The Car Buying Group Reviews - thecarbuyinggroup.co.uk

The Car Buying Group Reviews - thecarbuyinggroup.co.uk
★★★★★
4.6
94.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for The Car Buying Group Reviews - thecarbuyinggroup.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Worst Experience Ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Andrei3588 on 06/04/2024

I had an absolutely dreadful experience with The Car Buying Group. After agreeing on a price three days prior to collection, I wasted my Saturday . When the driver showed up, their agent called me and had the audacity to try to negotiate the price again(the new price was £1000 less), despite our prior agreement. I provided them with all the information they asked for over the phone, only to be treated with disrespect. Save yourself the headache and avoid this unprofessional and unreliable company at all costs.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Untrustworthy and unprofessional ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by wqSharp222 on 07/01/2024

If there was minus that’s what I would give. Do not buy from them you’ll regret it!!! I bought a car that arrived to me with cigarette burns, a broken seat belt. They told me it had a full service the trye pressure was down and the battery died after three days!!!! They’ve had the car back in their showroom for over a month still no refund. Everytime I call they just lie or don’t answer. This is still ongoing after two months of buying the car!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Horrific service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ErikaQuinn391 on 10/11/2023

Purchased a car in July and had issues with in a few days. Tried to work with RAC warranty and dealer to make it right but after a month no repairs completed. Took it back to the car group where it sat for another month with no repairs. Finally found out the car had a preexisting issues that was not repairable the day I was promised it would be ready to collect. Been calling daily since about a refund now that they have my car, the loaner car still no response. Customer service is nonexistent through broken promises and not returning calls texts or emails. Always a risk buying a used car but this complete lack of customer service is horrific.

Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Terribly unprofessional”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Clareb41 on 30/08/2023

Unbelievably unprofessional. If I could give 0 stars I would. I've been talking to the car buying group for a week to sell my car. I've given them all the information, took photos of damage on the car and agreed a price. We had to reschedule pick-up because I couldn't find the V5 form. That's where the trouble started. Next pick-up was scheduled for 5 days later, the confirmation email showed 1 month later. I had to make various calls and send emails to get the correct date. Once they came to collect the car, the guy (subcontractor, feel sorry for them) spent a couple of hours here going through all the paperwork, taking photos, calling them, giving them all the details, etc. I then got a call from the car buying group to tell me that the sales person made a mistake with the valuations. Apparently he got the valuation from a file they have from 2019 (which is a lie as I've had the car for 6 years and have never tried to sell it before now) and they could now only offer me £1,120 less than the original offer. They said it's human error and they're very sorry. I've told them how unprofessional they are and no wonder none of them will have jobs next year as AI will be replacing them and their "human error" excuse. I then got offered £200 more which was not accepted. All their email correspondence states no negotiations at collection, yet they arrogantly blame "human error" while trying to screw you over, hoping that you will feel sorry for the person that made the error. Very unprofessional.

Was this review helpful? 1 2

“AUDI A6 2015 / 122.300 miles the quotation was £4.5k ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/07/2022

a great waste of time, a car that costs around £10k on all sites, they quoted me for £ 4.5k due to the fact that it has a light on board (the light is on due to the fact that it needs an air sensor that costs around £ 100 with mounting included) I do not recommend in any way to waste your time trying to sell the car to such opportunistic dealers. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Company is a load of rubbish ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by xjLeonard92 on 14/04/2022

If I could I leave them no stars, I would… awful company. They say what the agreed with you the price and on the day they don’t try to bargain with you.. on the day they try to bargin with me on the small damage. I told them about the damage when agreed the price they didn’t ask for photos of the car that’s not my problem just pictures of service and stuff.. which I did! Wasted my time waiting for them to just can’t even take the car but not even tell me they don’t want it.. I had to hear it from the driver from an outside company.. I didn’t hear from them till I rang them to see what’s going on about 40 mins later.. unacceptable and unprofessional company. Don’t not listen to the sales team.. don’t waste your time with this company, they chat a load of rubbish so they get what they won’t!!

Was this review helpful? 2 2

“Appalling!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Paqman7 on 08/10/2021

Having arranged collection of our Audi Q7 on 4 different occasions it was cancelled on the day of collection on each occasion. Different excuses each time. After being promised a call back after I made a complaint no call back was received. Rang back to find our what on earth was going on to be told that my contact had been told to call me back & it was poor that he hadnt. The person then went on to say that there was nothing more he could do. Appalling service on all fronts. Wasted both my time & lost me money in time lost due to waiting for these people to turn up. MY ADVICE IS STAY WELL AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Honest, Fair, Simple”

★★★★★

written by Fletcher109 on 07/04/2020

The price was exactly what I expected, the person I dealt with was on hand to offer me advice and help through the simple process - I didn't even need to leave my house!They offered me a price, collected and paid. The collection driver was very helpful and polite - Would always use.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Easiest car sale”

★★★★★

written by RoyalView78 on 06/04/2020

It was because of a recommendation from my sister that I sold my car to The Car Buying Group. She had sold her car just before Christmas and had said it was easy and a fair price. I spoke to a man who arranged the collection with me and asked questions about the condition of the car. A gentleman collected the car 3 days later. I was worried that they would try to change the price when they came to collect, but as promised they did not. They payment was very fast. I will definitely use them again when I need to sell a car.

Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Amazing service”

★★★★★

written by GeraldFitzgerald on 03/04/2020

I sold my car to The Car Buying Group at the start of March and the team there are really helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much hassle for them and they collected my car within an hour which I thought was really reasonable. The collection driver was friendly and they offered me a fair price for my car. Great service and would use again!

Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Awful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Dunn78 on 19/03/2020

Awful! Sent pictures, got a quote of £2000 only to be knocked down to £1200 when they came to pick the car up because 'the market has changed'. After refusing, they offered slightly more but it was a complete waste of 2 hours while the 'driver' assessed the car. I should've trusted my gut and not bothered with a company like this!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Professional , Honest, company.”

★★★★★

written by woBlack239 on 29/04/2019

The Car Buying Group asked me to tell them about any defects on my car, so I was as honest as I could be. They then gave me a price that they were willing to pay for it which I felt was a fair price. A pick up time and date that suited me was arranged and a gentleman came out and gave an assessment of the car and the previous agreed price was paid straight into my account and the car was driven away. A very professional, honest company to deal with. I would certainly use this company again if I were to sell another car.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great Service ”

★★★★★

written by Potter1595 on 29/03/2019

We sold our car to The Car Buying Group in little under a week. To be honest was a bit nervous at first thought that when the independent valuer arrived that they would try and bring down the price of the car agreed initially but this was not the case within an hour he had spoken to the person I dealt with and the money arrived in to my account. If you are thinking of using this Company please give an accurate description of the car (including scuffs and bumps). Thank you to the person I dealt with for a hassle free first class service. I would recommend The Car Buying Group to friends & family. Thanks again

Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Simple and Easy!”

★★★★★

written by Shereenc on 18/03/2019

Great service, fast and helpful staff. Evaluated my car the Sunday on line, received 3 quotes from different companies and gave the one with the highest rating a call... the car buying group. Received a call from someone the following day, absolutely fantastic she went through the forms over the phone and gave me a quote back within 24 hours. They scheduled a time/date that was convenient for me. Collected the car, double checked it over, transferred the money while I was on the phone, and away they went with the vehicle. Fast, easy and as it says!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent Service and Communications Throughout”

★★★★★

written by Silvayd240 on 14/03/2019

I had searched a number of websites to sell my Audi A1 and had callbacks from several companies. They all told me I wouldn't get more than what they were offering, take it or leave it. It was more the tone and manner of them doing me a favour and were not very friendly which put me off. I then received a call from Abi from the Carbuying Group who had a charm and manner which made me feel respected and comfortable. She explained the entire process and I was more than happy to proceed. Everything went smoothly and Abi was prompt, professional and courteous in her attention. I couldn't be happier with Abi and the Carbuying Group. Yes I may have been able to get a little bit more for my car but it is the customer service and reliability that is far more important. I highly recommend the company especially Abi!!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Such an easy process and a good price”

★★★★★

written by on 09/03/2019

From start to finish it was easy to sell our car. Even though it waa 11 years old and past its best, by being honest on its condition still got a fair price for it with no haggling when they came to collect it. Money was in our account literally within minutes.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Straightforward process and fair offers”

★★★★★

written by dkja on 27/02/2019

Once the process is initiated, communication is good with a single contact using email,phone and text. Fair discussion about any issues that potentially affect car valuation. Good collection system and fast payment

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Second time round - still a positive experience”

★★★★★

written by JulienKing394 on 30/10/2018

Once you decide you are selling your car to trade you have to accept the price of that convenience is that you will get less than selling privately. However, once you have accepted that, the hope is that you will be dealt with in a polite, consistent and fair manner. Having dealt with TCBG for the first time when I sold my car last year, that is exactly why I was happy to deal with them again. This year we have sold both our cars to them - the experience was again firm but fair in comparison to other offers - although they weren't actually the highest offer by a small margin, knowing that I had described our cars honestly, I was confident that there would not be any unreasonable attempts to reduce the agreed prices when they came to see the cars and complete the purchase. Again, the drivers were polite, kept me informed when their arrival time was delayed, and payment was almost instant and cleared in our account before the cars were taken away. I would happily recommend TCBG.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fantastic brilliant excellent service ”

★★★★★

written by Murdocksz232 on 29/10/2018

This has been one of the best results in selling my car to this company I got what I asked for and the polite guy that sorted it he was 1st class ... The transaction was so smooth and hassle free ... guy picked me car (he was polite and cool guy) up took it away and with in less than an hour my moneys was in the bank !!! I would recommend this company 110% they was 1st class

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Sale of car”

★★★★★

written by 217Upton on 12/10/2018

Received a very reasonable off for my six year old car. Made the car buying group aware of the minor damage and sent through photos. Pick up of car went off without any problems and I was paid the valuation. Monies in bank within an hour of selling car. Would definitely recommend the car buying group to friends.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Mullrooney on 17th October 2018 Report this content
Is the money paid into your bank before they take the car away?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content richij Written on: 18/10/2018
That's what they promise. And it was my experience. Make sure you have a bank account that accepts "Faster Payments."
Asked by Orpah on 9th February 2016 Report this content
Do they buy cars for scrap?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview