Acorn Family Holidays Reviews - www.acornfamilyholidays.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.7 / 5
69% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Exhilarating

  • Uniqueness

  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Acorn Family Holidays - www.acornfamilyholidays.co.uk

Acorn Family Holidays - www.acornfamilyholidays.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Great holiday!”

Written on: 22/02/2022 by Happycamper1977 (1 review written)

I went on a single parent holiday to Brecon last summer with my little boy (ages 6) and had the best holiday ever! From booking I received. I thing but excellent service from Acorn staff and when I rang this year to book one of their France holidays they even remembered me! Lovely, friendly staff who were happy to help in any way. The activities were great and we made some lifelong friends. The pods were exactly what we needed, as were the facilities. I wasn’t expecting luxury when I booked a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Making memories in Wales with Acorn Family Holidays”

Written on: 06/08/2019 by Dunco101 (1 review written)

What a fantastic holiday. I would highly recommend if you’re looking for a fun time with your kids. I thought it was a tad expensive when I booked but it is definitely worth the money. A weeks holiday elsewhere won’t put as many smiles on your families faces nor memories in the memory bank. The food was fine, it’s not gourmet nor the all-inclusive in the Algarve. Mealtimes are a group affair with the instructors serving and doing the washing up. No two meals were the same. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor Value for money”

Written on: 23/07/2019 by atb78 (1 review written)

Acorn make out to be this cost effective, ethical company but they are miles away with that statement. I complained extensively during my holiday in the Ardeche and absolutely nothing was done. When I came home I again complained about the a variety of issues which just went on def ears. May I suggest paying a little more for your holiday as it would roughly be the same with the hidden costs Acorn don't tell you about. Appalling company and really bad communication… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Great adventures, awful pods, terrible facilities! ”

Written on: 11/09/2017

I would advise that if you want glancing as promised on the website, then don't use Acorn adventures! The facilities are awful at Brecon Hills, Wales. Showers disgusting, toilets dirty, when you would rather stay dirty than go for a shower, I think says it all! Food wasn't too bad after the first night, which was awful! No choice, you get what you're given! For nearly 200 a night you would expect better anywhere else! We booked for 4 days adventure on the website. What we then got through… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“If you want your daughter pregnant send her on an...”

Written on: 02/08/2017 by DesiraeDavis486 (1 review written)

Good activities, drunk teachers, and young acorn staff who will not step up to look after the children if they need to ensure their welfare. If teenagers (male and female) are involved, expect it all to go wrong… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Katie.beaumont's Comment

Written on: 14/08/2017

I am sorry you feel this way about our holidays. If you can let me have some more feedback and which trip this is relating to, I will look into this for you. We have been receiving excellent feedback this year and our staff often receive high praise for their energy, enthusiasm and professionalism. Just today, I have received a lengthy email thanking our staff for their hard work. We have very high standards and so I am surprised to hear your feedback and would like to have the opportunity to understand your points more fully. We take all complaints about our holidays very seriously, especially any relating to the welfare of children.
Katie Beaumont, Sales & Marketing Director

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Amazing family weekend”

Written on: 31/08/2015 by hannah687 (1 review written)

We have just returned from a weekend break in Llangorse, Wales, myself and 2 boys. The staff were welcoming and friendly and worked hard to make sure we had everything we needed throughout our stay. The activities were well planned and everyone had plenty of time to have a go and for the more nervous person the instructors were patient and encouraging. The tents were basic but comfortable, they do get very chilly of a night time! The food was very good and always hot and plenty available and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Brecon the pits”

Written on: 26/08/2015 by JAH987 (1 review written)

We have recently returned from Acorns Brecon site. The food was awuful and more than a dozen guests came down with food posioing, which the staff on site intitally denied but then when so many people were effected they finally admitted was down to the food. Once back I contacted Head Office who then denied it and said people were ill as they drank too much alcohol!!!! These were young children who were sick along with some adults. They simply want to pretend it didn't happen, but it did… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Awful facilities”

Written on: 21/08/2015 by America349 (1 review written)

Booked a week in Brecon Beacons and left after 2 days. Tent had the most awful smell of urine and I had to weed along the edges as stinging nettles were growing inside the tent. Shower blocks were dirty and in need of modernisation. There were a couple of really good instructors but the majority had a can't be bothered attitude and a couple of them were just plain rude. There was little instruction on how to do the activities and they were pretty tough for younger children. When I made a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not even been on my holiday yet and I'm already...”

Written on: 21/07/2015 by Lyons217 (1 review written)

I am a week away from my holiday and haven't even got my tickets or anything,I have rang acorn a number of times and all I get is they will be with you in the next week which is now 3 weeks ago,they are not helpful one bit I am so disappointed and I really don't even want to go on the holiday now after the way I have already been treated… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Best trip i have ever been too”

Written on: 21/07/2015 by Payton388 (1 review written)

Loved it + good staff ! Activities: rock climbing, high ropes, trapez, crates, archery, MI, bush Craft, kayaking and raft building ‼️… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Excited to be going again this summer”

Written on: 18/03/2015 by GilmourSandra (1 review written)

Just got off the phone and the kids are thrilled as we are going to the Mediterranean adventure in Spain in the summer. We went to the Ardeche last year. Good community camp with fun atmosphere. Kids enjoyed the activities, the loved the caving and the two day canoe trip which was something they'd never get to do on a 'normal' holiday. Campsite was clean, simple but had everything we needed, pool for the kids and a bar for me. Staff were friendly, enthusiastic and explained everything well… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“What a disappointment”

Written on: 28/12/2014 by Essence498 (1 review written)

We did the two centre (Ardeche/Aosta) holiday. Lots of help prior to holiday but not so good once holiday started. Joining instructions for Victoria bus station was wrong - my instructions said to meet coach by taxi rank. Um, no!! Toilets/showers in Ardeche terrible. Food just about acceptable. I appreciate it is mass catering but this was cub camp standard. 75% of staff not interested and tensions amongst staff were showing. No evening activities whatsoever. In Aosta food was better but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Great time had by all”

Written on: 17/08/2014

What a fantastic week we have just come back from at the Tan Troed centre in the Brecons. I wasn't sure what to expect and luxury holiday it wasn't but we have all come home buzzing. All the staff were fantastic, great fun, knowledgeable in their activities and helpful at all times. We were sometimes encouraged out of our comfort zone and felt great achievements when accomplishing the task. The tents were basic but actually that was all that was needed and the beds were surprisingly comfy. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“To all our friends at Acorn Adventure”

Written on: 07/08/2014 by Matildao444 (1 review written)

Hi Folks, On behalf of our Troop I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank all the staff at Acorn Adventure for what was a fantastic Camp 2014 at Hauteville Sur Mer. The courtesy and professionalism of every single staff member was of the very highest standard and all concerned are are a credit to Acorn Adventure. The flexibility, consideration and cooperation received from the Acorn Sales staff, the Activity staff and the Catering staff, the administrative staff and the Bus… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Great activities but thats were it stops !”

Written on: 16/07/2014 by Jeremiahm426 (1 review written)

Terrible acommodation, leaky tents , broken metal beds, dreadful food, no disco as promised in fact nothing to do in the evenings at all, bad communal showers with both boys and girls allowed in at the same time, poor hygene, dirty plates and knives and forks , stale bread every day and rotten fruit< just dreadful ! Ardeche camp… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Katie.beaumont's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

I am sorry to read your feedback about your school trip and would very much like the opportunity to address these concerns with you. We are aware of one school this year who have had a poor experience and our Customer Experience Manager is visiting the site today to investigate these concerns. We've been receiving excellent feedback this year about our centre in the Ardeche and so it's disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your time there.
Acorn Adventure

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Best school trip ever!!”

Written on: 10/02/2014

11 years ago I went on a school trip to the Ardeche adventure camp, I enjoyed myself so much and got to do so much in the week that we were there that I can still remember all the funny little memories and all the fun I had whilst I was there. My Mum and Dad were so happy that they could give me this opportunity, thank you ever so much for an amazing week. I can't quite remember the order of things that we did within the week but remember doing many things such as caving, kayaking… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“would never ever go again”

Written on: 15/08/2013

the place was the pits would'nt put a dog there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Katie.beaumont's Comment

Written on: 24/09/2013

I am very sorry to hear that your holiday with Acorn didn't meet your expectations. I would very much welcome the opportunity to investigate this further so I can address your concerns. We have had lots of really great feedback this year, with many families already re-booking for next year so it is very disappointing that you didn't enjoy yourself.
If you would like to share your feedback with me so that I can look into this further, please email me.
Yours sincerely, Katie Beaumont. Head of Customer Services.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“enjoyed the time away but could be a lot better ”

Written on: 30/05/2013 by matthewmm2000 (1 review written)

i went to the acorn site with my school for activity week. the site was based in France/Normandy. the staff were really nice and the activity's were great. However the tents we stayed in were not as expected as we had many bugs such as snails,worms,ants and Beatles. our tents had weeds and grass growing inside of them and the floor board of the tent was ripped which lead to a lot of ants coming into the tent. The mattress had a rubber bed sheet with was horrible to sleep on and became very… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“one of the best holidays!”

Written on: 17/08/2012 by beth_luto (1 review written)

I just got home from the activity centre in wales, it was amazing..i was in sugar loaf, all the staff are so nice.dave and rodrigo made meals such a laugh,and all the activities are so enjoyable, and the instructors make it fun! i cant say i didnt like any of it, i had a great time and would love to go back … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Tan Troed - the very best of family holidays.”

Written on: 06/08/2012 by frankgoodhind (1 review written)

If, like me, you grew up climbing trees, propelling yourself over fences and doing the sort of things that would make the blood drain from your parents faces,and now as an adult, have wondered where in this increasingly cotton wool wrapped world you can go to let your children experience some of that same exhilaration and excitement,then this holiday at the Acorn Camp in Tan Troed is most definately for you. It is happening there, and it is happening now. Myself, my two children (6 and 13)and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview