ingenie Reviews - www.ingenie.com

★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
16% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
ingenie - www.ingenie.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for ingenie - www.ingenie.com

ingenie - www.ingenie.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID”

written by Biancaalv on 27/04/2017

Had problems as soon as i went with them firstly i needed to send them my drivers license by taking a picture and email it to them, i got a reference number back in a email from them. a month later they cancelled my insurance without warning when i called they told me they never received the picture when i gave them the reference they had given me they told me they cant find it after that they told me because it had been cancelled i would have to pay more than i was quoted because "there was a problem with my black box"even though it was working fine, and when its fixed it will go back to normal price so they put me through to a technician to arrange a date to fix it when he told me everything was fine with the box so i called ingenie back up and they told me the price will still be higher because my insurance was cancelled even though it was their fault they couldnt find my reference or picture!!!! JUST AVOID

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“rookers for money”

written by 312Griffith on 16/11/2016

My son took out car insurance in February 2015 had a black box fitted, no problems with them untill now. His driving has not changed yet received a letter today saying payments are going up and he's now classed has a dangerous driver, insurance will be cancelled when they next review it if he's classed has dangerous driving again. What a coincidence its nearing the end of his policy now there trying to make has much money has they can of him. Terrible company.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking ”

written by 351Dodd on 07/11/2016

Just taken a policy out after a crash which wasn't my fault. Then got a letter through saying I need to pay another £400 pounds because I didn't state it was a fought case!!! There was no option for that and haven't a clue what it means!! Robbing theives. every rude and unhelpful person on the phone. AVIOD AVIOD

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude Operator”

written by Teltheboy on 04/11/2016

I phoned to get an idea how much anew insurance quote would be. I waited for around 20 minutes before being connected and explained a quote over the phone would be good as my son has not yet passed his test. I was then challenged why I hade not done this online. In other words the impression was not to phone them. Sorry, but can't be done with companies who deal with us in that way.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do NOT waste your money! Ideally I'd put 0 stars if I...”

written by on 19/10/2016

Having recently have passed my license I was looking for cheap car insurance, the cheapest being ingenie. Biggest mistake I made. Black boxes and their lack of cooperation or understanding simply do not work, unless you live somewhere remote. I live in an area full of fools and aggressive and dominant drivers. I got marked down for cornering. I am sorry but I can't wait for ages until there is a massive gap when trying to turn into a busy road. In order to get somewhere, I may have to squeeze in quickly when safe enough to do so. I have in several cases had an fool right up my back whilst following the speed limit. I have a child in the back of my car. In order to avoid them rear ending me, I am going to have to speed up a bit. If someone suddenly decides to cross the road, an animal runs across my way or a car suddenly decides to pull out, I am sorry but I am not going to 'slowly come to a stop'. I am in some instances going to have to slam on my breaks. You cant expect me to slowly roll to a stop and in the process roll over someone. I always check my mirrors though so I know I am not endangering anyone else. If I am on the motorway and there is a truck trying to overtake another truck and only going 1 mile faster, I am going to have to go into the outer lane and get past as quickly and SAFELY as possible in order to avoid traffic jams. If someone is testing my breaks because I think I have an issue, they are going to be doing all sorts to the breaks to test them. I am looking for a different insurance provider and do not care anymore if I have to pay a little more. This is a joke! They do not account for real life driving conditions and instead the driver has to pay for other road users stupidity. I am not bitter because I have to pay extra, my score is quite good but ingenies service is a piece of dog waste. Can't wait to be rid.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use!”

written by Jek94 on 14/09/2016

Do not use this company!!! I have decided to cancel my policy after two years of driving well and getting money back they have decided to increase the policy price by hundreds of pounds with no reason given even after asking. I then emailed the customer services team to ask for the box to be removed with took 4 days to get a response which I had to chase many times. When they finally emailed back they stated it would cost £80 to be removed! After reading my policy again I pointed out to the customer services team that it doesn't not mention a charge for the box to be removed therefore I did not agree to this when signing the agreement. Their response was they do not need to put it in the policy! I wonder what else they conveniently leave out of this!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not recommended”

written by Cox324 on 07/09/2016

After couple of months using ingenie I was happy from my savings etg. BUT one day I had an accident a taxi driver hit hardly my car on the back. My daughter had head injury I had neck and back injury. My car is not able to drive. And quess what? When I called ingenie I through I will get help and more understanding but they said they can not help me and can't pay anything!!!!! I Lost my job, my car, my daughter is not well. They do not gave me any reason why and what I supposed to do next!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do Not Use”

written by Marleyv1955 on 08/08/2016

Every email from Ingenie starts off with a threat to cancel the insurance, and even now following renewal with a different company they still send emails which are written in the most condescending manner. We had Technical problems with the black box which failed but Ingenie looked for every way to blame the driver for this and cancel the insurance. The fitter acknowledged it was a failed GSM unit in the black box and in no way due the driver or the car. Call centre useless, make up the rules as they go along, don't think they have any clue about car insurance. Really would recommend looking elsewhere for a real insurance company. Can't believe anyone renews a 2nd year.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE!”

written by Lorelaid127 on 20/07/2016

After using this company for 18 moths I was happy with the whole situation. my renewal offer was good and I carried on my policy. However in the November I had to frequently use a busy exit on the M1. The exit is 50mph and the motorway is 70mph. The cars joining the motorway are travelling atleast 70mph and if I join the carriage way doing 50 then im automatically going to cause an issue for other drivers and more importantly myself. After just two days of slightly exceeding the limit I had a notice of cancellation stating that my insurance was now cancelled. I was gutted! so two days of exceeding the limit I was now uninsured! Absolute joke! DO NOT USE!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY AWAY. ”

written by Houghton1963 on 10/07/2016

Worst insurance company around. Need to be shut down! I paid £500 deposit plus £200 per month, i missed a payment and they threatened to cancel my policy? Also when i had an accident they did absolutely nothing to help me, they immediately told me that it was my fault and they sent a letter to the tp insurer saying their accepting liability without investigating or coming out to look at my car. I would advise nobody to get insurance with ingenie, there costumer seervice is poor and they never "call back" when they say they will! Would rather pay more and go with another company, your better off!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Daylight Robbery Stay Well Away”

written by jzAllison1990 on 08/06/2016

Sounded like a good idea at the time. Threats to cancel insurance if don't slow down. If I go any slower I'll stop. Rude customer service. Talk to you like a schoolchild. In the end, after research cheaper and better is available. Do yourselves a favour and avoid like the plague. There is no option to avoid less than one star but if there was, it would be ticked

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!”

written by Vogeljl460 on 28/04/2016

Never in 23 years of motoring have I seen a diabolical shower like Ingenie. My son has had a car seized and impounded due to them cancelling the policy in error, the customer service is condescending, downright disrespectful and their skills include threatening and manipulation. Dare not go over the speed limit or they will threaten to cancel the policy. Last I heard even if the police catch you speeding it doesn't mean your right to insurance is in jeopardy. The fees are horrendous and don't even think about changing cars during the course of the policy. Everything about this company absolutely stinks and I'd rather get the bus than ever deal with them again. It pains me to even give them one star ..You've been warned

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good company ”

written by xhappy.chicx on 03/04/2016

Went with this company as they where the cheapest being a new driver. The claim side was a little confusing for me but I guess when it's never happened to you before things are. Black box installed no problems near perfect driver so premium came down a lot. Only thing I didn't like was a 1500 renewal price which made me find another insurer at 888. If price was right would have stayed a 2nd year.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible company ”

written by 443Tucker on 19/02/2016

Do not go with inginie it is the most shitest insurer ever they are no help and not professional at all!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely awful insurance compant”

written by jeHale1955 on 17/02/2016

So i was looking for insurance for a 2005 Kia (0.9l engine) an the best quote I could get was Ingenie for £150 a month. All was fine as I was using it to practice in however I then got a newer car, engine still the same but 7 years newer. They then put the price up to £175 and wanted £80 for them to come out and install another box.. I wasn't too bothered as I could understand they needed to pay the installments etc. however what I couldn't understand was paying £25 more a month for a newer car? So I passed my test and again they upped the fee to £180 a month. I drove well, not perfectly, sometimes doing 45 in a 40 but nothing ridiculous and when you download the app it gives you driving feedback. It was saying everything I done was unsafe including acceleration (1l Toyota aygo - there's no acceleration to it?) suddenly they upped their fee to £220 a month for 'dangerous' driving, again TOYOTS AYGO. Finally the insurance came to an end and they requoted me £170 a month when I have 1 years no claims? I was utterly shocked how much they where willing to charge me so I gave them a call. The customer service is ridiculous. I spoke to one lady first and explained that it was too much and is there anything they could do on the price for me? All that was said was 'no if it's cheaper elsewhere, go to them'... so after shopping around I decided I was getting a new car and done insurance quotes on that and was getting £120 a months from insure the box (1.4l Audi) however my insurance would run out before I got the new car so I decided to stay with Ingenie 1 more month and then cancel. I have just called Ingenie and got a lady on who sounded like a 10 year old child, talking to me down the phone and whispering all the fees. I asked could she repeat some things as she was talking too quiet and she got In a huff over it. I then asked would there be a cancellation fee if I cancelled next month and she explained only £35. After taking all my details and getting in a mood because I wanted to pay from a different card to previous, she then said I had renewed my policy. the way they treat customers Is ridiculous and if you don't want to be charged £70 extra a month that previously quoted because you don't drive under the speed limit everywhere and go round corners at 12mph, I wouldn't go with ingenie

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Drive well, pay less”

written by jezgoodwin on 11/12/2015

Took this insurance out for my daughter, have got nothing but praise for the service we have received so far. any parents who worry about how their children are driving after passing their test really should go for a black box insurance. have done quite a bit of research on how they monitor the driving behaviour via the app and each element of driving is monitored from braking to cornering and will recommend improvements if there are any( my daughter is doing well, but cornering can be improved) Note: there is no curfew on this insurance and no mileage limit and if you drive well you are more likely to get more cashback than any of the other blackbox insurers. imho this is the best blackbox insurer.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Poor customer service”

written by Nielsenln36 on 15/11/2015

good insurance company in general, usually cheaper than other insurers but if involved in a crash they don't help one bit. Have to chase up what's going on yourself as their staff don't let you know

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Price is Perfect Fitting is Terrible”

written by Malcolmt198 on 13/11/2015

The price of the insurance is the best I could find, however when I booked an appointment for fitting the box into my car, the time and date was terrible... As most people working from Monday to Friday 9-18 or something like that and they only can provide fitting appointments from Monday to Friday 8-17... They could do at least twice in a month on saturdays...

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great insurance company”

written by 181Kirkpatrick on 28/09/2015

Do not listen to these m.orons who had their insurance covered for flying at 60mph in a 20 zone or for not paying they premiums on time. Read terms and conditions! Now when that is out of the way... Took my first ever car insurance with Ingenie as my friend had her insurance with them and premiums where cheaper than elsewhere. They came and fitted the box for free in a time that suited me. They have a nice app where you can monitor your score and driving, gives you advice on how to improve. If you disagreed with the feedback, simply get in touch with them, they will tell you where and what time in happened. I have to say I got away a few times for ''Harsh braking'' and they reset my score. At the end of my 1st year got my renewal price, it dropped from 680 quid to 420 - try to find a better deal!!! Unlike the other insurance companies you dont have to pay admin fees (like changing your address for 50 quid etc), I even changed the car and I didn't have to pay a penny for that.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not take out Insurance with Ingenie!”

written by evPike76 on 02/09/2015

This car insurance company is a joke, seriously. I warn you not to take out insurance with them. I had insurance with them for 4 months on an old KA. I understand older cars come with higher premiums because they have less safety devices and people are more likely to me aggressive when driving them as there isn't much to lose. I was paying 150 a month and a 300 deposit for this. I decided to get a new car, a new brand new KA on finance which would aid me in my travels. They increased the premium to be 188 a month, as well as 500 deposit on it. I thought that was ridicolous as a newer car tends to be cheaper on insurance(Have done many quotes on new and older cars). I decided I would just get a new insurer, and they said that was fine, however they wanted £700 to cancel! This is insane! How can a company do this to someone, they are manipulative and awful. I beg you do not take out insurance with them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by missjojofo on 29th October 2015 Report this content
Just wondering if anyone has had an issue with the Ingenie black box? First box that was fitted was giving good feedback and had a months discount, happy days. But then Ingenie said the box must have been faulty and to change the box now. The box reports dangerous driving.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview