Ebor Leisure World Reviews

Ebor Leisure World
★★☆☆☆
1.9
21.0% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ebor Leisure World - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Ebor Leisure World

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Fantastic service!”

★★★★★

written by WendyJG on 20/01/2023

We made our first trip to Ebor Leisure World last week with our Motorhome, having just moved to this area. The staff could not have been more welcoming. Representative was especially knowledgeable and sorted our problem out while we waited. Very efficient. We enjoyed our visit and will be back as regular customers from now on. Thank you to all the staff.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fantastic friendly customer service”

★★★★★

written by Toddy61 on 19/10/2022

Have dealt with this dealership on many occasions over the last 15 years and always had great customer service. The sales team are always really helpful. The ladies in the accessories dept are always really knowledgable and helpful. Wouldn’t consider going anywhere to purchase a caravan.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Excellent customer service ”

★★★★★

written by PeterDykes on 29/08/2022

I was on my way to Scarborough for the week, and was heading to Ebor to have some warranty work done en route. My 13 pin cable had been trailing on the road and had worn through and every time I pressed the brake an alarm sounded in the car. I realised I had a big problem . It was Saturday pm. I thought this is the end of my week’s holiday. I was quite close to Ebor by now and continued on to them to get my warranty work done, thinking there is no way they are going to be able to sort this cable out on a Saturday. I was wrong the guy in the Service department could not have been more helpful, unhitched my Van. And took it to the service bay. He said he could do a temporary fix had they had no 13 pin cable in stock. Less than an hour later I was on my way again. With an appointment to have a permanent fix after my Holiday. FIRST CLASS CUSTOMER SERVICE. Many thanks

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Shocking lack of customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 05/07/2022

Went to Ebor last year and rated 3 stars. Today went to Ebor and if possible would have given 0 stars. Wanted to have a look inside the motorhomes but they were all locked. Asked shop assistant who said to find bloke in a white shirt who would unlock the ones we wanted to look in, we found a man in white shirt who said he worked in service and couldn't help. Looked outside not a single person about. Went back into the shop and was told that assistant couldn't contact anyone as they don't carry phones. As I pointed out as we were leaving I will not be back to make my CASH purchase. Still we were allowed to walk away. Also they are CLOSED on WEDNESDAY!!!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Don't waste your money ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Seadancer1 on 21/04/2022

Been twice now should have gone on gut feeling from last time I went went into shop to buy new electric single pin hook up And waist pipes for new caravan look around for equipment but couldn't find them went to counter there was about 4 people wondering around shop sales assistant total ignored me When she did decide to speak told her what I needed aw I think there on that isle there but I don't no anything about them A chap spoke to me ill show you what you need at last I thought someone Who nos what they are talking about when we got to plugs they didn't have any turns out the guy who help me was a customer. What a joke of a shop won't be coming back all u You customers go somewhere else don't waist your money

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Rudeness beyond belief”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Dissatisfiedtotally on 21/03/2022

Called in to potentially buy an awning - got passed to an ‘expert’ sales assistant who obviously had no conception of customer service or the goods in store. Took said person a good five minutes to give requested attention and was then completely unhelpful - not willing to discuss inclusion of any extras in the deal ie: storm straps, told us all awnings were 250 depth when specific one we were enquiring about was 200! Needless to say, lost sale and won’t be visiting again. Absolutely shameful.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Dreadful service. Shameful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LaylahO'Sullivan396 on 25/01/2022

Having bought our campervan in May it took nine weeks to be registered. The handover was shambolic, turned out the fridge had not been connected and there was a fault with the hot water system. Customer service is pretty bad with no one getting back to us, no calls returned. Sales team telling us they are so busy. Not something a customer wants to hear. It took three and a half months before they asked for the campervan to be taken in for repair and a three months later we have been told it is finally repaired. In effect Ebor York has had our campervan more than we have and as compensation they offer a free service. Shameful.

Caravanman1213's Comment

Written on: 13/02/2022

Makes you wonder how it passed its gas check.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Don't waste your time, with these clowns.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Diggermart on 25/12/2021

I have never seen a company so disorganised in all my life (70yrs). The Shop is not too bad (3/10), but the sales department is a joke. God forbid if you need any warranty work doing. If you do manage to get it done (within 12month) it will be a bodge job. They will happily part you from you money, with great promises. BUT once they have your money, its time to move on to the next Mug. We were looking for a New caravan, to suit our needs. but there were non to be had, anywhere. We decided on a 18mnth old one, that was in excellent condition. We asked for motor movers to be fitted, plus an omnivent fan. while we were talking to the sales man, his colleague came in and asked for the keys, for the caravan we were intending to buy. He said someone was interested in it. When he went out i stood up to see what was happening, low and behold, no one there. A good move to get the buyers to sign up pdq. We did, as we had a holiday looming with grandkids to consider. After we signed up, that was it, down hill at a rapid pace. It took 2 months to fit the motor movers, and the fan looked like a 12yr old had fitted it. It was sorted jn the end, but we had moved on, and bought the caravan we wanted. A Swift explorer X from Glossop's at Worksop, a fantastic company, that was professional and a pleasure to deal with.

Diggermart's Response to Diggermart's Review

Written on: 31/12/2021

Sorry was meant to be Robinsons of Worksop, Not Glossops.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bad”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Genevievev25 on 13/12/2021

If you are looking for a caravan DON'T come here,once they have your money,they are not interested.

Diggermart's Comment

Written on: 31/12/2021

Totally agree, i doubt if id buy a tent peg from them. After the poor service i got.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“ABANDON HOPE ALL YE WHO ENTER HERE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Adalynn422 on 01/09/2021

We purchased a used caravan in July 21 the price we paid included the fitting of a motor mover as well as a complete valet inside and out. Collection date was arranged for two weeks later and guess what? Yep, the salesman (who said "that customer service is top of his list and customers a priority . . . really!!!! until they get your money!) Day before collection date the salesman rang to say that there was a shortage of motor movers and they were awaiting delivery - but couldn't advise when it would be delivered and fitted. As we needed it done for the following week-end - the salesman was informed at the point of purchase. It was decided to cancel the motor mover and we managed to book it into Wandahome (Brough) - who had ample stock and managed to fit it for with 24hrs notice and unparalled customer service It took Ebor 9 days to refund the cost. As for Ebors promised valet inside and out - I have seen cleaner dustbins! Still awaiting all the paperwork for service / gas / electrical checks - which we doubt has ever been done. There are more issues than I have time to list - phone calls never returned, either by salesman or the Service Manager. LESSON LEARNED - NEVER EVER WILL WE RETURN TO THIS DEALER.

Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Amazing service and staff ”

★★★★★

written by Kmac1 on 03/05/2021

Pump fault raced to Ebro Caravans just before closing time the people I dealt with  very friendly and helpful sorted a new pump and fittings - saved our weekend so pleased with staff and service when looking for a new caravan they were our first choice. Found caravan we wanted- Another person gave us all the information we needed and once again very helpful and friendly- good trade in on old caravan- would not hesitate in recommending Ebro Caravans York

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Scotjakes on 09/09/2020

Paid a deposit for a new caravan in stock 31 March 2019. Visited showroom 2 April and purchased stays which we asked to be fitted, a hitchlock and Supaguard Protection. We were asked to supply a copy of car registration for number plate to be fitted and if we wanted tyre banding fitted. Given a collection date of 10 April. Later in the day I emailed registration document and requested tyre banding. No acknowledgement received from salesman. 10 April 2019 went to collect caravan. Caravan not ready. Tyre banding not been done, Number plate and stays not fitted. Given acknowledgements of payment receipt, deposit receipt, BACS transfer and tyre banding ( even though it hadn’t been done) Given our tour inside and out by salesman. Unbeknown to us at the time he damaged the Dometic toilet by pulling out the cassette by brute force. Couldn’t explain motor mover as battery not connected. Salesman wrote down jobs still to be done on a scrap of paper. I queried why these weren’t put on an official form for Service Department. I also queried why there was a faded fluorescent band on the handle at front of van. Told it was because van had been PDI’d when they were quiet, ready to go out before Easter. Salesman then signed off the van, even though we weren’t happy with this as we couldn’t take the van home. He asked us if the van was insured as it was not our responsibility. Asked him to put hitchlock on as our van parked near the gate. Given second collection date of 13th April. 13 April 2019 2nd attempt to collect van. Still not ready. Number plate and stays still not fitted. Salesman tried to put stays on himself without success. He said “Most people that buy these, fit them, themselves. Technician from workshop then fitted stays and demonstrated motor mover while salesman made up number plate. When we got the van home discovered that plastic and masking tape were still stuck on the floor, wallboard seams were all curling, sawdust and bits in all the top cupboards. There was no shelf in the oven and a scratch on the wardrobe door. Not what you would expect from a brand new van if it had been PDI’d properly. Phoned salesman and told him about issues and asked for a new shelf to be posted out ASAP as we were going away at Easter in the van. Received an email containing a survey about Ebor’s service. Rather than post negative comments sent an email to address on their website offering them the opportunity to solve problems. Didn’t get any response. 16 April phoned salesman as shelf not yet received. He said it had been parcelled up 15 April ready for collection. 18-23 April Various issues with caravan while away. Toilet cassette broken resulting in my husband being covered in the contents. Toilet door wouldn’t close. Couldn’t use oven as no shelf. 23 April Phoned Ebor and told them about toilet and door and said that shelf still not arrived. It did arrive by courier 5.50pm that evening. Label showed collection date 17 April. Sent letter of complaint to Managing Director at Brompton on Swale. No reply or acknowledgement yet received. 24 April received email about toilet 25 April Asked to take photos of faulty door catch. 26 April Phoned Ebor re toilet and left message. No response. 27 April. Went to put new shelf in oven and discovered a rung broken. Emailed more photos to sales manager and asked to order new shelf. 2 May 2019 phoned and asked if we could have a copy of PDI report as we didn’t think it had even been done.Salesman later rang back and said they were waiting for parts. 7 May we phoned Ebor and asked when we could bring the van in to have issues sorted out. Couldn’t use van because of broken toilet as the site we visit regularly have no facilities. Said they would get back to me. No response. 8 May we visited Ebor and took back broken shelf, given a universal one as a replacement. Spoke to technician, van provisionally booked in 24th May. Told then that van had been PDI’d Jan 2029 and a final inspection was done 9 April 2029. I think whoever did the final inspection must have had their eyes shut. 12 May Emailed more photos of door, no acknowledgement received. Resent to different email address. 18 May 2019 our CRIS Registration documents arrived. Wrong surname and wrong address on documents! 19 May Sent email complaining about further poor service and mistake re CRIS documents asked for confirmation of a date to bring our van in. 20 May Phoned CRIS to get registration document changed. They said it was the salesman’s fault as they input the details online. 24 May Took van into Ebor Leisure. Asked if we could have it back for 31 May as we’d booked holiday. 27 May received message saying the whole toilet (that their salesman broke) would have to be replaced and they’d have to order another door. 28 May sent email to Service Manager responsible for 3 branches and said if the van couldn’t be fixed soon we would be returning the van as not fitted for purpose and ask for a refund. Received acknowledgement. 6 June Service Manager told us a claim had been made to have another door custom made. Posted this saga on Coachman’s Facebook page and received an immediate response. Next day I received a phone call from the MD at Coachman To say that no orders for warranty work had been received but that it could be sitting in a tray somewhere. Coachman would take the van back to the factory and sort everything out. 9 June Went to Ebor to remove our belongings from caravan before it was taken back to Coachman factory. Checked the replacement toilet that Ebor had fitted but the fascia of the was falling in and unsatisfactory. Ebor said they’d tested it and everything working fine, Wallboard strips had been replaced.Caravan was at the factory 12-19th June. Coachman fitted a 3rd toilet as they said that staff at Ebor had damaged the 2nd one putting it in. 19 June Van ready for collection from Ebor but my husband had damaged his back. Two members of staff from Ebor very kindly offered to bring our van home for us, In their own time after work. One of them became our point of contact at Ebor because everyone else appeared to ignore our calls and emails. I did email the sales manager and praise these two staff members for their help. We continued to have issues with our van so we visited the Lawns Caravan Show at Cottingham and spoke to someone from the Escalation Department of Ebor Leisure as well as the MD from Coachman. I supplied her with the full sorry saga of Ebors poor service and she mentioned the possibility of compensation. She would look into the matter and get back in touch. No response! It was arranged that our van would go back to the Coachman factory for a second time and on collection it was arranged that another dealership would take over dealing with our warranty issues. They have been brilliant! They couldn’t have been more helpful. We took our van there for its 1st service as we didn’t want to go back to Ebor. The manager asked us for the Service booklet so they could stamp it. He said it should be with the manual in the pack we were given when we bought the van. I looked through all our paperwork but discovered to my horror that we’d never actually been given a service booklet which is our proof of purchase, especially for the warranty work or a caravan manual. I phoned the Escalation Department at Ebor with regard to the missing document but she said because of lockdown she couldn’t get in touch with anyone. We’re now beginning to wonder if Ebor had had our van returned by another purchaser before we bought it. Surprise! Surprise! Still no response Because of COVID 19 we haven’t used our van until a few weeks ago and discovered the faulty door that Ebor were supposed to have fixed still doesn’t shut properly when it’s hot. I’ve tried to ring the Escalations Department of Ebor again today to discuss all the issues . They are selling caravans but all their offices are closed. I’m so angry. Hence this review!

Was this review helpful? 10 1

“After sales not good... an understatement!.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 27/06/2019

Pretty good to buy a caravan from BUT oh dear their aftersales!. Been using Ebor on and off for years purely by necessity. This time very long story cut short - needed a roof blind and toilet part last October (2018) and after months and months of phone calls, lost orders, lost parts staff leaving and not ordering parts, virtually no comms from them ( I did wonder if their phones could dial out) in fact it did seem like a bit of a joke to them and it was only threatening the manager with standing at the gate with a placard that we finally got the blind fitted. When we dropped the van off I told the assistant that it was being sold in two days time and to "Please please look after my van". Had a call to say the van was ready to pick up and yes they came up trumps again as the radio wouldn`t work ( the radio had to come out for the blind to be fitted ). They used (and broke) some radio removal keys from a new van going out the next day. You really couldn`t make this stuff up and my one consolation with selling my van is never having to deal with this company again.

Was this review helpful? 6 2

“Kampa 400 ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kimbo02 on 07/06/2019

Had my kampa 400 awning 2.years the plastic windows are that frosty..cant see out off them ..took my window to ebor on a64 York..said it was my fault as l did not keep up to maintaining the awning every 3 months as l should have washed and resealed it ..mould all inside ..said it was doo to condensation..this awning cost me over a £1000..can not get anything to clean the windows..as for ebor sales rep didn't wont to know ..very poor after sales said it would cost me to send it back to kampa company and they would say nothing they could do with it as it's out off warranty...will never buy a product from kampa again let alone go to buy from ebor ..mark my words guys...

Catterickebortyneside's Response to Kimbo02's Review

Written on: 21/06/2019

Good evening

Please could you contact Catterick Caravans Leisure World, thank you.

Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Nothing changes.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 347Goode on 30/05/2019

Sitting in the showroom waiting for my van service to be completed.4 hours after it was promised so reading previous reviews and thought I would share today's experience. Dropped off van at opening time when technician had " a job to finish for an hour then would be straight on it" Returned 5hours later.story had changed-Van apparently didn't go to workshop until after lunch! Additionally a fault with the window blind advised when service was booked couldn't be done because it was the wrong window and they didn't have time to do that one. Same fault with any other of the windows would have been ok. This despite advising the girl on service exactly what and where the fault lay when service appointment made. Apparently girl who booked in the service wasn't "a caravanner" and did not understand the work involved and "we don't print off the work sheets until the day of the job. Had very similar experience last year. If this was a brewery I suspect it would not be a good place to come for a celebration!!

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“warranty is a waste of time ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Archies_animals on 11/08/2018

warranty is a waste of time . dosn,t seem to matter how many times you ring them, the calls are never returned, our latest problem is a faulty light, I took the light out myself and returned it to ebor 8 weeks ago. all the have to do is post one to me as i said ill fit it myself, NO reply

Was this review helpful? 5 1

“Terrible srevice”

★☆☆☆☆

written by davem29 on 29/12/2017

I bought a brand new Lunar Clubman SE from Ebor Leisure World at York in Oct 2015. I took delivery the following March. Within a year, February 2017, I noticed a huge water stain stretching from the overhead locker down the side on the off side front side window. Further inspection in the locker showed more evidence of water and also stretching across the roof panel as well. This must have been going on for some time, unnoticed over the winter by us, as it was about 60cm (2 ft.) in length across the roof and 45cm (1.5 ft.) down the side panel. I took the caravan back Ebor in York for an assessment of the water damage and they contacted Lunar who decided to ignore Ebor’s recommendations and told them to just dry the area out for a couple of days and reseal the awning rail and roof strap. The caravan went back to Ebor to be fixed in April. I went to collect the caravan late May only to find that the work hadn’t been completed. So spent a very nice weekend at York Rowntree MH&CC site and returned the caravan to Ebor on the Bank holiday Monday to be fixed, again. 1st June caravan back with me having been delivered. All seemed to be great until the summer family holiday and a terrific thunderstorm and torrential rain found the leak again. This time pouring from the front offside audio loudspeaker. Phone call to Ebor to complain about poor service and expectation that fault should have been fixed on the first visit. I subsequently contacted the marketing manager at Lunar, in August, who passed the details on to a colleague in the appropriate department. I still have heard nothing from Lunar despite being assured that I would be contacted. Back went the caravan to Ebor in August 2017 with it being eventually returned to me in early November, having supposedly fixed the water ingress issue there was now another just as serious issue where a lighting circuit kept blowing fuses. Back it went to Ebor where they eventually found a chafed wire that had shorted. This was a manufacturing issue. Due to the second rate service that I’d received from Ebor, I told them I would pick the caravan up from them myself, as I wasn’t confident that all problems would be completed sorted. It was a good call because they weren’t so having blasted them again about poor quality of service I left the caravan at Ebor and went back to Leicester empty handed. The caravan was returned to me a week later, December 2017, in time for us to go off in it for a few days. On return from that break I was putting the dehumidifiers back in the caravan when I noticed the wall paper peeling off the inside of the cupboard where it should have been repaired correctly. Yet another example of the shoddy workmanship I’ve come to expect. Through all this time, most of which we weren’t able to use the caravan, at no time at all was there any offer/reference to compensation for inconvenience, nor would they listen when I told them repeatedly that I didn’t want that caravan and it should be replaced. All I got from Ebor Leisure World at York was apologies, more problems and inconvenience. From Lunar caravans I received no other communication from them other than an acknowledgement of the initial email. I think the way I have been treated by both Lunar Caravans and Ebor Leisure World at York has been disgraceful and extremely poor, with after-sales service being second to anybody and everybody else. Only when I vented my frustration on their Facebook page did something start to happen, but now the Facebook page is in accessible.

Was this review helpful? 8 2

“Hell”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 1955Mooney on 01/10/2016

poor staff, lack of how to run or manage a business.

Was this review helpful? 6 1

“Ebor Leisure / Terrible customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bigtandsue on 25/11/2015

After contacting Ebor Leisure in September about the cost of a replacement hitch I was informed on 3 separate days, and after numerous telephone calls that they would give me a price TOMORROW! Eventually after sending an email, which presumably was picked up by someone in charge, I was given a price. I replied to the email, giving my consent to order the part and asking them to email back with a date for the replacement to be fitted. It is now the end of November and I'm still waiting!!We were considering buying a new caravan, but I wouldn't even waste my time going there.

Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Excellent”

★★★★★

written by Molloy457 on 18/08/2015

the person I dealt with on the service desk is amazing, she never stops! She is proactive, a brilliant communicator and knows her staff. She is as clued up on the technical side as any of the technicians and even when she is running around like a headless chicken dealing with customers and serving people on the till she makes you feel welcome and she seems genuinely pleased to see you. No matter how busy she is she is friendly and approachable and knows her job. The only downside I've found is the length of time it takes to get parts but from other forums I know this is a known problem (Lunar are appalling).She  has always handled things perfectly. She rings when she says she will (even if there's no news just to make sure you know she hasn't forgotten about you) and she always knows what is going on with your claim and parts. I hope the brothers know what an asset same is to the team at Ebor.

Molloy735's Comment

Written on: 20/08/2015

I hadn't realised names were not allowed so I shall just say the young lady whose partner races motorbikes!

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 1

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview