Simarc Property Management Limited - www.simarc.co.uk

Simarc Property Management Limited - www.simarc.co.uk
★☆☆☆☆
1.1
3.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Simarc Property Management Limited - www.simarc.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Appalling ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Lyla433 on 03/10/2023

In a cost of living crisis how can anyone justify £180 for sending an email ? While I accept there should be penalties for late payments, this is ridiculous. I doubt very much that the directors of this company are wondering how they’re going to afford Winter fuel bills. Unbelievable.

Zowiewalsh's Comment

Written on: 26/03/2024

They did exactly the same to me at the same time as you. I didn’t get any letters until they were adding almost £200 for a £30 bill. Disgrace of a company

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“do not use ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by rrgrt on 18/04/2023

over charge £84 for a missed £30 payment

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Is this a legal crime ? ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by czHatch43 on 08/08/2022

This company needs to be taken to the tribunal. The amount of “variable” administration fees they charge to leaseholder, charges that are not capped, it’s absolutely unbelievable. It makes me angry, how there is no cap of what they charge, and basically leaseholders are extorted of money and there is nothing legally stopping these companies. The law says these charges need to be reasonable, but that’s where the law stops. So leaseholders go ahead and charge what they want . People need to unite and take this company to tribunal and stop the extortion!

Was this review helpful? 8 1

“Difficult to avoid, but they are opportunists”

★☆☆☆☆

written by dingding1 on 01/08/2022

There is no way to select someone other than Simarc. Just be aware how they operate. They make money by hoping you miss a payment. They provide the minimum notice of ground rent (i.e. one invoice, by email, well in advance). If you defer payment, or then forget, they will, as they publish, add an excessive admin fee to send you a 2nd invoice which will be double. Nothing illegal in this. Its just their modus operandi and they prey on people not being organised or trying to manage their cash flow. If they provide Managed Services for you? Maybe you can kick them out and switch to another provider - up to you. Or, just set up a Direct Debit. Ground rents are gnerally small amounts, and so it is not worth getting fined for missing it. Just hate this company. Still

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Avoid at all costs”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 1945Warner on 08/05/2022

After their request for a huge "registration fee" and repeat annual payments for their records, I have asked for clarification as to what authority they have for requesting the payments. After asking four times for this, they have sent details of a clause in my lease which appears to only cover legal transfers of the property and does not cover my position of letting out my flat on an annual Assured Shorthold Tenancy. They have also misquoted the lease, saying it permits them to charge not less than £330.00 plus VAT for the service, when it actually says £30 plus VAT. No doubt they will dismiss this as a typo. Feel really desperate as to where to turn. No advice about clauses in the lease was offered by my solicitor when I bought the flat or I might have reconsidered the purchase.

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Registration Fees for sub/under letting - SIMARC”

★★☆☆☆

written by CJJ86 on 27/07/2019

Advice please, Simarc became our Freeholders managing Company last year. They will only email me as I am non-resident. That said they now want £138 Registration Fee with an additional £90 (which I am not sure if thats for each renewal with existing tenant or if new tenant) I have owned the property for 4 years and never had this requested before. Contacted them by phone and email asking what I thought were reasonable requests, costs breakdown, explanation of frequency. Received a curt reply basically pay. My other concern is why do I have to supply my Tenancy Agreement, surely that is a breach of privacy between me and my tenant? Perhaps I should charge them for my correspondence! Anyone know where I can find "Reasonable Costs" guidelines? Thanks

Was this review helpful? 11 1

“Purchase of freehold”

★★★★☆

written by Sgh75 on 17/07/2019

Our request to purchase the freehold of 8 Chestnut Avenue, Whickham, was dealt with in a very efficient manner. The instructions on how to register transfer of leasehold were clear and fairly easy to understand.

Jagsdx's Response to Sgh75's Review

Written on: 09/01/2021

Hi there, what was the process for this as I am buying a leasehold house and Simarc are the managing freehold agents?

Did u get the entire freehold without any hidden leasehold attachments or was there any?

Regards

Jag

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 9

“Simarc - Is this legal?”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Stevens499 on 03/05/2019

To anybody thinking of buying a leasehold property, find out who the managing company is first. If it is Simarc, I would highly recommend you avoid them. One of the biggest issues in the UK is the management of leasehold properties and this company explifies that. You will be charged extorniate fees without them voluntarily providing proof of payment, receipts, statements, etc. Also they will not give over their bank details to make it easy to pay them. Every year I have to pay £90 for underletting a flat that I own, for which this company has done nothing other than send out a letter demanding payment. For doing what? Don't trust them, avoid at all costs!

Martinmuggle's Comment

Written on: 14/06/2019

Hi, I have successfully challenged Simarc over this charge, although they wanted much more from me. You need to check your lease if it is not mentioned in it you don't have to pay it. You can obtain free advice from the lease advisory service, they are very good and all you need to do is book a time with them and then call. Make sure all your letters to them are sent recorded otherwise they will never admit to receiving them.

Reply to this comment

Beggarsoak's Comment

Written on: 15/06/2019

Many thanks for the reply, I will now contact the lease advisory service. Much appreciated.

Reply to this comment

Cjj86's Comment

Written on: 27/07/2019

Thankyou i will do that asap. Did they request a copy of your tenancy agreement? They are asking for £138 initial fee with a rolling £90 thereafter.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 16 0

“Unethical company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JessicaGarty on 02/05/2019

Simarc is the worst company I have ever had to deal with when owning a property. They will purposely fabricate things to enforce high charges on you. I had been contacting them since December to find out what I was to pay for a property I had just purchased and they made it extremely difficult refusing to take payment or telling me they didn’t know the property and making up other excuses. After a few months of me chasing them to make a payment I get hold a lady who I am assuming is the manager and she tells me that they had sent me a bill in March for the ground rent that was £135 and then 10 days later had sent a chasing later and she then told me I owed £269 for the late payment. Even with me chasing them months before on several occasions. I also had not received either of these letters she insisted they had sent, I then noticed the address had been written wrong hence why I hadn’t received them but of course they wouldn’t take blame and insisted the letter still would of gotten to me and said I had to pay the full charge. I appealed this with them and sent the money for the ground rent only via cheque and received a letter back telling me they refuse to take the payment for the ground rent which was due January 1st even though the manager had told me via email that they sent their first letter to me in March. They still are insisting I pay the ridiculous late charges. The staff are rude and impossible to deal with and I want to warn other people using them to be aware of their actions and to not pay any extra money that they are trying to get out of you. Absolutely disgusting company with no morals and should be ashamed of themselves.

Was this review helpful? 16 0

“Unethical business practice”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Decency on 18/04/2019

This firm is a direputable. I have £150 ground rent fee to pay to cover 2 years to cover this year as well and they are trying to charge me £400 + for charges despite them not updating their records with me new address and not receiving any demands for them. I tried to call the company to pay the actual ground rent but they would not allow it unless i pay the charges. I then logged on to website and again you have no choice to make a variable payment. When i emailed them with the new address, and request for the charges to be removed the Head of Leasehold services sent me a letter back. He said he had not received any correspondence, clearly not the case since he sent it to my new address and added further charges to the account. Why is some government official not intervening as this is unethical. They refuse to BACS so the only way is to send a cheque to make payment for the ground rent, and i will write a lengthy letter and make it recorded to the attention of the Head of Leasehold. The Psychopath.

Was this review helpful? 10 0

“Unethical - just in business to defraud unwitting tenants”

★☆☆☆☆

written by FinneganMarsh on 06/11/2018

Simarc recently took over the management of our building. Words don't express how dysfunctional and dishonest these guys are. Bordering on illegal practices in the way they treat tenants. Should be wound-up by trading standards.

Was this review helpful? 18 0

“My advice is do not pay any additional charges to this...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BrianFPB on 19/05/2018

My advice is do not pay any additional charges to this company. Please get advise first as they have no remorse about badly treating decent people off. How his staff can work for him shows that they are all in it together with one aim and that is to take advantage of hard working people. Shame on you Simarc.

Catty1982's Response to BrianFPB's Review

Written on: 30/10/2018

I believe the customer service skills are appalling. They have no respect for customers and undignified. I called this company up about my ground rent. They have taken over from LPM company and have no up to date information about the ownership of the lease. I would say this company is only out there to make money and will take every means of making the money. They requested me to contact my solictors to give them up to date information. I advised them that they should have this information and they need to contact the previous company. The woman was very rude and didn't care. They just waste ppls time and cause worry.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 13 0

“No interest in Customer Service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ljKenny150 on 14/05/2018

Disgraceful Customer Service . Didn’t receive first letter for annual ground rent when I received second and called up to pay had been charged over £80 for being late . Questioned it and was told couldn’t speak to a manager had to email . Emailed her and the 1st man replied ! So I replied I was waiting on a managers response not his . Manager replied exactly as he had . Not their fault you don’t get the letter they said they sent ! Coincidence days after you’ve been charged £80 you receive letter telling you you will be charged ! Their only response is it’s all in your contract . Absolutely disgraceful Company and I wouldn’t recommend .

Was this review helpful? 8 0

“Horrible ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Coxto470 on 03/05/2018

They are charging over £100 to £300 just for simple quotes ridiculous

Was this review helpful? 10 0

“Excessive Charges”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Myersvf142 on 22/04/2018

SIMARC are charging around £100 for just a quotation to tell me much it would cost to buy freehold.

Was this review helpful? 19 0

“dreadful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by chmcjm on 03/04/2018

In essence an organisation solely focused on leeching money out of people owning a property. Dreadful service, unconcerned with anything other than making money for themselves. They offer no real service for anyone owning a property managed by them, their only focus is collecting fees.

Was this review helpful? 14 0

“I tried to purchase a consent certificate for solar...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by PresleyChurch on 21/02/2018

I tried to purchase a consent certificate for solar panels on my late fathers roof. The cost was £240.00 originally. When I tried to pay this, the cost suddenly rose to £1.500.00. SCANDALOUS! This was because the sale of the bungalow would have fallen through if we hadn't paid their "ransom" fee. Our solicitor got it down to £540.00. Still £300.00 over the original fee. I am trying to recoup this money. Any suggestions?

Was this review helpful? 10 0

“Poor customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Shamt73 on 30/01/2018

Poor customer service, staff need to have further training.

Was this review helpful? 7 0

“Shocking company to deal with,nightmare to get hold of...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 471Evans on 05/11/2017

Shocking company to deal with,nightmare to get hold of and will bleed you dry of money. Shouldn't be allowed to do what they do with people,if I could give one piece of advice if would be don't buy a leasehold property that is looked after by simarc,it will turn into a nightmare.

Anto009's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2017

£132 for an admin charge for late ground rent. surely they can be reported to trading standards for this?

Reply to this comment

Clairmaher's Comment

Written on: 14/05/2018

Seems like they make the prices up as they go along .

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 12 0

“Just no justifcation for there action!! Grrrhh!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 05/10/2017

considering I own my own property it sure don't feel like it, cant get fibre into my property because they wont allow BT onto the premises to install & are demanding we cough up £500 to just read a letter, something to do with the wayleave agreement, BT The Local council & the Local MP have all been involved but have failed to persuaded them, even though the local parish council have paid £80'000 to be installed in the area, everyone now has fibre internet but our block. absolutely have no reason whatsoever to deny us this, considering its not costing them anything :(

Was this review helpful? 8 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by damianjames on 3rd May 2023 Report this content
does anybody have Simarc's bank details so that I can simply pay what I owe? thank you

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Deebo1204 on 14th July 2022 Report this content
Hi I'd like to know if you guys can give me a price for the freehold on our property?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Underletting on 5th April 2019 Report this content
I have recently been sent a Notice of Underletting of an apartment I own and let out since 2010. This is the first time I have been sent a letter of demand (to pay within 21 days) since 2010 when the previous Freeholder managed it. Simarc has now demanded a fee of £168 for letting out my own property. I have never heard of a Freeholder having a hold over who a Leaseholder who rents out their apartment to. I pay my groundrent, I pay the agency fees, I pay my taxes, now this! Has anyone else been sent this letter which my tenant had to complete and sign as an Underlessee?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by billann on 17th June 2016 Report this content
Can I fit gas central heating to my property?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Leginthab on 16th March 2016 Report this content
The comments on this company are shocking. Would be helpful to know if any of these comments are for Redwood Court London, NW6 7BH as my son is buying an apartment there?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by swallen on 25th March 2014 Report this content
Why don't they answer the phone? I'm trying to ring about an outstanding account I owe them.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content dingding1 Written on: 25/03/2014
They want you to 'default' and miss a payment or time window so they can bully you with so called notified admin fees and charges - this is how they screw money out of landlords. You have to resort to writing, preferably recorded delivery. Pay the original (genuine) fee by cheque. They may retrn the cheque, but I understand they are not allowed to refuse payment unreasonably. What does that mean? Debateable, but if they pursue you for more you can hold out and any judge/arbitrator would see that as very poor behaviour by them.
Asked by Jpearson1957 on 23rd March 2014 Report this content
I should have paid my ground rent in January 2014 in advance for year 2014/1015 how can I be charged £108 for being in arrears?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content dingding1 Written on: 25/03/2014
They will tell you (if they answer) that their charges are advertised on the back of their invoices. IMO, they want you to miss payments so they can levy charges. They are bullies who are not interested in just collecting due rent (according to many). Pay what you owe, by registered/recorded cheque in the mail. They may reject it, and/or pursue you with threatening letters for the charges too. Its up to you if you fold and move on to your day job - their day job is hassling you. Apparently they threaten court action but noone sees them in court. They use the threat of a damaged credit reference to blackmail you into caving. Report them to whoever you can - MP etc to get help.
overview