Our first Fred Olsen cruise & won't be the last.

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.5 / 5
42% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Food - quality & variety

  • Entertainment on board

  • Value For Money

Guest's review of Fred Olsen Cruises, Braemar

★★★★★

“Our first Fred Olsen cruise and won't be the last.”

Written on: 05/10/2011

Smooth and efficient embarkation at Dover, cabin clean with sufficient storage space, proper wooden hangers. Bathroom clean but small. Restaurants great with tables with white table cloths, and very friendly staff, outstanding service and great and varied menu. Entertainment great - not only did they sing and dance but worked as onboard comperes and guides and always with a smile. The coral club quartet were great too, the girl singer so versatile, but we felt sorry for them because their prformance clashed with the entertainment in Neptune lounge and they were the losers. Such a pity having to sing and play to an almost empty room and they were not mentioned on the last night when all other entertainers were.
Now for the negatives - Neptune lounge was very inadequate with poor seating, uncomfortable and not suited as a theatre which it was.
The tour desk was not manned most of the time and was the weakest part of the ship's management.

  • 16 September - 29 September 2011

    Date of Cruise

  • 13

    Nights on board

  • Dover,Kiel canal, Warnemunde, Turku, Helsinki, St Petersburg, Copenhagen, Dover

    Itinerary Name

  • Outside

    Cabin Type

  • Couple

    Group description

  • Food - quality & variety

  • Entertainment on board

  • Value For Money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 28/04/2012

We returned from the last Fly/Cruise to the Carribean on Braemar. We have travelled with Fred olsen many times, and have only praise for Black Watch and Balmoral, however Braemar, never, never again. The holiday started with a 2.5hour journey and wait on a coach with no air conditioning and a temperature of 38C. As soon as we got on the boat we had lifeboat drill which was absolutely farcical. A female with a loud hailer screaming in our face, no roll call, as I said a real farce. The cabin(we had a balcony) was a good size. however a common complaint was the size of the shower. Each time I had a shower the curtain stuck to me. In the end the only way to have a comfortable shower was not to use the curtain and wet the bathroom floor. Due to the experience of the bus trip we did not go on any trips at all, went independent on each island. The staff (apart from the screaming girl) was the usual excellent Fred Olsen standard, as was the food. The only other complaint is that we bought goods on board at the price shown on the box and as signed for. On checking our bill when we got home an extra £1.05 had been charged. While the ship has been extended for the extra cabins it appeared the public rooms had not been changed to accomodate the extra passengers. At the first seating people were leaving early to get a seat in the Neptune Lounge for the evenibg shows. We have been on many cruises on many cruise lines, it is only the Braemar and Constellation that we have vowed we will never use again

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0