The Ivy Cafe, Richmond -

Click here if this is your business
The Ivy Cafe, Richmond -
50.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for The Ivy Cafe, Richmond -

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Irresponsible, totally unacceptable and objectionabl...”


written by FrancescaSawyer266 on 12/10/2020

Went for a birthday meal in the Ivy Café in Richmond (9-11 Hill St, Richmond TW9 1SX) tonight (11 October 2020). They have a door on the side at the back through which they provide a ramp for disabled people to enter or exit the restaurant. They also have a disabled toilet at the back. However, at our arrival they put 4 of us at a table right in front of the disabled Toilet. It would have been impossible for a disabled person especially in a wheelchair or in a buggy to enter or exit this facility without at least two of us moving and pulling our chairs further away to the side. Imagine, we are in the middle of eating our meal and a disabled person wants to use this facility and worst, when they want to come out. I objected to this arrangement and asked to be moved. I also noticed there was a table set for six people, next to us right in front of the back access door. Once again it would have been impossible for a disabled person in a wheel chair or in a buggy to enter or leave the restaurant through this “disabled access door” without at least 3 guest moving away and pulling their chairs to the side. I find this situation irresponsible and totally unacceptable. I strongly object to thoughtlessness of the mangers and those who operate such an establishment. Their decision is purely based on greed and without care and responsibility. They must be held accountable for such an abhorrent decisions and actions. I raised my concerns with the duty manager. She agreed with me and said that she will report my concerns to her senior manager. I hope she does and they don’t act in such a irresponsible, abhorrent and unacceptable manner. I informed her that I will be posting my concerns on social media and will bring such objectionable actions to other customers’ attentions.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disappointing Afternoon Tea”


written by Shaynap273 on 13/05/2019

On Sunday 12 May, I attended the Ivy Cafe, Richmond with four friends to celebrate a 50th birthday. Two of us had Afternoon Tea, three had the Cream Tea. I found the Afternoon Tea a bit disappointing. The 'sweets' were pretty good but the 'savouries' could definitely have been better. The truffled chicken brioche was delicious; the marinated cucumber and dill finger sandwich was a bit 'pappy' - stodgy and bland; the smoked salmon on the rye bread was a bit dried out in that way it can be when it has been left out, uncovered, for too long. The chocolate and salted caramel mousse was delicious and beautifully presented; the teeny, tiny raspberry cheesecake was delicious but the creme brulee doughnut was flavourless with too little filling. The scones were delicious but with quite a crispy bottom and not being very 'tall' it was tricky to split them to fill with cream and jam without them crumbling all over the place. The amount of cream provided for three scones for the Cream Tea was a bit on the mean side and we were charged for extra cream when it was requested. We ordered two Champagne Afternoon Teas and two friends ordered Prosecco with their Cream Teas. Four glasses of fizz duly arrived and the waiter did not ask who was having Champagne and who was having Prosecco - I think it was all Prosecco. Nice enough, but not as advertised. The staff were friendly and professional; the restaurant itself was comfortable and attractive. So, although it wasn't awful it was really not much better than average on the whole. All a bit disappointing when we had selected that venue for a big treat. My advice would be not to bother with the Afternoon Tea - the Cream Tea is much better value and the scones did at least taste good.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site