Argus Car Hire - www.arguscarhire.com

Argus Car Hire - www.arguscarhire.com
★★★★☆
4.1
87.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Argus Car Hire - www.arguscarhire.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Argus Car Hire - www.arguscarhire.com

Latest Reviews

“Worst experience ever! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Meadows330 on 30/05/2024

We had a reservation for a car for a 2 week's road trip. We paid in advance. When we arrive at the airport, they told us to go away (we had 3 cards with money on it, they weren't UK credit cards). They customer service told us after one month of call/emails and so on that they won't reimburse us (we didn't get the service) we weren't the only one on this case. Please choose another rental car company for your own sake!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very cheap car but dated car”

★★★★☆

written by on 18/05/2024

Booked car 3 months ahead of my trip and this company offering for a week Nissan Micra or similar, automatic car 5 seats which will fit 2 x big luggage for just 70£ in begining of May 2024 When I received car then I understand why was so cheap comparing other hire car companies as it was 8 years with over 100k on clock full of scratches. I was quite shocked and disappointed as never expected to see so dated car within hire car company but car was in working order with ice cooling AC system and because was automatic, make driving experience on other side much easier and stress free. Service of picking up and dropping off car was very quick and smooth which I was very glad as arrived with 2 kids 2 and 4 year old so they didn't wait for me longer than 5 minutes to go through all formalities. On roads we noticed that this company has most car ls dated like our Nissan Micra but also pass latest version of Micra :)

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent Car Hire”

★★★★★

written by Neweyfamily on 09/05/2024

We car was absolutely brilliant. It was clean and fuelled and economical. It was waiting for us even though we were substantially delayed and the guy at the desk was helpful, friendly and patient even though we were is last customers of the day. He helped us work out everything we needed to know about the vehicle. We would definitely use this company again as they were great and also reasonably priced! Returning the vehicle was easy but we did waste some time waiting at the check-in office as we didn't notice the returns office.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Car hire in Italy ”

★★★★★

written by nlKenny399 on 08/05/2024

Collected 2 cars from Perugia airport. Collection was simple and cars were ready. Existing damage was pointed out. Cars were lovely and clean. Drop off was again simple. The cars were inspected and checked for full tank of petrol. For us we had no additional damage so it was just a case of sign and go. Would use again and recommend

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent and very efficient service”

★★★★★

written by lizstar on 13/04/2024

Excellent service - very efficient The car hired to me was exactly what I was expecting rather than like some other organisations that hand over a vehicle that is below par. The car was well maintained and clean inside and out.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent ”

★★★★★

written by GTDavis on 04/04/2024

Stress free rental process, great communication and help over the phone, and the price was the best. I would use again and strongly recommend to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Office Closed- No Refund”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bamboozled0502 on 25/03/2024

I used Argus Car Hire in December of 2024. I arrived on time for my car rental yet the office was completely closed. I provided documentation for this, photos and a time stamped receipt from the competitor car rental company I was forced to rent from at a massive expense. Argus Car Hire refused to compensate my booking and stated "I did not show up for my rental". When I asked how they could justify this response based on my documentation, they closed my case with no refund.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A Tale of Neglect and Incompetence”

★☆☆☆☆

written by patriciaan on 29/02/2024

My experience with Argus Car Hire was nothing short of a nightmare, showcasing a stunning display of incompetence from start to finish. They claim to offer reliable car rental services, but this couldn't be further from the truth. Their lack of responsiveness to customer issues is appalling. When faced with a problem, their go-to response seems to be that they cannot help because the issue wasn't reported beforehand. However, the irony is that these problems only manifest themselves when you arrive to pick up the car at the designated time and place. Upon encountering an unresolved issue at the car rental counter, contacting Argus for support only led to further frustration. Their customer service team was quick to wash their hands of the situation, stating they were powerless to assist because we hadn't contacted them before the pickup date. But how could we have anticipated an issue that did not exist until that very moment? This circular logic leaves customers trapped in a no-win situation. This entire ordeal speaks volumes about the lack of coordination and responsibility between Argus Car Hire and the actual car rental providers they partner with. It's a clear indication that their operational model is deeply flawed, prioritizing contracts over customer satisfaction and support. Dealing with Argus Car Hire has been a horrific experience, underscoring a complete disregard for customer service and efficiency. I strongly advise against using their services unless you're prepared for a potential cascade of unresolved issues and a total absence of support when you most need it.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“They charged my credit card without providing a...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Carlos1239 on 27/02/2024

They charged my credit card without providing a confirmation number or an email confirmation. I had no idea what I had or where they were located. They claim to be in Terminal at Newark but I found out they are not, you must call for a pickup and they are 15 minutes away. Spent over two hours trying to cancel a reservation with NO confirmation number yet payment was charged in full. I reported them and suggest everyone stay away and don't fall for there sham advertising of low prices.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Good value”

★★★★☆

written by 332Doherty on 25/02/2024

Good value, would recomend

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“CUSTOMER BEWARE. SHAM. TERRIBLE.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by jheckenk on 16/02/2024

CUSTOMER BEWARE. SHAM. DISGUSTING I booked a car through Argus Car Care and was charged even though no car was provided. Upon arrival in a new city in the early evening, I walked to the airport car shuttle location. After waiting for a lengthy period of time, I learned the car rental company had already closed and wouldn't be providing shuttle service nor rental cars until the following morning. When booking the car through Argus, there was no notification about the business hours of the car rental place. In fact, Argus happily accepted my reservation for a time that was impossible to pickup, due to the rental car company being closed! The car company phone system confirmed they had closed an hour prior to my arrival at the shuttle location. I was left stranded, without a car, in a foreign city! I contacted the rental car company the following morning and they apologized for the situation. They promptly cancelled my reservation but referred me to Argus for the refund. I contacted Argus and they refused to issue a refund. I escalated to a supervisor / manager on duty. She also refused to issue a refund but agreed to open a "case". After multiple email exchanges and a few days later, Argus closed the "case" with a statement saying they wouldn't issue a refund. This is a disgusting company operating in a shady manner. Their business practices take advantage of people and their customer services is absolutely TERRIBLE. CUSTOMER BEWARE and avoid this company at all costs. Attorneys: Contact me if interested in going after this company.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“TOTAL DISGUST BEWARE!!! AVOID ARGUS CAR HIRE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 187Jordan on 16/02/2024

STAY AWAY and don't waste your money - you will end up paying hundreds more than you prepaid up front. We arrived at LAX, did the double shuttle to the car rental and then found out our "Prepaid In Full rental was going. to cost us at least another $700 in so called "International Insurance charges". The attendant behind the counter started berated us when we questioned the additional charges. When I said I need a few minutes to see if we would proceed with the rental, she got even more abusive towards us. The other employees of course had not reaction - because they see this happen all day long. Just read the other reviews - its a "Bait and Switch" sham. We ended up going to another rental place nearby and getting a cheaper rate on Expedia with a reasibale insurance rate. Don't ruin the art of your vacation. believe this and all the other similar reviews and STAY AWAY!!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“MISLEADING, UNPROFESSIONAL, INCONVENIENT”

★☆☆☆☆

written by pringletc on 31/01/2024

Unfortunately, upon arrival at O'Hare airport, I encountered several issues that were not clearly communicated during the booking process. Nowhere in the reservation details did it mention that I needed to be an out-of-towner to qualify for the rental, leading to a considerable delay and confusion upon my arrival. Additionally, I had to endure an extended wait in the cold as I was not aware of the specific requirements for pick-up. The lack of clear instructions in the booking confirmation regarding the waiting process in cold weather was a significant inconvenience. I understand the importance of communicating all necessary details to customers to ensure a smooth and positive experience. Regrettably, this was not the case with my recent rental, and I feel misled and frustrated. I believe it is essential to provide comprehensive and transparent information in your booking confirmations to avoid inconveniencing customers and to uphold the reputation of your company. I trust that you will take this feedback seriously and implement measures to prevent similar experiences for future customers.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“What a waste of my time and money”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Samo11 on 21/01/2024

A complete waste of my time and money. Customer service was absolutely abysmal and it turned out that going to the car hire company directly was a much superior choice. This broker doesn’t even deserve to be in business..

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Please don't use this company ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jamya187 on 11/01/2024

We were refused the car hire due to a supposed security check that should have been made at the time of booking as all information was available. Basically they say that the card details do not match my name. They then claim we were a no show that is untrue. Losing hope of getting a refund after many attempts. Do not use. See free Which? reports for reputable car hire companies.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“worst experience! No car available and no refund!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ben.thibo on 09/01/2024

While I made a reservation via argus car hire for 12 days of rental in Mexico from 12/26/23 to 01/07/24 (vehicle to be collected at Cancun airport), I discovered on my arrival at the airport that no vehicle was available to honor my reservation. Following this, Argus Car Hire refuses to reimburse me for the rental fees paid in full before the stay. Simply unacceptable. Not only did I find myself in a very uncomfortable situation with my wife and my 2 children (8 years old and 3 years old) the evening of our arrival because many other rental companies had no vehicles available, but I also had to pay for a reservation which I was not able to benefit from!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Car not available at collection. 13 hour wait”

★☆☆☆☆

written by CraigFurniss on 08/01/2024

Dollar Rent-a-Car didn't have any cars when we arrived and told us it's the 3rd party company fault. Had to book in to the airport hotel overnight at $600. We were told we book a "rate" not a "car". I still do not understand what they meant. No help at the desk at all.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disgusting ripp off”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kevinruse68 on 04/01/2024

sucked into their cheap online prices, pre paid in full for car, insurance and dropping the car off at a different destination, picked the car up in tampa and used it for 2 weeks with no issues, on my return I found my card had been charged about $800 for various extra fees, collection fee, insurance, dropping car off at different destination all of which had been prepaid in full in the UK, these are a rip off, they refunded me about £200 but have basically washed their hands of it now, be very careful, these will rip you off, go direct to the car hire companies, avoid these middle me, its a rip off!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I found the web site and trusted them, for the lower...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ulHalsey358 on 03/01/2024

I found the web site and trusted them, for the lower rates, and I prepaid for a car rental but upon showing at the Budget pick up counter they said the car had an issue and would not be ready until about 5 hours, they said to process the cancelation with Argus. Argus refused to refund me claiming I showed up late (no show), but the issue had nothing to do with the arrival time. Don't waste your money and rent with a formal company not them!!!

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Do not book with them !”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 114Stokes on 03/01/2024

I fell for their lower rate and prepaid for a car rental. When I showed up to pick up the car I was informed that no car was available for me because of an over booking. Argus, I still refusing to refund me claiming I never showed up (no show) despite me sending them all necessary proof that I showed up, including a document from their supplier stating that I was their and no cars were available. What a shame !!!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by navidmirgati on 28th March 2018 Report this content
can I extend this car through you?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by JoeJoska38 on 22nd January 2017 Report this content
Is there an extra charge when picking up your rental car at an European airport?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content Netloser Written on: 24/01/2017
Sometimes. It should tell you in the small-print. I found Argus charged me almost as much as the rental fee but it was still cheap overall. However the company I rented from was dire. They weren't even there to return it and I nearly missed my flight. So much for the convenience fee. Never again
Report this content XOEt Written on: 24/01/2017
As a regular user of Argus in Europe I can confirm that there is no extra charge when picking up the car, however, be aware that the actual car rental company will make a huge effort to "up-sell" you additional insurance at huge cost. Avis is worst for this sharp practice. Hertz will let you keep the basic insurance included with the Argos booking but will "reserve" €uro 5,000 on you credit card until the car is safely returned.
Report this content potur41 Written on: 25/01/2017
I can't say anything about this subject as i only used argus in USA.
Report this content KenBanbury Written on: 29/03/2018
I have never been charged extra for an airport pickup
See All Answers
Asked by exam on 2nd August 2016 Report this content
Has anyone else been ripped of by Argus car hire, if so what did you do about it? It's terrible what they have done to me.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (9)
Report this content ibraimsebastian Written on: 04/08/2016
Yes there is. I insisted with them about 3 months to refund my car reservation in Rome Italy that they refused to me.
Report this content Johan_in_Belgium Written on: 04/08/2016
No, I hired only 1 time a car in Crete (Greece), but all was OK. Some friends of mine have used Argus to hire a car in France and all was OK too... What have they done to you?
Report this content Simon__H Written on: 04/08/2016
I rented a car in Crete through Argus in October 2014 and had no real issues. I agree with another comment on this query that Argus is basically the broker and not the actual rental car company (ie Expedia for booking and Hertz for the car). It therefore very much depends on what has been done to you. Was it a missed booking by Argus or has the local and actual rental car company overcharged you? In my experience it usually is the car rental company that can miss things or charge you for things you weren't aware of. Both (broker and the actual company) should have firm complaints procedures in place. So go complain... Best of luck and happy travels, S
Report this content EvaLunar Written on: 04/08/2016
I must say I haven't had any issues renting with them in Spain, a year ago since I last booked. I always take out the extra insurance for gearbox, windows, etc. It is so worth it and you are fully covered.
Report this content Kevndeb Written on: 04/08/2016
I have never been ripped off by Argus car hire, the car hire I normally use through Argus is Thrifty always very reasonable
Report this content mikegled Written on: 05/08/2016
I have always found Argus to be an efficient and economical way to book hire cars. Never had any problems with either them or the actual hire company. They the car hire companies will try to get you to take out additional insurance but it is cheaper if you get either a yearly policy or buy it via internet before you get to the hire location (and through another company not the hirer!). Other than that, if you stick to the rules eg full tank on return etc there has never been any problems for me.
Report this content chrisanded Written on: 05/08/2016
Hi, Sorry to hear you had problems, but I can only speak as I find and the car supplied to me, although five years old with lots of dings in the bodywork was very well maintained mechanically and instead of the corolla I booked was in fact a very comfortable Camry at no extra charge. I found Argus good to deal with and I am sure they will look upon any complaints sympathetically if you go through the correct channels.
Report this content nazul Written on: 05/08/2016
I had no problem. But I don't see what was the thing they have done.
Report this content Netloser Written on: 24/01/2017
You don't say how you were ripped off. Hire car companies are renowned for adding unnecessary extras. Be one step ahead. Having said that I wouldn't use Argus again due lack of customer service and also a non-secure website.
See All Answers
Asked by Jenniferstirrup on 15th January 2015 Report this content
Are Argus reliable for car hire in Miami Florida?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content mikegled Written on: 16/01/2015
I have used Argus a couple of times but only for cars in Europe. My experience is that on price they are the cheapest and the process is straightforward. The actual car is down to the hire company at the destination so that choice remains with you. In general I have found no fault with Argus or the hire company used at the destination but only within Europe. Hope my comments help.
Report this content georgedv Written on: 16/01/2015
Argus are reliable, irrespective of where you want to rent a car, but do not confuse Argus, with the actual car rental company!
Report this content Simon__H Written on: 16/01/2015
Thanks for your question. Try for yourself on their website. (... yes, it does come up with Miami, FL ) Happy Renting!
Report this content TommyZulu Written on: 16/01/2015
As others have said, irrespective of the "broker" which is what Argus are, the final experience is with the hire company you end up with. The US is notorious for certain practices -- especially at airports -- of which you should be aware. Basically they will try in several ways to get you to "trade up" when you arrive at the outlet, probably because the reception staff are on commission! They may offer you a bigger car, or tell you that the car your booked is not available or even show you a picture of a tiny Fiat and tell you that's all they still have in stock. Don't fall for it! We had just such an experience! Also be careful about your personal security at Miami airport... Keep hold of valuables!
Report this content Danny Balloo Written on: 16/01/2015
Argus Car Hire are generally reliable, broadly speaking. We hired a car in Miami a few years ago and everything went well without a hitch. However recently we hired a car in San Diego and we experienced some problems where the partners they deal with let Argus Car Hire down. I was expecting to pick up my vehicle without any problems as everything was prepaid. It wasn' tbuntil my return home I found that I had been charged an insurance on my Credit card which never agreed to. I took it up with the "providing partner"and Argus Car Hire. Luckily the partner sorted this out whereas Argus Car Hire dragged their feet . For that reason , Argus Car Hire has gone down in my estimation ,any would only use them as a last resort in future.
Report this content exam Written on: 02/08/2016
They ripped me off and wont do anything about it. Don't go near them.
See All Answers
Asked by marion389 on 18th September 2014 Report this content
Thank you for your previous assistance. Do the prices quoted by Argus Car Hire include insurance, as they seem very much cheaper than the big rental companies, or do I have to arrange separate car insurance? Thank you!

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (11)
Report this content PollardFamily Written on: 18/09/2014
It does include insurance (with excess) - they will try and upwell you extra cover to remove the excess.
Report this content Rdongre Written on: 18/09/2014
It will include basic Insurance (quotations of all other rental agents also include this only). However it is always recommended to take a Bumper to Bumper cover including tyres and glasses as well and reduce the excess to zero. This amount depends on the category of car you rent and is payable at the rental desk at the time of picking up the car.
Report this content JonPlymouth Written on: 18/09/2014
Yes they include the same insurance as you normally get, it normally has a big excess depends on who the actually hire firm is they will tell you when you pick up; the exact amount; and offer to upgrade this to a lower excess for a price.
Report this content carlosazteca39 Written on: 18/09/2014
You have to pay insurance when you collect the car or pay a deposit refundable 500 or similar (refundable if you dont do any scracht or something wrong ) . I had bad experience but they refundme my money except a fee. Next time l will hire a car with them.
Report this content PAJulian Written on: 18/09/2014
You can always ask argus hire the question yourself. Depends where you are going. When I went to Spain I upgraded my insurance here in UK for about £30 for the year. Much cheaper than having the company try and get you to pay extra at the desk. When I went to US I made sure before I went that I was covered. It gives you peace of mind.
Report this content Jockdownsouth Written on: 18/09/2014
I used Argus in Orlando in February and will probably use them again next year, so it all worked out well for me. As already mentioned, the "full" insurance doesn't include wheels, tyres, windscreens, lost keys etc. This is standard industry practice. As also already mentioned, the rental company will try to sell you this insurance at the desk. We get a far cheaper deal by buying annual excess cover through insurance4carhire.
Report this content R1Rider Written on: 18/09/2014
It does but there's a fair bit that is deemed an 'excess', tyres, glass, under-body damage, etc., as mentioned by others. I did the booking/payment in the UK. The additional insurance cost to reduce/negate (can't quite remember!!!) was £60. Destination was Cyprus on a 4 door saloon/hatchback (4 adults + 1 child)
Report this content Kenucho Written on: 18/09/2014
Usually Basic insurance is mandatory everywhere you go and for any rental company you hire. The prices shown are from those rental companies. The deal you eventually make is ultimately with the car rental company. Argus is only a broker that helps you find the best fares. I guess those fares are so good because they bring thousands of customers to the car rental companies so they get (and we customers along with them) huge discounts off the standard prices.
Report this content Zorro1950 Written on: 19/09/2014
Hi marion389 Indeed the price does include insurance. The terms in a booking are very clear and explicit. They have a huge search engine which gets you best value. I have used them regularly over the past 7 years and each time it was good experience - not like a German one! I hope you enjoy the whole package. I think its good value, really clear and transparent and all contacts are great. Zorro1950
Report this content comsort Written on: 24/09/2014
It depends on the company that you eventuality actually hire from. In oz, the co had a $5500 excess! Argus also had it full tank of petrol but this firm gives you whatever is there and you have to return the same or more. Always buy excess car insurance before you go. Buyer beware!
Report this content mikegled Written on: 16/01/2015
I have only used Argus within Europe and all mine have included insurance but not collision waiver insurance ie if you have a bump or damage you have to pay around €1500. I have a yearly policy, found on the Internet for under £40,(you can get single trip policies as well) to cover the CDW insurance. Getting your own is a lot cheaper than getting it when you pick up the car. Hope this helps.
See All Answers
Asked by marion389 on 16th September 2014 Report this content
Is the Argus car hire office at Birmingham airport on the airport site or do I have to get a transfer for collection please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content ToscanaM Written on: 17/09/2014
You will receive a voucher from argus, which would say the company that your car will be rented from! You need to check with this company. I have never been at the Birmingham airport, I rent the cars from Budapest! I am sorry couldn't be a better help!
Report this content Chrisk76 Written on: 17/09/2014
Argus Car hire are agents for car hire companies. In order to pick up a car at Birmingham airport, you must go to their website, and choose a vehicle with an option "Airport Terminal Pickup". then you will get a voucher and with that you go to the car hire company's desk at Birmingham airport, and they will process your rental further.
Report this content Edmax70 Written on: 17/09/2014
Argus do not have an office at BHX, they will give you a voucher which will state the company that you will pick up your car from. Most of the companies are in the airport but occasionally you will have to leave the airport to collect. If you do not like the company they have offered you have the choice to change, but it may cost a little more.
Report this content Kenucho Written on: 17/09/2014
Argus is a broker for several rental companies. They search best prices and present them for you to select. Once you select and confirm your rent You will receive an email from cartrawler with the details of your rental, including the car rental company, its location, phone numbers, etc.
Report this content TommyZulu Written on: 19/09/2014
Argus Car Hire is a booking agent which makes deals with car rental firms on your behalf. They do not have an office at Birmingham Airport but some of the car hire companies which they use do have facilities on the airport itself. You need to check when you make an initial inquiry through Argus car hire whom they are booking you with and then check with that firm about the precise location of their facilities. As far as I know Avis, Budget, Hertz, Enterprise, Europcar, National/Alamo and Sixt all have booths in the airport terminal.
See All Answers
Asked by diddyd41 on 2nd August 2014 Report this content
I am travelling to the Dominican Republic on 22nd August and I am renting a car from Argus Car Hire. The policy states that I need an international drivers licence. Is my UK drivers licence sufficient or is the International Drivers licence a separate document?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (9)
Report this content wellkind Written on: 04/08/2014
You will receive the voucher from local service provider (Avis, Hertz etc.) You should write them and check directly. From my experience-I never was asked for the international driving license but I always take it with me in order to be on the safe side.
Report this content georgedv Written on: 04/08/2014
The international driver's licence is a separate document (you can order it online at the DVLA website). If it can help you, I have never used one, and I travelled in four continents. It's highly unlikely that UK licence would be refused, but I have no experience with the Dominican Republic.
Report this content lenlowrey Written on: 04/08/2014
Sorry but not been there so don't know
Report this content Rdongre Written on: 04/08/2014
If it says International Drivers license needed, I would recommend you to take one. Many of these Caribbean countries only recognise their license and USA license. My advise would be not risking it and taking an International License. Have a safe trip!!
Report this content 7886599 Written on: 04/08/2014
Beware that you'll not get any refund from Argus if you driver license will be refused at the desk and no one from Argus will help you. Argus support is useless absolutely - they never pick up the phone, so better to contact with car hire company directly and provide them copy of your current driver license to get confirmation it will be ok.
Report this content TerrySA Written on: 04/08/2014
I live in South Africa but lived in the UK for 20 years. We had to get International Licences from the UK to be able to drive here. The AA should be able to assist you or the actual service provider as Argus merely act as intermediaries to get the best deals. I have read a number of ghastly reports about road conditions, abuse of the rules of the road & inablilty of law enforcement to prevent such. Also I hear the police put you in jail if you are involved in an accident in the D.R. Recommend you google for information. Be alert & stay alive.
Report this content davidnam Written on: 07/08/2014
Your first query has been answered and the person is correct that the UK License may well be refused. I have driven in Europe and a UK License is OK there. I think different countries have different rules and also whether there is a Government to Government agreement for their Driving Licence on a reciprocal basis.
Report this content VicCruttenden Written on: 07/08/2014
The International Drivers Permit or IDP is a separate document and a bit like a passport. Some countries want them as well as your normal license. You can get them from the Post Office and you will need a passport sized photo and your license to get one.   Hope this helps.
Report this content TheresaandIan Written on: 07/08/2014
Yes your UK driving licence will be perfect, I have hired a car with Argus and they will definitely accept your UK Licence, make sue you take the counterpart i.e Paper one with you as well as the photo card
See All Answers
Asked by susannep on 6th April 2014 Report this content
I have read all the reviews on here and the general consensus is that it is a good company to deal with, I am looking at hiring a car in New Zealand for a period of 15 days. My question is has anyone had an accident of broken down and if so was there anything extra as far as expenses other than what is outlined on their website? Any answers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content ChuckyD Written on: 07/04/2014
Argus is an aggregator. They search prices across the advertised (and unadvertised prices) from car rental companies. They then offer this to you. They make their cut on facilitating this deal. In terms of doing this they are excellent in my opinion. The rental company you actually deal with on the ground will be whomever you have selected - so that will be where the company you rented from comes into play with breakdown assistance and the like. I don't know if Argus is involved in this area of business. You should write them and check directly.
Report this content Rdongre Written on: 07/04/2014
I have encountered such an incidence before in UK though with one of my colleague and I was in the car. We had a minor accident that involved few scratches on the bumper. We had purchased full insurance with zero excess so did not have to shell our money for repairs / policy excess. So I will always recommend you to purchase a full insurance cover that will include bumper to bumper. Also in case of such an event, always take photographs of the accident site on as is basis before moving your car onto the side. In some countries it is mandatory, but it will be advisable to have a police report before you return the car. Hope it helps. Cheers!!
Report this content trish.blain Written on: 07/04/2014
I usually go to spain so not sure about new zealand but I don't take out the extra insurance offered at the time of booking as it's through a third party when I get to Spain i take out the extra insurance at the desk which is around 40 to 50 euros it then covers you for everything with no hassel I usually have to pay for the fuel on arrival which is around 75 euros depending on the car also the cars are usually quite new i've never had any problem with any of them hope this helps Trish xx
Report this content trish.blain Written on: 07/04/2014
I usually go to spain so not sure about new zealand but I don't take out the extra insurance offered at the time of booking as it's through a third party when I get to Spain i take out the extra insurance at the desk which is around 40 to 50 euros it then covers you for everything with no hassel I usually have to pay for the fuel on arrival which is around 75 euros depending on the car also the cars are usually quite new i've never had any problem with any of them hope this helps Trish xx
Report this content trish.blain Written on: 07/04/2014
I usually go to spain so not sure about new zealand but I don't take out the extra insurance offered at the time of booking as it's through a third party when I get to Spain i take out the extra insurance at the desk which is around 40 to 50 euros it then covers you for everything with no hassel I usually have to pay for the fuel on arrival which is around 75 euros depending on the car also the cars are usually quite new i've never had any problem with any of them hope this helps Trish xx
Report this content Chelkama Written on: 07/04/2014
My experience with Argus Car Hire is that the cars given for hire are of such superior quality there will never be an incident of breaking down. However if you have an accident and the fault was not yours I am certain that Argus would stand behind you. If the accident is your fault then the accident insurance you have with Argus together with the travel insurance you take out would cover the costs but there would be an excess to pay. These you would be aware of before beginning your travelling. I made sure car hire and accident was included in our travel insurance and I accepted the access given to me by Argus when we rented the car. We had the car for just over 4 weeks and the experience was terrific. Good luck and you couldn't go to a better Hire Company to make your holiday complete.
Report this content Ayzner Written on: 09/04/2014
We booked a car in arguscarhire. My friend have broken his rent car. They took the car from Avis. When they gave back the car they paid the franchise (their insurance was with franchise 800 euro). But for these case we buy additional insurance (for cover franchise) on the site worldwideinsure. It's name - "car hire Excess insurance". When my friend paid franchise to Avis, they send all documents about accident to the worldwideinsure, and got money from this insurance company. All damage was on 6500 EUR. Avis took from our friends 800 EUR (franchise), and then the worldwideinsure company paid to my friends 800 EUR.
Report this content GabbleGob Written on: 16/04/2014
I find that the car hires we make with Argus come with insurance as part of the package so should be no problem at all. ~This is one of the benefits, don't have to pay any extras. Enjoy
See All Answers
Asked by Glabelle on 22nd March 2014 Report this content
How is the service in Croatia with Argus Car Hire and the prices? Thank you Gigi

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content wellkind Written on: 24/03/2014
Hi, what the answer you are waiting? The prices you can find on Argus's website. You should understand that your deal with Argus (or any other broker) will be almost finished at the moment when you'll get the voucher from your local car provider, for example Hertz, Avis or somebody else. They will provide you the service. You can check the prices at competitors as well, for example economycarrentals.com. They are also good as well as Argus.
Report this content pbwaltham Written on: 24/03/2014
Hi Gabrielle I am afraid I can't comment on their service in Croatia as I haven't used them there. All I can say is that they are very efficient and helpful in other countries. So I would say that it should carry over to Croatia. Let me know how you get on. Regards PB Waltham
Report this content TerrySA Written on: 24/03/2014
Hello Greetings from South Africa..... Never been to Croatia but have used Argus on many occasions to provide quotes in South Africa, UK & Europe. They invariably get a better price than if you deal with the car rental company directly. I've also tested other "brokers" but Argus always seem to get the most competitive rates from Avis/Hertz/Europcar etc & I've always found them to be quick & efficient. Good luck & enjoy your trip, I hear it's a beautiful country. 
Report this content DeanHolmes Written on: 24/03/2014
Giabelle, I haven't used the service in Croatia but I can say that if you use the website the prices are readily available. They use all of the top car hire companies and I haven't ever had a problem. I have used them in four different countries. They are simple to book with and as long as you take your voucher, your licence and credit you used to book you will be fine.
Report this content Chrisk76 Written on: 24/03/2014
Prices are ok in Croatia, which means that not as high as in Ireland but not as low as in Turkey. Just right in the sweet middle. Saying that I think that they are very affordable.
Report this content Alsy1 Written on: 24/03/2014
We didn't hire in Croatia but have in other countries and they were completely reliable. I would definitely use them again.
Report this content Rdongre Written on: 25/03/2014
Hi Glabelle, I haven't used the service in Croatia per say but Argus is a booking engine and not a car rental agent. They have tie ups with car rental agents in different countries. But i am sure they will offer the best price as per my experience. Cheers!! Rahul.
Report this content keligh Written on: 25/03/2014
argus car hire is just a search engine.....it gives you options to hire a wide range of cars from a wide range of companies..but you wont know the company until you pay.... your age is a very big factor..in croatia i see you must be over 21y to hire a car with out having a surcharge...if you book with argus and you dont like the car company you get you can cancel the contract 48h before the hire period..if you want one of the main players like hertz or avis or budget then its best to ring argus themselves and ask how much a car with these companies will be...i recommend book with a main player especially in young countries like croatia...you can book it by phone with your credit card.. remember argus is not a car hire company..they only search for the cheapest car available..the cheapest car may not be what you need...for me i put service number 1 on my list...that's why i stick with the main players..you get a cheap car with a Roles Royce service.i hope this helps you
See All Answers
Asked by Kelsofoy on 13th March 2014 Report this content
Myself and 4 friends will be travelling from Sydney up North to Cairns for 3 weeks from the end of April and were looking for a car. As there is 5 of us and 5 cases we were looking for quite a large car. And to collect from Sydney and return in Cairns. We were just wondering is this was possible? We are ages between 21-23 and 4 out of 5 of us hold full international driving licenses. Thanks. 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content justynabilda Written on: 14/03/2014
Hi, We rented 2 cars from Argus in Munich. We had luggage's and skis. We had a Peugeot 508 estate, Ford Mondeo estate has a large boot too, this was the car or similar we were going for. Very large boot, plenty space and nice to drive. Hope that will help you. Good Luck
Report this content Sophiew25 Written on: 14/03/2014
You can hire a camery or Holden commodore - big car that holds 5 people comfortably. Just check their return car policy as you will be leaving the car in a different state. Good luck - exciting drive - can highly recommend Argus Car Hire - great rates
Report this content uobagain Written on: 14/03/2014
Have used Argus a couple of times in Europe and it was "no hassle" at all. Look to book a car in Italy for September picking up at Brindisi and dropping off at one of the Sicily airports and that looks easy to arrange. Was in OZ about 5 years ago and used Bayswater Car Hire in both Perth and Sydney. All the cars appeared to be white Toyotas with "no birds" logo on drivers door which we found quite amusing. Know they have other branches but not sure if there is one on Cairns
Report this content barwick19 Written on: 14/03/2014
We did the same journey but in reverse. No problem at all with the hire, but would suggest that you get quite a sturdy car 4WD if possible, as the road, north of Brisbane, which is the only road to Cairns, is not the best, and around the Tully area can flood.
Report this content TerrySA Written on: 14/03/2014
Notwithstanding the fact that I live on the other side of the world in South Africa I can most certainly attest to is Argus's excellent service in SA & UK. I recommend the enquirer go onto Argus's website where he can fill in the details with an option to drop off in another location and then he can choose a suitable vehicle, easy peasy. They offer pick up in Sydney & drop off in Cairns but, of course I didn't know exact locations nor dates so price may vary but a Nissan X Trail is offered for 21 days for AUD2033 (through Europcar). Their prices are invariably cheaper than booking directly with the rental car company. Enjoy your trip!
Report this content DGCRoadguy Written on: 14/03/2014
I am not sure about your specific plans, but I should comment about a few things that you should know. #1 I am not sure where you are from, but driving from Sydney to Cairns and back is not a simple trip. If you are from North America or Europe, you would be expecting large, multi lane roads. They do not exist. The trip to Brisbane alone is 10 - 12 hours on mostly 2 lane road. North of Brisbane, once you are past the sunshine coast is not a great place to drive if you are interested in getting to your destination. Plan a few days to drive so that you are not ruined from the trip and fighting amongst yourselves. 2/ A lot of rental companies have restrictions on people under 25 renting. Check in with them as they will have a separate rate and insurance requirements. You may find it cheaper to fly then rent and you will spend more time up in CAirns and Byron bay. (go there as well as the dantree rainforest).. If you want more details and better answers, email me, we are world travelers and can offer our version of advice. All the best and safe travels.
See All Answers
Asked by abundy on 14th December 2013 Report this content
I want to hire a car for 30-35 days in USA. Can I do this with Argus? A friend hired for over 30 days and had to convert to 2 hires. I would like to hire at LAX airport and return to LAX airport; but I could hire a LAX airport and extend the hire at LAS to suit my needs. Is this possible?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview