DoYouItaly - doyouitaly.com Reviews

DoYouItaly - doyouitaly.com
★★★☆☆
2.9
51.0% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
DoYouItaly - doyouitaly.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for DoYouItaly - doyouitaly.com

Latest Reviews

“Car not available and no refund despite reminders”

★☆☆☆☆

written by antonio.leonforte on 31/05/2024

On 9 April 2024 I booked a car "Ford Focus SW 5 doors or similar" for the period from 18 to 22 May, with pick-up and drop-off at Cagliari airport, booking code DYI-116163826. Arriving on site on the morning of May 18, the delegated operator (Surprice) first offered me an Opel Mokka and then an Opel Puma, both cars with a significantly smaller trunk than the car I had booked (1100 liters versus 1650 litres) and above all much shorter, insufficient for our golf bags. Since there are no other cars available, the Surprice operator issued a statement to me that they do not have any cars with a larger trunk to offer me. After two lost hours (I also had to give up an excursion I had booked) I had to go and look for another car to rent on the spot, losing another hour and obviously spending much more. Not having used the service, I requested a refund which still today, despite two reminders, has not yet arrived. Impossible to contact them by phone, customer service essentially non-existent, to be absolutely avoided.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“worst experience ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by matxallenge on 23/05/2024

We rented a car for 65 euro with a pick up in the airport. the flight got delayed 2 hours, which led to arriving to the airport when the car rental office office was closed. we were stuck there cause our airbnb was an hour away drive. we called before the delayed flight and after, nobody answered. nobody notified us about this, and nobody provided us a solution. how is it possible that a company that rents cars at the airport isn't prepared to deal with delayed flights? this costed us hundreds of euros in a new hotel reservation, taxis and a new car rental (ten times more expensive!!!), because our reservation GOT CANCELLED WITHOUT NOTICE BECAUSE WE WERE LATE. Nowhere in the rental voucher did it say the reservation would be cancelled if we were more than an hour late. How can there be such a bad customer service???? I tried to modify my booking through their web, but it wouldn't let me because it was too close to the pick up time, I called numerous times and nobody answered. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible website ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by eriknoxhta on 16/05/2024

I paid for a car rental for 7 days and to this day I have not received the money or the car.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Left us stranded”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Dorianna on 10/05/2024

The worst possible scenario. We rented a car, had a slight delay and no one was at the desk. We called the number there was written to call, and the phone was ringing on its own on the desk. They left us STRANDED at the airport of Trapani. Booked through doyouitaly and was transferred to ECH- worst thing is that doyouitaly doesn't want to refund us the deposit even though they didn't give us the car!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No credit car fees ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RafalRupniewski on 24/04/2024

There is information „no credit card fees” Information that you need credit card they send after paing with your visa. Insurance is useless. No refund. No car. You can phone to Spain and hear that it is all your problem. Expensive lesson about dealing with big companies.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“No car neither refund”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KASADEI on 11/04/2024

My last experience with doyouitaly was a nightmare, let me explain better... On Sunday 1/21/2024 after checking the rental conditions, I reserved and paid for a car for 3 weeks (from 1/22/2024 to 2/10/2024) for an unexpected trip that I had to take. The collection of the car should have taken place at the GOLDCAR agency at Cagliari airport at 9:00 am and the return in the same place at 12:00 pm after 3 weeks. I showed up at the agency desk punctually but when it came time to collect the car, I presented my driving licence, rental voucher and payment card (a Mastercard Debit) as instructed. To my surprise, the agency employee, seeing my card, told me that she could not accept it and that they would only accept credit cards. I proceeded to show her the conditions which indicated the accepted payment methods which states exactly : “A major credit card (Visa or Mastercard) in the name of the main driver is required in order to collect the car. (Please note that cards without the driver's name on will not be accepted). This company will not accept prepaid, recharge or virtual credit cards. Debit cards (Visa or Mastercard) are accepted. If you use a debit card for the security deposit, the deposit amount will be charged to your card and refunded at the end of the hire. Please note that Diners, American Express, Electron, Virtual, Prepaid, Revolving, Rechargable, PostePay, Paypal or Maestro cards are not accepted.” The employee said that this was incorrect information and reiterated that they (GOLDCAR) do not accept debit cards, and advised me to call the number on the voucher for any clarification, which I did in her presence, after having I explained what happened to the customer service person on the phone, they told me that they would send an email and that I would have to provide the requested information, ensuring that I would receive my refund. To make a long story short, I had to rent the car without a reservation from another agency and unfortunately after a long series of emails in which I provided all the documentation requested and several phone calls, I was denied a refund, the reason being my invalid payment card not a Mastercard Debit but a Maestro according to them. I have the entire history of email communications available. I advise you to be careful with doyouitaly and Goldcar, they have not honored their own conditions nor reimbursed the cost for a service not provided, much less for the damage caused.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Paid for the car and didn’t took the car either refund”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 148Morgan on 09/04/2024

I made the reservation online for a car for 3 days plus the premium insurance for these days. I made the payment 75 euro for a car reservation number PRE-11*** from my debit card at 12:00 am. I waited 1 hr on line to get the keys for the car, i did gave the worker of goldcar my driving licence, id and my bank card. And she said i need a paper for driving licence non eu. I had it in my phone as a document but not in paper form. When i first read the instructions it says : Take your original driving license , identification document dhe bank card. I had these all with me. When I researched, it said that Italy and Albania has made an agreement and albanian license is known and can be used in Italy since 2021. I tried to convince the worker for this and she told she cannot do it without the paper for international driving licence. I told her if I cannott take the service i dont have to pay , i asked to cancel my payment and she she said to talk to the website. Now i have no car , i lost 3 hr in the aeroport and lost 75 euro. Which are non refundable because i lost my time waiting in the line and I could have cancelled before the time of rental. I want an refund for all this confusion and concern. I will contact also the goldcar company and i will make a review and complain about this.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I’ve reserved a car in Italy, I’ve paid on this...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by zbHensley455 on 06/04/2024

I’ve reserved a car in Italy, I’ve paid on this site. When i went to get my car. The company Silicy by car told me that the deposit is 300€ instead of 200€, and i need to pay 177€ instead of 85€ !!! I asked DoYouItaly to give my money back because they are shammers, and no one has replied to my ticket!!! Be aware. My reservation number is DYI-115102180 I’m going today to Italian police.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Industrial Equipment Supplier in Bengaluru”

★★★★★

written by NayagiIndustries98 on 21/03/2024

It is your global partner for supplying quality industrial products and cutting-edge technology solutions. Nexen, nexen group, valves, clutches, spring engaged servo motor flange, foot mounted brakes, proportion air, nexen group, strahman, bi torq. It supplies electromagnetic brakes, servo motors, pneumatic brakes and clutches that are recognized to India safety requirements. Contact us today!

Was this review helpful? 0 2

“Good and effieicent service”

★★★★☆

written by Seamuse306 on 25/02/2024

I'm a returning customer, and they find the best prices with an easy to use and pretty quick site, I'll continue using them in the future

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Have full coverage and they wont respond to my claim”

★☆☆☆☆

written by SantinoMcManus297 on 29/12/2023

I WANT MY MONEY BACK FOR A CAR I RENTED AND AM TRYING TO SUBMIT A CLAIM FOR. THIS WAS IN OCTOBER. I HAVE SENT YOU 1000 MESSAGES TO ASSIST AS THE POLICY NUMBER I HAVE IS NOT SHOWING UP ON THE PLATINUM WEBSITE AND SO CANNOT SUBMIT ANYTHING. PLEASE HAVE THE BUSINESS ETIQUETTE TO HELP ME RESOLVE THIS AND FORWARD AN EMAIL TO MY MANY EMAILS TO YOU FROM AN ADRESS I CAN ACTUALLY REACH SOMEONE BACK AT. I WILL FLOOD THE INTERNET WITH REVIEWS OF YOUR COMPANY IF I DO NOT HEAR BACLK. IT HAS BEEN 2 MONTHS I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET IN TOUCH WITH SOMEONE.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Horrible experience”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ErinBraz on 20/12/2023

Got to Milan after a LONG trip. One of our flights was delayed. Still got in at about 6pm local time and they were CLOSED! We called the number numerous times and finally had a shuttle come get us. Once we arrived the FOUR WHEELS where they brokered from was closed and no one was there. Thank GOD there was another company that was about to close and helped us out. With the amount of people/luggage we had we ended up having to rent two cars. Once back in the US I called to tell them and try to get a refund of the deposit and they asked for phone records. Once supplied they came back and said we were late!!! And there would be no refund. I am sorry. Flights are late all the time and it was only an hour and some off. A car business closing at 6pm is ridiculous and DO YOU ITALY thinks it is OK to do business like this. So unacceptable. Would NEVER recommend or use this company again.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Awful company. Do not use!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Pchampion on 18/12/2023

I booked a car to pick up in Venice. Flight was an hour delayed getting in (I messaged the actual car hire co. That we would be late). Then had another delay collecting luggage. When we tried to call Target for the transfer there was no answer as they were already closed. Had to pay 50€ for a cab to hotel and then again back to the airport in the morning to collect the car. Target told me that as I was more than an hour late to pick up the car the reservation had been cancelled and if I wanted a car I would have to pay them directly for a new reservation. I paid doyouItaly €330 and the price I had to pay Target for the same class vehicle was €480. I emailed Doyouitaly for a refund on the original booking and all they said I should contact the airline?! Target told me that Doyouitaly had paid them no money for the reservation so they kept all my money for nothing. This must happen to so many people and I believe must be their business model (offer low, possibly money losing car hire prices, knowing that they will make money on poor people who try and collect their cars late through no fault of their own. Terrible customer care.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fantastic”

★★★★★

written by FCamilleri on 16/11/2023

I've rented an automatic car for the 1st November and got what I've booked and to top it up got a 4x4 hybrid from Drivalia and price was great compared to others. Great experience and will recommend totally.

Was this review helpful? 0 2

“Customers services are a waste of time”

★☆☆☆☆

written by GrasMurray on 10/11/2023

Don't use. Have been awaiting a refund since June. The customer services at doyouitaly/spain are a complete waste of time. They have agreed to give me a refund but keep saying the bank details not in the format they want. They have said they need the bank account details sent from the bank and not from me. Guess they know that the bank won't do this. Say clear, most of the reviews are for a great experience booking the car.

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Horrible company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by wkSilva206 on 08/11/2023

I booked a car at doyouItaly (Suprice car rental) paid by card with full insurance. After paying, received a letter that my full insurance from you isn't correct, I have to buy another full insurance. I rejected this. Arrived at Naples airport at night with kids, they drove some km from airport to pick up car. And finally said, that they don't give me a car because I don't have a credit card. With debit card I have to pay extra 113euros. I agreed that deposit is bigger with debit card (900 eur), but pay extra for rent?? I didn't want to take car from them. After all at midnight, they left me with kids outside, didn't bring to airport. Taxi to my location at night cost me 80 euros!! I want to return what I paid for car rent, because I didn't get a car.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“DO NOT USE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by IanMorrison14 on 26/10/2023

This is a shame of a company THE ONLY GOOD REVIEWS you will read are about the booking yes lovely Just wait when in a rush at The Airport NO CAR WAITING NO OFFICE NO ANSWER TO THE TELEPHONE STAY VERY CLEAR

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Sham merchants , avoid at all costs !”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Dietcokeman on 25/10/2023

Quoted an all-inclusive price for 4 days rental from Avis at Naples airport. In fact all you get is a “voucher” from DoYou for the price they quote, and Avis can charge you what they like , on top. In this case a 45 euro “location surcharge” for a car collected and returned to the airport . Why don’t DoYou actually quote the actual price, including the surcharges ? It’s a sham. They bury these charges in the tiny small print. Don’t bother using them, - just go direct to the rental companies for a quote !

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“unacceptable cutter service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by karinakulawik on 19/10/2023

Please be aware that this company is just a broker and if anything goes wrong, they will refuse to deal with it! For the past 2 months we have tried to recover our money for a car we did not get and after numerous emails and telephone calls we have no option but to give up. Not good at all!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Just a shame!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by NicoLuc on 13/10/2023

Read the story till the end: - End of July I book a car for 10 days from August 20 via DoyouItaly with pick up in Livorno. When booking, the website clearly states that cancellation can be done with full reimbursement up to 48 hours before departure. - Two weeks later, I find a much better deal and want to cancel the booking. When willing to it I see that the full rental amount will not be reimbursed as the cancellation could only take place within 10 days after initial booking. They refer to the "specific" conditions of the booking which could have been accessed through a button on the lower left side of the offer. - I then write to the helpdesk stating (with copy of screens) that their website is providing false information and is explicitely confusing the client. And I thus ask a cancellation with a full refund. - After more than 2 weeks (just a few days before the pick-up date) I finally receive two messages from two different people. No one answers on the question of false information. The first one asks me to confirm the cancellation ( without reimbursemnt) of the booking. The second one announces that they have cancelled my booking and due to the specific conditions, no refund will take place! - I of course wrote back that I have never giver my authorisatioon for a cancellation without refund and ask them thus at the very least to reactivate my reservation. As I obtain no real answer, I finally called them and after several calls,t hey said they would ask for the reactivation. As times passed by, I phoned again and again. The answer "we will inform you asap". - But on the "pick-up" day there was just NO NEWS and I had no other choice but to make a new booking -with a different company of course. This company is clearly associated with illegal malpractice and IS NOT ACCOUNTABLE for anything. I am deeply disgusted. And lost more than 200 €.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by gfrendo on 24th May 2016 Report this content
I have booked a car in Catania airport on 3/9/2016 to 9/9/2016 but my departure flight was changed by the airline to 6/9/2016. How can I modify the booking? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview