Guerin - www.guerin.pt Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Guerin - www.guerin.pt
★☆☆☆☆
1.4
7.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Guerin - www.guerin.pt - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Guerin - www.guerin.pt

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Extra Charge”

★☆☆☆☆

written by FaroCarRegular on 26/03/2024

I was charged € 100.00 for a small scratch to a wheel rim. A ridiculous extra cost for something so innocuous which doesn't have any impact on the car. I have hired a car at Faro Airport many times. this is my first time with Guerin and will be my last. No other rental company has treated me like this.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid Guerin Car Rental!! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MekhiCurtis on 23/09/2023

This message is to let the people know how to proceed when you rent a car with the Guerin rental car. They do not do a pre-check of your car. They use this method or to charge you when you return the car. They charge you with all kinds of things. Take pictures before taking the car. A lot of pictures. Tell them to sing your request . They charge more for any thing the car has . This is the way they make money. You are lured with lower initial rates. Then they screw you!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Sham car rental company at Lisbon Portugal airport....”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JaniyahStevenson on 12/07/2023

Sham car rental company at Lisbon Portugal airport. Rented car through national car rental company in states. They subbed to this local company. Upon returning car, my wife and I witnessed attendant who inspected the returned vehicle putting small scratch on hood of car with a sharp object concealed in his hand. He then informed us there would be an additional $350 charge to repair paint. We left without signing paperwork and immediately alerted national/enterprise where we have a corporate membership. Reversed the charges on credit card and sent to our attorney. Avoid this company at all costs. Never had this happen in 35 years of renting cars!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Prepare to be charged for someone else's damage”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 01/05/2022

Guerin = Russian roulette. Go ahead, use the service ...if you feel lucky. I've been charged for a damage I did not do. I'm always checking everything outside the car: the body, the windows, the bumpers, etc. It was my fault not to check everything INSIDE the car. It was Guerin's fault to: 1. not finding out - or not wanting to find out - who actually broke it; 2. handing over a car with broken part and hiding this fact; 3. arrogantly saying to me: "we don't care who broke it, you'll pay". The result: me having to pay the equivalent of a week of rental for a silly trunk cover; Guerin giving me the middle finger and getting a shiny, new part for their car. Never again Guerin!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Avoid this company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AreiaBranca on 21/10/2020

I included the toll road express lane device (Via Verde) in the rental. A long time after the rental was over I was pursued by a debt collecting agency because of non payment of three (of the many) toll journeys, I challenged this and was told that Guerin had informed the toll road operator that I had declined to pay. Subsequently Guerin contacted me to say that they had debited my card for the same journeys. Guerin did not respond to any of my messages. Things only started happening when I complained to National Emerald Club (through whom I had made the booking). Even then it took more that three months to sort out, with Guerin frequently asking for the same information multiple times. There was no apology for their error or compensation for the time spent on emails, phone calls and copying and sending documents.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“CAR HIRE COMPANY - DO NOT USE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 02/01/2018

I recently used Guerin Hire Car in Portugal for 7 days. Guerin did not warn me of any mileage restrictions at the time nor do they have anything stated in their T&C's although it appears I have been given an allowance of just 280 km for 7 days. DESPITE THIS, they charged me a total of £600 GBP after returning the car due to mileage and toll charges. They did not advise me they were taking any charges from me at any point they just took it from my bank account with no explanation. After complaining , emailing and phone calls I have received no response since 30 October 2017 and am now seeking legal advice. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY BY ANY MEANS!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Money pinches...stay away!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MireyaTownsend153 on 24/09/2017

Hired a car for a month in Portugal. Guy behind the counter had no idea what he was doing and charged us an extra £70 and told us we would get it back at drop off! Rather than spoil our holiday we would deal with it later. Lovely car however we did find it strange that they didn't check it and told us if there was any scratches to write them down. We actually had to force the guy out the office to look at car. On dropping car off lady told us she does not deal with the money and charged us an extra £40. I have emailed and called to no avail. I have been home 3weeks and today they have taken £20 out of my bank!! Partnership with Enterprise so they are getting a visit!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Avoid Guerin at all costs”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Markasdfg on 23/06/2017

Anybody who is considering renting a car from this company think twice and after that pick a different rental company even if it is more expensive. I booked the car (economy) from rentalcars.com for a week starting May 27th. I purchased full protection for extra $100 so my total was around $200. When we arrived to Guerin counter at Lisbon airport I was told that my deductible would be 1250 euros and if I want to decrease it to 300 I would have to pay extra 100 and to reduce deductible to 100 euros I need to add extra 50. I decided to take my chances and not to pay anything extra. I picked my car and checked out its condition walking around it and looking for obvious scratches and dents. Didn't find any. Boy if I was not knew how naive I was. When I came to return it in June 4th attendant started to check cars condition extremely carefully. He checked not only cars body but also rims. Then he called me and said he found an abrasion. I had to seat down and look closely and even used my fingers to feel it. Unfortunately I can't add a picture to this post so you all see it. It was probably an inch long and a quarter inch wide and very superficial. On my protest that whether he can prove it was there when I picked the car he said it was not his problem and sent me to the office. The guy in the office said pretty much the same and then told me that they would be charging me 250 euros for that "damage". I was furious and tried to explain that nobody is looking at rims in the US and nobody told me to check rims and there was no acceptance rules posted when I picked up the car. Because they preauthorized to charge my credit card up to 1250 euros there was no point to argue with them because even if I have not given them my card they'd charge it anyway. They gave me an email address of their complain department. When I came home I sent them two emails with attached picture and demanded an official report of rim repair but they even didn't bother to reply. I believe this is how they make money. If you don't purchase extra insurance they will find a small blemish that in US would be considered a regular wear and tear and charge you through the nose for it knowing that you have to catch a plane home and don't have time to argue with them. I intend to contact their corporate parent Enterprise as well as Portuguese consumer protection association. I will also post the same review on all sites I can find so people will not do any business with these HORRIBLE COMPANY.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Don't use them.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by GeoffChilds on 06/03/2017

Arrived at Funchal airport with a prepaid booking, waited for nearly an hour to get the paperwork sorted out, also I was convinced to take a upgrade for another 99 pounds which sounded OK for the 6 days, eventually got to the car park, waited another 45 minutes to get the car, drove it straight to the hotel (about 10 minutes) and parked it for 2 days, on the 3rd day went to it and found the front right hand tyre was partially flat, a kind local man helped get it pumped up and off we went, the tyre was OK for the rest of the day, the next day it was OK in the morning so we went out, by midday the tyre was completely flat. We phoned Guerin and was told to bring the car back, so we jack it up and fitted the spare wheel. When we got back the airport drop off we waited again for at lease another 45 minutes before we could talk to someone, we explained the tyre situation and the it had a slow puncture before we collated it, all seemed OK. We then received another car and the rest of the stay was OK. Both cars where dirty and neither had any water in the widescreen washer when we collected them. Here is the crunch - 4 days later I get an unknown charge on my credit card from Guerin for 102.12 pounds, After contacting their customer service by email (takes abut 1 week to get a reply) I was told it was for the repair to the tyre. I have been emailing now for nearly 8 weeks continually asking for a refund and don't get any reply. I have asked for a name who I can escalate the issue to, also with no reply. I have come to the conclusion that their service and business ethics is appalling, I hope everybody reading this heeds the warning, I hire a number of cars each year and I have never come across an organisation like this. KEEP CLEAR.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Stay clear -- AVOID, AVOID, GUERIN car rental at Faro”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 472Graham on 20/10/2016

Ireturned car hire on the 19 October after a ten day rental. The returned time was two hours later than stated on the paperwork - time of return 11 am. The staff member checked the car thoroughly both inside and outside and kept the paperwork. Went into the office and was rudely asked for the paperwork and got a row for not presenting it to her. This staff member seemed to take joy in telling us that we incurred an additional charge of 88 euro for returning the car ' late'. She was very indifferent bordering on being extremely arrogant and rude when we protested and disputed this charge. (Assumed that we had paid for the car for the day). We urge to consider very carefully and not to hire from this unscrupulous company called GUERIN. AVOID AT ALL COST. Had a super holiday,but this left a very bad taste!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Lisbon downtown hire - 2.5 wait for car”

★★☆☆☆

written by Gavinf1968 on 16/10/2016

We hired from Guerin on 20-28th August collecting in Lisbon downtown and returning to Lisbon airport. The car was fantastic. The drop off arrangements at the airport were fantastic. The collection at the downtown office however was appauling. One poor member of staff had to deal with a constantly growing queue which was 12 people long when i joined it. It took 2 and a half hours to get to the front of the queue! Ridiculous that Guerin did not have more staff available on a Saturday when they had taken all our bookings in advance. The street outside looked like a camp with probably 20+ families sitting on the pavement losing the will. I will not be hiring from them again if this is how the treat their staff and customers. Unfair on all. the staff member had to skip his lunch and i have no idea how long others had to wait. with an 11am pick up time we did not leave the office until nearly 2pm. Not acceptable when they already have your money and know you are all coming to collect.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“We rented the car by economy carrental en we get...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Hermannus on 09/08/2016

We rented the car by economy carrental en we get Querin as car rental. We had an full Insurance. Our car was dirty when we delivered the car becauce, the car was under an tree at our holiday home. And they try to bring extra costs for cleaning. After my husband get upset about is, then they didnt. Also you have to wait very long, like 2 hours to pick up the car

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Ripoff pre-crashed cars”

★☆☆☆☆

written by gyCole1 on 09/08/2016

I am absolutely convinced that previously damaged cars are rented as new. Check, check and double check any car you might rent at Guerin in bright sunlight. Don't take check your cars in their dark car park. To be sure: don't even think of renting at Guerin!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Never rent”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Darcis on 09/07/2016

We rented a car for 8 days. Then returned a car we were suppriesd with additional fee. Staff try to fool you in the start rent point and then you returned a car. NEVER RENT FROM THEM.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Never again!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AdrienFlynn185 on 17/06/2016

On car return they claimed damage to windscreen and pointed out the smallest of chips, about 1mm in size, which must have been there before our hire. So small they had to point it out with the tip of a pen and insisted this required a new windscreen! Credit card has been charged £690!!! I wonder how many times this particular chip has, and will, be used for additional cost to the poor individual who hires from Guerin at Faro Airport. Despite 2 email requests for a clearer breakdown of costs with VAT etc, no response. Surprise, surprise! The most dreadful of experiences ever.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“this agency does not meet the conditions of contract”

★☆☆☆☆

written by lanenalola on 14/06/2016

This company does not meet the rental conditions . I rented a car with full insurance in Lagos and paid before insurance and part of the rent Discover Car Hire after takes you to another company that is Drive4less When I arrived at the office in Lagos, it was Guerin . There I was denied the rent for not having credit card. In the lease specifies that the deposit can be paid by credit card or cash and I was denied the opportunity to pay cash , so I was left without a car after paying a portion of the rent . Horrible experience and worse treatment from the agency. In addition, the company that originally hired (Discover Car Hire ) do not respond to emails or the phone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

★☆☆☆☆

written by SydneeDowling on 02/02/2016

We are convinced we were tricked at Funchal Airport, Madeira. We have since found a link on TripAdviser warning people never to use this company. On returning our hired car the attendant ignored everything about the car but went straight to a mark on the edge of a plastic hubcap so tiny that had to be shown up by a light pen (handily available). In other words we believe the car was primed for this. We suspected that the company was dodgy when we saw another client being similarly harassed when we were collecting our car. Consequently we were very, very careful with the car. It would have been impossible for another car to make this mark without scratching the bodywork. They also charged us for the replacement of a titanium wheel when the car only had cheap plastic hubcaps. AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Very Happy Customer ”

★★★★★

written by ShamsUddin on 18/11/2015

After booking a car with Guerin through Auto Europe, I started reading reviews from other customers which left me somewhat frightened. I went for their zero excess policy when I booked. I arrived at Lisbon airport late in the evening and decided to pick up the car next morning so I could inspect the car before I drove off. So next morning went to the guerin counter and gave them all the details. Within 10 minutes all paperwork done and keys handed to me. As I had zero excess the only deposit taken off me on my card was 100 euros for the fuel. The only extra they offered me was tyre, glass, roof and undercarriage insurance at 2.50 euros a day which I took. Collection of car was very smooth. On the first day of hire I hit a pot hole and punctured the tyre. Anyway, after my hire the car return was just as smooth. I informed them of the punctured tyre and they just said "not to worry sir, you took out insurance for that so you are covered". Did quick inspection of the car and cancelled the 100 euro deposit for the fuel as I returned the the car with full tank. That was it, so smooth and so polite, I couldn't believe it as I read so many negative reviews. I had to ask them about the reviews people were giving them. So they said people were making bookings without adequate cover and bringing them back damaged, we have to protect our cars and people don't want to accept this. Well with the service I had from them, I would have to agree. I personally was very happy with the service,and would definitely use them again. I would also advise that you go for cars which they offer with zero excess, that way you will have no problems at all. Shams Uddin Burnley UK

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst car hire in over 30 years! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Gaynorm on 28/09/2015

Abysmal customer service, ridiculously inefficient, 2hour + wait in office, rip off on return if you don't take their insurance. We hired from Guerin at Porto airport through rentalcars.com. On rentalcars.com's website they have a customer satisfaction score of 7.5 which sounded promising. Wish we'd read Review Centre's reviews as well. Arrived on a busy Sunday evening. Queues of people waiting in a small office and a lot of people and their luggage outside. Only 2 operators. Total chaos and inefficiency. Each booking took average of 15 minutes (longest we've ever had to wait) and as someone in front of us was hiring 4 cars for a party of people he took up one person's time for over 45 minutes. There was another person (the manager as it turned out) who was sitting at a sign for "priority" customers and although she did deal with some people there were times when she was just sitting there ignoring the long queue. We asked her why it was taking such a long time and she half-smiled and said that's the way it has to be. We did not take their excess insurance as we have an annual policy so had to sign for 1280 euros to be blocked on credit card- the largest amount ever. Having completed the paperwork finally we had to join another queue to pick up the car. Again pandemonium. Cars were being driven round at speed in such a confined space and each time the person at the front of the queue got their car the next person's seemed to be blocked in. There was only one person doing all this, the other man just drove cars in and out of the car wash. Each person then had to inspect the car and add any scratches they could find which weren't already noted. Because of the pressure to get on your way, people were hurried through this process although some cannier people than us took lots of photos of all sides of the car. We finally got away, having arrived at 16.15,left at 18.30. Only good thing was that the car performed ok. On return, similar chaos and queues. This time the inspection by the Guerin employee took 10 minutes and he finally found a 3mm mark on the lock which he said was evidence of an attempted break in. The lock was in perfect order and we are sure that the mark was there when we picked it up. For info of any future customers the car was a fiat punto reg 25-OS-75. For this we had to pay 181 euros including a whopping 50 euro administration charge. A complete rip-off as they will not repair the lock and will I am sure try to charge the next person. To make matters worse they kept all the rental agreement paperwork and so we are having trouble making a claim on our excess insurance. This experience was dire and the only blot on an otherwise brilliant holiday. Please please please avoid this company like the plague!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Cheaters!!!!! Never Again!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DamaVarga on 15/09/2015

They lure and lye to customers,write important things in a very small unreadable lyrics and the price they show on internet is not true...you end up paying 3 or for times more and they are also known by the name drive4less ans enterprise!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview