Post Office Personal Loan Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
11% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Speed of Application

  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Post Office Personal Loan - Ask a question now

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Car Loan Experience”

Written on: 30/11/2022 by Frazier245 (1 review written)

Terrible experience. I applied for a car finance loan online, was approved, signed the loan agreement online, and received a congratulatory email from the Post Office advising me to expect to receive the funds within two working days. After two days had passed I called the Post Office to follow up and they told me that the loan had unfortunately been declined! I was shocked. My credit rating is excellent, my record spotless, and the loan was easily affordable. I thought that the Post Office email informing me that the loan had been approved was misleading and is poor practice. On the phone the Post Office staff did not tell me why the loan had been declined at such a late stage. They said that they’d sent an explanatory letter in the post (even though the rest of the application process was online); a letter which has still not arrived. They advised me to check my statutory credit reports from the various ratings agencies and with the agency CIFAS. I’ve since done this and there are no flags and no errors. I’m bewildered by the Post Office’s processes and feel extremely let down by their slow and poor communication. This has put us in a difficult position with respect to the car purchase - which may now fall through - and has caused us a great deal of unnecessary stress.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“legit money from dark web i made my withdrawal they...”

Written on: 09/12/2021 by fisheralfred867 (1 review written)

they are the best i can recommend for you i got real funds from darkwebprogrammer @ gmail.com they are the best i can recommend for you i got real funds from darkwebprogrammer @ gmail. com they are the best i can recommend for you i got real funds from darkwebprogrammer @ gmail. com

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★☆☆

“Amended review from 1 - 4 stars”

Written on: 27/07/2021 by 6eeman (1 review written)

Following our previous 1 star review we were subsequently provided with the funds as per the original quoted rate so it would be only fair to update our previous review on that basis as there does not appear to be a way to edit reviews on this site. Unfortunately, following us providing all the requested info it actually took 5 weeks for the loan to be approved and funds transferred the following week. In th meantime with no communication or indication for whether we would actually get the loan we took out finance elsewhere and ended up having to pay this off with the cheaper loan form Pst Office. If you get approved on the lower rates well done but turnaround times and communication should be much much better. 16 July 2021 Recommended by experian following a search on my my partners credit report which is near in excellent score. Accepted in principal and given a rate of 3.1% which we were also offered form other lenders so am so disappointed we went with Post Office who we now know are only a broker for the Bank of Ireland. We were asked for further income proof which was duly provided and now three weeks later and numerous phone calls we are still told its with the underwriters. We will go elsewhere but now with a full hit on our credit file, do this bank actually give anyone a loan or just impact everyones file. Absolutely terrible service please go elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Applied at 3.4%, changed to 11.9% no reason given ”

Written on: 06/07/2021 by Huffmanwi123 (1 review written)

Went though elligibility and said was 95% chance of being accepted, have a good credit score and went though soft check all good. Then bam, once all info entered changed from. 3.4% to 11.9%, immediately rang to cancel but told the check and application will stay on the credit check .. Not impressed- thankfully I have other options but if I didn’t would potentially be forced to go ahead with application at the very high interest rate.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I had coronavirus which meant i was in hospital for 2...”

Written on: 04/02/2021 by Seyed.Y (1 review written)

I had coronavirus which meant i was in hospital for 2 weeks and had significant reduced pay in December, I talked to post office money about the situation, and came to an agreement that if i pay by the 29th that it will not be reported as late payment on this occasion. The collection officer said she has spoke to their managers and had this confirmation by email. I paid the instalment close to £495, and 2 days later post office money has not only reported it as late but reported wrong as 2 months late!!!! I am now seeking litigation for the damages they have caused by not upholding the agreement and basically only trying to get me to pay and invalid reporting. STAY AWAY FROM POST OFFICE, THEY OUTSOURCE THE COMPLAINTS AND SUPPORT TEAM TO A DEBT COLLECTION COMPANY CALLED INTRUM, THESE DONT KNOW JACKALL ABOUT THE RULES AND REGULATIONS IN THE FINANCIAL INDUSTRY, THEY DID NOT EVEN KNOW WHAT THE FCA IS. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Good for nothing loan advertisement and a bunch of liers”

Written on: 26/08/2020 by Honesty7 (1 review written)

I applied for a small An Post loan. I don't have any other loan, have a good salary and yet my application was declined. I called them and the customer service assistant said that my application was declined because I am paying rent. The second time I was told that the reason for declining my application is because I have a credit credit. Load of nonsense. These people are just time wasters. Plus it will stay on record that the loan was declined. STAY AWAY FROM AN POST MONEY LOAN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Go to a credible bank to get your loan. I regret so much for applying at An Post.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay clear of post office loans”

Written on: 08/06/2020 by Debbie19934 (1 review written)

I have one of the best credit ratings, I follow my credit rating online. Applied for post office loan at 3.1, accepted on quick check, applied for full credit check, accepted again but at over 14% Apr. False advertising, went to my bank and got 3.4 Apr and money in less than 24hrs later. I am so annoyed I fell for the it with the post office, have reported to ASA, its wrong wasting peoples time and affecting peoples credit score. Stay clear, go to your bank.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Time wasters!!!!”

Written on: 09/03/2020 by Gilliamhg363 (1 review written)

They offered a representative rate of 3.1%, had to wait 7 days to discover the actual rate jumped to 11.9% and I have excellent credit score-(990), no other loans and excellent credit usage ratio. They are a complete waste of time. No credible explanation why I had to wait 7 days to know the rate offered me having searched my credit profile. Got same loan at a far lower rate with another lender in just 2 days from start to finish!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Abysmally slow”

Written on: 25/02/2020 by Bat-thing (1 review written)

I applied for a Post Office loan almost a month ago. There was a short, acceptable delay as they needed another document scanned in, then... nothing! Made several calls to chase up and eventually told a letter had been sent out (not received yet) as my application was unsuccessful. I am a home-owner with good credit rating. What a waste of a month of my time!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“never go there for loans!”

Written on: 09/07/2019 by gayan.cha (1 review written)

Never go there! wont get a clue why you will be rejected!! Applied with an excellent credit score and signed the agreement online. few days later got a letter to inform me that my loan is rejected. horrible customer service too!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay well clear, would not recommend to anyone”

Written on: 27/09/2017 by Miffed1966 (1 review written)

I applied for a personal loan online, told they would contact me within 5 days which they did in a letter saying that I had been accepted in principle, they just needed a copy of my payslip, which I duly sent the next day. This was returned to be within 3 days then nothing for a week and a half so I phoned them up to be told that my application had been rejected but couldn't tell me why over the phone but I should be getting a letter to explain. 2 weeks later still no letter. So don't know why I was rejected as I have a good credit rating, have lived at the same address for over 40years, have worked for the same company for 30 years and earn in excess of £35k, Never been rejected by anyone before. Don't mind being rejected as long as they give you an explanation as to why, or just a letter to tell you you've been rejected would be nice. Can't say much for their customer service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“What a joke. ”

Written on: 07/09/2011

I applied for a Post Office loan because I wanted to buy a new car. I thought that the interest rate looked very reasonable and thought (foolishly) that it would be a nice, simple process. I filled out an online application form, got my reference number and that was it... Or so I thought. Over 2 weeks later and I haven't even had a decision, let alone the money I asked to borrow! I have called them on numerous occasions, first to check that they'd actually received my application (which they confirmed), and then afterwards to check that they were actually processing it (which they said they were). As I write this, I'm still waiting for a decision and the Post Office haven't even had the common courtesy to call me to give me an update. I've had plenty of experience with loan companies, and every single one of the companies I've had a loan with in the past has given me a quick telephone call just to keep me up to date along the way. The service from the Post Office is SHOCKING. I don't have a clue about what's going on with the loan I applied for, I keep being told the same thing whenever I call (

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“totally unprofesional. filled out online application. ”

Written on: 15/02/2011

totally unprofesional. filled out online application.

made 3 calls, when over a week later told i did not get the loan.

the loan was not for a huge amount, i have not ccjs etcand could have made the repayments easily.

but my main complaint was how unprofesional they seem to be, didnt even bother to respond or call me back. i understand its their money and they can lend to who they want to, but at least have the decency to respond so i can go elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“So much for "simply" having to fill in an application...”

Written on: 10/12/2010

So much for "simply" having to fill in an application and finding out "within minutes" if your application has been accepted or not- i filled out the application,sent it, then at the end it said "we are unable to process your application at this time" so i contacted their helpline, gave the call handler my reference number, the call handler then said "we don't seem to have your application.The reference number you provided me with is for a shared loan and doesn't hold your details. We've been having issues with our computer systems for a few days" So i filled out another application, again after sending my application the outcome was "we are unable to process your application at this time" so i called the helpline, the call handler checked my reference and said he couldn't find my details as it can take up to an hour for the details to appear on their computer system,he said call back in an hours time, so i did, gave my details and this call handler said "oh nooooo, it takes up to 24 hours for your details to appear, i don't know why he told you an hour! call back in 24 hours" So i called back 24 hours later, finally they had recieved my details and but i was declined even though I have good credit, he said "no reason could be given as to why your application was declined" Since I was declined I checked the reviews online about PO loans, it would seem alot of people have been having the same issue-being declined even though they have good credit and no reason being given as to why we were declined!! My advice to anyone who is thinking of applying for a loan with them is don't bother, it's a total waste of time!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ Having bid, and won a car on E-bay I immediatley...”

Written on: 26/05/2010

Having bid, and won a car on E-bay I immediatley applied for a personal loan on-line almost four weeks ago. Things started well, but soon I realised what a nightmare this 'easy' process was going to become.
My loan application was accepted at once, then I was forced to jump through hoops in order to progress it any further. The funds were due to be in my account days ago, but every time I phone them they tell me 'definatley tomorrow'.
Having 'stalled' and posponed the seller as long as possible, he has since given up on me, and I have lost my £250 deposit. He has advertised the car elsewhere.
Being given a 'due date' by the post-office team I was able to hire a transport provider to deliver the car, that too has cost me £150 quid .. and still no loan !
Absolutely a complete waste of time and money ! Do people really get employed to provide this disgraceful level of service ?
Apparently so .. don't bother wasting a month of your' life. Find another company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“As an existing customer when thier rate was as low as...”

Written on: 27/01/2010 by argus4u (1 review written)

As an existing customer when thier rate was as low as 5.8% I thought a top up load for a new car would be easy.How wrong I was its took 3 weeks so far and you get the same responce"Its at the underwriters" I really would not bother even trying.They have still not said YES I have the loan yet.Its all a game to them with sadly us "Joe Public" in the middle.so LEAVE WELL ALONE go eleswhere for finance

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“i work for royal mail i have done for over 11 years ,i...”

Written on: 14/05/2009 by waxxy69 (1 review written)

i work for royal mail i have done for over 11 years ,i have no outstanding loans,never missed any payments on anything ,never had ccjs,i owe nothing on my credit cards and i saw a car i wish to buy so i contacted post office personal loans about a loan for 6000 pounds over 5 years,at first they said it was ok and theyll contact me back after 4 days of no calls i decided to call them ,the guy was rude and said we will not be giving you the loan at this time i asked why not as my credit is excellent he said i dont have to explain to you why if you want a loan try somewere else..terrible company also the rates they advertise change once you get accepted it happened to my mate at work got quoted 7.9 his documents came threw and it was 12.percent ..avoid these try somewere else

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“I applied online 10 days ago for a secured personal...”

Written on: 08/01/2009 by lukeowen10 (1 review written)

I applied online 10 days ago for a secured personal flexible loan at 9.9%. They sent me an email on the day of my application, saying I would be contacted within 48 hours with a decision. Since then I have not heard from them. Everytime I call customer services, they say, "Sorry sir, your application is still with the underwriters, and there is no possible way of chasing it up with them.".

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview