Ring O Roses, Sydenham, London Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
47% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ring O Roses, Sydenham, London - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Never got the dress I ordered”

Written on: 14/12/2017 by Whitaker84 (1 review written)

I must admit I had a similar experience. I found a gorgeous dress there for a great price, which I loved, but then that was not what I was delivered. It took more than a year, a lot of stress, trips and phone calls and us having to pay a considerable amount of money to fix it, and I still did not get the dress I actually ordered. And not once did anyone ever apologize to me for the inconvenience. The dress was delivered with a completely different neckline to the sample I tried on. We sent it back and it came back with a real bodge job, done very badly so it actually deformed the bodice. I tried to send it back again but they refused and said the seamstress could fix it. Except of course she charged us for that, and did not do what I asked. At the final fitting I was quite horrified to see what she had done, but had to put up with it as despite trying to sort this out for a good 18 months we had run out of time. The seamstress also turned up extremely late to our fittings twice, despite us having had to get up early to travel from hours away. In the end, my dress turned out ok with some last minute fixes while it was actually on me - although even at the wedding there was some lace flapping off which my bridesmaids had to pin. It made the whole experience really stressful and I still feel I did not get the dress I ordered. And the female manager/owner was extremely rude about the whole thing, never once apologized or admitted any mistake. It's a shame, it could be a great shop but the service really let it down. I would avoid..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking ”

Written on: 29/02/2016 by 53Huffman (1 review written)

This place is awful with poor aftercare and disgusting customer service. Good up to point of sale and then want to rush you to fit and collect your dress! This place reduced me to tears and made an already stressful time unbearable! Not to mention that the sale dress I was sold was shoddy, unfixable and found online from another bridal shop brand new and a lot cheaper!! I urge anyone not to waste money here and check out the amazing bridal shops in Bromley and Eltham! After the nightmare with this shop I ended cutting my loses and buying a different dress elsewhere. Avoid like the plague!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hannahstrange's Comment

Written on: 14/12/2017

I must admit I had a similar experience. I found a gorgeous dress there for a great price, which I loved, but then that was not what I was delivered. It took more than a year, a lot of stress, trips and phone calls and us having to pay a considerable amount of money to fix it, and I still did not get the dress I actually ordered. And not once did anyone ever apologize to me for the inconvenience.

The dress was delivered with a completely different neckline to the sample I tried on. We sent it back and it came back with a real bodge job, done very badly so it actually deformed the bodice. I tried to send it back again but they refused and said the seamstress could fix it. Except of course she charged us for that, and did not do what I asked. At the final fitting I was quite horrified to see what she had done, but had to put up with it as despite trying to sort this out for a good 18 months we had run out of time. The seamstress also turned up extremely late to our fittings twice, despite us having had to get up early to travel from hours away.

In the end, my dress turned out ok with some last minute fixes while it was actually on me - although even at the wedding there was some lace flapping off which my bridesmaids had to pin. It made the whole experience really stressful and I still feel I did not get the dress I ordered. And the manager was extremely rude about the whole thing, never once apologized or admitted any mistake. It's a shame, it could be a great shop but the service really let it down. I would avoid..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Bad Customer Service”

Written on: 24/12/2014 by Ryleet92 (1 review written)

I purchased my dress from Orange Blossom. I liked the dress however the service left a lot to be desired. The staff members were generally unfriendly. They refused to let me try on my dress after the seamstress had altered it simply because she was not there. It is not the type of service a bride to be expects. It is supposed to be an exciting love filled time, and regrettably i always felt uncomfortable everytime i left the store. The only reason I purchased the dress was because I was in a rush to do and I loved it. I however do not recommend that anybody goes to orange blossom. (sydenham branch) Michelle

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“a massive thank you”

Written on: 11/07/2014

Such a amazing friendly and helpful shop I was served by the assistant and she was spectacular and such personal service she gave and fittings with a lovely lady called pat needles to say I found my perfect dream dress which looked stunning on our big day which had my now husband in tears thank you and pat and all the staff who became like friends to me I would recommend this wonderful shop to anyone

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“First Dress....Loved bought it”

Written on: 11/07/2014 by GisselleWhite (1 review written)

Really want to say a big thank you to the staff at Orange Blossom, You all were wonderful in helping me find my wedding gown. The first dress I have ever tried and that was it nothing else came close. The other dresses I tried were all lovely but my one just is everything I could have ever imagined, me and my mum are still talking about it everyday. I can't Thank you enough for your understanding and for encouraging me to try all different styles and shapes. Not long to wait and I will be back for my fittings, I have already told three friends to make appointments as you ladies are the best. Many many thanks XXXXXXX

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shop of horrors”

Written on: 03/06/2014 by deKirkpatrick318 (1 review written)

I hardly know where to start. The main focus of staff was to preserve the condition of the sample dresses and not provide a warm and friendly environment. We were handed gloves immmediately on our arrival and the customer service assistant showed little interest in finding out about our personal tastes or any of the wedding details. The stock was poor but that could be the result of visual merchandising. The accessories were the same and we were shocked to be handed clogs to try on with a wedding dress and a bouquet of worn fake flowers. We were not allowed to take photographs 'unless buying!' and we were made aware of the discount available only if we purchased on the spot. Back to the gloves. We had to wear those with the dress on which was very distracting. I complained to the store and the last line of their response reads 'I trust that clarifies our position and you would, appreciate, if you had the experience working in the store all our policies are for the benefit of the bride.' I think that says it all, dont you?.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Eppy's Comment

Written on: 11/07/2014

I found the staff very friendly helpful and kind and having shopped around for dress they was not the only store to ask you to wear gloves in my experience of the shop they were amazing

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting”

Written on: 22/07/2013 by SarahHall (1 review written)

I again should have listened to other reviews. I booked to come up, driving 30 miles and struggling in the horrid area to park. I rang to ask about parking...ha. No answer. I finally got in to the dark showroom. From outside it looked tacky and the dresses on display were a joke. I was ignored for at least 15 mins until my mum got fed up and made a bit of a fuss. My appointment was not in their book. Somehow that was my fault. They could not see me. There was nobody else in the shop. Go figure. What an utter waste of time. Staff too rude.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking!”

Written on: 17/05/2013

I wish I had read the reviews before making the journey to this 'Bridal' store. I had seen a particular dress that I wanted to try on and was informed that this was the only shop in the South East stocking the sample gown. I made an appointment and a 60 mile trip to get there. The woman who served me was pleasant enough after much enticement from me by way of politeness, the other member of staff clearly would rather not have had customers! It was dark and dirty, the dressing area tired and shabby - and we were made to put on revolting gloves that I am sure were dirtier than our hands! I was told that due to the fact my wedding is 4 months away I couldn't have the majority of the dresses they stock, fair enough, I tried on 4 in all of 20 minutes - you aren't encouraged to take time to consider your dress. There was one that I liked, not the dress I had made the trip to see, and was told that I could get a larger size in time and have that altered. I called 2 days later to be told (by the second assistant I believe) that 'No, you can't have it, no we can't order it and no there aren't any in the country you can have'. Do not spend your money here, there are so many lovely boutiques selling the same make gowns at better prices who treat you as you should be treated at such a special time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid like the Plague.”

Written on: 27/10/2012

I cannot believe this place has the nerve to open their doors and trade in this unprofessional way. After being glared at by the crone behind the counter she eventually let my party in. If I book in advance and it is pouring rain, I do not expect to be left outside while the staff stare at me through the window. After finally getting in I cheerfully smiled and tried to give my name. She gave me a withering look, spoke over me and informed me that I was only allowed two guests. As I had only two guests, I agreed and pointed this out. Her response was to say'two only'very loudly. I then realised that another party a good six feet away was being included as mine. I again tried to point this out and mid sentence she said 'Well that will be ten pounds'. Ten pounds to try on a dress? Seriously? This is perhaps the tenth shop I have been to with my wedding and others and I have never heard such a thing. Yes it is time consuming to dress someone but if that is your policy inform people when they book. Feeling increasingly irritated I did not want to pay this unless I actually thought there was a winner in the dress. I asked if I could wander and have a look in the frankly, huge, cold and unwelcoming showroom. 'PUT ON THE GLOVES' she barked. Confused I saw her gesture to a pile of grubby gloves for me to wear should I touch the precious gowns. They are dresses, not ancient relics (like this charming member of staff). But again, weird as it is tell me when I book. At this point I spun on my heel and exited the shop, never ever to return. Do yourself a favour, do not give these rude, ignorant people your hard earned money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Heart breaking”

Written on: 27/07/2012

Terrible place. I went and selected my dress and they called me later to say they couldn't do the fitting as the dress maker's husband had died. I was so sorry for the poor woman but they told me that there was nothing to do about it. They offered me (and made it clear that this was the only time) a different day and time when I was not available as I am a teacher and it was my class's sports day. So Ultimately, I was not going to have my dress in time for the big day. The woman who called me was so rude about it throughout and as I got more frustrated with her she started to imply that I was insensitive to the dress maker even though I think discussing someone's personal circumstances with a customer is wrong and unprofessional. I did repeat again that I was very sorry about that but now I was short of a dress I didn't knowwhatto do. The manager then phoned me and left an incredibly rude message and told me to come and pick up my dress. My mum went to collect it and they gave her the wrong size dress, thankfully it actually ended up fitting! Plus an inferior train that was not stitched properly. I believe this was on purpose.. I found a different dressmaker and all was well but it was horrible, heart breaking and I was made to feel like a nasty horrible individual because I asked if I could still have my dress fitted ( that I had already paid for) with a different dressmaker when the one assigned for me had left due to horrible circumstances. Can you imagine how it felt? Sydenham branch- avoid like the plague.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Depressing Wedding dress experience”

Written on: 02/03/2012

We were buzzed into the store, which is now called Orange Blossom.. possibly to get away from the poor reviews on here and other sites. We are new to the area and there isn't a lot of choice and were faced with the unfriendly faces of two ladies. Neither said anything, so we assumed that even with an appointment we just take a seat on the grubby looking sofa and wait to be seen. It took a while before we were asked if they could help and were fairly politely told to hang tight and our fitter would be with us. Fitter? She was sour faced and lacked any form of encouragement. We were left to look at dresses and she did very little to help. My best friend is getting married abroad and as her only morale support, i'd hoped they would be a little more exciting for her. She tried two or three dresses in the tired fitting room, before a third 'fitter' took someone into the same dressing room. I couldn't believe it. They didn't even ask if you minded sharing and my friend had to wait her turn in front of the mirror, it was absurd. I would not recommend this store, the service or the experience, it's supposed to be an exciting time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Missymel's Comment

Written on: 27/10/2012

Totally agree. Just walked out of here today mid conversation with the deeply unpleasant woman on the 'reception' desk. She was just lucky I was in a good mood and not prepared to take her to task about the rude, unprofessional way I was greeted. She treated me and my bridesmaids as an inconvenience rather than a customer. Sadly for her I took my money elsewhere. I don't know many businesses who can afford two grand to walk out the door. But it did.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Happy”

Written on: 18/02/2012 by rooiwyn (1 review written)

I went to the wedding dress shop, still on a big high from getting engaged. My mother had to fly back to her home country where I only had 1 day to share this special experience with her. Thank you to a friendly team taking all their time with myself and my mother we had a very special experience. The lady who helped me has been for a long time in this industry. She took her knowledge and experience and showed me by trying on different styles of dresses - what will work for my body type and what not. After trying on endless stunning dresses I learnt from every dress. The lady dressed me up completely like I would look on my special day. Even changed the tiara's to fit each dress. I went back after deciding who will be my maid of honor and bridesmaids... Again the ladies were amazing. My dress was ready for me in the changing area. She support my friends to explain what dress style will suit me best and gave them the time to choose dresses they think will suit me.... At the end I tried on the dress this lady picked out and again, friends were in tears and the shop can to a stand still. I felt again like the most beautiful bride to be ever. Thank you for making my wedding experience and special day to be with extra special memories....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Shame....”

Written on: 26/05/2011

I purchased my wedding dress from their shop in Croydon which closed down & i was transferred to the Sydenham branch. My experience from Croydon was very pleasant unlike the Sydenham branch. I went there for my fitting and it was very disappointing. The woman who fitted my dress wasn't particularly friendly and I felt like i was bring rushed, the area upstairs for the fitting wasn't very nice, the seats were very dated and the whole area needed doing up. The changing room wasn't big enough for me and my dress (my dress isn't particularly big) so I was getting changed in front of people i had brought with me who hadn't seen the dress & who i wanted to do a big entrance with. I haven't yet gone back for my final fitting so I’m hoping the alterations are completed to a high standard. I wouldn't recommend this shop for fittings - if you find a dress you like in there it maybe advisable to find a private seamstress for alterations to ensure you have a better experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The staff at the sydenham branch were very rude, I...”

Written on: 13/05/2011

The staff at the sydenham branch were very rude, I visited 3 other bridal shops before choosing my dress and had a great experience in all of them appart from ring o roses, the staff are rude,the shop is dirty and at one point I saw 2 girls sharring a changing room.

Buying your wedding dres should be one of the most exciting times in a girls life so do not go to Ring o Roses,

It is a low budget shop but you would still expect the staff to be helpful and polite. I have never known anything like it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I have been to 6 shops, this is the worst service...”

Written on: 16/04/2011

I have been to 6 shops, this is the worst service ever! I already had some ideas before going to the shop, but still wanted to try some other styles. The assistant only allowed me to choose 4 dresses to start with, and then she left me in the fitting area with dress one, and found me a few others, i didnt like none of her choice, but I still tried on , just being polite. Then she told one of her colleagues that I have tried on 9 already. BUT there is only FOUR of them are my own choice! Finally, i asked to try on a fish tail dress, she refused and said I have tried one already, and saying my body shape not fit in fish tail. How rude!!I am 12-14 hour glass, I tried on fish tail in other shops! Maybe other assistant in the shop are more friendly, avoid the oldest one!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy from these people, customer service is...”

Written on: 12/04/2011

Do not buy from these people, customer service is appalling and when they get into financial difficulties, they dissolve the company and start up under a new name

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I found Ring O' Roses on a google search after being...”

Written on: 17/02/2011

I found Ring O' Roses on a google search after being frustrated that none of the previous two dress shops I had been to stock the Allure Bridal collection. From the moment I booked my appointment over the phone with Augusta, I knew that it would be a great experience. My mum and sister came with me to the shop and we were welcomed with a warm smile by one of the assistants and were then introduced to Augusta who would be looking after me. We immediately felt comfortable and were allowed to peruse the gowns on our own at our own pace. I felt like a kid in a candy shop and picked out 5 dresses to try on. Augusta and I clicked immediately and we were able to have a laugh. She also listened to my feedback on the dresses, and went out of her way to bring further dresses in the style that I liked. She was everything that you would want in a bridal shop assistant. Warm, helpful, knowledgeable, encouraging, and chatty. I valued her opinion and she didn't hesitate to offer me a tiara and veil (and flowers!) so that I could see the dresses in the context of the whole bride look. My past experiences in other bridal shops were that they were so quiet, humourless even, and I felt that I couldn't squeal with excitement (which is very important when trying on the perfect dress)! Ring O' Roses has a big and varied selection of gowns, one of the best in my experience, so there was a lot of squealing going on! Despite the fact that I live on the other side of London, it was a no brainer for me to purchase my dress here. All the information about size and alteration costs were clearly explained to me at the desk. The only reason why Ring O' Roses did not get top marks from me is because unfortunately there are no customer toilets. Having said that however, to us it wasn't a big deal to cross the road and use the cafe opposite. I'm looking forward to going back for my fitting and will definitely be sending the ladies a picture taken on my big day!
Feb 2011

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I visited the Sydenham branch of Ring O Roses on 29th...”

Written on: 31/01/2011

I visited the Sydenham branch of Ring O Roses on 29th Jan 2011 with the Bride and the other 3 Bridesmaids. I was disgusted at the service and treatment we received. On arrival at the shop for the fitting we were not greeted with "Hello" but instantly told you are only allowed to bring 2 people with you. However the Bride had already called ahead to say she was bringing 4 people with her and told this would be ok but only 2 people would be allowed in the fitting area at one time so we would have to swap over. This was a different case once in store, luckily for us Pat the fitter didn't mind us all attending (however the space in the fitting area was more than adequate to accommodate all of us so the assistant seemed to be causing a fuss over nothing). We then asked if there was a bathroom we could use as we had travelled 1.5 hours to get there and were told they didn't have customer toilets. Considering one of our party is 8 months pregnant they could have made an exception.

The Bride decided not to go ahead with the alterations in store as the price seemed high for what was needed and considering the treatment she had already received was not keen to return to the store. The fitter, Pat, is a very nice lady, although she could have been a bit more enthusiastic but if she sees Brides on a daily basis I guess this is a regular occurrence for her. We were informed that we would still need to pay £20 for the fitting time which we all felt very un-necessary as we had only been there 30 minutes and all that had been done was 2 pins put in the side of the dress. When we questioned the fitting charge at the till we were told this was standard practice to pay for fitting appointments however the Bride was not informed of this when booking the appointment. After much negotiation the shop reluctantly agreed to waive the fee but were extremely rude. All in all we did not have a nice experience at all in this shop the assistant was rude from start to finish and seem more concerned with making as much money from Brides as possible by charging at any opportunity rather than providing good customer service and making it the magical experience that it should be for any bride. We left with a bride close to tears and a pregnant lady very much in need of the loo!

I have never left a review for anything before but felt we had such awful treatment from this store that other Brides should be warned before visiting this shop.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I am very sorry that the person before me had bad...”

Written on: 18/06/2010

I am very sorry that the person before me had bad service from this store, I myself being a big girl had altogether different out come. When I arrived at the store I tried 3 dresses not because of my size but because I'm fussy. They were very good in customer service and in fact helped more then my best friend who choose a plain dress that I didn't like, so my time with them was great I picked a the most beautiful lace dress and it had to be good as my brother and parents cried. My wedding was the best day in my life, and both the staff I saw was brillant I will tell every one I know to give them a try.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I went to Ring O Roses with my friend the Bride to Be...”

Written on: 31/05/2010

I went to Ring O Roses with my friend the Bride to Be and the staff were so unhelpful and very rude on this occassion. My friend was looking through the dresses and was serious about finding one from this shop as we lived locally and always said when we get married we would go there for our dresses. The staff did not offer help and when my friend enquired about size 16 dresses. The woman was shocking and basically sneered and said that they probably wouldn't have anything that fits her - theres only a few, as people tend to lose weight for their wedding!!! The gall!

My poor dear friend is not massive by any means an average size 16 bottom, 14 on top and anyway so what if she was. Needless to say we left highly displeased and leaving them without our custom. I mean I thought the point was to sell in a shop but we have been put off for life. I certainly won't be going there for my big day and anyone who mentions the shop to me I will tell them exactly what happened and encourage them to go elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview