First Active Mortgage Reviews

Click here if this is your business
First Active Mortgage
★★☆☆☆
1.7
19.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
First Active Mortgage - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for First Active Mortgage

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Total rubbish - no help at all”

★☆☆☆☆

written by wendhaley on 30/11/2022

Tried to contact them to discuss arrears and make a payment. Got passed to 3 different people to be told I failed the ID test so they couldn't talk to me.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolutely diabolical ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 14/01/2017

Absolute joke!!!! Have had mortgage with first active for around 10 years and wish I hadn't bothered. They cannot carry out simple tasks such as cancelling old direct debits or giving correct simple account information. although quick enough to point out that there are arrears!! Maybe when they can get there half of the agreement correct the customers will be more than happy to pay. Avoid at all costs, unless you like a massive challenge!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Contact Details”

★★☆☆☆

written by Maurerum404 on 31/07/2015

I can't believe that you can only contact this company by phone 9-5pm. I've tried for the last 3 months and all I do is hang on. All I want is a statement and to my knowledge I can't even get this online!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Continuous waiting and waiting”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 07/02/2014

I find it incredible the company is actually managing to run with this kind of service - Or do I have to stop making payments to my mortgage to speak to someone? As you can see I am extremely cross especially as I do not have time to continuously try different numbers and nor should I have to, I have never ever experienced such bad service from a company and cannot believe this is allowed to continue. I have rang and rag 4 days in a row at varying times and to no avail I am so sick I am considering stopping payments just to speak to some which is totally absurd !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cwillcat's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2015

well over a year on since this post was written and exactly the same thing has been happening to me today. OMG i am sooo ******* angry i just want to cancel my direct debit and not pay it then let them chase me.

I just want to ask a simple question but have tried various numbers, been on hold for 30 minutes then the call has been dumped!!

I decided to search the internet for a complaints department or an address but stumbled across this post instead. I wonder if anyone from First Active reads these? Complete tossers!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I re-mortgaged with FA in 2005. As an expat, my...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 18/04/2010

I re-mortgaged with FA in 2005. As an expat, my choices were seriously limited.
Their rate seemed reasonable, as did their promise to treat returning customers the same as new business. Sadly, their customer care turned out to be simply atrocious. Their incompetent administration beggars belief. I am now trying to INCREASE my payments in the face of utter, stonewalling negligence.
They also appear to have stopped dealing with third parties -thus cutting out my financial advisor -but neither do they seem inclined to telephone me directly.
This is no way to run a business or to treat customers and they can be sure that I will be taking my complaints as high and as far as possible unless things change quickly -although I am sure they are too indifferent even to read reviews such as this.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“At first everything was fine until the credit crunch....”

★☆☆☆☆

written by cameraguy70 on 21/12/2009

At first everything was fine until the credit crunch. I'm finding it difficult to meet the repayments at the moment. I have put my house on the market to sell as i cant see an end to it. I called them to tell them this and ask if i could change to interest only until my house has sold. They said NO. Im not looking at just handing the house back with all that entails (bad credit forever). At least me and my family will be able to eat.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Rates, hassle free transfer of funds, quick mortgage...”

★★★★★

written by ronypoo on 12/12/2008

Rates, hassle free transfer of funds, quick mortgage decision, correspondence.
Mortgage holders since 2005. Have so far passed on in full the BAE rate cuts to SVR customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have been with FA for 6 Years now, they generally...”

★★☆☆☆

written by Zer0Kbps on 30/09/2008

I have been with FA for 6 Years now, they generally are a good mortgage lender and offer competitive rates, they also support there customers circumstances well.
There biggest problem is only there sales and service team, it really lets down what is a good company. Half of there sales team should be sacked for shear ignorance to there company setup.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Rate was good but their inability to do a draw down of...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by doleawg on 23/07/2008

Rate was good but their inability to do a draw down of equity without a complete re-mortgage is a joke. You cannot draw down money with the crowd, you have to do a complete re-mortgage if you want to borrow more.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We have applied a loan with First Active last Oct, and...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by sammyxiao on 23/06/2008

We have applied a loan with First Active last Oct, and within a month the loan was approved, but we then there was near-endless waiting. Two weeks ago they told us that our signatures were different in different documents, but these are the docs that we signed at our solicitor! Ok, we signed them again with at our solicitor, now they told me the application is in the validation queue, and goodness knows how long it would take! Yeah they told me 3-5 working days. It's a complete joke, I don't reccommend people apply with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“It is an absolute complete nightmare when ever you...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 17/04/2008

It is an absolute complete nightmare when ever you need to contact First Active for any questions about your current mortgage. I have tried around 20 times since having my mortgage with them over the last 2 years and I have NEVER once had any call answered. I have spent the last week trying to contact them and I have still not had a call answered. You are just put on hold and told you are in a que to the next possible adviser. The longest at any one time at the moment is an unbelievable 1 hour. Still am no where. Cant wait to see my phone bill.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I re-mortgaged with First Active 3 years ago and the...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by fedupk on 01/04/2008

I re-mortgaged with First Active 3 years ago and the switch over process was a complete mess - I spent lots of time calling them to find out how things were progressing, "associates" of First Active were telling me that things had been done that later transpired they hadn't - documents were sent to the wrong departments, etc etc. I complained about this when things were finally completed and to their credit they did follow up my complaint well and I received a gift of wine. 12 months later I released some equity from my property and due to high early repayment charges, I was forced to stay with First Active. After being stung for administrative costs to the tune of £400, they still failed to organise a smooth switch. I am now in the process of remortgaging again and couldn't leave First Active quickly enough! But they strike again by failing to provide my solicitors with the final redemption figure in order for my remortgage to complete on time (today!). I have just spent 30 minutes trying to speak to someone at First Active and they have assured me that the final figure will be faxed to my solicitors by 2pm. Given my past experience with the company I am NOT confident that this will happen.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very poor administration and Customer Service with...”

★★☆☆☆

written by R Barnes on 16/07/2007

Very poor administration and Customer Service with First Active Mortgage.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have been with them since June of this year. I...”

★★★★★

written by BasG on 15/11/2006

I have been with them since June of this year. I switched to them after being recommended by a friend. He got his mortgage through a financial adviser, so I decided to take the plunge and cut out the middle man ;-)

Their website is very clear, and so is the First Active Mortgage application process. Should you have any problems or questions, their customer relations team are very easy to reach. There were no long hold times, and they were very friendly and helpful. My Bank of Scotland fixed rate was ending, so I wanted to switch to a new, hopefully better, fixed mortgage. I had a 100% mortgage on a 3 year fixed rate of 5% with the BOS (started in May 03). In the meantime, the value of my flat had gone up considerably, so there was no need for a 100% mortgage. My current deal with First Active is a 5 year fixed rate at 4.79%, and an arrangement fee of £395. I admit, I was a bit lucky, because shortly after rates went up. However, so did everyone else's, and they still offer a very competitive deal. What I also like is that they act very fast, perhaps to a fault with letters sometimes crossing in the mail. However, I was not in a hurry since I applied well in time before my fixed rate with my previous lender ended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The First Active mortgage was easy to set up. The...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by leelee1979 on 08/11/2006

The First Active mortgage was easy to set up. The interest rate was good, and over-payments were easy and not penalised.

However, the level of fees to change mortgage were changed just before the fixed rate period of the mortgage ended, making it difficult and expensive to change mortgage companies after the fixed rate period.

Overall disappointing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“First Active Mortgage - I am pleased to be the first...”

★★★★★

written by Tewbacca on 22/04/2006

First Active Mortgage - I am pleased to be the first person to happily write a review on First Active.
I have been in the sticky situation of having to re-mortgage my ex partner out of my house and have hunted around for ages to get a good deal and I believe I found it with First Active.
All my basic legal fees and the valuation fee have been paid for me - no catches and not paid up front and refunded later either!
Not being in the position of being able to stump up a product fee, First Active have added it to my loan and ultimately although I know it adds up in interest - the choice was there for me to either pay up front or add to the loan. I appreciate being given that choice!
I have taken a fixed rate over 2 years of 4.59%. At the end of the 2 years, it returns to a standard variable rate of 5.6% which is far lower than a lot of the others I have looked at which are 6% and above. (bear in mind the interest rate will probably change between now and 2 years)
There are no Early Repayment Charges once the fixed period ends, just a closure fee which you get when you redeem any mortgage in full.
Having never done this before - I completed the easy to understand application form on the internet but being a chicken, I didn't submit it - I wanted to talk to someone to clarify a couple of points.
I called them and was spoken to by a representitive within minutes of connecting. She was brilliant and actually did the application over the phone, clarifying all the points I needed to talk about. I was credit checked there and then and given an agreement in principle right away. The whole process took 15 minutes in total and I was offered the fast track service which basically means I complete in 3-4 weeks not the usual 6-8.
I have been nothing but impressed with First Active since I first saw their website and would recommend them to anyone who is looking for a simple mortgage that performs!
There are also loads of other deals to be seen on their website.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview