very disappointing, not worth the money

3.8 / 5
71% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Guest's review of King and Allen Suits -


“very disappointing, not worth the money”

Written on: 25/09/2011

I had a suit made last year. First of all the choice of fabrics and linings is very poor, the fabric swatches are very small, also we were looking at the swatches in a pub (London measuring sessions are arranged in the pub near the Bank tube station), where it was quite dark, it was difficult to imagine what the suit would look like. The fabric sample looked quite dark, but the actual suit turned out too light so I was very disappointed with the final product because I wanted a dark navy suit and ended up with a blue one, which looked very cheap. I have not worn it even once and I am not sure what to do with it now.. I spent around £500 and I would be better off buying a suit in the shop and having it adjusted. It was a very disappointing experience, as you could not see bigger samples or what the final product would look like and the final product was really disappointing.. You have to pay in advance but you can not take it back once you are provided with the final product when you do not like it. I would not recommend to anybody.

  • Value For Money

Adam King Of King And Allen's Comment

Written on: 12/10/2011

Dear Sir,

I am very sorry that you are disappointed with the colour of the fabric you chose. To say that the room was dark is not fair - we provide SAD bulbs for you to view the cloths that recreate daylight noon. We also provide a variety of completed blue suits against which you can compare your fabric. The fabric you chose was the suit we made you. Furthermore, the samples we use are standard sizes that all tailors use. We now offer a service where you can visit our cloth supplier on Savile Row and see a full length if you are unsure. In other words we go out of our way to make sure that you are not disappointed but we can't just give you your money back if you make a mistake. 50 hours of work went into that suit, not to mention the cloths. However, I don't like seeing customers walk away disappointed and I would happily give you a generous discount off another suit as a gesture of good will. Please get in touch with me directly at

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0