PennyTalk Phone Card www.pennytalk.com Reviews

Click here if this is your business
PennyTalk Phone Card www.pennytalk.com
★★☆☆☆
1.6
21.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
PennyTalk Phone Card www.pennytalk.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for PennyTalk Phone Card www.pennytalk.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Penny Talk Calling Card: A Disappointing Experience”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Zenobia03 on 29/04/2024

I’ve been attempting to use the PennyTalk calling card for calls to the UK for over a month, but to no avail. Despite numerous calls to customer service, each ticket opened was supposedly resolved, yet the card remained non-functional. Requests to speak with a supervisor resulted in dropped calls and no callbacks. The inconsistency in information provided by their support team—claiming the number is disconnected when others have successfully connected, or stating the number is incorrect despite it being dialed accurately by family members—has been particularly troubling. It’s disheartening when a company refuses to issue a refund for a service that fails to deliver. This experience has left me with the impression that PennyTalk is not a reliable service and may not be operating with the best interests of its customers in mind. I advise against purchasing their calling cards.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“If I could, I would give ZERO STAR. I made several...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RaelynnGunn on 22/09/2022

If I could, I would give ZERO STAR. I made several international call to Hong Kong. Though it was connected to call recording for couple minutes and then I hung up, I was charged US$1 per call and the time left was gone in 100 minutes after each call. How did they keep track of time? It's ridiculous. Greedy to take money out of my account. THIS IS REAL STORY.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“For me it's OK”

★★★★☆

written by Deanlv450 on 28/09/2021

While most people I know use messangers and Whatsapp for communicating. My mother is not into technology and uses a small phone. So penny talk is the answer. When I'm about to run out of funds it automatically reloads $10. It's OK if you need it. Better than buying one time call cards.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“HORRIBLE!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Darrenz318 on 23/06/2021

I was just talked into using Pennytalk service. What a mistake!! I registered and put my credit card information in, my account showed the balance. My husband and I spoke for 1 evening then the next day my account had $1.04. My husband then called and told me it our account was disabled. He called and I called, NOTHING! THEY HAD ME ON HOLD 2 TIMES, the first for 30min because the woman couldn't give me any answers so I asked to speak with a supervisor. She put me on hold and didn't come back. I hung up and called back, same woman. I asked her again to speak to her supervisor, another 30min and she didn't come back. I called again and I finally got the supervisor and OMG! She was just as bad as her staff! No answer for anything, told me my account was disabled by billing and they couldn't see anything. I asked if I could have the number for billing, she said no! I'm mad I was talked into using Pennytalk!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“So many bogus reviews!”

★★★★★

written by DanielJohnBittle on 13/12/2018

I have used PennyTalk for more than 10 years and never had any troubles, so I must believe that most of these negative reviews are bogus and simply not real. I call several times a year from Santa Cruz to England with lengthy calls that never cost me more than a dollar or two. This is so far below what the conventional phone companies charge that it makes them look like highway robbery and I believe this is the reality. So in retaliation the conventional companies must hire hundreds of trolls to make up shocking stories about imaginary troubles. Surely if any of that was real I would have experienced some of it in a period of 10 years or more? Anyway, I am very grateful And can recommend PennyTalk as an amazing company; I don’t know how they do it, But I tell my friends this is an unbelievable deal. And they should ignore the bad reviews.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“No Connection At This Time”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jimenez158 on 26/03/2018

Calls to England did not go through using PennyTalk. Without using this PennyTalk I had no problem. The customer service could not ptovide an explanation. So . . ., what is Pennytalk good for ?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Hidden Fees Terrible Connection”

★☆☆☆☆

written by shoshanathe1 on 21/10/2017

I bought their cards not being aware that they charge 99 cents every month for just holding the card. My intention was to use the card in order to call my father abroad every two weeks. With the monthly charge, it does not worth the fee. On the top of it- several times the connection was bad, and I needed to call again. I use a great new i-phone and normally can hear be heard very well, but with the PennyTalk card many times the connection was interrupted. Just shop for another way to call your loved ones. This one is a lemon.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“used to be great”

★★☆☆☆

written by wwKehoe241 on 21/02/2017

I have been with PennyTalk for many years. Service used to be very good. After a few years it became cumbersome to make overseas calls. I had to dial 3 to 4 times before connection to Germany was made. That did not bother me too much. When they stopped AutoRecharge for my account I had to call customer service. Extremely time consuming. I was reassured that AutoRecharge was in place again and that I could make phone calls within 2 to 24 hours. Did NOT happen. When I called them again I was told it would take 2 to 48 hrs. I waited. Still couldn't make calls, even after 2 days had passed since my last conversation with customer rep. then I signed up online.After filling out all required fields on application (name, address, credit card # ) I was prompted to re enter all info again and AGAIN, resulting in $ 75 charge, i.e. 3 times the amount I wanted to begin with. That would not have bothered me too much . However, after making ONE call using my credit , my account was disabled. I called customer service again and was reassured that after 2 to 24 hrs my account would be reactivated. NO DICE. I am still waiting. And btw: My credit is excellent and have never had any problems with paying any bills online.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“plastic card works well to clean frost from windows”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 178Mason on 08/11/2016

I bought the PennyTalk card at a CVS when I was on business in Chicago. I needed to do an interview on a radio station using a landline from my hotel room. I entered the account info and pin was rejected. I tried multiple times and could not get the card to work. I called in on my cell phone and that was awful, which is why the radio station wanted a land line. If your call is important, don't waste your money on PennyTalk

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Thievery”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mRichard on 18/03/2016

They took the money and never connected me. I tried to contact them and they promised to get back to me and never did.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Dissatisfied after being a customer for so long ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Izabelle266 on 15/03/2016

Recharging my acct... Why oh why is it asking me for a pin I've never created! Pin! What pin????!?! Calling customer service is terrible; the wait is super long and they didn't even help me! They said they would email me a pin but never did. I repeated my email like 5 times! Every time I need to recharge my acct it's the same thing. I finally decided to move on to a different provider. Too bad they lost another customer. I was with them over 8 yrs!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I have been a customer with freaken Penny Talk for...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/08/2015

I have been a customer with freaken Penny Talk for over 8 years. Always use my card to recharge my account. I can buy at least $100 worth of penny talk a week. Recharged my account for $50 and after a couple of Minutes the call ended as usual. Tried again to make a call get a message that my account was in use when I still had $42+ left on my account. The next day I tried to make a call and get a message that my account had a $0 balance. Called customer service and they could not help. This company suck and has a really poor customer service. I even think that the people with the stupid name of their company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Awful costumer service, ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 17/08/2015

Let me start with their costumer service is awful. I was charged twice, and as I called to find out why did they charge me twice , I've got disconnected . Then second time, I asked to be helped by a manager after going no where for over 20 minutes, I was transferred to the same guy that disconected me on the first place. As I looked back to my phone history I only see 2 phone international calls made from my phone via penny talk : one for 1 min, the other one for 7 min. I was charged for talking for 2 hours and is very hard for me to comprehend how can you talk for 2 hours International . I've been using penny talk for a very long time , but this time they are done with me. If they don't won't to work with me, then I don't want to be Using their company anymore. I don't recommend this to anyone

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Card always say 'cannot connect at this time'”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Chavez475 on 20/06/2014

This card simply doesn't work. I've made several calls to an ineffective customer service. Don't waste your money. I only put one star because it was required. Otherwise I would have given it zero stars.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“The call is not connected, still be charged”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DiegoParrish240 on 23/04/2014

Terrible phone connection, not recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“service rip off”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 01/03/2014

in the beginning work fine but I try to call Mexico and even without calling they can decrease my balance it went from $12 to $7 just by dialing without even having the call placed I'll never recharged my account ever this is total a rip off. stay away from penny talk (penny rip off)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“It isn'tworking”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 07/02/2014

I bought a card for $10.00 it said I had over 900 minutes if I called the UK I dial in all the numbers and they say I only have 24 minutes, then they can't put the call through. I tired several times. Then I tried to call customer service, and was left on hold for so long I went to a friends and used her land line phone. They do not have a sight where I can email them. ]Useless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Pennytalk, Terrible service and poor customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 01/02/2014

I have been trying to make a call for 6 days and every time I dial, I enter my account, pin, the number I'm calling (which I call often), and then there is just static or silence and the call doesn't go through. However, I still get charged for the call (58 cents). I already called twice this week. Today I talked to an advisor. I was told that because I called twice this was now "special" and a manager would call me in 48 hrs. I requested to talk to a manager now or for my account to be closed and my balance refunded. I still cannot get an answer to the problem and I still cannot make a call. I'm sick and tired of dealing with this. Now after being on hold for several minutes, there still no manager and the advisor is telling me he closed my account and I will receive my refund in to 10 business days. I'm reporting Penny Talk to the Better Business Bureau.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“IDT Cons Charged for Non connected calls”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 15/11/2013

Charges for no contacts . $1.60 a try. Horrible practice to cost $10.00 for 1 call and 3 no pick ups.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“BAD BAD BAD , MANY TIMES BAD”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Patunga on 12/10/2013

I have to try several times, and I am tired of the silly " I AM SORRY WE CAN NOT CONNECT YOU THIS TIME". Very frustrating !!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by JanSittel on 7th August 2023 Report this content
Where can I buy Pennytalk in Aiken, SC?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Shrekdaddy63 on 25th August 2018 Report this content
where can I buy Penny Talk phone Cards at?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by trippinthrutime on 27th August 2016 Report this content
How can I find a store here in Janesville, Wisconsin that sells the Penny Talk International calling card?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by ivitin on 5th August 2015 Report this content
Why does this company advertise rates that are not true?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview