Kensington Mortgages Reviews - www.kmc.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
20% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Kensington Mortgages www.kmc.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Kensington Mortgages www.kmc.co.uk

Kensington Mortgages www.kmc.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“This lender is not worthy of being allowed to lend....”

Written on: 11/10/2022 by 291Loomis (1 review written)

This lender is not worthy of being allowed to lend. They were fined by the FSA (now FCA) and have very dubious practises

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not interested ”

Written on: 27/07/2022 by xmMorrison462 (1 review written)

Their website says if you think you are going to have a problem making a payment to give them a call! Well I did just that and the experience was awful. They ask a million questions about every penny of your financial situation, I spent neat an hour on the phone with a girl, who seemed to be applying some kind of mathematical formula to the situation and not treating each case on merit and using common sense. Kensington really need to look at how they deal with people. I wish I had never phoned them, because I am no further forward. Next time I won’t bother!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“An utter disgrace with woeful and dismal administration.”

Written on: 11/04/2022 by hfitzpatrick (1 review written)

Good grief, so painfully slow and torturous! You send all the information off, then a week later they come back and ask for a clarification, which you provide. Then at the end of the following week they ask for some bit of paperwork, like a bill with your name and address on, which you have to post to them. Then they come back and ask for your HR department email address for a work reference. They take your money quick enough, but drag the process out with chronically poor administration. I think the idea is if they are poor enough at getting to the end of the process you will either give up or the vendors sell to someone else and they have taken your fee without any risk. Would I recommend them to a friend? I wouldn't recommend KMC to my worst enemy!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Couldnt be any worse”

Written on: 29/11/2021 by RhiannaJacobs452 (1 review written)

Not fit for purpose. Embarrassingly slow and incredibly stressful experience. Took many weeks longer than it should for a sale with no chains at either end. Genuinely shocking. Stay away for the good of your health.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Absolutely fantastic ”

Written on: 12/09/2021 by Gilly498 (1 review written)

My credit rating was rubbish after years of bad spending in my 20’s. My mortgage broker was completely honest and thought I had no chance of a mortgage but Kensington proved her wrong, and we both ended up crying with excitement when I got the offer! Yes, they asked for a lot of information but that’s understandable as I was a high risk borrower. They were fantastic during lockdown when I needed an unexpected payment break, the staff I spoke with were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I can’t praise them highly enough. The rate is higher than a normal high street lender, but that’s understandable as I’m a high risk borrower, and none of the high street lenders would consider me. I wouldn’t have my beautiful home if it weren’t for Kensington.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lauren5184's Response to Gilly498's Review

Written on: 25/01/2022

Hi this sounds like my case with my bad adverse. Could I ask what sort of time scale you did it in? I put full application in on Friday.
Heard nothing as of yet.

Also what sort of extra docs or questions did they ask

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gilly498's reply to Lauren5184's Comment

Written on: 26/01/2022

Hi, my mortgage broker submitted the application on 24 July, and I had the mortgage offer on 13 Aug. They came back about 3 times asking for more info, like proper evidence of premium bonds I’d cashed in for the house deposit as I’d only sent screenshots; I had to explain a large credit on my bank statement; I had to explain some payments and deductions on my payslips; I had to agree to pay off a £700 credit card debt by completion; and a few other small questions. I honestly haven’t got a bad word to say about them. I’ve stayed with them even tho the interest rate is a bit higher because they’ve been so good. Hope that helps :)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mortgageadvise's reply to Gilly498's Comment

Written on: 14/03/2022

Hi, did they check your employment status before closing the deal?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“1 Star because I couldn’t rate lower”

Written on: 09/08/2021 by Flanaganvf435 (1 review written)

1 Star because I couldn't rate lower. AVOID! Our application took over 2 months to then be declined. We provided Kensington with our circumstances and initially they accepted the DIP to then apply for the full mortgage application. Full mortgage application submitted by the broker with exact same details to then be rejected on the same basis (after over 2 months) not accepting our debt balance clearly explained from the beginning. We've lost our reservation of the plot due to their lengthy process. Kensington promised to come back within 3 working days but this would always be over weekends, therefore 5 days, delaying weeks over weeks on the purchase. The developer was chasing us with some movements and asked if at least valuation could have been instructed, in order to not have reservation cancelled, but Kensington didn't want to know about it. Kensington came back with the same requests over an over again even tho, documents and details were submitted promptly. Together with the plot reservation we also had our Authority to Proceed cancelled and the plot was back on the market. We then decided to apply with a different lender similar to Kensington and it's taken them 2 week from DIP to Mortgage offer, we now have our reservation back and looking to re apply for the ATP. All this stress could have been avoided if we only decided to apply with someone else and pay the arrangement fees. £500 is not worth the stress. If you see this review, please carefully consider your application and look somewhere else.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Lender Ever”

Written on: 19/04/2021 by Violetb187 (1 review written)

I had a terrible experience dealing with this lender. I applied resi mortgage for one of my clients in October 2020. All information was submitted to them. Underwriter kept checking for each and every information. They even confirmed from the landlord if the client has been paying rent in few years back. They wanted to have three months worth of money in the bank for at-least a month which my client had. After five months' stressful and depressing process, they suddenly declined the case. I only found about the decline when I logged in the portal. I will advised everyone whether a retail client or broker to stay away from this lender if you want to look after your mental health. Underwriters of Kensington takes pleasures in vexing their clients.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not as promised”

Written on: 29/08/2019 by Valerie22 (1 review written)

I was called on the 21.08 by Enact, Kensington's Solicitors to confirm that my re-mortgage would complete on the 29.08 and funds available in accounts by 4pm. This however is not the case. I have today (29.08) been called by Kensington's solicitors Enact that the mortgage has been confirmed for release on the 02.09. At this point I informed them that I have a call on the 21.08 confirming today (29.08) as the completion date, so what is happening. At this point Enact put me on hold to find out whats going on, expecting me to be happy with the completion date, errrr read your notes!!! They then came back to confirm as I own both the freehold and leasehold they were awaiting the valuer to come back and confirm that the value he put on the property was still correct (I only bought it 2 years ago and had a valuation on it!) Which I told them I could provide! To be told this on the day you expect the re-mortgage to go through is not goo enough. When I questioned this with Enact they told me that I would need to speak to Kensington direct. I did this and Kensington told me they dont deal with the public and I need to go through Enact!!!! I mean come on!!! As you can imagine enact are sticking to what Kensington have told them, even though this is no fault of my own. This now means that I am now having to shift funds around to make sure that there is sufficient funds in my account for my existing mortgage payment to be taken, so this does not effect my credit rating, so that it can then be refunded to me withing 5-7 working days. I ask why should I be out of pocket for something that they have over looked. Overall I am not impressed and as soon as I can re-mortgage with another lender without being penalized this is what I am already looking into. Not impressed with the service received from either Kensington or their solicitors Enact. There is a certain reason why people need to use these lenders and not many would be in a situation where I am, where I can transfer funds, meaning that it would affect their credit rating in a negative way, which is why you have to go to these lenders in the first place. Kensington need to be more on the ball, rather than trying to affect people in a negative way. Cant wait to move lenders already!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Loan Sharks ... praying on the already vulnerable”

Written on: 17/04/2019 by Rebekahv1970 (1 review written)

After divorcing and with some adverse credit, my mortgage broker recommended the Kensington to take out a mortgage with. Their rates were a higher than the more reputable lenders but having worked out my finances, with two children and working full-time, I thought I would be fine covering the monthly repayments. However within three months of moving into my new home I received a letter from a company called Mortgages No 6 who had apparently had .. " bought" my account/mortgage from the Kensington, telling me I had to make my repayments through them as my now lender. Their letter informed me that my payments had now increased, by an additional £45.00 pm! With no explanation other than they had now taken over from Kensington. I was mortified. I could just about make my repayments of approx. £700 pm with Kensington and now this had increased to £745.00. I telephoned the company but got nowhere basically. I kept getting told if I was in difficulty I needed to seek help etc. After struggling with the additional increase for 2 months I failed to meet the third month in full. I received a letter advising they had now placed additional interest on the loan and again, my mortgage repayments had increased again! I was in a state. Within 6 months the loan was increasing and spiralling out of control, through no fault of my own. Again after numerous phone calls asking why I had been switched to a different lender within three months of moving in, I was given no explanation and advised to seek legal advice. I was struggling to feed my children, pay other bills and keep the roof over our heads. I was very soon receiving threatening letters for repossession and demands for accumulating arrears due to the increase. I did not know where to turn until I took a few hours off from work and went to the Citizens Advice with my paperwork. They kindly took the matter out of my hands and indeed, stopped the repossession proceedings as the increase was deemed to be unfair and unjustified. The CAB successfully had my payments reduced significantly to more manageable monthly instalments. I almost lost my home, my credit was affected and the whole experience left myself and my family in emotional turmoil and distress. Surely this is not legal. Organisations can prey on people who are clearly struggling, with some adverse credit and seize upon their vulnerability! Absolutely disgusting that such organisations are allowed to operate and take innocent and unsuspecting people for every penny they have!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Believeinkarma's Comment

Written on: 17/08/2019

I am awaiting a Financial Ombudsman Service investigation decision from Kensington Mortgage Company. I have been wanting to apply to the Financial Ombudsman Service for years and Kensington Mortgage Company responded to my complaint in writing stating I was not an eligible complainant to the FOS and The Financial Conduct Authority would not allow them to investigate my complaints about hidden, unfair and excessive charges. On one day alone back in 2013 Kensington Mortgage Company charged the account £17,612. In one year 2013-14 the total charges added to the account was over £40,000. I could only just about manage the mortgage and as a lone parent and survivor of domestic and economic abuse from my ex partner, but could not afford to pay hidden and unknown charges indefinitely, especially as they were occurring despite paying the agreed monthly mortgage amount.

In 2019 it was confirmed that I was an eligible complainant to the FOS under FCA rules and had been all along and my concerns should have been addressed back in 2014. It was also confirmed that Kensington Mortgage Company had no right to decide and tell me or the Court who was dealing with possession proceedings that the Financial Ombudsman Service had refused to help me and if the Court was minded to order that they did, they would appeal as the Court had no jurisdiction to force the FOS to consider my complaints.

That turned out to be lies and again both myself and the Court were misinformed. (There are now misconduct complaints investigations by the Bar Standards Board for the Radcliffe Chambers Barrister that passed on the incorrect information to the Judge, as well as Solicitor Regulation Authority Complaints against the Denton’s Solicitors Lawyer and Paul Heeley Kensington Mortgage Company’s own in house Senior Lawyer for their parts in misinforming the Courts) it turns out the FOS had written to Kensington Mortgage Company prior to the Court hearings informing Kensington Mortgage Company Litigation Team that my Complaints were with them, going to be investigated, I was eligible to complain and most importantly to please hold off on any eviction or repossession proceedings. Of course the Solicitors and Barrister being investigated for misconduct, forgot to tell the Judge that bit, even though he asked these questions outright. Because the Court was likely to have said that the repossession proceedings could be put on hold to allow a fair investigation by the FOS,,as the FOS also requested, these lawyers wanted a repossession so lied. I was a litigant in person so they thought I would never fight on and investigate until I found the truth, especially after I lost my home. Now the FOS investigation is tasked with putting me back to the position I would have been, had the lies and errors not occurred.

So if a lender ever writes and says you are not eligible to complain to the FOS, they are lying. Under FCA DISP Rules 1.4 they must merely inform you that you can bring a complaint to the FOS and provide a leaflet on how to complain to the FOS. It is the FOS who decides whether or not someone is eligible to complain and if they will or not. Any lender like Kensington Mortgage Company who tries to interfere with this process to help consumers knows they have done something that is wrong.

It has been 1 year 2 months since I first complained to Kensington Mortgage Company and 8 months since I was deemed in jurisdiction by the FOS and my complaint started. The FOS have asked Kensington Mortgage Company if they wish to make a settlement for their actions before the long FOS investigation concludes and Kensington Mortgage Company have said no.

However, even though I have started the complaints process to the legal regulatory authorities about the Solicitors and Barrister, Kensington Mortgage Company appear to let them be thrown under the bus. I was told to even save the reputation and careers of their legal team they might offer to settle, they have not.

I lost everything my home, much of my belongings and my home was sold at a massive undervalue leaving me with nothing. But these methods adopted by Kensington Mortgage Company and their Lawyers are tried and tested and need to be exposed so they don’t continue pulling the wool over the eyes of the Court, the Financial Conduct Authority and the public to get repossessions. So I know my case involves so much evidence that proves Kensington Mortgage Company acted intentionally wrong, this will be highlighted and hopefully prevent other families and children being made homeless.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Nothview Group who own Kensington need investigating”

Written on: 15/12/2018 by 423McCabe (1 review written)

Dear xxx, The Treasury Committee and The Financial Conduct Authority, I would like to formally draw your attention to concerns I have, been transparent about and already raised directly to Northview Group CEO, who own Kensington Mortgage Company. I believe an investigation is required and suspect it will find that a large number of borrowers who have experienced some form of inappropriate action, suffering material financial distress as a result of Northview Group/Kensington Mortgage Company’s conduct. I say this because Blemain Finance and Kensington Mortgages were the most complained about mortgage companies according to the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA). The regulator’s latest data release covering the second half of 2017 showed that Blemain received 43.1 and Kensington 41.1 complaints per 1,000 outstanding balances. I suspect Northview Group/ KMC have focused on high profits through made-up fees, high interest rates, and the acquisition of equity and property. From my own experiences and what I have read in online forums, I suspect an investigation and a report from experts such as Promontory is overdue and desperately required. Promontory would be able to provide a report possibly showing evidence of “endemic” misbehaviour by KMC/Northview Group staff. In my case I believe charging £17,612.98 of Solicitors Costs in 1 day for a hearing that could only yield Northview Group £1405, at most, and over £40,000 of charges in one year, is an example of I suspect several instances were their staff follow practices that other lenders have been found pick a number, any number’ when deciding what fees to charge struggling borrowers. Inappropriate actions appear not to be addressed when challenged, even when requests are made to the most senior level. I personally have written to CEO of Northview Group. The response is “no comment” when pushed to provide adequate and accurate responses. It appears from online forums that responses are usually not given and if they are, they are inaccurate and do not actually address borrowers concerns. I was given untrue responses, that did not support the evidence I was able to provide. Once challenged the venom and distain increases. Northview Group staff have faced various descriptions in the reviews below. I can relate to all of their bad and distressing experiences others face. I am no CEO, but I am a human being and if this were my company, I would feel ashamed. It seems they know eviction, refusing to allow people back into their homes and threatening to dispose of belongings is their mission. I have made over 100 requests to resolve my complaints amicably - all were ignored. The CEO refuses to respond and hides behind others. This is indicative of an unprofessional culture that set little store by the interests of borrowers. However, another reason, especially when errors are made as I highlighted, could be due to a lack of training, a high turnover of staff and a lack of job satisfaction. I received a phone call from a ex disgruntled member of KMC staff, who warned me that I was being charged what he described as “Monopoly money” and made up charges. I suspect this is true in regards to Solicitors costs. A report would be needed into KMC/Northview Group and it’s Solicitors (such as Walker Morris) to be made to disclose actual invoices charged for Solicitors Costs. I have asked Walker Morris Solicitors to confirm and breakdown their charges. They have been conspicuous by their evasiveness to confirm or deny if the Solicitors Costs, passed on to borrowers by Northview Group/ KMC are reflective of what Walker Morris actually invoiced. I suspect a few thousand pounds here and there was added on top by Northview Group. I refer to an online post of a current Northview Group employee on indeed.co.uk reviews: “Redress Agent (Current Employee) – Maidenhead, Berkshire – 19 August 2018 Some managers are lovely and understanding, the job as a Redress Agent requires a lot of various skills and personally the salary should be higher, you take calls, deal with complaints, get a wider knowledge of redress but the trainers aren't very good. It's easy to make mistakes because of the lack of training taking place. When i joined the company I was out on the floor for a month doing the role before doing my training which is why mistakes were made and isn't ideal but it happens. There are a lot of ways to progress further with the right help. The role drains me and isn't as enjoyable as anticipated.” If employees are dealing with customers prior to training, then it is no wonder such errors are made. Again, effective leadership should identify such issues and again I feel the person at Northview could benefit from a report addressing this. I received a response dated 12/12/18, every paragraph contain something that I could prove was factually incorrect. I don’t know if this was incompetence, a desire to mislead or an untrained new employee. When I wrote to the CEO challenging the inaccuracy of the response which demonstrated the errors, I got a rude email from a man threatening me. It is of no surprise that in August 2018 Which? Scored KMC 23rd out of 23 Lenders. Which?'s rating for customer satisfaction, based on feedback from real customers. The score is made up of a customer's overall satisfaction with the brand, and how likely they are to recommend that brand. KMC came last/ bottom of the table. There merest of Google searches highlights the same issues over and over again. Nothing has changed since KMC were fined in 2010. I write specifically to the Treasury Committee as The Treasury committee published the full unredacted report into Royal Bank of Scotland’s “disgraceful” treatment of struggling small businesses that came to it for financial assistance in the wake of the banking crisis. The influential group of MPs released the complete report after a protracted stand-off with City watchdog the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), which had published only a redacted version. The public deserves an investigation, the truth, the truth to be published and Financial Institution perpetrators heavily fined, in the manner RBS had to set aside £400 million. “The overarching priority at all levels of GRG was not the health and strength of customers, but the generation of income for RBS, through made-up fees, high interest rates, and the acquisition of equity and property.” I have confirmation that the CEO has received my emails and I know I have given him every opportunity to respond to me, all I got was someone else advising that he will make no comment - I therefore feel as the online review examples during the CEO's reign should force him to resign and The FCA and overhauled staff at Northview Group to finally consider how ordinary people are treated. Northview Group clearly feel ordinary people don’t matter and can be bullied. I believe ordinary people like me and those in the reviews below should have a voice. I hope a report by experts like Promontory would force them to redress all those who have suffered. I am very willing to be called before the Treasury Committee to give evidence, to provide all evidence of my treatment to any report author, regulatory body or even the CEO, if he decides he wants to take the plights of ordinary people seriously. Being a domestic and financial abuse victim was traumatic for me and my children, however the treatment we received from Northview Group staff and was far worse. I will happily update the Committee, any report author or regulatory organisation, or the media if I get any response or progress and if the CEO ever does have the common decency to acknowledge or respond personally to my requests. I do feel that based on the horrific experiences I have read in reviews by victims and staff online, it was misjudged if Teresa May to open the Headquarters of Northview Group/Kensington Mortgage Company. I suspect she may not have got involved had she known. But RBS are a Government owned bank and they were heavily fined for their unfair treatment of borrowers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★★★★★

“Help to Buy Mortgage”

Written on: 20/07/2018 by Robertsonfa245 (1 review written)

We recently had a mortgage to Kensington using the government help to buy scheme. We used a broker who was fantastic. They had never used Kensington before so they collected everything asked for up front and submitted everything all together. Our mortgage was approved in less than 3 weeks and due to delays with the new build property we bought the mortgage was extended. We are now living in our new house and I have been very happy with the process with Kensington. We had a bad financial past so we are grateful for companies like Kensington who have helped me get the house I dreamed of

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Laurat2010's Comment

Written on: 15/09/2018

Hi did they call your employer before completion? We are buying a new build and due to complete in 2 weeks but they have now 're issued the offer with more special conditions one of which asking for new home and business numbers? Not sure if this means they will be calling our employer thanks

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute Time wasters!!”

Written on: 12/02/2018 by Underwood1986 (1 review written)

All this company does is take your money and ask for more and more information from you.. never with the intentions of actually giving you a mortgage! I would never recommend these to ANYONE! STAY AWAY! THEIR STAFF ARE NOTHING BUT RUDE WHEN DEALING WITH CUSTOMERS OVER THE PHONE! Wasting peoples time! disgusting!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY AWAY THEY ARE A NITEMARE ..”

Written on: 09/02/2018

Only Borrowed £30,000 I now Owe over £50 ,000 With Being ill and Constant charges for Letters and Them sending out Advisors .Then they send a Letter to say I refuse to see them More Charges But I can't see them as I was in Hospitial So More Charges Total Nitemare Wish I could Win the Lottery and Pay them Off as I've had nothing but Misery off them last 8 Years Never Again .Please Don't use them as The Staff are So ignorant and cut throat No compassion at all and There are far better Deals on the Market than them ..They really need to take A Customer Service Course .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Go somewhere else, so un-Proffesional.”

Written on: 12/12/2017 by Crabtree37 (1 review written)

Paid off my mortgage with a lump sum of nearly £12000 pounds with a direct bank transfer, only to have them place that money into a holding account because they wanted to know where I got that money came from ? Whilst this was happening, they continued to take a direct debit from my account for the mortgage, even though I had paid it off. I now have to send them proof of where I got the money to pay off my mortgage as it is "their policy" to not clear the mortgage until I can "prove" where the money came from. What business is it of theirs where I got the money from? It came from my DEAD MOTHER AND FATHERS WILL.TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE. Steer clear of this company. Ive made a formal complaint to the Financial Ombudsman, and I'm also asking the ombudsman to look into how I was sold the mortgage as I believe it may have been mis-sold to me in the first place.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tracyg4's Comment

Written on: 14/12/2017

my sister having problems with this company we have to pay back all money outstanding as they wont extend morgage im paying some and we are hoping to get confirmation from another finance company that they will give them a morgage and they have asked me to provide evidence of where my money is coming from how did you do this. Im nervous of paying this money as they wont seem to put anything in writing. did you report them

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jacktgelab's Comment

Written on: 08/05/2019

Did similar thing to me.
I didn’t choose them, they bought my mortgage from GMAC. Buy to let. I had a lease in place for many years with a charity for the property. When they became my lender they assured me nothing would change. Mmmm that was reneged on...refused to let my tenants renew their lease....thereby putting me in danger of litigation from my tenants, they would have to leave the property, sue me etc. Kensington wouldn’t budge, my solicitor kept writing to them proving they’d made a mistake. Finally I paid off the mortgage in several lump sums, I would’ve probably gone bankrupt had my tenants sued me. First payment I sent to Kensington was £25K, they phoned my office very rudely demanding to know where the money came from. I told them it was none of their damned business, notwithstanding it was on a company cheque from my own hotel

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 1
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Over charge you and staff very nasty”

Written on: 25/10/2017 by 361Donahue (1 review written)

Had a mortgage with them not very helpful and staff are nasty They don't give a sxxx about you I wouldn't recommend them to anyone I hope karma comes round to them one day

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 1
★☆☆☆☆

“ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 20/10/2017 by LeonardoHunter1962 (1 review written)

They are the slowest thing since london discovered Gin. The process has taken so many years off my life I wont live another 25 years to pay off the mortgage. We were offered another provider but we chose these as the interest rate made the payments £30 less. At this stage I would gladly pay that in order to have a provider that gave a stuff about the poor..... person being put through the mill. Avoid Avoid Avoid. Will get you there at some point in the far and dismal future - but is not worth the greys.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“very bad service ”

Written on: 09/09/2017 by Pearsondz345 (1 review written)

they are the worst company I no all the people you speak to read of a script ask anything of the script they have not got a clue I would not recommend this company at all

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't go near this company !!!”

Written on: 20/07/2017 by vfFloyd455 (1 review written)

Like other reviews about Kensington we had a similar experience. Started off ok in the beginning, quick to send out the Agreement in principle but when it came to proceeding with house purchase that was when it became very frustrating, they were continuously asking for paperwork that they had already had, long delays due to them being ' so busy with mortgage applications ' ? , due to delays ( on their part) the paperwork would then be out of date so had to resend more and more stuff and got nowhere very fast. Mortgage broker worked very hard on our behalf but even he was frustrated with the way they operated. If you had to ring the company direct the staff answering the phones were obviously in the wrong job and were rude and uninterested. I would advise anyone thinking of using this company to avoid, we wasted 6 months with them and then lost the house we were buying due to the length of time that was wasted. Very bad experience!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★☆☆☆☆

“miserable dismal company”

Written on: 08/07/2017

cannot understand why anyone would want anything to do with this miserable, dismal company, let alone work for them as one of their pointless, unhelpful, ill trained, customer service staff. no doubt nice, normal people until they step through the doors of this outfit and waste their lives being one of their robotic lackeys. to all kensington staff - get a life, don't waste it serving this awful outfit. you surely cannot be that desperate for a job! will not answer a direct question concerning their "penalty" for overpaying mortgage. having paid them £ thousands in interest charges we now want to pay off our mortgage by overpaying but object to paying their "admin charge" for doing so. will not make their policy clear and will not put it in writing. - why not? we have made successive unresolved complaints about their utterly woeful customer service. get passed around like a parcel at a party and unable to speak to anyone who is in charge or will answer perfectly reasonable questions about their one sided, unfair self interested policies. their apology for customer service seems only to exist to in the cause of serving kensington's greed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Kensington morgage company AVOID ”

Written on: 11/04/2017 by madfrank (1 review written)

Avoid this company. Ge money sold mortgage on to the Kensington, and since then I have had nothing but problems they cancelled the direct debit and then hounded me to pay extortionate unpaid direct debit fees they instructed solicitors and was visiting an incorrect address? never made contact at the mortgage address so had no idea what was going on . The Kensington tried to get me to pay £1000 for there solicitors fees finally got them to back down and received a letter of apology, all good you think no you wont be that lucky. I requested mortgage redemption statement as I wished to have no further dealing with them the first one was incorrect and I have been battling with them for 8 months now to send out a new one delay delay delay in the mean time taking payment each month. I have asked them if I could request a meeting with someone from there offices so that I could show them my file and resolve any issues I was told no we don't meet there customers that's strange I wonder why! I have now had to instruct my solicitor to deal with them. There is no customer service even there own complaints department are not interested and will tell you that the head of the complaints department has left that you have been writing to only later to find out he's still the head of the complaints department. All they ever say on the telephone is we understand your frustration or they turn it round and say things like what would you like from this call today and still don't action even the most simple thing. There customer service is dismal beyond belief they are trained to listen to every word you say and to forensically try to distort your complaint, they will treat you like a common criminal even when trying to pay your next mortgage payment via the telephone, these people will put up any barrier they can in order to either charge you for anything they can or to steel your home, Please Please DO NOT use the Kensington. Read the reviews online it will horrify you there the worst mortgage company ever total gangsters who act more like debt collectors I have never dealt with a company like this words can not describe them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jacktgelab's Response to madfrank's Review

Written on: 09/05/2019

Totally agree with you on this, took over my G MAC Mortgage, as soon as the trouble started I instructed my solicitor, she was brilliant....only way to go with them, impossible to fight them as an individual

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
Read 1 Comment

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by bridgetholden on 3rd April 2018 Report this content
I asked to add my partner to the mortgage which Kensington bought from GE Home lending, but they tell me they don't have that facility on my mortgage. What can I do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Sheilabostock on 18th November 2015 Report this content
What age limit do they go up to?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Kindlysun on 9th November 2015 Report this content
My mortgage has been transferd to Kensington from GE. Will my monthly installment stay the same and will what I currently owe on the mortgage stay the same?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview