Worst experience we have ever had!!!

4.6 / 5
94% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Northfield1's review of Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com


“Worst experience we have ever had!!!”

Written on: 09/10/2017 by Northfield1 (1 review written)

We are regular travellers and always hire a car when we go away. We normally hire with the same company but were unable to book with them this time as they were fully booked. We were happy with the car..it served the purpose. When we returned the car we were kept waiting for quite a while. The customer before us was charged admin fees as the petrol was 1mm less than it should have been!!! We thought that was a bit petty. Eventually it was our turn. The lady went straight to our car, looked around quickly then went straight to the front of the car and looked at one particular spot underneath the car as if she new what she was looking for...she didn't check all along the underneath...just this particular spot as if she knew it was there...then told us that there was a 'new' scratch...it was about 2cm...couldn't be seen unless you literally got on your hands and knees!!! There was no discussion... She just said 'I need your insurance details as you didn't take our insurance' I think this is outrageous! I asked to speak to the manager but was told they didn't have one! She just wrote on a scrap of paper the amount of350 euros and when we said that this amount seemed very high, her response was 'we have your card so we can get the money anyway'!!!! Reading between the lines I think this relates to the insurance companies and I believe she knew the scratch was there before. Terrible service and treatment!! Just to mention, there were customers listening to all of this who changed there mind to book with them as they were also shocked. My advice to anyone thinking of using this company...be very careful!!!

  • Value For Money

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Northfield1's Review

Written on: 15/11/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for hiring a car from us. We are sorry if you were unhappy to be charged for a damage to the vehicle.

When you collected your car you would have been given a comprehensive and detailed condition report of the car showing all existing damages according to our computerised records and you would have been invited to check the car to make sure that you agree with this before you accept the car. When you return we also check the car in the same way that you can and compare it to the damages we have recorded.

We certainly do not charge customers for existing damages. We work very ahrd to make clients aware of their responsibilities and only make a charge for a new damage which unfortunately we have to do if we are to keep our prices low (we cannot afford to cover the cost ourselves on low cost bookings).

The overwhelming majority of our clients enjoy worry-free car hire by choosing our all-inclusive package whereby the customer is not responsible for damages but in the event of a client choosing a low-cost package we do have to pass on any charges for damages.

If you would like us to look into your individual issue you are very welcome to email our customer care team.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0