Emergency Assist Ltd Reviews - www.motorbreakdownrecovery.com

★★★★☆
4.1 / 5
85% of users recommend this
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

Summary

Note from Review Centre: Emergency Assist Ltd was previously known as 2Gether Motor Breakdown.

Media Gallery for Emergency Assist Ltd - www.motorbreakdownrecovery.com

Emergency Assist Ltd - www.motorbreakdownrecovery.com
Emergency Assist Ltd - www.motorbreakdownrecovery.com

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking Service - Avoid”

Written on: 17/09/2022 by York40 (1 review written)

Shocking experience overall. Refused to attend without an upfront payment of £670. On 13 August I called them as battery had drained due to lights being left on while sat with engine of.They took over 9 hours to attend. All it needed was a jump start which took 2 mins and a trip to garage after advised me there was nothing wrong with the battery. On 14 SEP during a long drive the engine cut out. Spent well over an hour on the phone to them trying to get assistance. They wanted £670 payment up front to recover me saying I had a non start issue over a month previously and as such I needed to prove it had been resolved. They knew the non start problem was due to the battery being drained due to lights being left and there was no issue to be resolved. They insisted without proof of this I would not be assisted from my unsafe location on A66 unless I paid them £670. I said they were holding me to ransom so I would pay ....they then put me in hold for over mins then hung up. Shocked and appalled by their gross negligence and lack of care. I paid a friend to come collect me. It was freezing cold and my signal on my phone was getting low. I then had to arrange collection of my own vehicle. I am shocked and appalled by their disgraceful response. The breakdown on 14 September and non start due to a drained battery were not connected so their behaviour can only be described as beyond attrocious. EMERGENCY ASSIST CANNOT BE RELIED UPON TO ASSIST IN AN EMERGENCY.....AVOID. I have demanded return if my costs and will be pursuing through the courts due to their breach of contractual obligations if not satisfied. Also be aware...when you breakdown I Have known them take at least 39 mins to answer the call before they even start trying to avoid assisting.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Wait until you are vulnerable then fleece you - be warned”

Written on: 22/08/2022 by Paul131313 (1 review written)

Bought premium cover with no excess. You only find out how they work when you ring them after breaking down - when you are vulnerable. Were not even interested in looking at the car, a call centre operative decided over then phone that it could not be fixed. Then charged £250 to get the car and my 19 year old home 83 miles away. Utterly disgusting. Be warned and do yourself a favour, go with the AA or RAC they are far cheaper and actually send a trained mechanic out to see if the car can be fixed. Utterly disgusted, you have been warned.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID! Terrible Service”

Written on: 30/04/2022 by shLockhart284 (1 review written)

Terrible service. No answer when I broke down. I held on the phone for 45 minutes. No-one picked up! Do not use this company!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“Excellent breakdown service ”

Written on: 07/04/2022

I joined emergency assist a year ago.I had 3 motorcycles on one policy.In the past year I have had to call them out 3 times.I have just renewed my cover with them for another year.I have had breakdown cover with other company's over the years and emergency assist is the best company by far.On the 3 occasions I have phoned them,due to breakdown,they have organised assistance which turned up under 45 minutes..on one occasion it was 30 minutes!!!..I can not recommend this company enough...forget all the other breakdown company's.. emergency assist is really good value for money.they are second to none...i highly recommend them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID AVOID AVOID”

Written on: 05/03/2022 by 186Cochrane (1 review written)

There are no words to describe how utterly dreadful this company is! I had an horrendous experience dealing with the worst customer service ever whilst stranded on the M60 hard shoulder, a superviso who had the customer satisfaction skills of a boiled egg seriously needs to rethink his career choice. They have also treated my 83 year old mother shockingly in the past. Please avoid this company at all costs! I am in the process of issuing a formal complaint.... don't waste your time and money! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“So awful - no recovery and aggressive supervisor”

Written on: 16/12/2021 by LaynP (1 review written)

They refused to recover my vehicle with a flat tyre (this is literally what I pay them for!) the mechanic who came said he couldn't change. He shouted over me, blamed me saying customers need to have all the tools for the mechanic to fix a vehicle, changed the reason for denying service and said that because I said I had a spare tyre (which I do) that I was to blame and not entitled to service. I was left with two children, no recovery or fix, and denial of future service as he said you can no longer have service from us. Lovely. Never ever waste your money on this.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cheap policy and I paid the price………”

Written on: 17/11/2021 by grogan52 (1 review written)

Ambiguous wording in their policy docs with some areas of cover at their ‘discretion’. I got the impression it depends on who answers the phone as after several calls I got several answers to same simple question. I can’t be bothered to go in to detail of my experience as it would take a while to cover all the disappointment. Breakdown cover though is just not an insurance policy worth skimping on when you need it. My recommendation based on my personal experience is to remember that ‘price is what you pay but sadly value is what you ‘don’t’ get. People buy breakdown cover for peace of mind. Sadly that is not what you get with EA.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“"Emergency" that's a laugh”

Written on: 11/07/2021

The 'emergency' in the title couldn't be more ironic. A shambles of a company which left me waiting for 4 hours. Initial ETA an hour, then another hour, then another hour... and so on. No indication that they wouldn't attempt to fix the vehicle and that they would simply tow me somewhere. They are simply tapping into a network of recovery vehicle companies. No accountability ("we can't control the third parties") A terrible breakdown experience only matched by the terrible customer service that followed. Don't make the mistake I did of thinking that a few quid saved against more reputable companies was worth it.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible breakdown company”

Written on: 29/01/2021 by epRobinson411 (1 review written)

I bought my car breakdown recovery contract about eight months ago. When my car broke down recently I called the number I had for them. It took more than 20 mins for them to answer the phone and when I explained my problem they told me to call a completely different number and that they could not transfer me. When I called that number it took 25mins for them to answer the phone and told me that it would take 90 mins for a breakdown mechanic to arrive. I was also told that if my car could not be fixed at the roadside, it would be towed to a local garage. When the mechanic arrived he managed to get my car started. When I asked what the problem was, he said he couldn't say as the problem could have had several possible causes. I then drove home. A couple of days later my car broke down again and I so I called them to ask for assistance. I was then told that, as I had called them out a couple of days earlier, I would have to pay them £125 just for someone to come out. As I couldn't afford this at the time I was left stranded and eventually a friend helped me out. I would strongly advise anyone who is thinking of buying anything from this company to look elsewhere.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful company ”

Written on: 13/12/2020 by Jude0121 (1 review written)

Emergency Assist are not fit to call themselves a breakdown company... One experience of Emergency Assist was when I broke down with a flat battery because I had left my lights on -this was 10pm on a cold November night with 2 children in the car & an hr from home. When I phoned Emergency Assist it took me 20mins to get through- I thought I had the wrong number! The message on the phone line is not clear & you are left wondering if it’s the correct 24hr emergency breakdown number especially when you have to wait so long. When I finally got through I was told by a rude & unsympathetic lady that I was not covered because it was my fault the battery was flat. In the end I had to phone round & pay £60 to get a local 24hr breakdown company to come out to jump start the car. I should have cancelled the policy there & then but regrettably I didn’t. Another disappointing example of Emergency Assist poor customer service was when my policy was cancelled without my knowledge. Initially I received an email to say my breakdown cover for our 2 cars had automatically renewed . I phoned them a month later as could not see any payment go out to them & to double check I was covered only to be told it had been cancelled as they hadn’t been able to get the payment. I got the same unsympathetic lady I had the unpleasant experience of speaking to when I broke down. who said I should have had an email to tell me it had been cancelled as they were unable to get the payment, when I said I hadn’t . she said it might be in my junk mail - it wasn’t & as it was over 14 days from renewal I was unable to renew . I would advise anyone to pay more money & get a more reputable breakdown cover from one of the big 3 companies . I have never had such a disappointing experience- especially when you need a company in an emergency ; when you feel vulnerable with a car breakdown on a cold dark night with 2 children in a city you’re not familiar with- the breakdown cover was useless & the call operator one of the most rude & unsympathetic.. Emergency Assist have a duty to inform customers they have cancelled their policy - not send emails confirming their policy renewal for the following year when it hasn’t. My advice for anyone is don’t pay for Emergency Assist - you really do get what you pay for.,nothing in this case - a complete waste of time and money. Emergency Assist need a much faster response for customers when they breakdown in the first place ,more helpful less rude, more sympathetic call operators & a much more efficient system of contacting customers - letting customers know their policy’s have been cancelled & they are not covered because the payment has not gone through instead of sending emails to say they are covered when they’re not - very misleading & a complete joke of a company.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid Avoid Avoid”

Written on: 17/10/2020 by Elsal1955 (1 review written)

Beware, cannot call out again within 60 days, as this will occur a charge. Car would not start, recovery came and started car, told me what it was, part was replaced. Car would not start, roughly 2 weeks later, got told they will not come out with same problem, wanted payment of £125. Recovery could not start car and was towed home, 10minutes away. Recovery said what problem was, which was a complete different part of the car, which was confirmed by mechanic. Tried to get in touch with emergency assist, to discuss, but as of yet NO response. So basically if your car will not start, for a 2nd time, just make sure you have an extra £125, as they will not come out without payment first.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Car brokedown but they didn't assist????”

Written on: 07/10/2020 by exforces64 (3 reviews written)

Called them for the first time with 4 mths left of the (Premium!) policy. I said the car won't start and I suspect the fuel pump though I have a spare with me.' They refused to come out to sort but offered to take the car to a garage. They broke their own policy by not attending for an hour and have refused to refund the remaining cover. Oh dear, what a company!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I had broken down and I called the breakdown number....”

Written on: 09/09/2020 by fayazkhatri (1 review written)

I had broken down and I called the breakdown number. Prior to this particular break down I had called them two days ago because the car wouldn't start (the car started working on its own after an hour so I cancelled the out). The second time I needed the emergency assist breakdown service was the following week. I called them and they started persecuting over the phone wanting proof, before they could send anyone out to recover they wanted proof that I had my car diagnosed which I did, but did not have the invoice/receipt with me at that time (17.30 that day) luckily the mechanic that diagnosed my car sent me an emailed invoice, which I sent to Emergency assist support address. In a state of emergency they were not working towards a solution and you would not want them to be a part of a team that you can rely on when it comes to a service such as breakdown. My situation at the time was that my car wouldn't start and was parked up in a premises where they were about to close the gates. Me and my passengers were going to be locked in. I explained to them I was travelling with an elderly and a disabled passenger they agreed with me on the phone but wouldn't send anyone out until I sent them proof my car had been looked at. NOW at these premises we were approached by a gentleman who tried to help us luckily we managed to get my car started and I drove back home, IT WILL BE THE LAST TIME I USE THESE LOT!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful company to deal with”

Written on: 08/09/2020 by Kelvin432 (1 review written)

Notice that most decent reviews are based around the price and never having called for a breakdown. I used this company for a breakdown for the first time, slow, unprofessional. |Wanted to charge me as member of the public helped me out and fixed the vehicle. Wasted my money on a very poor substitute for breakdown cover.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish”

Written on: 21/08/2020 by 277McHugh (1 review written)

Took out cover in may 2020. The website had a problem and took out 2 payments and created 2 policies. Numerous very very long telephone calls over a long period of time and 1 of the policies was cancelled and a refund given. Or so we thought !! had a flat battery yesterday, phoned breakdown who eventually after 40 minutes said they had cancelled both policies and we were not covered. this company has been a nightmare from day one. glad they cancelled our policies, now we have engaged a proper breakdown company

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No refund for using only 3 months of cover”

Written on: 17/08/2020

Due to a change in circumstance, i've sold my car, I called to cancel the policy and was told that there will be no refund as i've used the policy for a while. 25% of the term only! I can't find anything that says this in their T&C's! Also no documents were sent by email when i took out the cover. Be aware in case you have the same conditions.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting service. Still waiting early two hours. ”

Written on: 01/08/2020 by Yannieann (1 review written)

Absolutely disgusting customer service. Still waiting nearly 2 hours later! Two females with baby! Advisor put phone down on me after I waited 10 mins to even get through to them

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“4 your wait”

Written on: 07/05/2020 by Ang1l03 (1 review written)

On two occasions we called out emergency assist. On both occasions we were left waiting for four hours. A terrible ordeal at their hands.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“One Advisor in the whole call centre and the rudest”

Written on: 30/03/2020 by MrsLynfield (2 reviews written)

I called to renew my policy and was met with an arrogant advisor by the name of Sharna. At the start of the call she began rushing me and said she had other calls to attend to. The company said they will not automatically renew my policy- which they attempted to. I spoke to the manager who said she has opted me out of this. Sharna said she did not . I asked for Sharna to send an email to me stating that i will be opted out moving forward. She began argumentative and agitated and made threats to end the call. I asked to speak with her manager and was told her was the only one there and will be so throughout the entire week. She was short tempered extremely unprofessional and rude. I asked to speak to someone else and was awkward. She has a massive chip on her shoulders and will outdoubtly be the downfall of the business.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Diabolical customer service”

Written on: 17/03/2020 by CaroleA71 (1 review written)

I bought an annual policy through Groupon for my daughter. She never needed to use the policy. A year passes and I discover a direct debit has come out of my bank £40. I did not receive an email, they even suggested it probably went to spam but have not forwarded a copy as evidence of this. You have 14 days to cancel, I was a week over on discovery. I contacted them first to be told that as it was two weeks past inception date they would have to deduct £10 admin fee. After three weeks I heard nothing so contacted them again, to which they said I could transfer to another vehicle (no good to me as other cover is arranged on a newer car) and they weren’t liable to refund and I should go to Groupon. This is wrong as they took the first payment but EA or ‘2gether’ as previously known shows on statement so they took payment directly. I again asked for refund and confirmation policy was cancelled. Again no response so followed up again. This time told policy was cancelled. Had to chase refund again, told again I could transfer- but how if the policy is now cancelled? I further emailed and they said they wouldn’t refund as policy had gone on too long - really? One week late? They may be within their rights but this is appalling customer service when I never even used them, though glad about that seeing some of the terrible reviews.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview