Timberwise Reviews - www.timberwise.co.uk

★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
88% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Timberwise - www.timberwise.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Timberwise - www.timberwise.co.uk

Timberwise - www.timberwise.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Excellent Service From Start to Finish”

written by Lyla118 on 23/11/2018

Overall very pleased with service and work carried out by Timberwise. The work that had to be done was fully explained in their surveyor's report. The work was carried out very efficiently with all floor surfaces etc well protected and each day the work areas were cleaned so dust was kept to a minimum.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I wouldn't recommend this company”

written by Jaytok21 on 06/10/2018

We have had a really hard and upsetting time with Timberwise Liverpool. I hope this review serves as a warning to others looking to get dry rot / damp treated. They started a job removing dry rot from our downstairs living room in early 2017. They replaced part of a sash window frame, multiple floorboards, and replastered a quarter of the room. As well as treating the rot. We had problems with them from start to finish. The rot has now been found again in the skirting boards in the same area where they conducted the work. Here are the problems we had with them: 1. They cost a lot of money compared to other companies 2. They took nearly 2 months to complete a job which should've been done in 1 week 3. Days would go by without anyone coming to the house and the job half finished 4. We were rarely kept updated on the progress of the work and we had to call them to find out what was going on / what the delay was 5. One day we came home in the pouring rain and found the window was boarded up, no one had told us this was going to happen 6. After calling up to complain we had someone sent round to complete some demanding manual jobs and they sent someone with a broken arm! 7. We found rot back within 18 months in the same area 8. They were going to charge us £160 just to come out and have a look 9. Their surveyor came out and spent 2 minutes looking at it, he failed to assess the walls, windows and floor boards 10. He said that they had failed to properly finish the job 11. He spoke to a director who then refused to honour our guarantee (which we had paid a substantial amount for) and refused to finish the job 12. Now we are left with an incomplete job, visible dry rot in the room, a guarantee which is worthless, and have already had to pointlessly redecorate the room once which cost us £500 13. After complaining they said they would come and see the work again with the complaints team in 3 weeks time! 14. They then agreed to come sooner, reviewed the work and once again accepted no responsibility for the incomplete job I am now awaiting an independent surveyor to come and review the work and I’m going to liase with the ombudsman. I would wholeheartedly not recommend this company to anyone.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No callback in relation to enquiry”

written by on 21/03/2018

I sent an online enquiry to Timberwise on the Sunday and received an automated reply, by the end of Monday I had heard nothing back, so chased them and was told that a surveyor was reviewing the images i sent (i only sent 4 images) and they would call back once these had been reviewed. It is now two days after this initial contact and I am still yet to hear back from the company. I have no idea just how the surveyor is reviewing 4 images for them to take 3 days, but it seems rather excessive. Adding to the other negative reviews I have seen of this company I will never be contacting them again and will use a tradesman who I can rely on.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“failed damp membrane”

written by jonnydn on 01/08/2017

Timberwise fitted a waterproof membrane to our property in 2013. At the time we had huge concerns about the quality of the worksmanship which we raised with the Managing Director. A few years on our concerns have been realised and we now have serious damp problems in places we have never had before. We asked Timberwise to come back which they did and they knocked some exploratory holes in our walls. That was 6 weeks ago and we are yet to hear in writing what the problem is and what they are going to do to rectify it. Please make own decision about whether this is a company you want to work on your home.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“telephone discussion ”

written by on 02/11/2016

I rang to ask about having a survey of some woodworm . The lady I spoke to was very knowledgeable and helpful, explaining the type of beetle and the probable cause, and likely effectiveness of different treatments. In fact she advised me that a survey would not be very useful because the treatment options were very limited, and the problem was unlikely to be serious. It increased my knowledge and peace of mind considerably.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very reassuring!”

written by on 29/09/2016

I contacted Timberwise as I was concerned that I had dry rot developing in my loft. Rather than calling for a survey, I was asked instead to email photos of the timbers to establish whether or not this was so. Within 20 minutes(!) she phoned to reassure me that having looked at my photos, I should not be concerned and that it definitely wasn't dry rot. She advised me that what I thought was dry rot were salts coming out of the timber brought about by condensation and a lack of air circulation. I was advised to ensure that there is always plenty of room in the loft for the air to circulate. I would most definitely recommend Timberwise to a friend. Excellent service and thank you!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service!”

written by BitchGoddess on 26/08/2016

Prompt attention from start to finish. Receptionist got an inspector to site the same day. He rang me within a few hours! Been and gone and done it! Such a great help having prompt attention - peace of mind now. Nothing urgent. Builders who looked at the site having me on (am a 70 year old woman, trying to rip me off! No chance now! Fabulous company and set up - estimates given including VAT (wish they all did this). Will sleep well tonight - Great Big Thanks to the two people who helped me so much today, xxxxx

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor recommendation for building type. Conflict of...”

written by on 08/05/2016

After our buyers valuation surveyor requested a damp and timber survey be completed our buyer, without knowledge of the industry, commissioned Timberwise. The property is 250 plus year old cottage, lime plastered with no signs of damp and historic woodworm beetle (as expected on a property of this age). Timberwise, who are primarily a damp proofing contractor let us remember, with a few readings on the plaster (by damp meter calibrated for timber!) reported back within the day with a report featuring no photographic evidence or meter readings saying the property needed £4500 plus of damp works to remedy rising damp and beetle infestation, including fumigation, removal of the correctly specified and applied lime plaster (which facilitates the natural breathing of the building) a cavity membrane lining to the walls (more suited to cellars and without any mention of drainage) replastering over and paint decoration within 6 weeks (any replastering should be lime based followed by lime wash to match existing not paint). This has caused no end of stress to us and the very real potential of scaring off a buyer subsequently breaking out chain. I have commissioned an independent surveyor, one of which can be found on the Property Care Association website, who has confirmed my belief that there is no problem with the property. I currently await on whether our buyer and their lender accept this alternative report. I would highly recommend any seller commission an independent survey by independent company who have no conflict of interest. Timberwise and others of their ilk have a clear interest in diagnosing damp as this generates in house business. 'Yes sir damp is prevelant throughout the property and by the way here's the cost to complete the work, please advance 50% of the cost into our bank. Details as follows'. As the saying goes, turkeys do not vote for Christmas, please bare this in mind.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very efficient ”

written by Sanders128 on 21/04/2016

Your technician who treated our woodworm infestation today was extremely efficient thorough about this job, in fact he found a few more holes with his torch. He was very pleasant and the completed work looked very good indeed.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Professional and friendly service”

written by StayAtHomeMotherOfTwo on 16/03/2016

Timberwise was recommended to me when a builder spotted some rot in our under-floor beams. Timberwise sent a surveyor out to assess the extent of our rot, and he identified 3 separate wet-rot problems that needed timbers replacing and chemical treatment. This was written up in a report and quote which I received promptly through the post. Two were accessible and we agreed to go ahead with these as the first part of the work. The third problem could not be fully assessed unless some floorboards were taken up and a further survey done, and we arranged for the work to go ahead with just a very rough estimate of what the cost might be. When the second survey took place, I am pleased to say that the wet-rot damage was much less than originally feared, and the work was completed in a third of the time and cost that we had expected. To me this demonstrates Timberwise's honesty and integrity as a company. I also found their people friendly and professional. The surveyor was very personable and I had confidence in his abilities. The technician who did the repairs and treatment was kind and efficient. I was expecting to have to clear up a lot of dust from our surfaces after the work was completed, but in fact I couldn't notice any dust made at all. I got a 20 year guarantee for the work and really can't find fault with Timberwise. A great experience.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Good Quality Works, Detailed Quotes”

written by RichardDark on 16/03/2016

I manage a Victorian building in the Nottingham area and as the years have passed we have started seeing damp effect our building. I had several quotes from different companies that supply damp proofing and Timberwises was the most detailed. This gave me the confidence in them as a business to award them the works. During the works the contractors are polite and helpful, they also understand how to leave the site in a clean and tidy condition. We have had 3 or more jobs carried out by Timberwise now and all the works have cured our problems. I would have no problem recommending them to anybody who thinks they have a damp problem.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Lost the paper work rude and not helpful”

written by Edwardslq344 on 11/03/2016

This company completed a pre purchase woodworm survey, 3 weeks later I finally track down the surveyor who informs me he lost the paper work and will need to go again. Not even a call to explain the situation. No apology and only met with rudeness on the phone when explaining to them that it has jeopardised my purchase. Complete waste of time.

Timberwise's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2016

HI,
Thanks for your valuable feedback. We take all comments from customers very seriously and I would like know more about your experience to help improve our service for future customers.I can be contacted - Thank you - Phil Lund, Marketing Manager

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Poor Service”

written by NoelPreston291 on 10/03/2016

I would advise anyone thnking of using Timberwise not to. I was let down from start to finish. The first initial survey did not assess the real amount of damp and rot so after having agreed to the firt survey they told me that double the amount of work needed doing as well aftrrer the initial strip. They said they do come across this as the nauture of dry rot is difficult to detect more growth but this amount doubled my first quote and other builders told me it was ridiculous. The property was left mid job for 3 weeks. Their builders had been called to other jobs. I was left with a building site and the whole job took a month longer than fist stated. Thirdly I was wrongly invoiced on more than 3 occasions for work that had not even been completed. Do not use this company. Timberwise made me lose faith in my whole house renovation for a long time and I was relieved when they had been paid and gone. I was very tempted to report them to building standards after on of their builders was seen throwing rubble out of the second floor windor into the skip which was a foot away from the public pavement. BE VERY WEARY

Timberwise's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2016

HI,
Thanks for your valuable feedback. We take all comments from customers very seriously and I would like know more about your experience to help improve our service for future customers.I can be contacted - Thank you - Phil Lund, Marketing Manager

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent Service”

written by IRDent on 28/11/2015

I was impressed with the professionalism and reliability of Timberwise when they surveyed and treated woodwork in our loft. Also, the speed and flexibility of arranging and completing the work. I would definitely use them again and can thoroughly recommend Timberwise to others.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Gross incompetence when invoicing”

written by on 13/11/2015

These people quoted me £480.00 for the work to be done and instead of taking a deposit of £192.00 I.e. 40% from my credit card they took £230.40 I.e. £480.00 plus 20% VAT being £576.00 and then 40% of that amount when I mailed to complain I was told these things happen. It was agreed I would be invoiced for the correct balance of ££249.60 however I have just received an invoice for £334.40 as they have charged me £84.80 for GPI insurance which I did not ask for. I have again sent a mail to complain. I will leave you to decide whether you would wish to use their services as I rather stupidly chose to do.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Quick and effective and great customer service ”

written by Woodwormfree on 29/09/2015

From the moment I phoned the company I was treated with respect and the process was clearly explained. Any questions I had were answered and the paper work was clear and easy to follow. I liked the customer service as they were friendly and polite. I liked that the work was carried out promptly and no mess was left afterwards. In less than a week from requesting a visit the house was treated for woodworm. Would recommend to anyone.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A STRESS FREE PROCESS”

written by Wotsirb52 on 11/09/2015

From my first enquiry phone call to the completion of the work the process was totally stress free. The initial survey was completed by a very efficient and knowledgeable lady who explained totally and in plain language what was needed. I received the report/quote in less than 24 hours and pleasantly surprised by the price having received a quote for double the amount 2 weeks earlier from another company. The technician arrived as planned and did a fantastic job. He cleaned everywhere on completion and removed all waste materials. He was a very pleasant, friendly and hardworking man. He explained everything he was doing as he completed each stage of the work. I am more than pleased with the finished work. Just one negative....I had to call the office at 4pm the day before for confirmation the work was still being carried out the following day.

Sammynbee's Response to Wotsirb52's Review

Written on: 24/02/2016

R u able to email me the other company? Iv had a high quote and want to know if it's the same people ? And whether to try timberwise.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Head and shoulders above the rest”

written by DerekPeters on 09/09/2015

When I found I needed a woodworm treatment on my new home, a victorian cottage,I contacted everyone that a yell.com search produced. Timberwise were the only ones who actually answered the phone, all the rest went to voicemail and no-one, yes no-one, called me back. The survey was done, the deal agreed, then the operations team took over to schedule the work. There were the inevitable delays that go with a property transaction but it did not phase them. They offered me dates, and didn't turn a hair when I had to cancel at short notice, they simply came straight back with a new option. When we finally got the work done the technician was friendly, efficient and very understanding of the problems that can go with a 130 year old property. He took pains to explain and show me what he had done and advised me where I should consider some remedial works. Many companies claim "excellent" or "award winning" customer service but they all can take lessons from Timberwise. Treat the customer as an individual, not a number, understand his difficulties and respond to them quickly, efficiently and professionally. Long may Timberwise continue.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very helpful and professional, with no hard sell!”

written by Bradye82 on 03/09/2015

Having just bought and moved into a new house, we were concerned at the strong smell of damp which was present in the kitchen. A homebuyer's report had shown evidence of some damp, but we worried that the problem was worse than it first appeared. I contacted Timberwise, who agreed to carry out a damp survey of our house. Their surveyor turned up on time, was very polite and professional, and managed to identify the problem - which turned out to be the plumbing - and give us advice on how to avoid further problems. There was no attempt to sell us products or services we didn't need, and a written report was with me by post and e-mail the next day. Overall, I was very impressed with their service - which was free - and would certainly favour contacting them again if any further problems arose.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fast, efficient and professional”

written by Esperanza264 on 04/08/2015

I would not hesitate to recommend Timberwise to those seeking th ever vices of this company. From my first point of contact on the telephone to the gentleman that attended my home, I received polite, courteous and efficient service from all involved. Timberwise operate a very professional service and I aim to use them again in the future without hesitation.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview