Arnold Clark, Sighthill, Edinburgh Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Arnold Clark, Sighthill, Edinburgh
★★★☆☆
2.5
38.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Arnold Clark, Sighthill, Edinburgh - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Arnold Clark, Sighthill, Edinburgh

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Poor Service”

★★☆☆☆

written by Stilesdl450 on 05/06/2016

I have bought two cars from Arnold Clark and cannot complain about the sales experience but I cannot say the same for the servicing. I recently had my car for a service, when check was made to the pollen filter which I don't know if they replaced but they must of checked it. And then they incorrectly fitted it back which meant that my heater in the car was permanently on. I took it to a Nissan approved garage and they checked it and said that yes the filter had been incorrectly fitted and this was the problem. I had phoned Arnold clark before going to the Nissan approved garage and mentioned this to them but they said that this was nothing to do with them and that should be under the Nissan warranty. I took out a two year service plan when buying the car so paid upfront, I would not recommend this as it is not a full service just a check and I have no idea of this 'check' actually takes place, they have a video of the service but all it showed me was the number plate of my car - not what was being done to it. I am getting the Nissan garage to do my service the next time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Arnold Clark, Sighthill Edinburgh ”

★★★★★

written by on 03/04/2016

Recently I purchased a Hyundai i30 and am very pleased with the service, was offered to go for test drive which did and the sales man Kris that sold me the car was very friendly and patient especially when I don't know my way around Edinburgh.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poorly handled, no responsibility for mistakes,...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 10/03/2016

Having purchased two cars from Arnold Clark in the past I felt confident in going to them for another purchase. My mum and I visited the branch to view an estate vehicle on a weekday evening after work, had been encouraged by the sales colleague to put a reservation deposit of £100 on the vehicle until we could return at the end of the week for a test drive as he repeatedly said the vehicle would be gone before we could return. Having left a deposit for reservation a family health emergency the night before we were due to return to the branch meant we had to cancel. I called first thing the day we were due to return to advise we would be unable to visit, and due to the circumstances would like the reservation removed and deposit refunded. I was unable to speak to the sales assistant we'd dealt with due to a meeting, left a message with the receptionist who sounded confident it would be handled. I received a call back from the sales assistant half an hour later. When I told him the circumstances and that I would like the reservation removed he kept asking why and couldn't we rearrange. My grandad had been taken into hospital overnight with a stroke, I had no idea what the outcome would be and just needed to know the reservation was removed so I could get on. I can only explain his attitude as huffy. He sighed down the phone when he realised I wasn't going to change my mind and mumbled "alright give me a minute" then hung up. I assumed he would phone back, however three hours later he hadn't. I left a further message with the receptionist who advised the sales colleague was with a customer, she remembered my first call from the morning and asked if he had dealt with my call yet. I told her he had called back initially, but had not called again to arrange refund of the deposit or confirm the reservation had been removed. Two hours later I had not been called back. I had to go to work and so my mum, who was angry at the lack of customer care during a stressful time for us, called the branch. She managed to finally speak to the sales colleague who apparently mumbled his way through an explanation that he had been waiting all day for his manager to authorise removing the reservation. Why was this not communicated then? I feel he ignored our calls because he was annoyed we hadn't bought the car. I should have known from the attitude during the visit to first view the vehicle. He asked after a five minute walkaround of the vehicle if we were going to buy it. A further 'mistake' occurred a day or so later when we received a call from the sales colleague where he told us he had put through the car as a sale in my name and probably a V5 was getting sent out, oh and could we return it ASAP. My mum who had taken the call was by this point really frustrated, he gave no explanation or apology and when she said we'd post the V5 back if we received it he said it would really be better if we could hand it in to the dealership. We live well over an hour away from them so no! I didn't receive a V5 so assumed they had managed to rectify their c*ck-up. However I got a letter in the post last week from the DVLA warning that I was listed as keeper of the car, another application for ownership had been lodged, and if I didn't inform them of correct ownership soon I could be charged with an offence. I am extremely angry I have had to deal with this during a stressful time. The attitude of the sales colleague, who I haven't named because I feel that singling out a new salesman in the branch is unnecessary, and the general incompetence and unprofessional way of handling customers is shocking. I am disappointed and will be avoiding Arnold Clark branches in the future. Sighthill branch need to take a look at the way they operate.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Best customer service experience”

★★★★★

written by on 20/08/2015

Hired a van from Arnold Clark and accidentally left my keys inside. The staff at Arnold Clark were so helpful and went out of their way to help me retrieve them. Thank you so much! Brilliant service from  the people I dealt with The van was also easy to drive, well maintained and good value.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Commutation problems ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MckaylaFraser394 on 04/07/2015

Most stressful time ive had buying a car !! No communication bought a car to get home amd a call to b told someone else has bought the car at same time ... And they had to b pushed for a decent deal on a similar car even though we had paperwork and paid deposit. Aftercare shocking !! neva again use another dealership ..none of them have a clue

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Arrogant and unprofessional member of staff”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 20/03/2015

We went there to see cars and it was obvious (for some reason) that the member of the staff did not take us seriously that we wanted to buy a car. It was late evening and we didn't want to drive the car for a test drive with no daylight and I now think that this might be what made him feel 'Im not interested in these customers'. Then we needed to ask him to get into his office to discuss about the finance of the cars while he didn't look like he wanted to. Maybe because it was one hour before he finishes his shift. He was insisting in trying to make us buy the more expensive car while we had explained that there are reasons why we look cheaper cars as well. No matter the explanation he was continuously trying to make the cheaper car looks rubbish and the more expensive looks brilliant (if the cheaper car is not worth buying then why such a big and trustworthy dealer has it in their garage). By the end of the talk he told us that he will call us 2 days later to discuss again our decision and he never called. We could call ourselves if we really want the cars but his attitude made us feel insignificant customers. Obviously no one wants to be looked down especially if planning to give your money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bought car from here and very happy”

★★★☆☆

written by Finchkl28 on 14/07/2014

I bought my i10 from here and am very happy. I love my little car. Only thing I found is you are kinda forced into buying the mot and service pack. I just hope my car passes the mot and dose not cost anything. I had a rover 25 for 8 yrs a real banger and it passed every year without fail. So that's the only thing that bothers me. After sales is a bit pants as I feel they don't want to know you once you have left the forecourt But apart from that good sales team happy with car and yes would buy from them again just not get the mot package as I worry it's going to cost me in the long run

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Appalling concern for customers”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 09/09/2013

I have used Arnold Clark for several years but today was the last straw. Frequenty I book my car in for a service and I specify a pick up time - over the past 10 years I think it has been ready once when I asked for it. However today was just too much. I had booked an MOT and service, dropping the car off at 9.00a.m. requesting a pick up at 3.00p.m. I asked them to attend to it early as I expected there would be work to be done. I phoned at 3.00 (note I phoned them, they did not contact me) to be advised it had failed. They reeled of a list of non-functioning lights and then suspension bushes. Now it doesn't take 5 hours to spot the lights aren't working. According to them the service takes 1.5 hours and the MOT 1 hour (still 2.5 to spare). They then inform me that they cannot fix the car today and don't know if they can get the parts tomorrow! Had they informed me earlier I could have made alternative arrangements for tomorrows transport but I urgently need the car for the following day. However, they do not see its their responsiblity to do anything about this e.g. courtesy car, hire car. Basically I will not use them again and would advise others not to do so. I am only asking for the courtesy of a phone call when they knew they would not make the 3.00 p.m. deadline and they can't even do that!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview