Checkatrade Reviews - www.checkatrade.com

★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
67% of users recommend this

Description (provided by business)

Checkatrade is an online directory of vetted and recommended tradespeople. The directory provides a link to services such as Handyman, Locksmith, Boiler Repair and Tiler to name just a few.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Checkatrade - www.checkatrade.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Checkatrade - www.checkatrade.com

Checkatrade - www.checkatrade.com

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Joinery”

Written on: 21/09/2022 by Price36 (1 review written)

Very reliable, very efficient and clean work. I would recommend to family and friends

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Driveway”

Written on: 19/08/2022 by jeffcharlton (1 review written)

I called Barclays Driveways Ltd and they were on site providing a quotation within two hours. I previously have had difficulty getting anyone to quote because it was only 2 sq meters of blockwork paving that had sunk. I cant believe they could do this job for only £250 but after agreeing the job that morning they had completed by 5pm.I was so pleased I asked them to provide a cost to remove my privet hedge some 30 feet long after beetles had destroyed it. Same again, arrived next morning, not only removed the whole privet but roots too and left raked over and even. This reminds me of what service used to be like, helpful, prompt competent and a credit to Checkatrade.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely disgraceful company ”

Written on: 05/07/2022 by Rodgerslq154 (1 review written)

Avoid this company at all costs published a really bad review even after being told I hadn’t worked for this lady even sent me an email to say it shouldn’t have been published customer service is non existent nobody returned any calls to assure me it wouldn’t happen again so I cancelled my direct debit thinking I was out of any contract not realising it was rolling contract then received solicitors letter for approximately £1400 can not wait to leave them and have advised friends who are members to get away from them disgraceful company if you read small print on contract they can do anything they like avoid at all costs

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely awful company ”

Written on: 04/07/2022

This company is nothing but blood sucking with awful customer service

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Job well done”

Written on: 28/06/2022 by SEC1964 (1 review written)

Phoned for a plumber was told that someone could come the next day. The plumber arrived before the expected time. Explained what the problem was with the shower control and was told that it can be fixed strait away. Was told what was wanted a new shower control and what was to be done including how much it would cost. Job was completed without any trouble, he then explained how the control worked. Very understanding and clean worker, would certainly recommend the firm to anyone and would use again. Nothing negative about the work carried out. 5/5

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“I am new in the Trade”

Written on: 28/06/2022 by SaifulAmin (1 review written)

I'm new in the trade. They offered me one month free trial and if I like it then I can continue. However, they actually signed me up for 12 months contract for around £58 each month and auto-renewal after 12 months. This is the second month they have taken my money and I have not used any of their services. If you are new in the industry please think twice before you talk to their sales department.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“avoid them at all cost ”

Written on: 04/06/2022 by JaggerAllison105 (1 review written)

signed up for a trial after the trial expired they took first payment the leads was absolute rubbish. the customers were just people that were tracked using cookies and they never responded so I cancelled the direct debit as it was a new company not making any monies yet and I explained to them that it wasn't sustainable paying them without leads to keep the company going. they threatening me with solicitors letters. this is a new company with no income and no assets good luck collecting

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Digraceful company, traders beware”

Written on: 27/05/2022 by HopperK (1 review written)

They got us into a year's membership by a cold call with false information, then provided no feasible leads, outside of search area. Wanted to leave when I found out it was impossible over a 6 weeks period of constant complaint calls and even listening back the salescall recordings, which were clearly misleading. They dismissed every valid reason we have for termination of membership and we are unable to pay ourselves out of this. They now expect us to call the next ten montha every month and dumb down the membership to the basic £12 for which you get nothing anyway, so not sure what we have to pay for. If we forget by the 7th of each month they will auto charge £146 a month. They also threatened with "accruing debt" whilst I had the complaint procedure in progress and I cancelled the direct debit and was chased by their finance department as well as other departments ofte several times a day which I considered harrassment. I asked for the yearly auto renewal to be removed, which they also refused. It's a dishonourable business that lures trades in, rips them off and forcefully keeps them on their directore on the off chance that they forget and they can just charge for no service. Absolutely disgusting company and would never recommend to anyone. Stay away!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Checkatrade no longer supports local businesses ”

Written on: 25/05/2022 by Felicity210 (1 review written)

They do not support local business paying to be under their wings. The company has changed and does not not stand for what it did. I had an wrong review published against my company and they have no interest of finding out the truth or getting to the bottom of the issue.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don’t waste your money ”

Written on: 27/04/2022 by Reidew406 (1 review written)

Been with checkatrade around 10 years now we are a successful company in our field trading for over 30 years but recently over the past serveral months. We’ve been getting bad feedback negative reviews , as every call we receive is logged on our database we know the names are feed back are fake we’ve presented this to checkatrade but the still publish the reviews Although we have over 400 good reviews I’m pulling out of this unhelpful very poor organisation and not giving them another penny having spent thousands with them over the years

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Trades beware ”

Written on: 18/03/2022 by KieraFitzsimmons86 (1 review written)

Trades people beware. When signing up for Checkatrade pay close attention to their dubious auto-renewal contract. While regulations exist that protect consumers from this type of contract, businesses appear to be fair game. I realised I had missed the Checkatrade renewal deadline by 9-days. I was shocked to find myself tied in for 12-months. There is no cooling off period, no option to cancel, no option to switch off auto renewal. Checkatrade will not even accept 11 months notice to cancel at the end of the current term. Exactly the sort of shady practices consumers use vetting sites to avoid.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 10 0
★★☆☆☆

“Disgraceful service to members”

Written on: 01/03/2022 by STHekectricalengineers (1 review written)

After being a member for 2 years with excellent reviews I was thinking of leaving due to lack of leads and not being value for money. I discovered via a customer who tried to contact me via my checkatrade page for a quote, they were contacted by several other companies offering thier services , the customer only messaged my page, so Checkatrade are sharing your leads with other companies. I was then left a very bad review by a customer, the only reason was because I chased for payment after they failed to pay. There was no support from Checkatrade, no investigation to substantiate the customer claims, the customer was allowed to get away, and Checkatrade published the review. Disgraceful service to paying members, avoid at all costs

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Consumer BEWARE, CheckATrade is NOT a guarantee of ”

Written on: 06/02/2022

I used CheckATrade to find tradesmen for a renovation. I assumed membership with them was a guarantee of high quality work and competence. Sadly, two of their members' work on my property requires correction. One of them is in breach of contract as the renovation should've been completed to a high standard by 30/10/21 and isn't, and he owes me over £10000. They awarded membership to the trader who owes me over £10000 even though they knew from Company's House that he owed tax. Furthermore, they continued his membership AFTER a previous consumer left a bad review. When I questioned this, they advised that his membership was valid as he was paying off the tax owed and had refunded the previous consumer's money. I was fobbed off with advice to take him on a lengthy ADR process or a costly lawsuit. They claimed it is to MY advantage if he doesn't refund me (?!) because his membership will be revoked. After having been to hell and back with him in the past three months (throughout which CheckATrade were copied into the correspondance), I emailed a final resolution on 30/01/22, requesting him to refund £9300 so that competent tradesmen could correct the work. I also requested CheckATrade to refund £1000 as their website claims they are 'so confident in the quality' of their members' work that they guarantee it for a year or refund up to £1000. This was in exchange for replacing the negative review with a factual but positive one. CheckATrade claimed they would contact me but haven't. While collecting information from the member's profile in preparation for a formal procedure, I found they'd used me to revoke his membership to their own advantage, leaving me out of pocket. I later found out that he has started the procedure to dissolve his company, which means I won't get my money back. I shouldn't have to be sacrificed in this way. I hold CheckATrade fully liable and will be taking my complaint against them to a higher authority.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No gains in open an account here!”

Written on: 24/01/2022 by Albu69 (1 review written)

Hi all Please Don't let yourself fooled!! I have open a new business and I was looking to boost it a bit. I looked all over the internet and Checkatrade seemed to be a good choice as they were giving 3 months free of charge on their subscription What they didn't told me is that after those 3 months, time in which i had no clients, no phone calls thru their website, No gains wathsoever,they said I will get another free month,just to see how it goes. After the 4th month ,I wanted to cancel the subscription worth £80/month,huge money for a subscription, they said that after the 3rd month I actually entered in a year contract and that If I wanna cancel I have to pay the full year.!! Unprofessional I would advise anyone that is looking to put their business online to chose anything Else but Checkatrade.. Lesson learned the hard way..

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of money”

Written on: 20/12/2021 by WhiteWillowLandscaping (1 review written)

Waste of time and money. Paying a Pro membership for 3 months in two areas of trade to get 2 leads. When I phoned and voiced my concerns, all I got is confusion their end as my profile fits all the requirements needed. Told to give them the benefit of the doubt as they would give me a discount and try to sort things out there end. A month later nothing had changed and when I requested to pay the minimum tie in all I got was fobbed off to every department who couldn't deal with it. I also got told I needed 2 reviews a month to see reward on the system and a month later it was 3 needed. if you work on a job that takes a month or longer to finish, how is this practical. Loads of success from MyBuilder. Avoid!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“8902093 Excellant work,reliable polite”

Written on: 04/11/2021 by 424Garrison (1 review written)

The team are polite and explan what will be done during the visit. Work quitely and neatly and are a pleasure to have on the property. Leave the area clean and tidy, Explain what they plan to do their next visit and give an estimateof the likely cost.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“exterior house painting”

Written on: 22/10/2021 by hankiebabe (1 review written)

Workmen very good and polite. Did a very good job. Althouth the length of time taken to complete took almost seven weeks.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of money”

Written on: 22/09/2021 by Warrenui113 (1 review written)

Don’t sign up they are only interested in your money and happy to publish negative reviews from customers who you have never worked for

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don’t sign up!”

Written on: 10/09/2021 by WarrenWalsh265 (1 review written)

Having took the jump and becoming self employed in January 2021, I signed up for Checkatrade which had a 3 month trial period. Within this period, no calls came through and on investigation, it was discovered that when a customer clicked on my number on the website, it wasn’t being linked to my phone and hence no calls received. Checkatrade apologised and despite potentially losing £1000’s worth of work in that 3 months, they could only offer me another 3 months free trial and a chance to go in their physical directory (which turned out to be a complete waste of time). Once the glitch has been fixed, I began receiving calls which was great. Unknowingly however, this time it was the direct debit that weren’t working. Having gone unnoticed for 4 months, I received a call from checkatrade demanding I pay the £650 worth of unpaid invoices, and despite my challenge that this is the second time in only 6 months the platform has fooled me around, they were adamant that every single Penny had to be paid. This left a bitter taste in my mouth and so, I decided to leave the platform and the £650 I had to pay has lead me to once again return to full time employment (as I almost had to do within the first 3 months of being self employed - all because of their glitches and lack of attention). If I do decide to give self employed another crack, I will certainly not be signing up for checkatrade and will look at other directories who are a bit more personable to small, new business.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★★★

“Lock rite Locksmiths Brighton”

Written on: 28/08/2021 by HOLLYIVY790 (1 review written)

I found the company very helpful. He was courteous, efficient and on time. His workmanship was first class. I would not hesitate to recommend him. He cleaned after himself and left the site clean and tidy.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview