to make sure the set up i had would not change as it was stable and working well. Surprise surprise! This new consultant completely ripped apart everything i had to support me beforehand, created so much stress for me that i have now gone back to harming myself after 4 years clear, and i recently ended up in the general hospital after overdosing. My mood is dropping fast and i have very little support. I have tried to tell everyone at the Bridge Centre (including the consultant) that things needed to stay as they were, but no one has listend to me, or it seems, to the notes my previous consultant said he had left! I am now drifting backwards in regards to my mental health and no one is bothered at the Bridge Centre. I have been given a CPN, who i have only seen twice and i have just been informed that my new conultant is moving departments. So i now have no consultant, and a CPN that i cannot speak to. The crisis team/out of hours team are beyond a joke, and i wouldn't even waste my time calling them for help. Their standard response when you call them is either "Have a cup of tea", "Have a hot bath", or "What do you want me to do?". The staff at the Bridge Centre have destroyed all my progress over the last 4 years by simply not listening to me.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 9 0

“Lack of intrerest, support and a waste of time.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jayleen1948 on 31/05/2016

I have never know a service that has very little interest in helping and supporting people with mental health issues and which have suicidal intentions and wants to end their life. When you phone for support the answers you get from the crisis team is 'What do you want us to do, Dismiss what you say, read a book or going home and discuss it with your Doctor on the next appointment' so you are left days or weeks with no help and support from anyone. When l have been in A&E from a overdose hoping to die you are promised you will receive help and support from the Crisis team weather it is from the Bridge Centre or Parklands and all you have is broken promises and most of the time nothing ever gets followed up by anyone. People promise to phone you back and know one does after a A&E discharge. They are rude at times and puts alot of the problems back on the patient and leaves you feeling like its all your fault. Parklands staff are just as bad. My Doctor is the only person that cares about my future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Much Improved Bridge Centre/ Consultant”

★★★★☆

written by MarlonBain on 04/04/2016

For many years the Bridge Centre was of very little help to my bipolar/manic depressive daughter. It was a case of change to unsuitable medication and no more appointments under the consultant she had been seeing which resulted in two in-patient treatment for several weeks. At last, eighteen months, ago a new consultant took her on and what a difference. He has found suitable medications, sees her every few weeks, and we can call upon a Psychiatric nurse from the centre for advice if required. My daughter is a new person!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Total waste of time”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Stokes291 on 17/02/2016

After waiting since May last year to get any assistance, it was recommended after many visits to the doctors and chasing via phone that I was `lucky` to be seen. I was handed 6 bits of paper to work through.... No parking, absolutely disgusting how someone with problems can be `boxed` into a hole and labelled without any proper help or treatment. The Parklands centre also was less than useless and surprise surprise the original (excuse) for a Dr who said he had diagnosed me had left.... after calling the police on me.... the police said it was disgusting how he goaded me on the phone and no charges were bought. The NHS is a sham also the muppets that control it are out of touch. I am now suing the Southern NHS for institutional neglect.... I suggest you do the same.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Left us alienated and demoralised”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ramsey125 on 26/10/2015

I don't know even where to begin with this review. The support and treatment for my partner from the bridge centre has been absolutely dire and left our whole family in crisis and still we are waiting for some help. My partner who has PTSD from horrific historical abuse was placed under the care of the crisis team at the beginning of April 2015. After 3 weeks he was transferred to the care of the bridge and assigned a care coordinator. We have only seen this person 4 times during these incredibly long months and my partner still remains trapped in his own home and unable to go outside of his front door. We have written letters, made phonecalls, requested psychological assessments and still NOTHING has been put in place to help him move on. I would like somebody to tell me what we are meant to do? This is now affecting our whole family dynamic to the point I was referred to the bridge centre for depression. Waited 3 months for an assessment and told there was nothing they could do to help. Where is the care in the community? Where is the parity of esteem between mental and physical health? Where is the heeding to the NICE guidelines? Where is the supporting the client in their journey of recovery? Maybe, just maybe you need to listen to what people are saying to you because I truly believe that people are dying because as a service you JUST DONT GET IT!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Spiteful, passive-aggressive desk-clerks.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DoctorsareNOTGods on 08/11/2014

After being promised by the Bridge center, a call to further my assessment, I waited in vain for two or three weeks. Eventually I phoned them and was promised, by the erstwhile 'Prudence', a return call... which never came. I waited a few days and called again and was again promised by Prudence, a return call... which never came. I began phoning every day and was told time and again, by Prudence, I should wait by the phone for a call... which never came. Eventually I gave up and frankly came damn near to hanging myself. I returned to my G.P. who contacted them and eventually they eventually deigned to return my call. I have no doubt at all that the desk clerk, who would be more suited to working for British Telecom, was exercising her passive aggressive instincts and confusing her role with one which her personal feelings were required for. She and every NHS employee who believes they have a right to impose their personal feelings on service users, simply because they have nowhere else to go, should be quickly and cleanly disposed of. Thank you Prudence and may the pathway of your life be strewn with cow-pats.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“the only place to go, but best avoided!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Morrisonco3 on 24/09/2014

It seems that the staff at Bridge Centre are more concerned in gathering statistics, dishing out medications to mask a patients problems, and writing the next chapter of their Psyciatric Care book than they are at actually helping, diagnosing and curing (for all intents and purposes) their patients. Rather than prescribe medicines to mask a patients problems, surely any Mental Care team should provide *physical* support for the patient on a needs-tested basis - for example, a person with severe social anxiety will only be prescribed medicines to releive/omit the anxiety felt. This acheives NOTHING, that person will _never_ overcome their social anxiety sat at home, alone, popping an anti-anxiety pill every night to releive any anxiety symptoms. A vast amount of one-to-one interactive support and social interaction course frameworks MUST be provided alongside the medications to provide a wholistic treatment that WILL, eventually, prove far more useful than a single medication. Alas, The Bridge Centre do not see this simple solution as a probable offering, for what reason only they know. Their philosophy is, in a few words, "take this medication" and "we hope you get better soon". Although i'd recommend everybody to AVOID THIS PLACE like the plague, the catch-22 here is that there IS NO OTHER centre providing Mental Heatlth support in the region so we have no choice...go figure!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“What an awful place”

★☆☆☆☆

written by meadowlark64 on 01/08/2014

This place has gone down hill, they moved the crisis team then after a year of spending all the money on doing it up, then decide it's not suitable so plow more money into making more room for staff to come back upto the Bridge centre from where they first came from . It seems they can make wasted funds available for staff to be accommodated , yet reduce services and cut staff hours to a minimum so they cannot give the duty of care to their patients . When they make their decisions they don't think of the trauma it has on patience ,they are just NHS numbers and all the good done by good staff has all been undone by the ignorance of management. I really do sometimes wonder if they really want anyone to get well and not keep being referred back into the system. Shame on you Bridge centre ...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Supportive and very helpful team.”

★★★★★

written by karlito1 on 27/06/2014

After being referred, by my GP, to the Bridge Centre I was offered an appointment for assessment very quickly. The whole team were very helpful and supportive. I feel I was listened to and offered a variety of different options meds wise. I have to say I feel 100% better than I did a few months ago! I think they are doing a fabulous job under very difficult circumstances.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“felt let down”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Rossce364 on 20/04/2014

when someone is feeling suicidal, and has been told they will get a phone call everyday to keep in touch, and doesn't, it doesn't give them much confidence. lack of communication between the team and also other health services, having to repeat information that is not easily said in the first place, to many people, and not having just a select few but talking to 7 different people. none of them knowing the information i have told the person before them. not taking my needs into account, not reliable, don't answer when in crisis. makes me more stressed, and more anxious, and makes me less inclined to ask for help.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Poor service and intimidation”

★★☆☆☆

written by zeyphod on 17/07/2013

Possibly I didn't receive a typical service, I couldn't tell whether my CPN actually wanted me to get better as there was a lot of talk of excessive medication despite it's bad effect on me. Due to intimidation from the psychiatrist at the time my nerves were shattered and at this time the CPN told me there was no alternative but to see this particular individual. I now have a very nice nurse, a wonderful psychologist and am about to leave the service. The difference was staggering. Please don't undermine patients and respect their personality. It is also worth getting information from the person suffering as a friend or family member as some of the websites I've seen contain sweeping generalizations on symptoms and prognosis. A less domineering approach with an open mind helped me feel like life was worth living and helped me feel hopeful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Data, not people.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 10/09/2012

some issues are not mental issues. some are emotional. altho emotional issues might exacerbate mental or physiological issues (physiological issues are physical symptoms, caused by mental or emotional issues)


During 2 years and a few stints, the 3 phrases they didn't tell me which would have helped me more than anything they did, are "adrenaline, fight-flight, panic attacks".

My experience and impression of them.

They came across as more interested in writing the next chapter of their book. Helping people overcome their issues seems like an also-ran. They seem to treat people as research, not people to help. I've talked to people with pens who love this place, I'm guessing because they get to compare someone to page 20 of the book.

When I had a meeting with them, it was more like a board staff meeting. Not something suitable for someone who may desperately need help, and wants to express themself. It was more "ok whats the problem with you then", not "how can we help". I waited weeks/months for 2 or 3 'assessments', and they gave me the wrong treatment. I got questions which weren't relevent, and crucially didn't get questions which were. Meanwhile life passes by.

They prescribed CBT for me, which wasn't the right thing for me. They prescribed it because CBT is the latest industry buzzword silver bullet. How to describe the purpose of CBT quickly... CBT is for when you are fit for work, but you're scared of travelling to work because you're convinced you'll get hit by a meteor.

Anyone this applies to - if CBT does not work for you, it might *not* be your fault. It might be that CBT isn't the right treatment for you. CBT is just the industry 'thing' right now.

At each bridge centre session they ask you to rate various things about yourself out of 7. Somehow, there is the misguided concept, that if one week you are 26/30, and next week you are 24/30, this means you have obviously got better. What a lovely bureaucratic world we live in where the details of a persons life can be accurately summarised by a number. Its beyond scary.

They could have the approach of "we are doing a very important job which could help people, so lets do it properly and well'. No. Their approach from receptionist to professional was "we are the only people doing this, so you'll do it our way, on our timetable."

If you go through the process, you will understand why official understanding of mental (or emotional?) illness is so poor. It's because they really don't give a rats about peoples situation, they just want 'data'. In fact....maybe my experience of them is so poor, because they were looking for data collection on mental issues, when in fact they should have been looking for emotional issues.

In conclusion; avoid this place at all costs. Except you can't, because there is no where else to go. So in conclusion: no wonder mental/emotional health in thie country is useless. Because the 'clinics' are more interested in writing books, than helping people. Which is fine if you want to be a leader in a subject while at the same time being useless at it. Meanwhile there are umpteen un necessary benefit claimants and more being prepared around the country.

The one good thing I could write is that the entrance is at the back of the building, so you don't have to walk into a mental health place in full view of the road.

Here's an idea, rather than the moment people walk thro the door handing them a questionnaire which asks things like "how is your sleeping", instead of that, howabout asking them "do you know whats causing your problems". Sleep and anything else might just be a symptom. Try finding the cause, rather than spending ages analysing the symptoms. Problem first. symptoms later...

but then "getting data" is the most important thing....right ?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview