Thames Water www.thameswater.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
Thames Water www.thameswater.co.uk
★★☆☆☆
2.1
29.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Thames Water www.thameswater.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Thames Water www.thameswater.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Thanks Anamika”

★★★★☆

written by KristenSalazar on 12/09/2023

Stayed on the phone with me for about 30 minutes because I had many queries - first time renting a flat in London and ever as a student sharing with 3 people. Was a little confusion working out the rateable value of our house but in the end she calculated it for me which was very nice Anamika was very patient and I did not have to hold for very long on the phone before being able to speak to someone (which I didn’t expect) Nice phone experience and pretty smooth sailing with ThamesWater so far

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Great help from Thames Water on 23 June 2022”

★★★★★

written by 457Boyd on 23/06/2022

On 23 June 2022, my house was severely blocked the shower drainage in the ground floor toilet. I phoned Thames Water emergency services to report this problem around 14:00pm. I got a very quick response from Thames Water which sends one engineer with engineering van at 15:30pm to this house. The engineer opened the underground sewage drainage cover outside of the house, it filled with sewage inside. He used the mechanical drive equipment in the engineering van to drain the sewage totally out within an hour and half hours. We greatly appreciate Thames Water’s quick response and wonderful job.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolute support from our National Water carrier in London”

★★★★★

written by Musab93 on 06/05/2022

Spoke with a fella from customer support services. Absolute legends this guy, fully supported in my issues, I'm new to London, so he sorted my bills out, ironed out some errors on my account, sent out an engineer to double check our digital reader. I recommend supporting your local water services in London, these guys help you way more than you think! Well done, cheers mate. FYI I'm from Perth, Australia, and we have something called Watercorporation (like Thames Water), which back at home was known for awesome customer services. I'm happy to see here in the UK, in London, I see this same super supportive behaviour through with our, although private, city wide water provider here in London!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“DO NOT GET A WATER METER - stay on assessed...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by madterrier on 10/05/2021

DO NOT GET A WATER METER - stay on assessed charges. They make up any figure they care to to over-charge you. Using the pandemic as an excuse to falsify the amount of water they clim you use. Occupancy in our house last year went down from two adults to one adult, as my partner moved back with her mother after her father died. Yet they claim water consumption rose by 350% since last year. Cannot be true. Even then they did not notify us of the claims - just secretly deducting money from her account. If only we could avoid using this company. But if you can, at least avoid getting a water meter fitted - you will be a hostage for life.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Great service from Fiona at Thames Water”

★★★★★

written by KimFromSA on 29/01/2021

The person I dealt with resolved all my issues and was very friendly and professional. Fantastic service and definitely a company I recommend. Thank you so very much.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Ages on the phone”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JankaSopkova on 28/07/2020

I'm trying to contact them to change the name and get meter reading. As single mum with 1 child to pay £46/months it's quiet a lot. When they finally pick it up the guy told me that he can't do it bcs I'm not account holder, but I was state as additional account holder and payment is coming from my bank account, so I don't see a problem. He just portent he can't hear me. Just terrible. I'm going to ask my landlord if I can switch to somewhere else.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“You get better response from Trappist Monks”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ThirstyBarry on 03/10/2019

Thames Water warned us they were shutting off our water for three hours. Three days later it's still off. Seems the subcontractors they hired broke the main artery.Thames's policy is to ignore the paying customers and keep their waterbottles to themselves. Unbelievably poor outfit. Sooner they lose their contract the better.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Like a Wet Weekend”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Helene123 on 23/05/2019

As a social housing tenant I pay the water rates within my rent and my landlord passes the money on to Thames Valley Water. From time to time I receive a final demand for water rates that have already been paid.One reason that water rates are included in social housing rents is so that those who qualify for housing benefit get the water rates paid too. I have explained this to numerous staff but they don't seem to be able to take it in. Some of their responses are really quite bizarre and these people give me the creeps. I have lost track of how many times they have threatened to cut off my water supply when I don't actually owe them any money. There is an answer to that. Just get it switched on again. I am left wondering how many tenants in the UK pay water rates as well as their landlord. This Thames Valley Water scheme has been in existence for decades.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Nightmare”

★☆☆☆☆

written by enBaxter260 on 04/10/2017

UPDATE. Since then, my MP contacted them to remove the smart device as it is not compulsory under government legislation. They have since switched it on. The result is we have suffered numerous electric shocks, including the babies aged 2 and 3. These clowns then send us a letter to say we would save a few pounds if we sign up to the smart meter account. To us our health and safety is more important than a few quid. These bullies have no shame.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 22Dickey on 05/06/2017

What a wretched service!! Below the sewege service!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Blocked sewer”

★★★★★

written by BigAl44 on 29/05/2017

At 5.00 pm on May bank holiday Sunday I noticed that the manhole coover just inside my property had lifted and raw sewage was flowing out and down the street. I called TW 24 hour number and explained the situation and was told that they would attend within 2=hours, they arrived in just over an hour, cleared the blockage and cleaned up and disinfected it all. The interceptor was blocked and they couldn't clear it totally so they arranged for a vacuum tanker to come and clear that again within 2 hours. The whole process from start to finish was first class and very professional. I have to give all the people involved 10 out of 10 for this. Very well done all of you, good team effort. Also it didn't cost me anything because it is an old house(1900 ish) and a shared sewer

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“On 31-1-2017 I sent Thames Water A NOTICE of NON...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by brainfog2 on 15/02/2017

On 31-1-2017 I sent Thames Water A NOTICE of NON CONSENT re; a smart meter. I received a reply which was inadequate and untrue on 13-2-2017. I awoke the next morning to a card from Thames Water saying they had installed the unwanted smart meter, class 2B carcinogenic, surveillance device to my property. I ran down the road and asked their workman to remove it. He said if I call them they may instruct him to remove it. I phoned and spoke to someone. I explained I had given notice and I am sensitive to electromagnetic radiation. He said a colleague will call me back. in 2 minutes. This didn't happen. This company obviously hold their customers in contempt. This is outrageous and disgraceful treatment.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Sewage Waste Water Complaint”

★☆☆☆☆

written by carleefoot on 17/01/2017

I am writing this review as i feel i have been left with no other option than to let other members of the general public know how Thames Water treat their customers when a serious problem is bought to their attention. I have been living with a bio hazard smell of human feces and sewage since the beginning of December. I has made me really ill with bouts of sickness and severe migraines which Thames Water are aware of and yet still after 8 weeks of this problem no one is willing to confirm when this issue will be resolved. I have been dealing with managers and senior staff for the last 8 weeks and the service i have received has been appalling.Promised return calls which were never received are one of many ways that i have been unfairly treated. I have been a customer for many years with this company and always paid my water rates on time yet when there is a serious problem no one seems to want to take ownership and for the last 8 weeks i have been fobbed off with excuse after excuse. If you have the option to use a different water supplier i would seriously recommend it.Its a simpy case of dry lining the waste pipe between mine and my neighbours property and yet im being told they are unable to give me a timeframe as to when these works will commence...would the CEO of this company live like this?....given the fact that i have a child in the property you would have thought that they would have sorted this situation out sooner rather than later. Thames Water absolutely shocking!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor communication and service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Corcoraner293 on 03/01/2017

After moving into a new flat I contacted Thames Water to set up an account. A few months later I called to ask when my bill was due only to be told an account had not been set up. I went through the motions again and a few months later emailed to ask again when my bill was due.This time I was told they would come and do a meter reading and generate a bill in due course. Still nothing so I sent another email. This time I was told a bill would be received on 15th December. Still nothing. I called on 3rd January to be told that I should have provided quarterly meter readings and that I now owe over £300. I was never informed of the need to provided a meter reading. I was never given options to pay.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“ABYSMAL CUSTOMER SERVICE!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 23/09/2016

I have attempted to contact Thames Water Ltd on many occasions in the past few years, regarding inconsistencies with my bill, only to be left waiting 30 minutes for the call to be answered, and then receiving incorrect information time after time. The last person I spoke to sounded about twelve, and had an IQ to match. It’s time they were held to account re their mismanagement of their customers’ accounts. Obviously, they have no respect for their customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Was away for a month and beside the High bill received...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Samanthaj422 on 30/08/2016

Was away for a month and beside the High bill received and disputed for 1 yr upfront aggressively demanded, rude customer service apart of 2 ppl spoke to. Still damaging my credit score by demanding with red letter payment, when hardly isn't even half year. Asked to have installed a meter but refused based on no reason. Worked out from their website Thames Water easy-to-use calculator, and turned out to be a lot less. But I'm still with unsolved situation. Asked for a metr to be installed and told that I won't have it. Sooooooo Looking forward to change the supplier immediately. Sorry, but disgraceful and horrible experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Excellent resolution of water leakage”

★★★★★

written by kellyatm on 13/07/2016

My buy to let property had a water leak which I did not immediately discover as the stopcock was turned off whilst the house was being tidied up for rental and leak was happening somewhere between the stopcock and the meter. Thames .water were very helpful, arranging a booking asap, sorting out my leak allowance with no prompting to do, calls made to me to update me as promised, and my high bill reduced. I was very behind with the paperwork due to personal issues, yet Thames did everything with no prompting. The lady in their office was brilliant - really. So impressed. Thank you! I cannot fault this customer service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Pathetic”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 487Fallon on 06/03/2016

Continually make "mistakes" which happen to be in their favour. Keep an eye on them and don't pay by direct debit as it it more likely their thievery will go unnoticed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Bad service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by goPeters144 on 23/02/2016

I have a blocked drain and still after 24 hours nobody has phoned /turned up. It is a shame we have no choice in choosing our supplier!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Blocked drain”

★★★★★

written by Finley20 on 29/01/2016

My sewerage flows into next door's property and the into the main sewer and the trap leading into the main sewer appeared blocked from inspection via manhole. I called TW at 11 o'clock in the morning to advise them of the problem and to ascertain if it was their problem, They advised it was their property as the drain served more than one household, and that someone would attend within 48 hours. Well, 10 minutes later, TW guy called me saying he would be there in 5 minutes and after inspecting the problem cleared the blockage and recommended that the trap be replaced as to its age as was gradually disintegrating and was only going to worsen. After he left, half hour later, got a call from TW advising me that they will be replacing the trap in the next two weeks. All I can say is that I have not received service like that for a long time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview