Monarch Scaleout Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Monarch Scaleout
★★★☆☆
3.3
64.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Monarch Scaleout - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Monarch Scaleout

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“S15c scaleout”

★★★★★

written by MikeO12345678 on 12/05/2024

Had this from when they first started selling them about 10 years ago ish .works great. yes you do get some small amount of scale in the kettle but just use a wire scrunch like normal. It does say it will let some scale through and that it shouldnt cling hard. Taps hardly any scale what's so ever and that's with me not bothering to wipe it off like it says in the instructions. OK I may be helping it with an electromagnetic coil as well, UNFOTUNATLEY monach no longer seam to support this model, so I will look for cheaper alternatives from another company. Monach just lost a customer

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Didn't do much from day 1”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Angeline98 on 07/11/2017

I had one these fitted when I had a new kitchen and bathroom put in, I still get the same line scale build up as before, it didn't do anything for my new taps or new bathroom / kitchen. I really had high hopes fore this product but couldn't recommend it at all.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Aboynamedsue's Comment

Written on: 11/11/2022

I have had mine installed for 3 yrs and have just change the resin for the first time. The post filter has been changed one a year. Like you, I am not at all happy with the performance of Scaleout. Since being installed, I am on my second kettle and shower heads and taps around the home need decaling as often as they did prior to installing Scaleout. I am not impressed given the £600 and odd pounds purchase price, plus installation fee, plus the astronomical cost of the resin £345 every 3 yrs and £26 for replacement post filter. It is a lot of money for something that does not do what is says on the tin. I am gathering information from other dissatisfied users and will be sending my findings to the BBC to see if his consumer affairs program can lift the lid on Monarchs claims. Please message me if you want to take part.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Consumer7's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2022

Hi,

Happy to assist, I did try to contact monarchs customer services and got pretty much ignored.

Thanks

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 12 0

“Scale out s2”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bubsjoe on 22/07/2017

Could not see any evidence of it working.Kept it over a year. Total waste of money .Had it removed. I kept my old kettle to see if it remove any lime scale,as they suggest.zero impact. Had to clean lime scale from. bathroom and taps.Save yourself time and money.I was caught.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 8 0

“ Satisfied but with reservations!”

★★★★☆

written by Lennona465 on 14/12/2016

We had our Scaleout installed 3 years ago following a major refurbishment of my property which included a completely new plumbing & heating system / pipework etc. We did so at the suggestion of our plumber as my wife was opposed to the traditional type of water softener which previously she had found to make the water too slimey. We understood that it was a 4-star rather than a 5-star solution but went ahead anyway and have been pretty pleased with it, although we too have noticed some (not too much) flaky limescale in the kettle and just a little limescale on our taps. We have no problem with our WC water and certainly no pink residue as mentioned by others. Nothing excessive that can't be easily cleaned with a spray limescale remover. The fact that I don't have to keep on buying and adding salt to the system is a plus. However, there is an ongoing cost in replacing the post filter and more importantly replacing the resin every 3 years (ours is a very hard water area). We were not made aware of the cost of the resin replacement kit which is currently £237.60 inc. VAT for the DIY kit and this has come as a shock and the price seems extortionate. I have been unable to find any information as to what is so special about this resin in comparison with other packs of resin that can be obtained far more cheaply for other similar types of system. Is anyone out there able to explain this?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 20 0

“Monarch scaleout. Waste of money”

★☆☆☆☆

written by rich2204 on 29/11/2015

Had a Monarch scaleout system fitted for twelve months now. It seemed to work fine for the first three months. Now it seems to do very little. I changed the filter after eight months, though it is recommended to be changed once a year. Didn't make any difference. I paid severn hundred pounds, what a waste of money. Should have paid a few hundred more and had a block salt one instead. Shower head blocks after a couple of months and I have all the same lime scale problems that I had prior. Apparently, although it is under warranty, if you complain. Monarch claim that it is only a lime scale reducing filter, not a water softner, therefore it is hard to prove that it dosen't do the job. Anyway, I would recommend to pay the extra and get a block salt softner instead.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Note4U's Response to rich2204's Review

Written on: 21/01/2017

Not enough information to take your feedback seriously. What is your water hardness level? Is it extremely high e.g. exceeds 450? it would unlikely be effective or even work that well or at all in a longer term if that was the case. Secondly, it would have been interesting if you had a water hardness test done before and after for comparison. Finally, with a salt solution you are not only contributing to an potential environmental tragedy (ok, ceaning chemicals also do), but nobody seem to take into account the waste and cost of the brine water, which is anywhere from 17 to 30l per day, which is simply flushed away.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rich2204's reply to Note4U's Comment

Written on: 21/01/2017

The kind of answer I expect one year later, from someone who represents the company

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 8 1

“1 year of scaleout use”

★★★★☆

written by on 17/10/2015

We have had the scale out fitted to a 30 year old house which had a lot of limescale build up - we are in a hard water area in Berkshire. In general we have not seen the same problems that you usually have with limescale in the area, but we do see the white residue in our kettle - which seems to be expected in the Monarch guides. We also get a white residue on the granite worktops. BUT We have found that we aren't getting the nasty scale build up on the bathroom sinks and toilets and in general it is much easier to clean. After a year of being slightly nervous about the installation we are generally happy with it. Monarch were also brilliant at sending out a new part for free when we sprung a slight leak - we think this was down to the incompetence of the kitchen fitter..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“So much easier than a softener.”

★★★★★

written by PaulSequenza on 06/08/2015

Our plumber recently installed a new heating system and all new pipework, we also got a new washer dryer so I thought it was time to get a water softener fitted, also because the plumber was so good. He told us to go to our local merchants where we got the boiler stuff from and ask for a Scaleout instead, as it doesn't mean he would have to rip up our kitchen floor (again) and fit a hard tap to the sink, plus no new tap to the garden either. Tell you what, we live in a well hard water area and I'm well impressed, the tea tastes just fine which was my main worry and the shower screen doesn't get the limescale and the washing machine door is not all scaly on the inside. Hopefully we'll not need get the same issue with the heating element as we did with the last machine, in fact I know we wont. It was the same price as the water softener but I don't have to faff about filling it with salt every month, I reckon it'll save £23 a year over a softener and it doesn't take up as much space, I hid it in the top of a cupboard on a shelf. Customer service was great too, I asked the company how to change a part in the future and got and answer straight away.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Monarch Scaleout works perfectly with instant results”

★★★★★

written by Hetti707 on 22/06/2015

I purchased a Monarch scaleout a month ago and am absolutely delighted with the results. It does exactly what I expected which was to reduce the hardness of the water but still be able to drink the water from anywhere in the house. It comes with a filter as standard which needs replacing each year at minimal cost and having done some research, I believe the running cost will be less than a conventional salt water softener. It is compact, fits neatly under the sink unit with no extra tap needed. I live in one of the hardest water areas in the country and my Scaleout is coping fantastically. My kettle has not needed descaling in a month whereas before it needed doing every week. Before purchasing the Scaleout I made sure, from Monarch, that I knew exactly how it worked and what to expect. The staff were knowledgeable and able to reassure me that it was exactly what I required. The after sales service has been excellent. Tip: My plumber bypassed the outside tap so as not to waste the treated water.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Works perfectly and Monarch were very helpful!”

★★★★☆

written by tomj84 on 09/01/2014

I used to live in a house that I renovated and had a salt water softener installed as I live in Bath where the water is very hard. During the renovation, it was a pain to install separate cold water pipes to the kitchen as it is not advisable to drink softened water. I also found the process of buying heavy and often split bags of salt to fill it up was just irritating. I moved from that house a year ago and had a Monarch Scaleout installed in the new house as an alternative to a water softener and it had no need for any separate cold water supply to the kitchen. It seems to work well and only needs the Post Filter to be replaced every year until the resin requires changing. I was unsure how to do this so I contacted Monarch and they talked me through the process and sent me the spanner required to do job and it arrived the next day. So after a year of use I am nothing but pleased with the product and I am very happy that I don't have to carry heavy salt around anymore!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Monarch scale out for combination boilers”

★★★★☆

written by Dralllab on 28/01/2013

Hi , just installed the new monarch scale out salt less unit and I've already noticed the difference in the first day.the existing scale around the taps has broke down with a slight rub,the so called slime in the kettle I have not experienced this could be that you must install the filter that comes with the kit and they must be replaced max of a year cost as little as £10 to £15 .also I have notice when using soaps the lather is better, maybe not as much as the salt softeners but personally I don't like it to slimy . All in all I am very please with this item as I don't have to fill up with salt every 3 to 4 weeks.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Monarch Scaleout; problems (white film & flakes in...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 26/12/2012

This is product is sold as an alternative to traditional softeners and described in the trade (plumbing-heating) as a revolution in scale treatment). I am an installer and put a high flow unit in my own home. I found the unit performance was not as advertised, in particular after two weeks my kettle was covered in a white film that breaks up when filling my kettle and white flakes are suspended in the water. The advertising promised a 'Healthy kettle'. I am able to get information from Monarch but only one technical person is able to talk in detail about the product, they email you a fact sheet that is quite good but seems to be vague about expected lifespan of the resin relative to local conditions). I was sold the unit without being fully informed that I needed an extra filter (pre filter)in order to be fully covered. There is no test kit available to test the resin and also the resin must not be exposed to mains water temperature below 4 degees celcius. Scaleout does keep the brassware in my new bathroom clean, glasses come up well when washed, but I do not notice much difference in the feel of the water when showering. When I discussed my dissapointment with the product I was told that full softening is a 5 Star product and that scaleout is a 4 start product :-( I wanted to make sure I fully understood Scaleout and gave it a chance to work prior to review, but at this stage I would advise anyone considering it to scan the fact sheet carefully and except that that you will have flakes of white muck in your kettle evertime you brew up! I would love to have feedback from Monarch about Scaleout product performance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Petersolar's Comment

Written on: 02/01/2013

I have talked further with Monarch and they accept that the issue with the kettle is valid. I am going to keep the Scaleout unit for another 6months and monitor the performance.

I will wait for the Scaleout unit to breakdown the remaining scale in my pipe work system and see where it settles, I do have a good dialogue with Monarch and will stick with it in the interim,

It is important to accept that there are limitations and issues relative to full softenening but oyu still may wish to use Scaleout.

I also have an interest in how Scaleout reacts as fill water in my heating system (stable PH), with mixed metals and aluminium end plates on a stainless steel heat exchanger.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harveybowden's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2013

Hi, We manufacture the Harvey Water Softener and would like to get involved with real world experiences such as you have. Would you be prepared to try one of our water softeners free of charge when you think you understand how well your Scaleout works? Then compare the two experiences.
www.harvey.co.uk

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mr_Twiddle's Comment

Written on: 10/06/2013

Hi - I've just ordered one of these. A little worried by your review!

Would be interested in how you are getting on!

We ordered in part because we just don't have the space for a salt softener and are hopeful that this will still give an improvement. I've also done some reading on the FILTERSORB SP3 resin that they use and it's not exactly easy to find conclusive customer reviews even though the resin has been around for a few year. Hope to hear an update.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Petersolar's Comment

Written on: 10/06/2013

Hi,

The real issue is that there is no test kit so you would only know the resin is exhausted when you felt the difference in the water quality, I am not sure that you could so quickly because the feel of the water is not as high impact as traditional Softners! I know it is working because I fitted a new bathroom and the scale has not appeared.

The kettle deposits are like milky baby sick and block the gauze in the kettle spout it is not easy to rinse the kettle out, I am going to plumbe the kitchen sink separate to the scaleout because it is worse than scale, warranty is also dependant on a pre filter and annual change of the filter so watch that if you go ahead

The other concern is that the expected life span of the resign is vague and the stability of SP3 price/supply is not clearly explained anywhere that I can find.

I cannot argue with the scale control, but I do wonder if my kettle is full of gunk then could that also migrate from high wall temperatures in my combi plate heat exchanger to my new bathroom installation.

Every new idea or technology has a weakness, I found it straight away because I specialise in filling water and corrosion in domestic heating systems, so you need to apply some balance to my comments; perhaps I am over thinking it, the lack of hard facts on resin life span bugs me!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mr_Twiddle's Comment

Written on: 11/06/2013

Would you say that you have noticed any difference in the feel of your skin? My wife suffers from very dry hands and really our hope is that it may help with this. If it does then it would be worth it for that alone.

Also does it improve the 'taste' of your water despite the kettle gunk?

Incidentally we're in Berkshire - with hardness just over the 300ppm mark according to the water company. I hadn't realised that the warranty requires a pre filter - I'll look into that.

Thanks again! I have ordered it and also 1 extra filter - so if Monarch go bust I have at least 2 years out of it. However not too late to just send it back for a refund!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tina_B's Comment

Written on: 30/10/2013

Hello Mr_Twiddle,
I also live in Berkshire and would be interested to know how you are getting on - do you have the kettle problems?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mr_Twiddle's Comment

Written on: 31/10/2013

We got cold feet.

I did some more research on the type of resin that is in these things and it appeared that it's been sold in the USA for some time. I was suspicious that you cannot really find any sort of objective feedback from people to say it works on the internet.

Also just felt it wasn't really going to address the main problem we had which was dry cracking hands. Anyway we have ordered a Softline Scalemaster 150 softener and are waiting to get it fitted.

Good luck!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jimmistletoe's Comment

Written on: 15/03/2014

So a year later and I wonder how you are getting on?
Jim

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Matt_Carpy's Comment

Written on: 20/10/2021

Hi any update

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jackietrundley's Comment

Written on: 08/11/2014

Totally agree, kettle awful tea like drinking chalk. Shower head has pinkish residue and need to de limescale loo weekly because of pinkish resin.
Have had this fitted less than 6 months £600 down the drain. Worried what this powdery pinkish gunk is doing to my family. Going to plumb in traditional softner & bypass kitchen dink. DO NOT BUY!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tonymcross's Comment

Written on: 01/06/2014

Ive had a monarch scaleout fitted to a new extension witch includes two bathrooms a new water tank and boiler, so no old copper pipes, i was sold this under the impression that we would not suffer with any limescale etc and would be fare better than the salt water softeners, but we are already cleaning the limescale of the shower screens, heads and walls, I'm now conceded that my new heating and plumbing will be suffering as well, haven spoken to our plumber and shown him the results he has recommended that we should remove it and replace it with traditional one, I'm not to sure how long these have been in circulation but i can't find any reviews except for this one, also we had a pre filter fitted with the installation, has anybody got any good news about these £600 down the drain???? seems to be a waste of money to me and would not recommend one

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Neilj29's Comment

Written on: 19/05/2015

We fitted a scaleout in Feb and already the lime scale is back! Worked fine for a few weeks but has gradually become ineffective over a period of only 3 months. It may only be a case of replacing the post filter but at £10-20 a pop that's not cheap, especially since it's supposed to last a year.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 8 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by diloupage on 27th May 2018 Report this content
Is it going to save me money in the long run with using less soap liquids and cleaning products etc? Does it make your skin feel silky smooth after washing? Can you tell me how it works please. I've just had a demonstration for Harveys water softeners and they are a lot more expensive but say they save you money.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by DaveChapman265 on 28th September 2016 Report this content
At the top of the SC2 there are two dark red flat pull outs. Can you tell me what they are for please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by BillHorton on 4th February 2015 Report this content
Re the S15T. Can you please advise me of the size? So that I can determine how much space there is in a standard.cupboard under the sink.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by lynne13 on 3rd October 2014 Report this content
Has anyone suffered with itching skin and mouth ulcers?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content PeterSolar Written on: 06/10/2014
My son noticed that when we went in holiday that his skin complaint was better (irritation to skin on hands). No issue with mouth ulcers. My son was convinced it was because our holiday house had Molten Brown soap :-) I cannot say if it was an issue with Scaleout, what makes you suspect that. The resin in Scaleout (I believe) is am SP3 Resin and sold in the USA I think by a company called Pelican. You might search for answers there, if you believe an issue exists.
overview