Futon Company - www.futoncompany.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
Futon Company - www.futoncompany.co.uk
★★☆☆☆
1.7
15.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Futon Company - www.futoncompany.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Futon Company - www.futoncompany.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Poor customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 346Maurer on 13/12/2023

Poor online customer service. Delivery management and customer service’s lack of interest or support is a risk you’ll take when placing an order. Unable to cancel without a charge after being promised a delivery date that was never honoured. A risk you’ll take if you use this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Stay away from this company ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Vancec269 on 16/04/2022

The futon bed is terribly designed. After a couple of month, the body-supporting part is sagging, which deforms the tatamis and of course the mattress. Don’t buy this bed frame.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“chairs broke after a year”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Watkins186 on 07/02/2022

I had bought many furniture from Futon. They were expensive but I loved the design and never had any problems. This was not the case with my latest purchase (orbit chairs) From the start i could tell that the material of the legs was cheap, and yes they broke after 18 months (light use) I asked the company for replacement (or to buy the faulty parts in a reasonable price) and they charged me 150 for two chairs for new legs and the rotation disck.... NO THANK YOU

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Poor quality manufacture, terrible customer support”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 101O'Neill on 27/09/2021

My partner and I bought a top-of-the-range bed frame from The Futon Company. Unfortunately, when I was assembling it the foot-board fell apart – clearly a serious and potentially dangerous fault with its manufacture. Customer support has also been consistently terrible. Considering that someone could easily have been hurt by the poor manufacturing quality the CS attitude was appalling.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Not what they used to be”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BristolPete on 04/01/2021

We had a futon from the Futon Company and were really pleased with it. We bought another that cost nearly £400. In less than a year it was sagging and the colour had faded out. We complained about this and were told "Sorry - tough". It was sagging because we were using it incorrectly - sitting on it, and the colour had faded because we were using it in a room with daylight. We would not recommend it to anyone not living in a zero gravity, black hole!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Great shopping experience”

★★★★★

written by idChristie40 on 11/09/2019

Buting from the Sheffield shop was a great experience. The assistant was really helpful, gave me good advice, even saved me money by incorporating sale and ex display items into my purchase of a futon sofa bed. Nothing was too much trouble. What made things even better was calling me by my name the whole time making the experience really personal. I received texts telling me when my products were in store and everything was on time. After reading the bad reviews maybe it depends on the store and staff? All I can say is that I will shop at the Sheffield branch again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“no refund even item is not delivered”

★☆☆☆☆

written by nixnoxox on 11/03/2017

i bought single bed with trifold mattress..it supposed to be deliver in 2weeks ..4 days later after my purchase i no longer need mattress so asked for refund. they refused and its their policy..how come you cant cancel the order and trifold mattress isnt custom order either..avoid this company and you can buy similar products with other company with refund..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“worse experience ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by patrickhenson on 14/02/2017

My sister went to view the item and measured it wrong, now before even going to collect it in store I have tried to cancel the item, but returns aren't allowed as she went to the store?! makes absolutely no sense, terrible customer service. after speaking to the man on the phone, I asked if I was allowed a refund and he said yes. Now to be told I am not?! never heard of such weird policies before. A quick decision was made as the sales man advised the prices were all going up the next day, which is false information. NEVER BUY FROM HERE AGAIN.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Poor customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Cliffordef102 on 22/01/2017

Bought a mirror from the Futon company's York store, when I unpacked the mirror to install I found that the mirror is of poor quality and the hanging method is unsatisfactory and unsafe. As a tradesman I was surprised that no fitting instructions were included for none DIY savvy customers. I decided to return the mirror on a Saturday, the store assistant said he couldn't process the refund as he isn't authorised and could I return tomorrow, having paid for parking I was less than impressed. He said he would need to speak to his manager for authorisation. He then called his manager and I could hear her say to him,"just tell him you're new or something and that you can't process the refund and that he'll have to come back tomorrow". There was no apology at all. Having read other reviews it does appear that Futon company have a poor customer service record, might be why they operate with no head office customer service department.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Very happy customer”

★★★★★

written by SarahRachel2 on 19/12/2016

I was cautious about buying from the Futon Company as I'd read a fair number of negative reviews online, especially regarding their delivery. But after a lot of searching across many stores, their Cocoon 3-seater seemed to be the best option for my needs so I went ahead and bought it. The shop assistant was really attentive and after I left she kept me updated on the delivery date/time. The delivery man was great and even explained how to put the sofa together, which was very helpful. It took me about an hour to build most of it on my own and then I got a friend to help me put the final bits together. It was pretty easy and I'm very happy with the finished piece. It's really comfy as both a sofa and a bed. It looks very smart and is really heavy and sturdy (I chose solid wood). I find I have to really put my weight behind it to get it up into the sofa position, but it glides back to being a bed really easily. I think it will last a long time. My only criticism is the accompanying cushions that I bought. The cushions are slightly smaller than the covers, making them look less smart than the sofa.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Wrong screws”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Beebee4 on 24/10/2016

Bought two sets of box shelves for my bathroom. Both boxes came with screws that were too short for the product. Incredibly frustrating and annoying. Needed to go out and buy longer screws, which I shouldn't have had to do. Not a massive deal but, still should t have needed to.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Great help and service”

★★★★★

written by 450Clark on 30/12/2015

I bought the lean to oak desk and chair...easy to assemble and looks brilliant. Great value

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“So fa so good.”

★★★★☆

written by Foxnc119 on 01/10/2015

I have no experience of their customer care and most of the reviews here seem to be about the company's response to complaints. Delivery was to my door (third floor flat) and exactly as scheduled. I bought the linear 2-seater. I'm very pleased with the product so far. It was very easy to assemble, converts from a bed to a sofa in less than 2 minutes including removing the sheets and storing the pillows and duvet. The conversion itself can be done in 30 seconds or less. The beauty is in its simplicity as opposed to the highly mechanical and more expensive alternatives. I am a wood worker and to me the joints all look solid and the machining overall seems to be of a very high quality. I went for solid wood slats as the "engineered" (mdf/chipboard) option only saved £50. Always go for solid. The futon mattress itself seems too firm when you sit on the edge of the bed but in a sleeping position I think I prefer it to my old very thick and luxurious sprung [single] mattress. There are certainly not going to be any springs digging into your ribs. I have not yet tried anything "energetic" ;) on it but that may be a slight downfall. I don't know. I have a suspicion it will bang a bit as it does only weight 45kg. As a sofa it is firm but comfortable. The "backrest", as it were, does not extend high enough to offer much support for the head when leaning back so a cushion is required in that case, a compromise I'm willing to make. I bought the one without armrests, another compromise I am willing to accept as I didn't like the idea of "cot sides" when it's a bed, . A sofa bed is always a compromise, being neither one thing nor the other. This is the best I have known, most have uncomfortable ridges as a bed. If you need a sofa bed for reasons of space, and can't afford to spend £1500 (mine cost £530 with the more expensive "comfort" mattress), then I don't think you can find better. I couldn't. I'm sleeping very well on it. It was my only option to have a double bed. I will make sure I post another review if I encounter any issues down the line. Go into the shop and lay on one for a while. I did. Don't rush into a purchase if you're unsure as mattresses cannot be returned for reasons of hygiene.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Edinburgh store”

★★★★★

written by Hkv9 on 19/09/2015

Originally ordered item online and experienced horrendous customer service: overcharged on delivery and the. Asked to pay more for delivery to Stirling....hardly remote. HOWEVER, when I called the Edinburgh store directly and spoke with a woman, she sorted everything in the most efficient, kind and friendly fashion I have ever encountered from a retail outlet. She was terrific and I cannot recommend her service highly enough. Sounds like the online Futon Company need to get her to train up some of their staff and rewrite some of their policies regarding refunds, delivery and customer service generally.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Terrible customer service experience ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LizzieP99 on 20/08/2015

I love the futon company products but have been receiving quite possibly the worst customer service I have ever had in my life. The second time I have ordered online from the futon company and the second time they have sent me a damaged item. They are have replaced the damaged item but are refusing to take away the damaged item. I live in central london and am 8 and a half months pregnant with no way to get rid of the damaged item. The guy I am dealing with, Zanu, won't even call me to discuss the issue. There is no number for me to call him on and he is ignoring my emails. Seriously unacceptable. Not worth the hassle at all. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone. Really disappointed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Awful customer service in both London stores”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Addysonx148 on 17/08/2015

Mis-sold a product by a staff member. Following purchase, the refund policy was explained ie. They do not do refunds ever!! Received a rude response from staff at the other London store. They explained that their manager was holiday and therefore I could not speak to anyone! ! This is the worse service I ever experienced !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Poor delivery”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 13/08/2015

So disappointed with the service from futon company. We ordered through the Nottingham store rather than onlone after a little plead from the lady there when we called to enquire about a futon. We weren't given any email confirmation of the order. Delivery did not arrive at the specified time and we had to call to chase this up only to be informed that the delivery person had not turned up to collect our order. It would have been good of them to let us know there was a problem rather than keep us in the dark - poor communication. To cut a long story short there has been a lot of back and forth communication with the store and via their main number on the website which links to a centre in Solihull. Turns out that they use a third party delivery service in store which if there is any issue with you can do nothing about through futon company and I was told to take issue with the person at my door. If there was any damage to the item in transit there were no guarantees futon company would deal with this. We were not made aware of the "risks" with using this option when we ordered. My advice is never to order through store with their third party delivery option which is not at all a service, but order online and really make an effort to read through/find out the finer points of their delivery options. Quite stressful considering the amount of money we have parted with.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Do not let them fool you!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Evangelinef433 on 07/08/2015

Your futons are awful! Bought a 3seater futon and within 6 months it has collapsed in the middle where I sleep! I only weight 10stones so not heavy. It is now extremely uncomfortable and unhealthy to sleep on. A lady from the store came to see it at my flat and took photos, After a review for the head office apparently there is nothing wrong with it, what a disappointment and what an awful service. It has costed me £500 and is unusable after 6months??! ! Do not believe what they say, they don't last at all if you are planning to use it as a bed and I specified that when I bought it. Will never go back or r commend. Rubbish!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“futon company twingle, just go to ikea next time!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Websterzp463 on 02/08/2015

This is the most awful thing to put together, really difficult. I don't know what you would do if you had bigger fingers. I still haven't managed to put it together and I'm usually very good at these things. I would never, never get one of these again. I just wish I hadn't bought it now.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Bad company with questionable policies ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by A.NonnyMouse on 15/06/2015

I have worked for some horrible people in my time, but my time spent in purgatory working for the futon company is right up there. If you want to support a company that does not give a moments thought for their employees, their working conditions or the clinically insane managers they work for, then throw money at them. I have never felt so threatened or bullied as I did whilst working for this company. The head office do not care about you the customer or their workers. To add insult to unjury, I got fired for no reason 2 days before Xmas. Literally no reason. What nice humans. The goods are overpriced and really not worth the hassle of there's a problem. Buy from ikea, or make a futon from old crates, it will be better and save you money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview