Origin Broadband Reviews - www.origin-broadband.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.5 / 5
38% of users recommend this
  • Reliability

  • Customer Service

  • Speed Consistency

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Origin Broadband - www.origin-broadband.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Origin Broadband - www.origin-broadband.co.uk

Origin Broadband - www.origin-broadband.co.uk
Origin Broadband - www.origin-broadband.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Awful, slow, not helpful. ”

written by on 27/05/2021

Seen an offer online, looked to good to be true, turns out it was, the worst internet I’ve ever had but I’m signed into a 2 year contract, paying for up to 60mb/sec averaging around 6-8 15 on a good day ( not often at all, or very late at night.) contact them over the speed issues and there no help at all, can’t get through via phone and they take half a day to respond to 1 message via live chat, telling me to do the same stuff over and over again and then they claim they can’t see an issue even though the issue is I’m getting 10% of what I’m paying for!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible - Do not use, Avoid, No customer service.”

written by MHSmith1942 on 03/01/2019

Took the standard broadband out. Did not get even 0.5mpbs and dropped out constantly. Persevered for one year with it as I am not a heavy user. They are attempting to charge me too much for the years contract. I have tried to phone them in order to inform that I do not wish to continue with the service. Unfortunately when you try to call them they do not pick up the phone. I have been on hold numerous occasions for up to 1hr 20 mins. The longest yet before I gave up trying to call. I do not have the time to sit around for hours waiting or Origin broadband to pick up their sodding phone. The only way I have managed to speak to someone is through their online chat in which it took them more than half an hour to reply to each messages I sent. I was on the online chat for more than an hour with the conversation ultimately ending in, " you will have to call us to cancel your contract". How can I call you when you do not pick up your phone? I can not imagine Origin Broadband will be in business for long. I have fulfilled my 12monthly contract with them and cancelled my direct debit. I no longer live at the address they supplied, I have informed them that I no longer live at the address through the online chat, (only way you can speak to someone if you don't have a whole day available to be on hold ) however they still choose to ignore this information and try to take a direct debit from my bank each month. All I can say is - avoid this company. Do not fall into the trap of thinking it is cheap broadband like I did. They have no customer service, Unwilling to talk to you, Do not provide you with useable broadband. Leave you on hold for hours on end and unable to contact them. Never ever again. m.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“By chance I noticed that they had double charged me...”

written by on 20/08/2018

By chance I noticed that they had double charged me for a number of calls, and their call charges didn't seem to add up. When queried no response was forthcoming, similarly no actual progress made when complained. Cancelled contract but they continued to charge me, and tried to blame this on new supplier when challenged. Took the matter to comms ombudsman, who verified they had failed on many fronts and ordered them to refund the money owed and pay compensation - it has been several months and still no money has been paid. Ombudsman does do a good service so would recommend using them if you are having difficulties with them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid. Nightmare, Nightmare, Nightmare”

written by axKlein460 on 17/01/2018

Please avoid this company, unless simply paying for broadband upfront for a year. I am living on sickness benefit. They overcharged £155 for one month for phone calls alone, by direct debit, refunded it after complaints, persistently rang me at home when I can't speak due to mouth issues, then did the same alllll over again the next month. The next 'bill' was just under £200. Meantime, I found a £2 call to Germany that had never been made. Asked for breakdown of only two months I've used the phone, but they have not send it. I had to threaten them with police to get a £20 credit, and finally they paid that into my bank account, still leaving me having to pay them £12....except I haven't been able to check the £30 from the first month, let alone that £12, since they haven't sent the breakdown, and I now don't trust them further than I could throw them. Meantime I was obliged to refuse to pay a bill, and since I've been clearing my credit file for the last SIXTEEN months, and FOUR other telephone companies caused such issues, which ended up making bad marks on the file, I expressed concern about this, but Origin told me I was getting that wrong.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor all round”

written by Nathan116 on 17/01/2018

I was told a minimum of 65mbps Starts of at 45mbps. After 7:30 most evenings drop to under 5mbps !!! Overcharged repeatedly. Been attempting to sort out for months customer service very poor!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid”

written by Moisesu77 on 13/01/2018

Very bad experiance with Origin broadband their bad all round. Check all the daily complaints from active customers on their facebook page.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Illegally set up direct debits, Capacity Issues and Queues”

written by 275Dunn on 11/01/2018

My experience of this company has been diabolical. I Joined in August.. and eventually went live towards the end of September... sorry it was actually October when I received my router!! And what did I have then? A congestion issue, basically the company that claims to not slow your speeds had slowed my speeds and at peak times my service that is normally 63Mbps was down to 0.8Mbps!! Which is absolutely laughable!! I then raised a complaint which took ages to deal with and staff in that useless team tried to fob me of with tech support who were unable to do anything! I cancelled my direct debit as I was not willing to pay for a service I have not received! Eventually the complaints team agreed to terminate my contract and refused to refund me any money!! There reasoning behind this was because I had a landline connection! I only had landline because it is needed for the broadband! THEN ONCE I HAD LEFT THEY ILLEGALLY SET UP A DIRECT DEBIT AND I HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED BY MY BANK! LUCKILY THEY HAVE REJECTED THE MANDATE! PLEASE AVOID THIS AWFUL FRAUDULENT COMPANY!! I have now moved to Sky who are a much better company and I cannot fault them!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor customer service”

written by Rubyleeds on 11/01/2018

For any problems, expect to be on hold for at least half an hour before even speaking to anyone. Unreliable internet, especially in the evening. When I changed my provider over they continued to charge me for 2 months, despite having being informed by my new provider that I was leaving. When I phoned them to speak about it, they refused to refund the money despite having provided no service. They overcharged me earlier and every step of the way I have had to fight to get back money.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't use them”

written by PethealthcareCentre on 20/12/2017

We are now stuck without a landline or broadband over Christmas and New Year because they failed to deal with issues created by OpenReach. We have ended up arranging a totally new line (and phone number) because of their total incompetence. This means waiting for openReach to deal with the connection in January but at least we will be shot of this lot! Yorkshire or not this company is a disaster!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“As other have said, avoid them at all costs.”

written by Yorkforce on 15/11/2017

We have been with Origin for around 2 years now and at our old address the connection was great, we got an install date when we ordered, but it was actually 8 weeks later when we finally did. Then we moved and the connection is truly abysmal, we are paying for upto 76MB, as of writing this our download speed is 0.14MB (no joke). We have phoned 4 times, spent around 8 hours+ (7+ hours waiting) on the phone and got absolutely nowhere. After having our line tested we were told they would send an engineer out and would call us when they had a date, 2 weeks later after no call, I called them and they told me they need to test the line BEFORE an engineer can be sent. This is what I meant about getting nowhere with them. Save yourself the hassle and go with someone else, we will be cancelling ASAP.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“stay away!”

written by gilo5652 on 26/10/2017

you will never get an answer when you call.they will not reply to your e-mails. i have been without broadband for over a week. this must be the worst company ever. you have been warned!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The Worst ever”

written by fnFitzgerald74 on 23/10/2017

This is the worst broadband we have ever had I WOULD NOT waste your money and signup with this company not customer service what so ever please don't waste your hard earnt money and sign up with Origin NO STARS

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible interent and terrible customer service”

written by Brewer1980 on 22/10/2017

Do not be fooled by their cheap prices. I have been having numerous problems with the internet, firstly with internet connection speeds which were awful, but then with the internet actually cutting out altogether. Now my internet is completely not working for several days and I spent 2 hours on the phone being passed around and eventually gave up because I had to go back to work. Don't know how I will resolve it, perhaps I will try to ring again when I have a window of 3 or 4 hours!!! disgusting I will not be using again

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't do it”

written by Tobyyler on 21/10/2017

Cut me off for 3 days with no notice or explanation. Spent at least 6 hours trying to get through to their customer services phone line. THEY DONT CARE. Worse than BT which is saying something. AVOID.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The speed test showed it the slowest of the ISPs I...”

written by KayaByrne on 21/09/2017

The speed test showed it the slowest of the ISPs I have used, all the others came out about the same. Plus the link is constantly dropping too. Going without internet for days is no fun. Expect to wait at least an hour to speak to customer service, who will not be helpful anyhow. They have lots of hidden charges and ways to make extra cash off you also. The idea of this company is to attract you to pay up front for a years service. Then when they don't provide, you lose you your cash. They should not be allowed to operate at all.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't waste your money”

written by 9Gibbons on 17/09/2017

The internet in constantly down or slow and when you try to call them you spend hours on the phone being put through to one person after another. Don't bother. Go sonewhere else.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“original sin”

written by unconnected on 13/09/2017

Signed up online and paid by credit card & filed DD. They never bothered to contact existing supplier so I was forced to pay for another month with them. There was a problem with Open Reach and an incorrect address, but rather than contact me to sort it out Origin decided to order a new line. It is hopeless trying to get through on the telephone, tortious music and Brian Blessed does not help. I cancelled my order but have had to wait 16 days for credit card refund and am still waiting for a reply to a letter. Basic broadband is very similar whatever provider you choose, in my view it comes down to customer service and Origin do not appear to appreciate that.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Maybe I Got Lucky”

written by Clinton373 on 09/09/2017

Well, I've been with Origin since August and get a very reliable service. It's was not all plain sailing, for the first two weeks I could not connect on tuesdays for some reason. I contacted them (waiting ages on the phone,) but I was told an engineer would contact me to help me with the issue. Two days later he called me up and sorted the problem out. The issue I think that is causing most customers problems is the powerful BT hubs neighbours are using! If their BT router is on the same channel it will drown yours out. You need to open your internet browser and go to 192.168.1.1 and log into your router (username:admin, password:admin) click on wireless (it's on the left hand panel), then change the Control Channel to a different channel number. Then click on Apply and wait for it to reset its self. If you think it is a little too slow login to your router and change the channel again. You can also try changing the Channel Bandwidth setting to another frequency. TIP: If you have a smartphone, download WiFi Analyzer and look to see if your neighbours are on the same channel. If they are change it to an unused one

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“DON'T GO NEAR!!!!”

written by AlisonWindsor on 06/09/2017

DON'T GO NEAR THIS TERRIBLE COMPANY! CHEAP IS NOT ALWAYS BEST! 5 weeks after paying obligatory first instalment I STILL don't have broadband. It takes hours to get through to a human and a min 73 minute wait for tech support but customer services don't tell you that. They are truly appalling and don't care about their customers. They shouldn't be allowed to operate - I'll be writing to Ofcom. Don't sign up!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst Broadband Ever”

written by kevsauk on 05/09/2017

I will NEVER use Origin again, even if it's free, even if they pay me to use it. It's not a service, it's a liability. It loses connection several times a day, ( in a good reception area ) Customer service is a waste of time. I won't bore you with the countless times my internet has failed completely and it takes hours on the phone to sort. I foolishly paid for a year, but I don't care, I've joined Sky today and Origin are history. Origin, your not fit for purpose.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Flamboro12 on 15th April 2017 Report this content
Signed for 18 months Big mistake, is there any way to get out of this and find a better deal with another company?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content cernicalo Written on: 19/04/2017
With any contract you have a 14 day cooling-off period from the date you sign up. You have the right to cancel the contract within those 14 days. If the 14 days are expired you're committed to the contract. Origin are cheap and their broadband speed is identical to other providers' (apart from Virgin). But their customer service is problematic. About a week ago my internet connection suddenly stopped working. It turned out they had changed their server that day and my router needed a new username and password. No word from them beforehand to let me know. They take around half an hour to answer the phone but at least it's a freephone number. I did finally get the new username and password but most other companies would have let customers know before the switch. If you're past the 14 day cooling-off period I suggest you call them and explain you're not happy with their service and you want to cancel. If they insist you complete and pay for your complete 18 month contract, ask to speak to the Complaints Department. Complaints will probably want to know exact details of your complaint and may simply try to ensure your broadband/phone with them is up and running. Once it's running, you may find Origin isn't too bad. If they do let you migrate, Plusnet is a reliable and reasonably priced alternative. Hope you're able to sort things out with them.
overview