The Famous Grouse Reviews

Click here if this is your business
The Famous Grouse
★★★☆☆
3.4
64.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Famous Grouse - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Famous Grouse

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Famous Food”

★★★★★

written by Tayloryl102 on 10/08/2016

We had a delicious lunch today, Sun 7.8.16 at The Famous Grouse Restaurant. The four in our party were well pleased with everything - beautiful surroundings and a warm fire in the lounge, variety of starters, tender juicy meats, good selection of vegetables & desserts. Staff were welcoming, efficient and gave great service. Excellent value. We will be back. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“terrible smell but tastes decent”

★★★★☆

written by Tristand159 on 01/10/2015

i don't drink scotch that often and normally when I do its red label. decided to try this today and I gotta say I hate the smell but when I mixed it with RC it was fantastic. you just gotta mix it and it goes down perfectly. im happily satisfied and very warm in the cheeks and my taste buds aren't angry with me but my nose still is hahaha.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A well balanced Whisky”

★★★☆☆

written by on 17/02/2013

Despite the poor nose qualities, i have to say that it's a pretty enjoayable whisky. I think that there is trully an interesting taste, especially with a tiny bit of water and it worths the price

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Not the absolute worst "economy", bottom-shelf blend...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 13/05/2011

Not the absolute worst "economy", bottom-shelf blend (solid compared to the sordid likes of Clan Magregor and J@B), but not great value-for-money here. Cheap malt on the nose, with a taste that begins fairly sweet and malty, and only halfway succesfully dries the palate with a slightly peppery finish with a modest puff of sherry smoke. I wouldn't turn a free dram down in disgust, but there's better in the price range, and even for a bit cheaper, such as Teacher's Highland Cream, Black Bottle, and Islay Mist 8.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No nose, terrible bite, lacking that classic Scotch...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 09/12/2010

No nose, terrible bite, lacking that classic Scotch taste. It seems to have a kind of skunky, petrol taste and after-taste to it. I kept trying it to find some redeeming quality and could not find any. I found it to be truely horrid - almost laughable. Dewars White label and J & B seem like fine single malts (which they are not) in compare.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 15/06/2011

I would think that a seasoned Scotch drinker of your kind would know enough not to buy such a "truely horrible product" ! It suits my taste just fine , although I am not an experienced Scotch connoisseur, I don't believe it deserves such a terrible review.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 08/09/2011

Read and heed this review. I can drink and enjoy a wide variety of scotch brands, but Famous Grouse has an after tast that is truly OFFENSIVE, something akin to rotting fish. In my house, nothing ever goes to waste, but I plan to pour the remainder of tonight's brand new bottle down the drain.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I played the Turnberry Golf (Alisa) course and found...”

★★★☆☆

written by jbsmoky on 31/03/2010

I played the Turnberry Golf (Alisa) course and found that Famous Grouse was the only scotch whisky sold at the half-way house. I can't really evaluate its quality, but it sure did a great job of warming me up to face the back nine on that cold, windy, rainy September day.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Twenty plus years scotch drinker. I drink scotch on...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 10/02/2010

Twenty plus years scotch drinker. I drink scotch on the rocks. I usually regurally drink Regal, Pinch or Red Label depending on whats on sale. I enjoy single malts and will spring for a liter when the sales are right. This scotch is drinkable, but it takes half a glass to adjust to it. It has an after taste that other cheap scotch's seem to be better at disguising. It's like stale wine really. It has a lighter bite on taste then other cheap scotches, so if you don't like a bite and don't mind the after taste, then it may be your fav. I couldn't find mini's to try.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Cut with water the harsh smell and taste dissappears....”

★★★★☆

written by Jmccull on 09/01/2009

Cut with water the harsh smell and taste dissappears. Overall a good whisky, but for the money I'd go for the Speyburn single malt, which is smokey, honey sweet, and smooth compared to the famous grouse, and only a few dollars more in most places.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have drank scotch for many years but just tasted...”

★★★★★

written by on 29/03/2008

I have drank scotch for many years but just tasted Famous Grouse 6 months ago and will never go back to the others. It is truly terrific.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A fantastic quality blended whisky, containing a blend...”

★★★★★

written by gregormilligan on 15/02/2008

A fantastic quality blended whisky, containing a blend of some fine malts including Highland Park. Well-rounded flavour, good on the nose and reasonably priced.

Perhaps the second-finest blended Scotch behind the world-renowned Johnnie Walker.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Famous Grouse Blended Whiskey: Here we are, famous...”

★★★★☆

written by cypressbob on 30/12/2004

The Famous Grouse Blended Whiskey: Here we are, famous grouse, easy as heck to comeby here, but a fine scotch blended whiskey none the less. The nose is quite fierce, rough sugary sweetness, some hints of honey, clovey alcohol on the nose also. Taste is sweet and spicy, hints of eastern spices, and the usual christmas cloves and the like, strong ethanolic aftertaste

Drinkable, yes, too sweet? perhaps, but all round a very good blend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jmccull's Response to cypressbob's Review

Written on: 09/01/2009

I found this review helpful because...He obviously smelled and tasted the whisky, rather than just drinking it. This is the only fair review of the bunch, a good blend yes, but with obvious flaws.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview