Sado Rent - www.sadorent.pt Reviews

★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
49% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sado Rent - www.sadorent.pt - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sado Rent - www.sadorent.pt

Sado Rent - www.sadorent.pt
Sado Rent - www.sadorent.pt

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Go to the next rent-a-car place. ”

Written on: 27/09/2022 by ColinSomerville (1 review written)

I have used Sadorent every time I go to Portugal for the last 20 years. While on vacation a man carelessly walked onto the road just as I was passing in the car I rented from Sadorent. He got hit and fell onto the car. He damaged the hood and windshield. I took all the steps Sadorent instructs to do in case of an accident. (They leave a package with you in the glove compartment with all the instructions.) My wife even called Sadorent to verify these instructions. The man that got hit admitted it was his fault and signed off on the accident report provided by Sadorent. I was led to believe that I would not have to pay the €1200 deductible, because it was not my fault. When I took the car back, I was told they would not go after the guy for the money. I was responsible for paying the deductible and I would have to go after him for the money. I feel betrayed. I will never rent or recommend Sadorent again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Welcome home, you owe us $521.00”

Written on: 14/07/2022 by SkipMays (1 review written)

Ten days after returning home to US in mid-May, received an invoice for $521 from SadoRent, Porto alleging I used diesel to refuel this gasoline car. Multiple requests from me to dispute this outrageous claim have met with no response from Sadorent. My rental was a well priced Audi sedan that I refueled (with gasoline) roughly 20 miles from the Porto airport prior to returning the vehicle. Audis (and most gasoline fueled vehicles) are equipped with restrictive fueling ports that prevent the use of the larger nozzles used with diesel pumps. A highly respected, local ASE Master Mechanic with extensive experience with foreign manufactured vehicles has advised that the Audi gasoline engine would have immediately lost power had I refueled with diesel and I would have never made the transit to the Porto Airport to return the vehicle. Recommendation: Please read this and other negative comments about renting from SadoRent. I wish I had.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Well priced ”

Written on: 29/05/2022 by Nina316 (1 review written)

Hired a car for 3 days. Called on arrival at Lisbon airport (we were later than we’d stated) call was answered immediately. Easy instructions to meet rep outside airport. Lovely girl drove us to the rental site. Collected car with minimum fuss. Returned car to same location and were driven beck to the airport for our flight. No hassles, nice car, very competitive prices. Friendly and courteous staff. Would definitely use again and recommend to others.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“TERRIBLE STAY AWAY”

Written on: 03/07/2020 by FinnRowe358 (1 review written)

This is the worst rental we had in Portugal I reserved a Station Wagon and received a tiny car they said is of the same category, not sure how as it was tiny and in terrible condition Once I tried to ask for a replacement they said they have none - anywhere in Portugal, which I find hard to believe I kept complaining looking for a solution and got to their reservation center, there they offered me to return the car but would NOT return the deposit we made The level of service is the worst I have experienced here, the cars are in terrible shape and they did NOTHING to try and resolve my concerns, they just did not care - I rent many cars every year here but this is by far the worst experience I had so far. It might be cheaper, but the value is even lower than what you pay, I would strongly advise not to rent from this company anywhere in Portugal. My order was done through ECONOMY CARS and I think they also work with Discover

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Fraudulent methods of SadoRent”

Written on: 08/07/2018 by JuliaLindsey355 (1 review written)

In my opinion SadoRent has fraudulent business practices. When picking up the car you will be very quickly fed and you do not have the opportunity to take a closer look at the vehicle. When returning the vehicle, however, was extremely precisly checked. The employee from SadoRent drove with his finger along the underbody and then actually found a scratch on the underbody, which had allegedly not been there before. Noone could see that scratch without lying on the floor. This scratch was charged with 150 € + tax (172€). However, it seemed to me that the staff knew exactly what to look for. My guess is that the damage was already there and SadoRent only want to earn extra money. As you have to give a deposit when you pick up the car, you have no choice to refuse the payment. In my eyes these are criminal methods and that ist he reason, why they can make cheaper prices. Therefore I can only recommend, not to rent a car from SADORENT. If it is already too late, please take your time to look very closely at the car and to document every detail with photos. Also annoying is that SadoRent at the airport in Porto were not to be found. Unlike the "reputable" car rental companies, SadoRent has no office and no parking for its shuttle service. So you have to call there first, so that a shuttle to the airport. This robs you a lot of time first and they will not tell you this before that it runs like this. Overal, after renting ca. 20 to 30 rental cars in my life, this is the only bad experience I ever made with a rental car company.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Overall good but get a map for the return”

Written on: 12/08/2017 by Banks282 (1 review written)

Having booked via Enjoy Car Hire, i struggled to find a review for Sadorent at Lisbon airport so was quite apprehensive. Our luggage took nearly an hour to come off the plane, when we got to the meeting point for the car there was no-one there but he arrived about 10 minutes later, so we don't know if he might have been there an hour earlier or not, still the pick up worked well. The car was clean inside, quite a few bad scratches on the bodywork, & the interior parcel shelf was disconnected from previous rentals but these were already noted on the paperwork, the man went round car slowly with us & any additional scratches were noted & explained to us. Having read horror stories of charges for damages I also took photos & they were understanding about it. On returning the car we had no problems. The location of the office was a bit tricky especially as we had no map to guide us back. Luckily we were staying with friends who knew the area, & we managed to find it online & with their local knowledge. It's in an area with a lot of car hire offices, but ask them for a map. The staff were very helpful, the garage & office very clean. Our return transfer to the airport was prompt without waiting for other people to join us, they took us on our own. Previously we've used Centauro who were a lot easier to find, but I would use Sadorent again, we booked through Enjoy car rental so didn't know exactly which company we'd end up with.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not rent!”

Written on: 12/06/2017 by HolidayGirlPortugal (1 review written)

We had the same problem with returning! Immiadiatly the "found" a scratch underneath the car and charge us! Seems pretty as how they make money! Not to recommend!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away horrible! ”

Written on: 19/10/2016 by McKinney226 (1 review written)

Horrible company. I rented a car from them and very quickly they went through the car basically did not mark any damage that the car had. When I returned the car they went through the car checking every little mark even the regular wear and tear then they had the audesity of charging my credit card for everything even marks underneath of the bumpers. If you rent with them my advice is take pictures of the whole car even under the car.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sato rent horrible rental agency ”

Written on: 06/10/2016 by Gilliamzm458 (1 review written)

That's funny because they did the same exact thing to me. First I could not find them in the airport then after waiting for a while we were driven to their offices where I noticed a client that did not speak portuguese being told he owed money on some damages. I did not see the car so I can't say if there was any. But as one person told him one price the lady next to him piped up stating that that was not correct and he had to pay an additional $150 euros. We took our car being told that we did not need a spare tire since the tires were run flat, we did not check if all materials to change a tire were in the car. 1 week before coming back we had a flat actually the tire blew. By the way they did mark on the paper when we got the car that the rim was damage,so I went to take the tire to have it replaced but guess what the special lug nut key was missing, so after calling them they kept saying that I was responsible for the tire and could not understand that was not the problem, they wanted me to drive the car to a garage and have the tire changed (car was unable to be drivin) finally agreed to give me a replacement car. Now I got charged over $900 dollars acording to them they needed to replace 4 rims and the front and back bumper. Not sure what a flat tire had to do with the 3 other rims or with the bumper. So come to say I WILL NOT BE RENTING FROM THEM AGAIN.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Sado through Atlas Choice”

Written on: 16/09/2016 by AlonzoCraig215 (1 review written)

I was sceptical about this company - namely because of the low price and the fact I'd not booked directly. I called Sado a few days beforehand to enquire about collecting the car earlier than agreed - not a problem, booking updated and no price change. I then expected to be "upsold" all the additional extras at the desk. No suggestion of additional insurance and the clerk asked where we were going - explaining that the motorway toll device would be useless for us. The car was brand new and spotless. Returned without any questions / quibbles (despite being filthy and full of sand!) and the staff took us on the airport shuttle within minutes. Painless experience all round.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Absolutely no reason to avoid this company”

Written on: 29/08/2016

Lisbon Airport Everything about our 2 week hire was exactly as you would expect and as described by the company. We booked indirectly through AltasChoice so were allocated Sadorent by them. The rep was waiting at the "Meeting Point" as stated on the Voucher and, whilst he could have been holding the Sadorent board more prominently, he was easily identifiable. We were asked to wait for the shuttle bus (as expected) and after about 10 minutes he came and got us and introduced the shuttle driver who helped me to load our luggage in the back and assisted my wife and kids on to the bus. A 5 minute drive later we were at the Sadorent office. The staff were smart and courteous. The offices were clean and well maintained. As expected, they took the €1,100 deposit charge on my credit and I purchased the automatic toll system for the published price - just to make life a bit easier on the motorways and also, I believe, that there is no way of paying tolls on the day so without this would have had to avoid motorways on our last day (driving Faro to Lisbon!!) Having read some other reviews I was anxious about the checking out of the car. But we needn't have worried!!! The rep showed us all round the car; pointing out the tiniest bumps and blemishes (that we would have probably missed) and marking them on the form. He even encouraged us to take photos of all the marked damage. The benefit of Sadorent is that all of this takes place undercover (in a well lit garage area) so out of the direct sunlight - much better than doing it in the airport car park. I then got a full briefing of the car's functions (lights/radio/fuel/etc) and he even generously marked the fuel at 4/8 when it clearly showed 5/8! Returning the car was just as uneventful and everything went smoothly with no hint of extra charges and just a 10 minute wait for the bus. I can only imagine that other reviewers got a rogue employee or maybe did something to irritate the staff (as we Brits can often do when abroad) - but we would use them again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Fishing for additional money - DO NOT RENT THERE!!!!!”

Written on: 18/07/2016 by Griffin481 (1 review written)

Although SADO RENT is not directly located at the airport of Lissabon and you have to be brought there by a shuttle bus that you have to wait for, the overall impression of their office looked good. The car was also really nice and new. The guy roughly screened the car for damages before we left. While renting this car, we did not have any problems and we were really careful as not to damage it. They did try to get us to rent their GPS for 10€ a day (ridiculous) and 18€ just to use their fast lane device for the toll system of the highways without stating additional costs in the beginning. The real problem was faced when returning the car. Two people started thoroughly looking at the car from the outside while we were still in the car actually. They found what they were looking for quite fast: 2 tiny scratches on the tire hubs and one barely visible scratch at the back of the car. They presented us with a bill for repair of the "damages" adding up to 150€, including 30€(!!!!) per plastic tire hub. While my husband was with them in the office waiting for this bill, he told me to go outside and take pictures of the damages. To my surprise, the car was already gone. They took it right after they found the presumed damages, so we would not have the chance to argue. Of course, having a flight at the airport coming up and relying on their shuttle bus to actually get there, you do not want to run late and eventually go along with paying. Only after this obscure scene we checked the internet for reviews of the SADO RENT and this all appears to be common practice. You buy cheap, you will pay for it twice, that's all I'm going to say about that. From now on, we will only rent cars with reliable ratings and good service.

Mcmsac's Comment

Written on: 09/08/2016

I had exactly the same experience with this company a few days ago. I booked my car rental via Atlas Choice who advised this would be the company they partnered with at Lisbon Airport. On arrival at the terminal it took an hour to track down the rep in a far flung corner, who was actually sitting on the board indicating the company name. When he eventually finished his conversation with a female rep from another company he called for the van to take us to the hire place, this took another 40 mins. So nearly 2 hours after arriving we finally got to the hire place where the rep told us they would take a €1900 Euro deposit and tried to sell excess insurance, which i declined. The rep did a 30 second cursory check of the car and asked me to sign a form indicating no damage.On returning the car a week later the rep came out to check the car and immediately went to look at the area under the bumper on the drivers side and informed me there was a small scratch on a piece of plastic around the bumper. I protested that I had only driven the car to my accommodation where it had been parked on the drive all week and that the scratch could have been there when i collected the car. Given that neither I nor the rep got down on our hands and knees to check under the car when taking it out It was impossible to know if it was already there, and in any case a small scratch such as this would be considered irreverent and normal 'wear and tear' with other companies. The upshot was they charged me €125 for this small scratch! The service was appalling and this company is just out to rip people off. I would advise people based on my experience to avoid them at all costs.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Good friendly service”

Written on: 15/05/2016 by tinopereira (1 review written)

Great service ,good reliable Toyota last May/15.Took time to explain car and check outside for any damages. No surprises when I returned car. I highly recommend.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst experience ever!!!”

Written on: 29/12/2015 by Holdenv215 (1 review written)

We decided to rent a car from Sado Rent for the first time based on the value and let me tell you that it was the worst decision of our life! The company basically lied to us right from the beginning stating that the car did not have a spare tire because the car was equipped with what they said were the original run-flat tires. For those of you who don't know what that is, it's a specialty tire that seals any puncture in the tire should you run it a problem were you get a flat. To say the least those tires were not on the car and we ended up getting a flat tire. Shortly after we took it to a shop to get a new tires because we were heading back to the airport the next day for our flight. The shop informed us that these were not run flats and they weren't the original tires on the car. Long story short we replaced the tire so we could make it back to the airport where we got into a an argument with the head boss and the man who did our paperwork/lied to us about the car. They basically said we were at fault because we didn't contact them about the tire even though they lied about the car originally and we should have never had a flat from the beginning. My 1 warning to everyone? STAY AWAY FROM SADO RENT!!! PERIOD!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Rien à redire..”

Written on: 28/09/2015 by VILELA (1 review written)

cela fait maintenant plusieurs fois que je loue mon véhicule avec Sado rent via atlas choice à Lisbonn, tous est parfait tarif compétitif, accueil sympa en ville comme à l,aéroport. je recommande

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Vacances au Portugal”

Written on: 19/09/2015 by denreg (1 review written)

Bonjour, Nous avons loué un véhicule via Atlas Choice chez Sado Rent. L'annonce précisait une Mini One ou un véhicule similaire. Le jour convenu nous avons téléphoné à l'agence, une navette propre et bien entretenue est venue nous récupérer à l'aéroport de Porto et nous a conduit à l'agence à 3 minutes de l'aéroport. Nous avons etetrès bien accueillis et avons effectué les démarches administratives, ils nous ont donné une Mazda 2 neuve avec seulement 5000 km au compteur au lieu de la Mini One annoncée. La Mazda 2 est très bien équipée bluetooth, 2 prises USB, prise 12v et écran tactile. Nous avons fait le check de la voiture tranquillement avec le loueur. La voiture était très propre, avec 4/8 d'essence. Le loueur nous a conseillé de prendre le passe pour les péages car beaucoup d'autoroutes au Portugal ont des péages automatiques. Il coute 18#5;euros. Nous avons rendu la voiture 10 jours plus tard à l'agence, les indications fournies pour retrouver l'agence était très claires et nous avons trouvé facilement. Nous avons fait le check de la voiture rapidement et le loueur nous a fait le compte des péages. La voiture est très agréable a conduire et très confortable. Nous avons eu une très bonne expérience avec Sado rent.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not trust...”

Written on: 04/08/2015 by Rodney488 (1 review written)

Beware! We looked after their rental car impeccably. However, on returning the car at Porto their representative identified a tiny blemish on an alloy wheel (which we hadn't noticed when picking up the car, and they hadn't recorded on the log book, and which I can categorically confirm we didn't cause). They proceeded to charge us €75 to repair this minuscule damage. We notice many other customers have had the same technique to fleece them. We had no option but to pay as they hold a €850 deposit and we were running late for our flight and reliant for them to take us to the airport. Held to ransom effectively... I am sure they won't have the 'damage' repaired and will use it to scam others. We were assigned this company through Economy Car Hire so be warned!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Serviço muito bom”

Written on: 27/07/2015 by Jmodrade (1 review written)

Bem, não tenho nome das pessoas que prestaram serviço para mim, porém eu recomendo a locadora de veículos para todos. Reservei o carro e no momento que eu percebi que a mala do carro não seria adequada para transportar o que eu queria todos me atenderam muito bem e fizeram a troca do veículo sem maiores problemas. Me orientaram a respeito das estradas. Permitiram uma flexibilidade de horário na hora de entregar o carro sem taxa adicional. Recomendo a todos pelo ótimo serviço prestado. A única observação que eu faria é em relação ao controle de combustível consumido. Nunca tinha visto isto em nenhum outro lugar. É o primeiro lugar que eu vejo que você pega e devolve o carro deixando o nível de combustível onde você encontrou. Porém o marcado pode estar em qualquer lugar, inclusive na reserva. Esta seria a única crítica que eu faria. É muito mais fácil você pegar e devolver com o tanque cheio.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Our Fiat 500 rental”

Written on: 10/06/2015 by 151Morris (1 review written)

I was very satisfied with the car, great for a tall guy, and the front desk folks were very helpful. They were busy but still were willing to engage, what else can one ask for. I mean a clean wonderful car nice people no hassles.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“smooth and fast check-in, check-out”

Written on: 19/05/2015 by AlexusHicks322 (1 review written)

we've hired a car from Sado Rent SA during our holidays in Portugal. I am impressed how smooth and fast they could manage with check in and out. Busy site, but they could find time for everyone. The car was nice and clean. Looks, Sado Rent looks after they clients. Recommended, I'll use them again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview