JT Automatics Ltd Reviews - www.automatic-gearbox.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.8 / 5
63% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
JT Automatics Ltd - www.automatic-gearbox.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for JT Automatics Ltd - www.automatic-gearbox.co.uk

JT Automatics Ltd - www.automatic-gearbox.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“No Problem ”

written by AJPLC120 on 24/11/2021

I had been trying to diagnoses possible gear box problem on my 05 plate landcruiser within the south West of England. Everyone I spoke to had told me it could be this and could be that. It could cost this but likely to be that. And any work done would only have a short warranty. After a bit of time on Google came across across J T Automatics. They had a maximum fix price for a full rebuild cheaper than anyone I'd spoken to and cover with a 2 Yr warranty. Travelled 250 miles left the car for a week . Spoke to them over what they though and had done at the end of the week.They said fault wasn't gearbox but fuel supply . They had removed the sump,ran checks and refilled gear box . When I asked how much for their time spent and oil they said nothing ! They'd rather be honest. They could have done the full job and charged me nearly £2000 . They Should have charged me for the oil and ramp time . They didn't. I followed there fuel problem advice and fingers crossed problem solved . Not many companies are that customer minded Highly recommended this honest established company .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bunch of Charlatans”

written by LexusLS460V8 on 29/01/2020

Let me start by saying I do not like leaving a bad review for any company. Please feel free to check my other reviews. Brought my lovely Lexus LS460 with a problem with the gearbox to JT automatics. To cut a long story short it had the dreaded torque converter shudder. Anyway the person I dealt with took my car for a test drive and decided it needed a complete automatic gearbox. I agreed and booked in for a few days later. So, a week later I got a call to say the car was ready! Turned up and the receptionist told me I'd have to wait an hour as the car was still on the ramp and had yet to be roadtested but I was happy to wait. Then the person I dealt with came into the office, very friendly who said yes the car is running well but the gearbox is still experiencing a little shudder from the torque converter as it is still running in. I thought let me give him the benefit of the doubt. He also mentioned the suspension/steering has started making a grinding noise which to be fair wasn't there before. By the way this is after he took payment for over £2900!!! So I drove off to work and the car was making a horriffic grinding noise from the suspension/steering as if something was either damaged or not put back properly. Also the vibration from the gearbox was still there. Also all the engine cover clips were broken and loose, dipstick bracket broken and starter motor clip broken. To cut another long story short I contacted the person I dealt with and told him I was outraged at how he had the audacity to give me my car back like that. Literally it was worse than when I brought it into to him!!! He told me it needs to recalibrate and take it for a long run etc or bring it back and he would keep it until it was right which I agreed. With regards to the suspension/steering problem he said it was nothing do with him even though he said to be fair it didn't come in with that fault but would point in the right direct of a garage that would fix it at cost to me. He also denied that he broke any of the engine clips etc. I decided I will keep on driving it until I can bring it in and on the way back from ASDA the car started to judder voilently and cut out!! No drive and the car wouldn't go anywhere! Greenflag had to come out, diagnoised the fault as the gearbox and towed it to my nearest Lexus Main Dealer. They also diagnoised the fault as a major gearbox malfunction and recommeded a new gearobx. I informed JT automatics by email and the person I dealt with called me the very next day to say he would refund me all of my money and that would be the end of it. I was relieved to get my money back as at the time I was in the process of buying a new house but I if I had the time I should have persued him for the damages to my car. To cut another long story short I took it to a highly recommened garage who put a secondhand gearbox in the car and it ran beautifully! But the suspension/steering problem was still there and also the Worshop Foreman recommended that my car was so badly butchered by JT Automatic that it wasn't worth keeping and just to sell it. After a few months I idid just that and part/ex it. Please think very carefully before taking your car here or any other garage. Do not rely solely on online reviews as these are sometime fake. And why it's a Which Recommended Trader is beyond me!! Word of mouth recommendations are best Always test drive your vehicle before parting with any cash after a repair or get it AA inspected. **Thank you for your reply JT Automatic. Please do send me this engineers report I'd love to see it, (by the way I am still waiting for this supposed report) Is this after the trader repaired all defects and put a new MOT on it?? You and your company are a bunch of charlatans. You will one day give a customer back their car which is not safe for them to drive and something terrible will happen. Is that what you want?I wrote this review to warn others as I don't want it to happen to them.Everything I have written to you is the truth just accept it and do the right thing when you repair someones car. And when you hand back a customers car, you should take them on a thorough roadtest to ensure they are satisfiesd before they hand over their hard earned cash!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Onenationsec's Response to LexusLS460V8's Review

Written on: 11/08/2020

how you can write a bad review like this is beyond me, did you not state that you had a full refund from the company???

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Msharkey's Response to LexusLS460V8's Review

Written on: 07/06/2021

Having been to the company in question i read the engineers report and also see various edits to your google review,(it raised some concerns) I'd have to say the truth never need changing. but you clearly changed your review multiple times after they posted a reply? i also see the original email you sent, a word of advise for the future would be being honest and up front should go both ways, customer and garage alike

my own experience was an honest upfront company who went further than needed to help resolve my problems

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lexusls460V8's reply to Msharkey's Comment

Written on: 07/06/2021

Well all I can say is good for you. I wonder how genuine your review is!? Do you work for the company or a friend of the owner? I wonder!! But let me say I do not believe for one second he tracked down my Lexus to carry out an engineers report! No way!! The guy can certainly talk his way out of anything. And so what if I wanted to changed my review?! I wanted to reply to JT Automatics and for the world to see it! I have nothing to gain by posting a negative review but to warn others!! I am honest as the day is long. Shame about JT Automatics and people like yourself!! Look forward to your reply.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lexusls460V8's Response to LexusLS460V8's Review

Written on: 11/08/2020

Quite simply too warn other people.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Whizzkid65's reply to Lexusls460V8's Comment

Written on: 11/02/2021

Seems like they paid all your money back,after they used your vehicle for practice on how to turn a vehicle into something completely not fit for purpose,and avoided paying you damages!!.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lexusls460V8's reply to Whizzkid65's Comment

Written on: 11/02/2021

Trust me, it was the worst experience I have ever had with a garage! I just don't understand the logic in doing that to someone. Thank goodness in this day and age we can all do our research beforehand. I specifically wrote this review to warn someone else so they didn't have to go through the same nightmare that I did.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lexusls460V8's reply to Lexusls460V8's Comment

Written on: 11/02/2021

Looking at the other 5 * reviews I DO NOT believe they are genuine! So again word of mouth is the best recommendation! Please be careful who you trust your car with! I hate to see anyone get taken for a ride! And please leave a genuine review good or bad to to hep others.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 7 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not trust this garage”

written by Kieranp157 on 26/02/2019

Do not trust this garage! They try to talk there way around you with all the know how tell you 5 day job then goes on for over 3 weeks dont update you with progress leave bolts loose oil spilage on underside of car, greese and oil on carpet and trim, very rude would not recomend to anyone. Very untrust worthy Would never take my audi here again !!!!! Left my phone on the chair in the waiting area on record while i went to toilet and herd them saying CANT WAIT FOR ME TO PAY BILL AND LEAVE AS I WAS PISSING THEM OF IN THERE OWN WORDS! Unreal, so much for good custormer service !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Snuf's Comment

Written on: 12/12/2019

I agree. A couple of years ago They repaired an A340E gearbox ( forward clutch burnt out) along with the torque converter. The gear box was repaired, but unfortunately the toque converter was delivered back to me with the original fault ( torque converter lock-up clutch locking up intermittently). The torque converter alone cost £250. When I told them about this they said it may due to the gearbox solenoid, but this gearbox did originally work in the past with a different torque converter?
They then tried to charge me for the removal and re-installation to to the car, until I told them the transmission and toque converter were shipped to them and shipped back to me!.
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Range Rover ”

written by on 07/12/2016

Did my Range Rover diesel torque converter for a competitive price & 9 months later still running nicely so I am happy to recommend them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Range Rover repaired ”

written by duke996 on 07/01/2016

JT Automatics were excellent the car was ready before I could collect, they stored it for me until after the Christmas Holiday. I will willingly recommend them to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Phone and told to pop in for a free road test to...”

written by Ayersjz210 on 28/05/2015

Phone and told to pop in for a free road test to identify problem. I did this and was seen almost immediately, with the problem being quickly identified as a worn clutch. Fair fixed price given and date for job arranged, plus courtesy car which was an essential element for me. Job completed in timeframe given and after 2000 miles - starts and gear changes are as smooth as silk. Excellent customer care - Thankyou to all at JT.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Audi a6 quattro gearbox rebuild ”

written by on 27/06/2014

Excellent timely service. Helpful staff who seem genuinely interested in solving your problem.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“service ?”

written by ouStafford1 on 23/05/2014

Bad service don't go there, they never call you back for updates I have to call them every day. Took the car in saying 3days to rebuild gearbox but after 5 days when I called for update I was given excuse after excuse at the end I had to hire a car for the weekend. Gearbox is still giving problem. DO NOT GO TO THEM. Time wasters. They are very good at laying and making excuse. Any one out there thing of getting your gearbox fixed do not go to them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service ”

written by on 19/05/2014

Very happy with the service and staff at jt auto. I went without appointment but I was seen with in 5 min and fault discoverd on my BMW 760 within 10min.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“customer service”

written by number1maincustomer on 16/01/2014

To all at J T Automatics, I brought my BMW X5 into you last week, and fortunately for me the car was found to not have any of the problems that I thought it had, you very kindly lent me a car to use so that I could get home, you had my car for 2 x days and because you could not find a fault I was not charged, So I would just like to say a very big thank you for your kindness and very high standard of professionalism, service, and courtesy that was shown to me from all the staff, these traits are sadly lacking in a lot of companies these days, especially the big ones, so it is very refreshing to find a company such as yours that is showing the rest how to treat their customers, May I say again ,Well done and thank you very, very much, I shall not fail to recommend you to whoever is in need of any of your services, or return my self should I need your help.(although I hope I don't !) With Kind Regards & thank you to all staff

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Great service”

written by mt100750 on 25/11/2013

Came across their site when searching for information about a fault with my vw's gearbox. Took the plunge as they sell themselves as specialists for autos. Glad I did as I'm delighted with the results.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Affordable expertise”

written by orangerick on 22/08/2013

JT Automatics was recommended to me when my local, non-automatic specialist garage, charged me more than £500 for their failed attempt to repair my transmission problem. JT Automatics really know their onions: they were able to identify correctly the problem with my car over the phone and repaired it in under two hours. The garage is very well equipped with high-end equipment, allowing them to identify and repair problems which would normally require the car to be returned to he dealership/factory. They were happy to explain the procedure in detail, provided a very reasonable quote for the work up front and stuck to it. They also took the time to clarify what the other garage had done wrongly (and quite possibly fraudulently), which will help the legal action I will undoubtedly have to resort to to get a refund.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Blackmailers”

written by on 08/04/2013

Took My car in on warranty repair told me they would deal with it and I would have it back in a week . Three weeks later after no contact I called and was told the the warranty only covered £500 of the £1660 repair .I told them I had not given any ok to work on my car and was told that if I did not pay the balance they would remove the gearbox and push my car into the road . On paying I was promised a bill with breakdown which has never come ,I had to find my car in there yard and the inside had oil hand prints all over it. The director I meet was rude threatening and incapable of listening . The worst car service you could have

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jtautos's Comment

Written on: 19/04/2013

rude cutsomer who consitantly insulted our office staff,he didn't listen to his voice mails and thretened bad review unless did the job cheaper as he couldnt afford it
we offered to remove tranismission and undo the work carried out but HE declined?????
kept insisting we had to do the job cheaper we are not aware of any problems with the car so we can asume that the gearbox works fine
all prices where and are given at start of the of any work carried out so customer was aware how much the job would come to in the event of HIS warranty company not paying out
this person is a real chancer and the only blackmail that has been carried out is his cowardly reviw
our suggestion to customer would be
1: to drive a car he can afford to repair and
2: not to take out cheaper warranty's on his car and expect them to foot all the cost of his reapirs

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“20 years of service ”

written by andyscc on 24/10/2012

As a Chauffeur company owner i can say for the last 20 years JT Automatics have delivered a truly exceptional service on all our cars, which include mercedes jaguar and bmw in fact localy i would say JT Automatics is the professional drivers choice for this type of repair many thanks andy @ scc

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't trust rubbish”

written by Hedges09 on 11/08/2012

Asked if they could repair a Mercedes gearbox , was told by the owner that his young son could fix one of those. Well guess what 5 visits later told not to come back as it must be something else wrong with the gear change. 1600 spend for nothing, also under tray on car fell off on the motor way a few miles after last visit . Don't waste your time or money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Skoda DSG 3rd gear”

written by JiriWi on 11/03/2012

Automatic gearbox in my Skoda started give me a trouble when shifting 3rd gear. I visited a few garages, no luck. One garage even want car for 1/2 day to find problem and payment £150/hr to do so! After one phone call to JT Auto, lady in reception know what the problem is, a valve body! Imagine my surprise. So i brought my car to Erith , find friendly professionals there. I get tour trough garage to see sophisticated hi-tech diagnostic tools. With knowledge that right people will take of my car I received courtesy car and left. Day after I went back to pick up my car. 24 hours they need to fix it and that is a in house reconditioned valve body, calibration and new oil. What else I needed? Fixed no need for a new gearbox. Standard warranty for 1 year. Many thanks !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview