The ECU Doctor Reviews - www.the-ecu-doctor.co.uk

★★★★★
4.7 / 5
93% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The ECU Doctor - www.the-ecu-doctor.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The ECU Doctor - www.the-ecu-doctor.co.uk

The ECU Doctor - www.the-ecu-doctor.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Audi Q7 back on the road in 1 week.”

Written on: 06/10/2022 by Audi_Q7 (1 review written)

My Audi Q7 had developed a weird issue of cutting out and not restarting. The specialist garage I took it too diagnosed an ECU issue (water ingress) which is common on the Q7 due to the location of the unit. After a few hours scouring the 'net for a repair or refurbishment company, I found the ECU Doctor. As far as I know, they are the only company that offer the 2 week trial replacement service. I contacted them via email and the reply was next day, they could help! I packaged up my unit and shipped it to them on a Thursday. Royal Mail strike delayed the delivery until Monday but ECU Doctor confirmed delivery. They then contacted me on Wednesday to let me know my exchange unit was ready and posted it Special Delivery so I got it today (Thursday). I fitted the unit to the car, turned the key and she burst into life. No warning lights, no setup, just plug & play! Time will tell if my fault is fixed but early signs look good so I'd best get out there and do some miles. Fantastic service from start to finish and even got a car air freshener and fridge magnet included in the package. Got an ECU problem? The Doctor can sort it. I've even recommended them to my local garage who do my regular servicing. Fingers crossed my issue is fixed but I have the reassurance that even if it isn't, I can return the exchange unit and get a partial refund and you can't argue with that. Not the cheapest out there but the added benefit of the trial unit makes it 100% worth it. 10 stars all the way!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“From a no use garage queen into a great car”

Written on: 19/04/2022 by Jhereford1966 (1 review written)

I purchased an old kitcar that i spiked the ecu while using a boost charger I found the ecu doctors details in the pyles of paperwork i inherited with the car Not only did he find records of all his original work and settings he talked me through what i had "most probably" done wrong before i even took it out of the car and sent it off to him!! Ecu returned and the car is perfect A big thankyou J "from hereford"

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Rover 45 sorted!!”

Written on: 18/02/2022 by Clubers (1 review written)

After taking my wife's misfiring Rover 45 to an Auto electrician I was advised that there was an internal fault on the ECU which they were unable to resolve as these parts are no longer available other than from scrapped cars. This could mean all sorts of problems with reprogramming and possible inherent defects from the donor ECU. As the car is 20years old is was beginning to look like the end was nigh for the old dear (the car not the wife). Having owned it from new and only having covered 40000 miles we were both reluctant to sell it as a non runner, so I decided to contact the ECU Doctor. Having sent it off on the Tues I received a call on Thursday to say that he had identified the problem and was able to repair the ECU. On Saturday I received it back and fitted it to the car which then ran as sweet as a nut. The only initial problem was that the engine management light still remained on. Another quick call to the Doc who advised that it may just be the fault code need clearing from the original problem. He did stress that if I could not get access to a code reader easily that I should not incur any additional expense but simply return it to him and he would look at it again under the warranty. Fortunately, my local garage agreed to put the code reader on it which simply cleared down the fault code as the Doc had suggested. In all a brilliant result and a service that anyone with ECU problems should consider

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Once again first class service ”

Written on: 14/10/2021

I have used The ECU doctor a couple of times now and have passed their details on to others in the same boat. I have never had anyone come back to me with a negative comment they have all been more than happy with the service. Very quick turnaround to the very north of Mainland Scotland and when I had a small issue I contacted them and they were happy to give advice and even took the ECU back to check it for me, great service. I can not fault these guys, competitive price and warranty why look anywhere else

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ECU repair”

Written on: 12/08/2021 by Goanpasty (1 review written)

I had permanent engine check light. Contacted several ECU specialists online. None could work on it. One said they did not think anyone would be able to. Then found ECU Doctor. Sent on Monday returned on Friday. So professional and efficient. If you have any definite ECU problem use this service. Absolutely brilliant.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Honest fast service”

Written on: 28/05/2021 by circlevision (1 review written)

I live in France and was getting fed up with contacting ECU companies who never responded. Within an hour of contacting the ECU Doctor I knew the cost and terms of an ECU replacement for my Audi TT. The car had been throwing up error codes and running rich. They were honest enough to say they couldnt fix my ECU but could flash a replacement with the car's signature. In what was a pretty fast turnaround I got a replacement ECU which worked perfectly and cured the car's problems isntantly. The cost of a new ECU from Audi was eye watering so this was a very reasonable solution for me and very happy with the result..

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Absolute Diamond of a Service.!!”

Written on: 27/05/2021 by JayFreelander (2 reviews written)

I was advised by my mechanic that my ECU was faulty probably due to a spike on battery exchange. Spoke to ECU DR in Plymouth after a longish search on google. The ladies on the initial call asked for a summary and called back to advise they would be able to look at the unit and took my details sent the unit in and 5 days later a package with the replacement arrived which however did not solve the problem eventually a true specialist mechanic diagnosed the problem and fixed the car. I called up ECU Dr out of the 14 day time limit and the gentleman I spoke to was considerate and discussed the matter with advice given and asked me to return the unit. 5 days later my original unit was returned (which I suspect was looked at with faults cleared) as my car drives way much better than before and a notification that I was refunded my charge less handling fee..!! I would like to thank you for the amazing service that was provided along with advice and excellent communication. I would definitely recommend ECU Dr (Plymouth) and have no doubt that I would use them again in the future if required to do so.. Again thank you for an A* Service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Absolute Diamond of a Service.!!”

Written on: 27/05/2021 by JayFreelander (2 reviews written)

I was advised by my mechanic that my ECU was faulty probably due to a spike on battery exchange. Spoke to ECU DR in Plymouth after a longish search on google. The ladies on the initial call asked for a summary and called back to advise they would be able to look at the unit and took my details sent the unit in and 5 days later a package with the replacement arrived which however did not solve the problem eventually a true specialist mechanic diagnosed the problem and fixed the car. I called up ECU Dr out of the 14 day time limit and the gentleman I spoke to was considerate and discussed the matter with advice given and asked me to return the unit. 5 days later my original unit was returned (which I suspect was looked at with faults cleared) as my car drives way much better than before and a notification that I was refunded my charge less handling fee..!! I would like to thank you for the amazing service that was provided along with advice and excellent communication. I would definitely recommend ECU Dr (Plymouth) and have no doubt that I would use them again in the future if required to do so.. Again thank you for an A* Service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great service, quick turnaround.”

Written on: 17/03/2021 by BarryFe (1 review written)

Excellent communication from the ECU doctor from initial enquiries to carrying out work on my ECU. Very friendly tone both in emails and on phone. Kept updated throughout and was at most 3 working days from start to finish. Very fair pricing compared to some quotes I received and is guaranteed for 12 months too. The price I paid for repairs is less than I could have sourced a secondhand unit, which could easily have developed same faults as mine at any time.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Focus mk3 1.6tdci ECU ”

Written on: 14/03/2021 by GazTruck (1 review written)

My Focus 1.6d on a 61plate 78k miles on clock would not rev above 1500rpm and had numerous faults, was advised by garage that the ECU was shot and I’d be better off scraping car! Spoke to ECU doctor and they said send it in they’ll have a look, a replacement was sent back to me which I installed, car’s back on the road no problem running better than ever, thanks ECU Doctor for all your help, yes it cost me £400 but what price do you put on replacing a car not to mention the hassle. Very happy and most certainly would recommend.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fast and friendly service.”

Written on: 22/02/2021 by Ryker1972 (1 review written)

Brilliant service. I posted my ECU to them from Sussex on a Tuesday and it was back on the car and running by 10.00 AM Saturday. Fast and friendly service, they kept me updated throughout. Thanks ECU doctor.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“VW passat ecu repair ”

Written on: 06/02/2021 by Hillaryj345 (1 review written)

Excellent friendly service would recommend to everyone with ECU problems

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ECU REPAIR”

Written on: 17/12/2020 by roberthunteranderson (1 review written)

great service updated on my ecu by a call.yip took a 3rd attempt to get it perfect and a fast service but went out there way to get it right,would have cost me 2000 pound to repair at mercedes,so for 360 pound yip a great value for money.A great service from the ECU DOCTOR and would recommend this company. Many thanks to you both

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sent ECU back for 2nd time still not working ”

Written on: 02/12/2020 by Allwood1408 (1 review written)

I am very disappointed, I sent my faulty ecu for a ford KA which is a very basic ecu to be repaired ,Doc contacted me and said they couldn’t repair my ecu so they sent me a replacement supposedly plug and play ecu . The cost of this unit was approximately £360 , this unit did enable the car to run but left numerous lights on the dash , flashing eml ,traction control light and stop start light, none of these faults where on my old ecu Doc said send it back and he will rectify these new faults which I did , on return of this unit we followed there fitting instructions again only to have the same faults . Docs reply was these faults must be be elsewhere in the car and after great expense we replaced the items which the ecu said where faulty . It was the ecu all the time. We are a car sales company by the time we rectified this car our customer had run out of patience understandably and we gave him a complete refund . I asked Doc for half my money back Which I thought was very reasonable , Doc waffled and then refused . My experience with these repair companies is a possible 1 out of 5 chance of satisfaction , but if you add up your wasted time and car off road , labour charges etc there not worth the time or the aggravation they will give you . So just go to the main dealer it’s cheaper and quicker in the long run

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★★★★

“Amazing Professional Service”

Written on: 21/11/2020 by Laylarain (1 review written)

Six day turn around from Scottish Highlands! Posted to the ECU Doctor on Monday, received back on Saturday! So knowledgeable, friendly, professional and skilled. Great customer service. We now have overdrive and smooth gear changes without revving. Highly recommended,the best at what they do. Many thanks.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ecu ”

Written on: 17/10/2020 by Tinalay21 (1 review written)

We sent our jag x type ecu to be checked and tested, they were very helpful and understanding I would highly recommend this company to anyone. Thank you guys so much and keep up the amazing work. They were very professional and the ecu was well packaged and provided an air freshener and magnet which was nice of them to give to customers. The price was very good knowing other places would of charged more.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Restored to full health!”

Written on: 19/08/2020 by Ploughboy (1 review written)

Quality service from the ECU doctor. From my first contact by phone I felt confident and assured of the outcome. The doc knew about the ECU in my car (. Panda 4x4 ). Good start! He didn’t jump straight in saying he could fix it. He said he d check first and may have to refer me somewhere else (very good feeling about this) However he phoned back and said he could do it. I got a detailed set of requests for info he needed and sent off the ECU. 2 days later I got a call saying it was fixed and requesting payment. The ECU quickly arrived back in the post and sure enough the car started first turn! Fantastic!! I would say to anyone with an ECU issue to use this company.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Faulty ecu”

Written on: 29/04/2020 by lambretta3 (1 review written)

I have just used this company and they provide an excellent service.I sent my faulty ecu from a Toyota celica they received on a Friday they rang on mon gave me a price to repair.The unit was returned to me on wed by special delivery all done.Opened box unit was well packed in bubblewrap receipt enclosed unit security taped all ready to go.I fitted unit back in car on wed afternoon car started straight away and sounds lovely.THey are 1st class and I fully recommend them Thanku to ecu doctor

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I am disappointed, because they were reluctant to...”

Written on: 12/02/2020 by wlDuffy448 (1 review written)

I am disappointed, because they were reluctant to return my faulty units. The lady on the phone had to put me on hold and ask someone, because she said that they don’t normally return them. I was quite determined to have it back, because it is mine! Obviously it’s more convenient to sell you a used reprogrammed unit, than try and fix yours. The fact that they are reluctant to return faulty units, makes me think that they fix them anyway and sell them for a lot more money to the next customer. This is what I see from my point of view. Anyway the wouldn’t return my faulty unit together with the new one, so I had to pay for separate postage a week later. What I received back appears to be my unit from the outside, but once I opened it, it was clear that something was wrong there. My faulty unit had clear water marks on the motherboard, while this motherboard doesn’t have any and instead it has a hole in it and it’s clearly burned in one point. This is not my motherboard... the box was mine though. Anyway, this is what I make of it: my motherboard was repairable and instead of charging me only for the repair, they kept it to sell it to a different customer, while they sold me a used ECU that obviously belonged to another unfortunate customer. That explains why they were so reluctant to send me back my old unit. I think that honesty is a thing of the past.

Audi_Q7's Comment

Written on: 06/10/2022

The concept of exchange units is very common in the motor parts trade.
You get a refurbished, guaranteed ubit and your old unit is kept, refurbished, tested and warrantied for the next person who needs one.
This works out cheaper than a brand new unit and is also more environmentally friendly.
You are paying for the expertise needed to strip and rebuild complex electronics.
If you wanted to keep your old unit, why did you just not buy a brand new replacement for considerably more?
If your car needed a starter motor, you could get a new one for double the price of an exchange and you'd get to keep the faulty motor to use as a paperweight.
If you didn't understand the concept of what exchange means, why didn't you call and ask?

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Fantastic service ”

Written on: 12/02/2020 by andym555 (1 review written)

Superb service from start to finish. Had a problem with my Kia Carens that had been with a local Kia dealer for a few months. The ECU doctor was recommended to me by a friend as Kia suspected the ECU to be at fault. After the ECU was sent to the ECU doctor they were straight on it. They found a fault, told me the price for a replacement part which I gave the go ahead too, then the ECU was back to me the next working day. Fitted it myself and the car started straight away and has been great since. After the car being off the road for 2 months plus. The ECU doctor had my car diagnosed, repaired and running within a week! So happy with the service I received. Should of come to these guys first. Best in the business and didn’t cost a fortune. Would highly recommend.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by TeresaParsons on 18th November 2020 Report this content
A garage has told me that the ECU on my Vauxhall Corsa is corroded, is it worth fixing and how much would it cost?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by grahamglar on 16th May 2015 Report this content
My ECU mr578041 showing fault p0300 garage has changed 2 coils 1 injector plugs crankshaft relay but I am still fault p0300. Do you think it is the ECU? Can the ECU Doctor repair it?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content djtip Written on: 18/05/2015
Hi, The P0300 code is described as a random misfire, with numerous potential causes. Have a look at this website engine-codes for more information. I'm sure that if the fault was an ECU issue then the doctor could cure it, but from your description it is not at all clear that this is the case. But from the description you can see why the garage has done the actions it has so far. As the above web page shows there are many causes and lots of easier things to try before sending your ECU for repair. Good luck with tracking this down. 
overview