Hostels - www.hostels.com Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Hostels - www.hostels.com - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Just what I was looking for!”

Written on: 01/04/2015 by 60brian (1 review written)

This is what I needed after days of travel, a quiet nights rest in a safe neighborhood and not far from getting back on the bus. Not the party hostel I was in a few days before. The staff was very welcoming and made me feel at home. Everything was clean and well kept. Nice kitchen and the staff makes a great breakfast with coffee and juice for less than a few dollars. Close walking distance to city center in one direction and close to resturants and bars. It was nice engough I extended my stay… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Good luck ”

Written on: 13/11/2014 by ogTierney229 (1 review written)

We had reservations with cancelation. This is a required part of being in the military. Well we had to reschedule our trip but hostels. Com wants to keep the remainder of my money because it goes toward booking only. Well don't use them, I am writing to the bbb to file an official complaint… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hostels.com didn't book my reservation, bad customer...”

Written on: 30/09/2014

I have booked a double room with Hostels.com for Toti Boutique Hotel, Kalambaka and one with jacuzzi through Expedia. When we arrived there the Expedia reservation was fine but the Hostels.com was nonexistent. We were on tight schedule and wasted time trying to get to resolve this. In the end we had to accept the last single room the hotel had otherwise one of my family member had to go to find another hotel. As Toti Boutique Hotel seem to not be able to get hold of Hostels.com we decided we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Invalid booking, no support or responce.”

Written on: 02/06/2013 by MedManowaR (1 review written)

Made a booking with hostels.com, achieved no confirmation from a hostel. Contacted the hostel, they told me there's no such reservation. Tried to connect hostels.com few times through their form - useless, got one responce that they need a booking number.... & they had it in the form, i tried to contact them through... sent them it again, silence... & they took my money... not regatding the amount, but for nothing... Sucks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE HOSTELS.COM”

Written on: 26/05/2013 by penance (1 review written)

I booked using this website and had to cancel my reservation not due to their error but the hostels who were trying to raise the rates for a convention. Hostels.com did nothing to help keep our rates but a generic email of "we're so sorry, we will contact the hostel and get back to you" BS The reservation was easily canceled and I expected to get my $ back, but surprise it was given back in the form of a credit! a credit to use on my next booking _ why would I want to use their website again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“It totally sucks!”

Written on: 14/08/2012 by Hosteldotcomsucks (1 review written)

Hostel.com was very opaque with the entire booking process. Single/twin beds was unclear. I'm already very upset by the way the admin fee was disguised as a deposit, giving people the impression that it was an early payment. Upon reading the fine prints afterwards then only I realized that the "deposit" is non-refundable. When a request was made to change the type of room due to the poor information that was laid out, Hostel.com was not flexible to accede to request. The deposit paid through… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hostels.com, it sucks!”

Written on: 19/06/2011

We planned our trip, made our reservation and paid 30 euros to hostels.com (and plus 2 euros for their..what?? I dont know); then we changed our minds and we wanted to reduce the dates , 2 instead of four days, and the amount we paid as a deposit will not be reducted from the new total. We have to pay 180 euros for two nights at a b&b room which doesn't even have a private bathroom.(It was not implied on the website!!) It is written on the page that the deposit isn't refunded in the case of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“I had on my page one set of reservation details, put...”

Written on: 17/05/2008

I had on my page one set of reservation details, put my information and CC in, and it booked me for another! I looked over the details very carefully, read the cancellation policies, and bought the insurance. What are supposed to do when you think you are buying one thing and they give you another? This is very unreliable and bad bad business.

I'm now going through the run around to get it fixed.

When I asked them to cancel it because it was in error, they then went and canceled it the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Due to a technical glitch with their site I ended up...”

Written on: 26/03/2008

Due to a technical glitch with their site I ended up double-booked into hostels on the same night. Hostels.com charged my card for a booking that I was told by the hostel wasn't valid, and then ignored my emails trying to get a refund. I wouldn't use them again - shame for them really, as I'm on a long trip round the world booking hostels regularly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jmagill01's Comment

Written on: 13/10/2011

I have not yet stayed it a hostel but plan to due to an extended trip. So I have not used hostel.com . If this site is unreliable, then would someone recommend a better hostel site to use?
Jerry

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
☆☆☆☆☆

“I got scabies at a Montreal hostel, and I was...”

Written on: 19/02/2006 by debg1685 (1 review written)

I got scabies at a Montreal hostel, and I was surprised that my comments, which were solicited by Hostels.com, were not on the site. The owners were pretty poor about the whole affair, and I think other customers would be interested in this feedback as I still bear the scars 9 months after the stay. Nope, my comments were nowhere on the site. Be wary of this website… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I found hostels.com very useful for booking a hostel...”

Written on: 22/04/2005 by gemybell (4 reviews written)

I found hostels.com very useful for booking a hostel room in Barcelona. The website is easy to use, has lots of hostels and for each hostel you can see lots of reviews and a map and pictures plus can do the whole booking process online… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview