The Wedding Shop, Colchester Reviews

★★★★★
4.5 / 5
88% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Wedding Shop, Colchester - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Wedding Shop, Colchester

The Wedding Shop, Colchester
The Wedding Shop, Colchester

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Mother of the Bride”

written by MrsAnnie28 on 15/01/2023

What a fantastic experience. I am size 18/20 and had read that some of the designers such as John Charles and Veni Infantino can come up small so I was nervous that they may not have many dresses in my size. I was so wrong. The consultant initially brought me six different dresses, made me feel incredibly comfortable and helped me in and out of the dresses. Nothing was too much trouble. The consultant encouraged me to try fitted as well as A line dresses and brought so many designs and colours. I narrowed it down to two. She encouraged me to take a break made me a cup of tea and then we tried those two on again to make up my mind. I felt beautiful and confident in the dress I bought. I would encourage any one who is anxious about what to wear to make an appointment. Their size range is much wider than the shops in London and service is brilliant. All the other assistants in the shop were so helpful too.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of money”

written by on 06/08/2021

I got my wedding photos back and just sobbed. The shop were meant to adjust my straps but in all my ceremony pics they have fallen down and look awful. I hate my wedding photos because the dress fittings failed. There is also bunching in where the shop said they’d take the dress in. The dress looks ill fitting. I spent so much on the dress and spent so much extra on adjustments but I wish I’d gone elsewhere now as I spent most of my wedding day pulling my straps up. There was also black threads left on the dress and even a hole! What a waste of money. I cried at the photos. We have our reception separately because of covid and I now feel I can’t wear this dress again but have zero budget for another. I don’t feel beautiful in it. So upset.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★★★

“Mother of the bride outfit”

written by Charlotte09 on 06/07/2021

I contacted the Wedding Shop and spoke to a lady about a Mother of the Bride outfit I'd seen on their website and she gave guidance and advice that led me to purchase it. The outfit was neatly and securely packed and arrived two days later. I am thrilled to bits and would recommend this lovely shop to friends.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★★★

“Mother of the Bride outfit”

written by Alicia12 on 10/05/2021

Went yesterday for my outfit and the lady who helped me was so obliging and went above and beyond to help me find the right outfit. Nothing was too much trouble. Tried on various styles until I was totally happy and found the perfect hat to go with it. Went with my two daughters and we all had a lovely experience. We had an hours journey but totally worth it. Would highly recommend.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Mother of the Bride shopping”

written by AnneAitken16 on 25/03/2020

Who would have thought the search for the all important outfit could be such a positive experience and good fun too! From the moment my daughter and I entered the shop last Friday we felt welcomed and the person we saw (wish I could name her) was friendly and was certainly experienced. She knew what style suited me, was patient with my dithering and kept telling me to take my time. I came away with the perfect outfit. My daughter and I wondered, shall we travel from Ware, is it going to be a wasted journey? It was certainly worth it and I would recommend to anyone, near and far. I came away really happy and relieved.....great visit and outcome. My daughter has written another review on Facebook. Please read as well from the daughter's point of view.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I dont like outfit shopping but these ladies make it...”

written by CAOwens on 28/02/2020

All staff in the wedding shop are completely honest with their opinions ...you won’t walk out with something that clearly doesn’t suit ! they sussed out style and colours that suit me as soon I walked through the door ... no pushy sales people ,just very knowledgeable, professional and delightful ladies who know their clients requirements and deal with your needs in an easy and gentle manner ... I absolutely hate clothes shopping but my experience and purchase was a delight ... the shop is light and airy so easy to see colours in their natural light .. the shop very easy to access and have good size changing rooms which do make a big difference ..thank you ladies

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I'm in love”

written by CGlen92 on 01/06/2019

Visited this shop twice. First visit and I had a fabulous time trying on wedding dresses of all shapes and sizes. Narrowed my choices down to four and came back again a few months later with the Mums in tow. Second visit was with another lady who was absolutely amazing. I had emailed previously about a dress I'd seen on Instagram and she kindly found it for me and added it to my shortlist. This dress ended up being 'the one.' Despite some of my entourage not fully agreeing with my choice she was so encouraging and supportive. She could tell that this was the dress I had fallen for. If it wasn't for her I may have continued searching for a dress I was never going to find. I cried the final time I put it on and my family could tell I was smitten. We cracked open the bubbly and now I can't wait to go back for my fitting when my dress arrives! I highly recommend this store. The staff are kind, thoughtful and so educated on their stock. I wish I could try on dresses here everyday!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Be very careful and check everything before agreeing...”

written by Fernandez291 on 22/03/2019

I bought my wedding dress here from this shop when I married in 1985 and therefore returned there to shop for my daughters wedding. She didn’t find anything she liked, for which I am now very grateful but we did purchase her bridesmaids dresses and an outfit for me. When we arrived at the shop for an appointment previously made with the 4 bridesmaids, they had booked the date incorrectly and therefore were not ready for us. We were ushered to a small changing room away from where the bridesmaids dresses were and had to ask to be taken to the room with the dresses. This they reluctantly did. We ordered the dresses and were given a delivery date and were called when they were in. Having organised 4 bridesmaids to be in the same place at the same time, we arrived at the shop to find 3 of the 4 dresses were wrong. When we pointed this fact out, they were unaware of what we had ordered or the fact that they were wrong. there was no apology and the manager didn’t come to speak to us but simply sent a message with the poor shop girl who was clearly very embarrassed to say they would speak to the manufacturer on the Monday and let us know what could be done. We did receive a call on the Monday and the dresses were redone but if they had checked them when they had arrived, this problem wouldn’t have happened. We were offered nothing by way of an apology. I then Visited the shop to buy the mother of the bride outfit. I tried on several dresses and settled on an outfit. However within half an hour of leaving the shop I realised I had made a mistake and returned to the shop to be told I couldn’t have a refund but they would exchange for something else. I felt completely railroaded into taking another dress which they cut about before telling me it was a further £200. By this point, I just wanted to get out of the shop so paid for a dress that I will never wear. If you go to this shop, be very careful to take someone with you who will back you up against the staff who are very pushy. Also check everything before you agree to buy as they have a no returns policy.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★★★★★

“Amazing Customer Service ”

written by Cath17 on 22/02/2019

My daughter and I travelled from Scotland to look for my mother of the bride outfit, I had purchased an outfit here 6 years ago and wanted to return. We had the most amazing experience in this boutique, from the minute we went through the door there was a nice atmosphere. I was introduced to Suzy who was very professional, sincere and helpful she advised me on different styles she thought would suit and then asked what my preferences were, and what I liked and didn’t like. There was an extensive selection of outfits from different designers, we then went round and chose a selection to try on. She was at the dressing room to help with each outfit and gave genuine and informative advice. We tried on accessories to compliment the outfits, this was very helpful as this changes the finished look. I didn’t feel rushed or pressurised to buy at any time, delighted to say I left with my complete outfit which I love. Thank you Suzy for making myself and Dianne feel special and for your excellent customer service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude staff and they don’t even know there own products ”

written by Kaneax93 on 27/01/2019

Me and my bridesmaids visited to get their bridesmaids dresses. My bridesmaids picked the dress they loved. It was a little overpriced for what it was. But I wanted them to feel special on the day and have the dress they wanted so I went out of my price range and said yes. We where then taken downstairs to make the order and payment. When we got down there the lady soon realised someone had put the wrong tag on the dress and it wasn’t the same brand that she originally though. They then went on the different websites and where trying to find what dress it even was. At one point 3 of them where looking. Once they found it they then couldn’t find what colour we had picked and by this time we had all been sitting around waiting a while. The girl serving us asked her manager to help who wasn’t very helpful and actually quiet rude. Dismissing us and saying she would ring us Monday to take the order then. Even though we where paying customers right there and then. But she couldn’t be bothered to give us the time of day. When we finally found the colour and design due to it being labelled up wrong. we where then told it was even more expensive again. I was really disappointed and felt awful to have to say no to my bridesmaids. I felt it unfair that they got their hopes up to then rip them down due to their products not being labelled up correctly with the wrong brand and price. I thought they would of honoured the prices as it was priced up wrong at their own mistake. But no, nothing. Just awful customer service for you. And would never recommend this snobby shop with awful customer service to anyone. Who clearly don’t even know their own products.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Beautiful dresses with a less than beautiful service!”

written by LuluGell on 12/04/2018

Mum and I visited the shop for my Mum's 'mother of the bride' outfit. Mum lives in London so it is quite far for her but we liked the look of the website. We got off to a fantastic start with Petra, there was so much selection and not enough that she could do for us, and we had a really fun afternoon. Mum went ahead and ordered an Ian Stuart dress and the matching hat, she also paid for alterations so the dress fitted her perfectly. Mum and I were excited to go back to try her dress on following the alterations, however when Mum tried the dress on it was wonky, longer at the back than the front and didn’t fit her at all, Mum was obviously very upset but the shop said that they would re-do the dress, there wasn’t much in the way of an apology and we were made to feel like we were unnecessarily complaining. Mum also asked if whilst they were re-altering the dress if they could take the sleeves in slightly, we were told that there would be another £60 charge for this. I asked if this could be waived as a good will due to our experience and the inconvenience of Mum now having to do another trip up from London but we were rudely told no but they would talk to us about it on the next visit. Our next visit came (Mum and I both had to take time off from work) Mum tried on the dress which didn't fit again, it needed taking in on one side. So we left it with them and they got their 'seamstress' to do it whilst we went shopping, when we returned it finally fitted, 3rd time lucky! However it needed pressing as it was all creased at the back, we were told it was because Mum had just tried it on, surely a dress of that quality should not crease after 2 minutes, so they begrudgingly took it away again to press it. Mum and I felt really awkward, we were spoken to rudely and felt like we were being judged, to top it all off Mum still had to pay the additional alteration money. To be honest I wouldn’t expect this kind of service in a high street shop but when you spend almost £1500 on the perfect outfit for your Daughter’s wedding and you are treated as we were it is just not acceptable. It really ruined what we thought would be a really nice Mother/Daughter experience, my advice would be to steer clear and spend your money elsewhere!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic service from Suzy”

written by Npyle on 09/01/2017

After being very nervous I was put at ease from Suzy who advised me and gave me some great tips which has been extremely helpful and she was totally warm and caring. Once my dress came they arranged and altered it beautifully. Totally professional service and couldn't have wished for anymore. No pressure selling. Just exactly what I wanted. Nov 16.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Great experience ”

written by KirstieT on 25/11/2015

I went with my parents to have a look and didn't actually expect to buy my dress that day, but our experience was excellent and I ended up finding the dress of my dreams! She was so friendly and helpful and very patient. She let me try on the number of gowns and get a really great advice and tips. Highly recommended! I ended up getting a discontinued Jenny Packham for half the press, yay!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent customer service, beautiful dresses ”

written by on 11/10/2015

Great wedding dress selection and great experience. I was able to try on lots of different dresses to find the one that best suited me from the help of the very friendly staff. I would definitely recommend it to a friend, in fact I was recommended by my friend. The shop is very clean and well designed. I plan on going back to find my bridesmaids dresses too.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Absolutely wonderful shop, service and staff!”

written by RagiMasiha on 26/09/2015

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful! The selection of dresses were amazing, there's definitely something for everyone. You get a very personal service and can try on as many dresses as you need until you find "the one"! I would recommend The Wedding Shop to everyone,

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst customer service ever! We were rushed out the shop!”

written by on 24/05/2015

I visited here yesterday with my two bridesmaids for what I understood to be an appointment for my bridesmaid dresses play accessories for me (this is what I had asked for on the phone). We arrived to a quite stern, uninterested looking lady who was quite happy to ignore us for a minute until she was ready to acknowledge our presence. She then took my name and took us over to another lady who was going to deal with us. Again, this lady didn't acknowledge us and we were left standing there for a good few minutes not quite sure what we should do. We then decided to take a seat (given one of my bridesmaids is heavily pregnant!). The lady then came over, introduced herself and took us up to look at dresses. To be fair, she was then quite helpful however when I mentioned about wanting to look at accessories, she told me that department was too busy. She did however bring up a very limited selection for me to look at. Not what i had wanted at all. My bridesmaids tried on dresses and, around 40 minutes into the appointment had picked a couple they were considering. Then the attitude of the woman changed so quickly, we were left wondering what happened! She scooped up all the dresses and started putting them back (including our shortlist). She then said 'that hour went quickly didn't it' even though we still had more than 10 minutes left on our appointment!! I'd asked to see shrugs for me (still hoping to find my accessories!) and she said she would show me on the way out. At that point she said 'have a think about the dresses over lunch, the exit is that way'! She didn't even show us out, I didn't get to see my shrugs and I definitely won't be buying there! Thanks goodness we had an appointment with another shop at the other end of the high st, complete different experience and we were happy to give them our business!! I am just so glad it wasn't me shopping for my dress there as think I would have found the whole thing quite off putting. There is a very strange atmosphere about this place and I would not recommend!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★★★

“Great selection, great service!”

written by on 22/05/2015

I originally booked an appointment at The Wedding Shop as they stocked a dress that I had found online. I went with my mum, and the assistant showed me the dress that I had seen, and helped me to find other dresses that could suit. They had an amazing selection of stunning dresses, but I managed to choose all by the same designer! We started by trying on the dress that I had gone to see, and I loved it! I did try the others on, but the decision was already made. The assistant was really helpful & honest, too. She didn't try to sell me the most expensive dress like some would, and she gave honest (& impartial) advice which was incredibly helpful. As this was the only shop that I'd been to, I went away to continue my search, and half heartedly visited several other wedding shops, but no shop/assistant/dress came close. It did give me some useful comparisons of prices and styles, but today I went back to purchase the first dress that I tried on. Fortunately I saw the same assistant as the first time, so she remembered me and the dresses that I'd tried before. Overall very impressed so far. I will be going back next month with my bridesmaids to look for dresses.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“very special experience”

written by xoLeach348 on 28/10/2014

Professional experienced . We felt so special and we were in the hands of experts.We had every confidence in their ability to advise and guide us on such a unique shopping venture!Superb!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Love my dress ”

written by Dannib88 on 21/10/2014

Would like to say a big Thank you for all your help finding my prefect dress and the most amazing shoes so glad I came into see you, all so found my bridesmaid dresses which was great. Will defiantly be recommending all my friends and family here for any wedding outfits they need the staff are all lovely and very helpful, I'm one very happy bride to be :) thank you

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“What can I say, as mother of the bride to be, our...”

written by Garysharon on 21/10/2014

What can I say, as mother of the bride to be, our personal assistant was superb, from the time we entered the shop, it was a completely enjoyable experience. There was no pressure to buy a dress, some really good feedback on The dresses we picked, and a glass of bubbly to top it off. fantastic, I would recommend this to every bride to be.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview