Emergency Assist Ltd - www.motorbreakdownrecovery.com – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by stokermechanic on 10th February 2017 Report this content
If you break down do you have to pay the rescue company first then claim the cost back from 2Gether?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content CamperB Written on: 14/02/2017
You have to call the Breakdown recovery number they give you, not another company. If they can't get you started they tow you to a nearby garage to do the repair. I have only broken down once and the driver didn't actually have repair skills or even jump leads so I think the service is basically just a rescue service and will just tow the vehicle to a nearby garage for them to fix.
Report this content Mend-it-now Written on: 14/02/2017
from there web site The key features of the Economy cover are: ?Up to 4 call outs per policy term ?No call out charge, and unlike other providers, there is nothing to pay at the roadside to claim on reimbursement. The price you are quoted is the price you will pay for the year ?Up to 1 hour of roadside assistance ?Recovery to a garage local to the scene of the breakdown which is within a 25 mile radius ?Free accident management cover The key features of the Full UK cover are: ?Up to 6 call outs per policy term ?No call out charge, and unlike other providers, there is nothing to pay at the roadside to claim on reimbursement. The price you are quoted is the price you will pay for the year ?Up to 1 hour of roadside assistance ?Homestart if your vehicle fails to start at the home address ?Recovery to a garage, your home address or destination, if a roadside repair is not possible ?Overnight accommodation, hire car or onward transportation, if your vehicle cannot be repaired at a garage within a reasonable amount of time ?Free accident management cover
Report this content billcyn Written on: 14/02/2017
No you don't have to pay the rescue company just sign a form.
Report this content AOS_2016 Written on: 15/02/2017
General role is to find reputable genuine recovery insurance, Feedback shouldn’t be count up as they wanted you to rate them as soon as you buy your policy, that is wrong you rate a business on it excellence after delivery not before?. Cheap doesn’t mean good? as some out there they took your money but they don’t deliver, they use trick’s to make you pay like if you don’t have insurance, you may end up Paying them more than you pay to recover yourself with our insurance? Or they will leave you at risk, stranded when you need them? Read and understand terms and conditions before you put the document away, question any think you don’t understand E.G, one cheap recovery company permanently at the top of comparison web-site doesn’t recover you if you breakdown in a motor way (European cover), like if they are asking you to pick where to breakdown!!, on their terms they cover 5 passengers including driver, if you have 7 seater be aware they may say you are not covered, they wanted you a to call them before you travel even if you do you have to prove it!!!! Or you not covered, and list goes on and on, also record your communication’s, to avoid all this don’t go for cheap there is some leading company’s out there they charge you also they deliver responsibly if you genuinely breakdown. The answer to your question is you have to call them direct on the number they provide for you to recover you if you lucky!!!!!????
Report this content garrod Written on: 16/02/2017
I had to call them out and I did not have to pay, but had to wait 20 min for them to answer the phone and two and halve hours be for they got to me
See All Answers
Asked by AOS_2016 on 31st August 2016 Report this content
2Gether seem not to cover anythingI bought a one year Europe and home cover. I called them before I went on holiday to enquire about the number of passenger in my MPV and I mention that I was going away in the next few days.  On the way back from holiday I break down between Paris and Callies I called, before I even explain the situation I been told I am not covered, for two reasons N:1 I was on motorway N:2 I should call 48 hours before I left UK, the only help they offer me is to give them £500 pounds to open an account so they can charge me, and I should pay the final cost of the recovery?  Then I been left with my wife and five children at risk and deserted in the middle of nowhere? I did gave them several attempt to correct the situation but they prefer to Brush me off. Has anyone else experienced this?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by petemags on 26th August 2016 Report this content
Does the policy cover the car or driver?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content Seasider24 Written on: 31/08/2016
Hi, My policy covers the car only - I'm sorry but I can't remember if there was an option to cover the driver(but I don't think there was. Hope this helps
Report this content Mend-it-now Written on: 31/08/2016
just the car I think there are very few company that cover driver in any car
Report this content CamperB Written on: 31/08/2016
The policy covers the car as you have to provide the registration number and vehicle details.
Report this content Drumgilken Written on: 31/08/2016
My policy covers my car and I am the named driver. In 2013, I had a breakdown away from home & they arrived & put my car on the back of the vehicle & took it to my home. Driver very helpful & obliging. Excellent service.
Report this content Davidwisdom Written on: 31/08/2016
The policy that I have covers the car whoever is driving.
Report this content AOS_2016 Written on: 31/08/2016
2Gether seem not to cover any think I bought a one year Europe and home cover I called them before I went on holiday to enquire about the number of passenger in my MPV and I mention that I was going away in the next few days. On the way back from holiday I break down between Paris and Callies I called, before I even explain the situation I been told I am not covered, for two reasons N:1 I was on motorway N:2 I should call 48 hours before I left UK, the only help they offer me is to give them £500 pounds to open an account so they can charge me, and I should pay the final cost of the recovery? . Then I been left with my wife and five children at risk and deserted in the middle of nowhere? I did gave them several attempt to correct the situation but they prefer to Bruch me off
See All Answers
Asked by burkey7 on 3rd May 2016 Report this content
Does it fulfill its promises for the amount paid? Are there any problems with their service?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content philgav Written on: 04/05/2016
Each time I have had to use them they only offered a recovery service, no roadside assistance, even for a simple jump start, their excuse being " it might damage my electrical system" . Obviously they have never heard of fuses. My advice, pay a bit extra and go with somebody more reliable.
Report this content Elljaygee Written on: 04/05/2016
They have come out to me at home and elsewhere. They try to increase the premium each year but you can haggle. They only come out about 6 times a year, where as more expensive plans are unlimited
Report this content nickbestwick Written on: 05/05/2016
I have had to call them out twice now in two years. Once per year. Both for a flat battery. Both times that towed me to the local garage. I had never had to pay extra or indeed had any issues. The first time it happened, it was a old battery and they asked for proof that I had a new one installed and replaced. So I just sent them a copy of the invoice from the garage. Over-all for the price paid, I have been exceptionally happy and now problems. They use local independant garages and tow people, so not a chain. Both times the drivers and repair men have been friendly, non judgemental or indeed stubbon, just great service and evcellent value. Hope this helps?
Report this content CamperB Written on: 31/08/2016
I would agree with the answer below about only offering a recovery se.rvice. The driver didn't even have jump leads and was not experienced enough to know simple basics of getting a vehicle started. I have only needed to use them once and I knew (and told the driver) that I had inadvertently allowed the battery to go flat and did not want to pay for a new battery or get towed / removed to a local garage. Basically I just needed 'home start'.......they went away without doing anything and I ended up paying a local mobile repair man to start it with industrial-quality jumpleads from his van. Started first time and has been going ever since (approx. 6 months ago). Saved money in the long run. I will pay a bit extra next time to get proper home start on my policy
See All Answers
Asked by Cecilramon9 on 4th April 2016 Report this content
Who is the breakdown company?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content philgav Written on: 05/04/2016
They seem to have contracts with independent recovery company's and on 3 occasions I have used them that is all they offered. No roadside assistance, not even to jump a flat battery. So after being recovered I still had to pay the garage. I would have thought that a 3 minute jump start would have been better for them than having to uplift my bike.they do come out with interesting excuses for not doing roadside assist. I am only staying with them as I have had a full refund on my premium. If you use this company I hope you get better service than I received.
Report this content Elljaygee Written on: 04/05/2016
Green flag usually ,or local services
Asked by Findochtyphil on 28th November 2015 Report this content
If l broke down in Morayshire, how long would l be waiting for recovery?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content Bassboy Written on: 01/12/2015
I have been with 2Gether for 3 years but fortunately i've never had to call them out. What I can tell you is that their handling of phone calls is very fast & helpful so I would reckon you wouldn't have a long wait for recovery. .............& their prices beat all!
Report this content alantroon Written on: 01/12/2015
Probably about a week this is the worst breakdown service ever, when they do attend very slow and they use every excuse in the book not to attend
Report this content philgav Written on: 02/12/2015
I had a long wait in Falkirk for recovery, got an apology and full refund and they continued my cover. They do seem to care for their customers. Better than the rubbish service I got from the AA.
Report this content Dozeyish Written on: 02/12/2015
I can not say. All I know is what happened to me and after waiting four hours to only get help to take me just over a mile. I could of pushed the car home quicker ( there was a lot of down hill on the way home) Most people who give them a good review do so about the price, I have not seen a good review about the actual service so my advice would be to stay away. Get cover from anyone else
Report this content KCVORA Written on: 03/12/2015
If you broke down anywhere within the UK mainland, make sure you have an alternative to get you back on track as a back up first. Keep your documentation on paer copies in the car and also on a smart phone. Keep the breakdown number as well and ask them to call you back if you are on a pay as you go sim. If on the motorway look out for the emergency telephones and make sure everyone is out of the vehicle and off the hard shoulder. You might have to have your credit card handy to pay for emergency repairs or get someone to collect you if all fails.As I already hadbraekdown cover you should be attended to within an hour orless if you are a female with kids or vulnerable. With my perosonal experience is academic as I knew how I had to sit on a freezing cold midnight as my kness could not take kneeling down due to sharp jagged stones cutting into my knees and making them bleed. I asked forrescue and it was apparent that my cries for help went without any aid. I struggled with an elderly brain cancer patient, my wife who has no clue about cars except how to drive and two kids who are too young to undestand except being frightened by the experience. I had paid for breakdown and it was too be reassured that you would be helped. NO thats not the case, I paid to be told I am not covered by 2together Insurance for a breakdown policy that really is worth anything. Added insult I am offered £20.00 GBP voucher to spend atvenues orretailers that I never use and I am supposed to accept this. I do not think so. I am so fed up of the whole industry either being to expensive and giving poor service that I have started a charity where I will help and all the customer has to do is pay for parts not labour and if fixed at a roadside in my county, they have to donated to one of the designated charities andf ontain a letter of thanks to proove that we are all human and we need to help each other, not make a profit for shareholders and fat cats. Mr KC VORA
See All Answers
Asked by ShirleyCrossley on 5th November 2015 Report this content
Could you please let me know where I can find the telephone number for 2Gether Motor Breakdown? I have not broken down but have lost their number. I would like to add my son to my account. Thank you

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Bassboy Written on: 09/11/2015
Here's the phone number 01945-586222
Asked by twiggyruth on 10th July 2015 Report this content
Do they cover long wheel base vans like the LDV Maxus?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Bassboy Written on: 10/07/2015
That I don't know. If they do, you're quids in ! Give them a call.
Report this content GailSO Written on: 13/07/2015
I don't know give them a call
Asked by lesleylopez on 2nd May 2015 Report this content
I am buying this insurance for my daughter, she is a named driver on my car. Is this okay?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content Bassboy Written on: 05/05/2015
I've never had to call them out even though I've been with them for a few years. I would check their website.
Report this content GailSO Written on: 05/05/2015
I would call them and check to be honest as my husband and I have our own policies with no named drivers.
Report this content nickbestwick Written on: 05/05/2015
I have a feeling it is the car that is covered and not the individual, unlike other organisations. However, I would give them a call, just to be safe.
See All Answers
Asked by Pambeech on 8th March 2015 Report this content
If my car breaks down do they send a trained mechanic to try and mend it? If they cannot mend the car, do they take you to the nearest garage of one you want to go to?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Bassboy Written on: 18/03/2015
I've never had to call them out even though I've been with them for a few years. I would check the wbsite.
Asked by piperdanny123 on 21st February 2015 Report this content
I got a quote for $49.00 for my car, but could not proceed any further as it kept saying passwords don't match. What should I do? Could you also tell me does this quote get me and the passengers and car to our destination or back home whichever we choose, or do they just take us to the nearest garage, can you help please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content richardfh Written on: 23/02/2015
Yes their full package will take you and your passengers home or to your destination. However, I would not proceed with this company if I were you. I was with them for 2 years and I thought they were great until I had to use the service. It was absolutely appalling and their call centre staff told me blatant lies. You really do get what you pay for and I would not go near them again. I am now with Asda. £70 for the year and they offer everything that 2Gether do. There is also an option to pay monthly, which works out at about £6.99 over 12 months.
Report this content GailSO Written on: 24/02/2015
From experience I would telephone the breakdwon company direct as the customer service has been very good in my opinion.
Report this content Phoenixmc Written on: 01/09/2016
I have had very good experiences with them. However check the wording and ask the question direct to them as getting you home does not mean you and your car! It is to the nearest garage or to a destination within 50 miles. This is common with most breakdown companies! They do offer a hire car onward train travel or overnight accommodation and so will get you and your passengers home! But not necessarily your car! That said I would recommend them - but check the small print and ask direct questions.
See All Answers
Asked by evelin on 26th August 2014 Report this content
Can I get information of my breakdown cover on the internet?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content GailSO Written on: 27/08/2014
If you have a policy with the company you will have received paper policy documents this is where your full details of cover will be.
Report this content Englandron Written on: 28/08/2014
GailSO, And that's the problem, you don't get to know all about the get out clauses until you buy the policy. KEEP AWAY from these people, pay a few quid extra and join a proper company that will come out to you and will have the tools they need to do the job properly.
Report this content Harbs Written on: 30/08/2014
What I have found out is that quite a few of the insurers are now offering breakdown cover at a reduced rate. Happy hunting !
Report this content hamyam21 Written on: 13/01/2015
stay away from this company and its sister company 24-7 they wont come out when you breakdown.there should be some sort of policing of these companys.because when you breakdown on the side of the motorway and you are stuck they wont come out to you everyone stay clear.pay a bit extra and join autonational rescue or start rescue
See All Answers
Asked by Caydeehall on 9th August 2014 Report this content
Is there a cancellation charge?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content uzume Written on: 11/08/2014
Probably! I cancelled my insurance after they tried to dump my car outside a closed garage on a bank holiday weekend (Sunday). There info is misleading and even though I took out their 'best' package, it didn't stop them charging me £80 to take me home. I got a refund after they admitted they were wrong, but cancelled due to their attitude! I'll certainly never use them again.
Report this content richardfh Written on: 11/08/2014
There most certainly is. Like the reviewer below, I thought 2Gether were the best thing since sliced bread until I had to use the service. It was appalling! I simply went with another provider and let my policy lapse. I believe the cancellation charge is £75 which is more than double what you pay for the policy. Never again!!!
Report this content GailSO Written on: 11/08/2014
No there isn't
Report this content Englandron Written on: 28/08/2014
GailSO, And that's the problem, you don't get to know all about the get out clauses until you buy the policy. KEEP AWAY from these people, pay a few quid extra and join a proper company that will come out to you and will have the tools they need to do the job properly.
See All Answers
questionAnswer