Halfords – Questions & Answers

Click here if this is your business

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Minxy129 on 10th March 2016 Report this content
Hi, I have a Peugeot 207 on a 10 plate, I noticed my coolant level is slightly below the minimum, what type do I need? Have I done any damage driving it like this? I noticed the temp gauge isn't rising... eek? Is this the reason?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Linda73 on 6th January 2016 Report this content
I have Halfords roof bars on my Citroen Xsara Picasso which I need to remove as I don't use them. The car came with the roof bars already attached. Are there instructions anywhere to show me what to do? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Amritkaurk on 7th December 2015 Report this content
On the Apollo Childrens fire chief bike, how to u fit the 9v battery inside the speaker? What is the purpose of the small black rectangular piece of plastic inside it? It seems to be taking up a lot of space and I cannot close the megaphone after fitting the battery.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by dsmackay on 15th July 2015 Report this content
I am looking to get a major service done on my BMW 325i M Sport. Halfords Autocentre have quoted around the £300 mark. Is Halfords Autocentre reliable enough to complete this sufficiently for such a low price?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content GFUNK20 Written on: 15/07/2015
I used them a couple of times at the Loughborough branch I found that they did not complete everything on the service checklist and witnessed them driving my car like racers, also many comments of poor service on many review sites personally I wouldn't trust them.
Report this content deeprespect Written on: 15/07/2015
Yeah I try to stay away from big chains... I can however recommend gilbertsforbmws. Although I haven't had a service done from him but have had other stuff fixed by him and he's great.
Report this content shass Written on: 15/07/2015
I have had a couple of dealings with Halfords. The latest being an air conditioning service and recharge. I would state that It was completely unsatisfactory. Work that was stated would be carried out was not. They ignored the time slot given. They said they would call me on my mobile number given when it was completed. They 'forgot'. The air conditioning worked for four hours. I took it back and they quoted a small fortune to strip and repair. My local garage has now got it working fine. Halfords are rubbish. Read some of the dodgy service reviews here.
Report this content Audiallroad Written on: 15/07/2015
Do not take any car to halfrauds in my experience they are incompetant useless and dishonest.  I wouldn't trust this outfit to push my car let alone lift the bonnet. Steer clear my friend steer well clear.
Report this content jobesss Written on: 15/07/2015
Don't go to the big fish. You will end up paying more. They charge a ridiculous labour charge. I have done a repair in my corsa. They have changed (hope so) the driver side front suspension mount (or bush) and it cost me £200!!! And also replaced with a faulty front wiper for £20. i don't believe their service checklist and quality assurance check. Never ever go to halfords . Do it in a local garage. They are always very very cheaper and friendly.
Report this content NannyJojo Written on: 15/07/2015
I would say absolutely not!! If they can mess up a fiat panda which meant not having the vehicle for 2 months then I'd avoid at all costs! They are appalling and have a reputation for shoddy workmanship!
Report this content dcleach070667 Written on: 15/07/2015
HI there, Don't touch them with a barge pole.I took my Audi 2.0 fsi in for a major service, having never had problems. When I collected The car I drove up The road and the oil light immediately came on.Took it back, they said it is not our fault etc,these things happen,they agreed to have a look again. cut a long story short they said they had replaced a bonnet catch,oil sensors, etc,no joy.They said I would need a new oil pump (devastated is an under-statement). They had my car for 4 days.By this stage I had serious doubts about them ,and took my Audi to my local dealership for a second opinion.Bearing in mind they had also told me I needed new brake discs,pads,tyres.I asked Audi to do a full health check on my car for ?65.00.They told me my car was in excellent mechanical condition,breaks discs,pads,we're all in good condition over 8 millimeters on all pads,only 2 tyres would need changing for my next Mot (3 millimeters). They told me there was nothing wrong with my oil pump, a fuse had been removed from my fuse box.Audi replaced this fuse free of charge.You draw your own conclusions where this fuse went. fuming I went back demanding to know why a fuse had gone missing. Apparently they can become dislodged, very convenient, the oil pump with labour Halfords quoted me £1,200.They also charged me for gassing a leaking air conditioning system, I asked why they would gas a leaking system given the strict laws governing CFCs being released in to the atmosphere, no explanation, basically I had paid for nothing with no proof they had gassed it.I forgot to ask Audi to check it,being so concerned about the oil pump and potential bill. In my opinion they saw
Report this content dsmackay Written on: 16/07/2015
Thanks All. I think I've heard enough to warrant not using them. Heard nothing but bad reviews. Come to think of it, I remember (albeit that it was a halfords shop) them struggling to change a lightbulb last time. Think I'll steer clear.
See All Answers
Asked by pepsicat on 23rd June 2015 Report this content
Does anybody know what the weight of the womens Carrera crossfire 2 2014 model, 20 inch frame is? I can't seem to find it in the specifications on the website. Thanks!

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Jezza9 on 1st February 2015 Report this content
If my car fails its MOT on minor things like bulbs etc, will Halfords fix them there and then and do a re test some day? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content michelle562569 Written on: 02/02/2015
Halfords are renowned for failing cars on a lot of stuff that shouldn't fail especially brakes. They do this so you get your car fixed with them. My son had his car mot'd with them and basically condemned the car. Some of the stuff they failed it on we knew were ok so we paid for another mot at a local garage and the only thing wrong was a new tyre. The work halfords failed on they quoted £1600 for the repairs. So although halfords offer half price mots it isn't worth it as they will fail it n stuff that shouldn't fail. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. We reported them to trading standards and they have had loads of complaints about the same thing.
Report this content Jazzfizzcat Written on: 02/02/2015
Yes, they are Good on the minor things, like bulbs etc, however, be very cautious on anything else my experience of their recommendations is the work on the other items was shoddy, expensive and a waste of time, my suggestion would be go somewhere else..
Report this content oowmygawd Written on: 02/02/2015
I had a similar problem at my local Halfords, My vehicle needed a new indicator bulb, they consulted me as I was waiting in reception, fixed the problem at cost of part and I came away with an MOT. However, I cannot speak for other Halfords branches.
Report this content Mailsajid2000 Written on: 02/02/2015
MOT and Service for £139 is just a bait. They normally do MOT first and then service. This gives them enough opportunity to fail you and mint money out of you. They will fail you for silly reasons which is not even a problem at first place. But the bottom line is, once you are in then you will NOT have any escape route. Better to avoid Halfords.
Report this content britishconsumer Written on: 02/02/2015
You didnt say who failed your car in the first place. If it was Halfords, then if you allow them to correct the points of failures, then obviously they would pass your car eventually. If it was another test station that failed your car, than personally I would have the same test station to correct the points of failures.
Report this content Photomic Written on: 03/02/2015
I have a Citroen C8 which had blown headlight bulb. Went to Halfords to get it changed. "Oh yes we can do it for you". The guy started working on the car. 45 mins later, after he had joined by three other Halfords "engineers", they gave up. At least they did not charge for the greasy bulb. I drove to the main dealer. Their service guy said "clock me when I do it". Two minutes and 37 seconds later the bulb was fixed. This took place in 2013, I doubt that anything has changed since.
See All Answers
Asked by jamie123perry on 15th February 2014 Report this content
How much does it cost to put air in my air forks on my mountain bike? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content brakenoodle Written on: 17/02/2014
I can't speak for other bike shops or mechanics but I suggest you do it yourself because it is so simple. A standard tube pump will not do the job so you will need an air fork pump with a low loss valve head/adapter and pressure gauge. This type of pump can be had for under £20 and is always useful for topping up your forks or playing with the pressures to get them right for your weight and rising style. For the price of getting shop to do it, you can buy your own pump. Enjoy!
Report this content luckynegi Written on: 23/12/2014
I can't speak for other bike shops or mechanics but I suggest you do it yourself because it is so simple. A standard tube pump will not do the
questionAnswer