Haven Boarding Kennels & Cattery Reviews - www.havenboardingkennels.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
20% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Haven Boarding Kennels and Cattery - www.havenboardingkennels.com

Haven Boarding Kennels and Cattery - www.havenboardingkennels.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Unacceptable attitude and management ”

written by Tony03061972 on 18/09/2021

We originally took our 8-month Airedale for first hand strip, owner was quite rude, but did an excellent job and gave some helpful and useful advice. We returned in June 2021 for an overnight kennel stay and although our dog did not enjoy his stay, we put that down to him being a bit of a home bod and never being away from us before - he was 11 months old. We planned for a second hand strip - booking in July 2021 for an August appoitment. When we took him for this appointment we were turned away without notice of cancellation as one of his own dogs was in was labour - we were told he had taken our number down wrong and appeared to have no record of our previous attendances or know who we were - obviously bad record keeping. The owner informed us he would contact us by the end of the week to rebook and offered £20 off next time (cost £120 usually) but had still not heard anything nearly 4 weeks later. The owner reported he had told us this may happen when we booked, which was not true - but this was mentioned when we called during the week before the planned appointment to try and change to a Sunday. - again we spoke initially to someone else who said the owner would call us back, this did not happen so we had to call again. We had travelled with our pet nearly 50 miles for this to be done, maybe if the owner was not so self absorbed he would train other staff appropriately to ensure customers are not let down. Despite what the owner may tell you about him being so good at hand stripping, we have subsequently found someone as good or better and more accommodating to our pets needs. Given the incompentcy of the owner I would never recommend for any use. The owner even had the audacity to complain about my husbands poor Google review, accused my husband of not telling the truth and without a sincere apology. There is no excuse for poor management.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Total disgrace ”

written by Chibnall65 on 02/09/2021

Haven Kennels and Cattery is a disgrace. Our cat escaped from there this week. We are devastated. There was a hole in the roof of the pen. The owner is insincere and the kennels are a disgrace. Dirty and the dogs looked in distress. We weren’t allowed to settle our cat in there but we forced him to let us look around there when we were looking for bear. I wouldn’t leave my worst enemy’s animals stay there. I feel so very sorry for any animal that stays there. It’s truly horrendous. Avoid at all costs please.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent Kennels”

written by Hughesoe496 on 06/08/2017

We bought our Airedale Terrier from here and we regularly take him back for a hand strip and he stays in the kennels for at least two weeks every year. Every time we take our dog here he can't wait to get out of the car. When we pick him up he's always clean and he has been well looked after. I would always recommend Haven Kennels and even though there are other kennels closer to home for us, we wouldn't consider taking our dog anywhere else

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Failed to a long standing appointment despite reminder”

written by on 07/07/2013

I booked my Airedale puppy in for his first hand strip two months in advance of the appointment date. Early in the week leading up to the appointment I phoned to confirm as the round journey is lengthy and time consuming for me. On the day of the appointment I called the kennels again because slow and heavy traffic meant that we were going to be 10 minutes late and, out of courtesy, I didn't want them to think we were not going to keep the appointment. After asking to speak to the owner, Brian, for he was going to strip and groom our dog, I was told that he was out all day at a show! The lady I spoke with promised me that Brian would call me that evening with an apology and an explanation. He did not call. We wasted a whole morning in an incredibly busy schedule and have now had to go to the trouble of booking our puppy elsewhere so he can be groomed before we go on holiday. We were upset and disappointed at the unreliability and incompetence that led to this happening. We will never use Haven and will be advising friends to do the same.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible and unfriendly service”

written by amalia_a on 10/01/2013

Our dog Buzz stayed at this facility over Christmas. He was fine (not traumatized) when we picked him up but there are many reasons why we will not be going back there. First, the prices advertised on the website are deceptive as they do not include heating (necessary in the winter), or the extra holiday charges or the 20% VAT; we ended up paying twice as much as we had originally thought kenneling would cost us. Second, the own was rather impolite from the start for no reason except possibly we are not British. I say that because he was extremely friendly with British customers in our presence, e.g. making them tea, while he looked at us as if he had not seen us before (and we were certainly not offered tea). The worst part, however, was that we had the kennel groom Buzz since they said they offered this service. They did the most TERRIBLE job imaginable! Buzz is a poodle and we asked for a slight trim emphasizing the fact that we did not want him to have short hair in the middle of winter: instead he was sheared like a sheep and was left with barely any hair (he looks more like a hairless cat than a dog!). He is clearly freezing and spends all his time curled up in his blanket to keep warm! He was also nicked in several places, while his head was groomed like that of an airdale (!), the favorite breed of the kennel owner, although we specifically asked for a classic poodle cut. Finally, Buzz smelled bad when we picked him up (though we were told he was washed), and his nails were not cut, another service we specifically asked for. I asked the kennel owner about all this and he dismissed me with "I thought that's what you asked for". Do not take an animal to this place!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Haven1's Response to amalia_a's Review

Written on: 30/03/2013

as the owner of haven kennels, I find this a ridiculous statement, I remember this well, this lady !!!!!!! specifically asked for her dog to be taken as short as possible, this was done. this lady obviously did not explain herself properly which is clear by the grammar in her statement above. as for the offer of a cup of tea, I find that is a ridiculous comment.
all [prices quoted always include vat.
To be honest this persons unreasonable attitude makes me feel happy that we will not be seeing her again. we have hundreds of regular customers and would always deal in a courteous manner
Anyone is welcome to view our facilities 7 days a week

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kaz7776's reply to Haven1's Comment

Written on: 16/12/2013

This lady has got the owners attitude compleatly right what the hell has her grammar got to do with they way she was treated he is totally unreasonable heartless and ignorant and if I have miss spelt anything lol it doesn't excuse his behaviour he is a horrible person and should NOT be allowed to care for dogs as this is one thing he most definatly doesn't do

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kaz7776's Response to amalia_a's Review

Written on: 16/12/2013

We definatly won't use this joke of a kennels again as we bought 2 puppies from them that where born there we only wanted 1 but after seeing the state of them we bought 2 and took them straight to the vets where they stayed all weekend unfortunately one died within 2 days the other is still there fingers crossed for him ,when we told the man he was totally heartless when we threatened him with letting certain people know of this he offered some money back but we had to sign a disclosure to say he was no longer responsible for these pups like anyone with any sense would let him be responsible for any animal is ridiculous

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview