Post Office Car Insurance Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Post Office Car Insurance
★☆☆☆☆
1.2
7.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Post Office Car Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Post Office Car Insurance

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Customer care zero”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 01/05/2024

What an absolute nightmare dealing with this company. If only like others I had read the reviews I most certainly would have gone elsewhere. I can now fully appreciate the problems in dealing with the Post Office . I was hit from the rear by a young in experienced driver. He was insured and fully admitted as the third party it was his fault. This should have been the simplest of claims to deal with. As a retired police officer I have attended well over 100 road traffic accidents and have experience in dealing with faceless people sat behind desks. The accident was reported to Post office insurance within 1 hour of the occurrence. 6 days later I am still waiting for my vehicle to be collected for repair. I am still waiting for a hire car to be delivered. Numerous excuses and delaying tactics from numerous different customer service agents also I receive a customer survey e mail from the Post Office when absolutely nothing has progressed. I have lost count of the number of times I have had to provided my personal details. Even had to do my own assessment of damage and repeatedly send photographs. The stress, anxiety and worry is now beginning to affect my health and sleep. PLEASE PLEASE take notice of these worrying reviews and avoid Post Office at all costs

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Take your money but don’t want to pay out Post...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MacDonaldhv43 on 02/03/2024

My home was hit by a car who demolished a portion of my property built in 1720. Claim put in and passed to Ageas their underwriters who passed to a company called Sedgwicks. Who are their loss adjusters . This was 2nd May last year Sedgwicks trying to force use of their contractors, unqualified structural engineers and surveyors who are quoting prices from the 1960’s so not using industry related building costs. Have to question who is going to benefit from this cost cutting and no transparency . Have now ended up with complaints with the Financial Ombudsman and citizens advice . Still living in an unheated property 10 months later . Gave us a solicitor( Keoghs) who gave us a contact that we found out had not been in the office for months and may not go back, also quoted the risk address of a property in Cheshire and we are in Staffordshire plus stated may not recover all our costs. We have a post office Gold Plus Policy with the rebuild alone being £1million so more than adequate insurance . Would certainly not recommend the post office. Currently looking at contacting Watch dog and Rip of Britain Would like to hear from others with issues Thanks

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“I feel I'm being punished ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RileyCollins on 08/02/2024

I signed as an international licence holder, got a deal that was relatively good. Passed mu UK driving test, called to update my records and my premium went up by almost ????. From £104 to £200+. To be far the customer service person, Farima, was very polite and respectful but there was nothing she could do to get me a better deal. The worse part is I was charged £20 for updating my record. I feel I am being punished for doing the write, passing my test, updating my records and mostly disregarding previous years of driving in another country. I have to look for a better deal elsewhere, which is fine by them, quite surprising ????.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Nelio ”

★★★★★

written by EmersonMontgomery on 26/01/2024

I recieved a renewal quote that was more than I wanted to pay, the customer service advisor Nelio was accomadating and patient as I am an older lady, he ran through the details with me and explained things, I was extremely happy with the reduction I recieved. Go ahead and talk to them. The gentleman spoke clear and concise and he is an asset to the call centre, not many would be patient they normally just want to get rid of you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“*** Beware ***”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JoeBrum on 31/08/2023

Think very carefully about using the service and read the reviews. There is a vast amount of negative reviews and they are here for a reason. I took out a policy and then read the reviews which resulted in me cancelling the policy. After cancelling the policy, my experience was non-stop errors, including them taking extra money out of my account without my consent. Attempts to contact them are extremely difficult. The service is void of any interest or customer focus. Agreed plans were completely ignored. I seriously would urge people to think very carefully about using this service. It was so disappointing and wasted so much time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“The worst decision I made ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Celia248 on 26/02/2019

This was quite possibly one of the worst experiences of customer service I have received. There was an error against my claims which was caused during the online process. I received an email 4 days later stating that my policy had increased by £180 a year. I called the Post Office and was informed that I should call my previous insurance company from 2017 and source evidence that there was only one claim made. Based on the information received they could then revert the policy back to the previous conditions. I adhered to their requests in less than 12 hours but heard nothing back. I called the customer service team approx 8 times and was fed a web of fictitious information every time. During the last call I was informed that the policy had been reverted, but I would have to pay an increased premium and an amendment charge - £140. I was basically led down the garden path and was given falsified information. Had I known this would happen I would have saved myself a world of agro and cancelled instantly. I spoke with an incredibly rude, abrupt and patronising manager, who implied it was just TOUGH!! There is “no” process for escalating complaints apparently, so I just cancelled the policy. The manager informed me that I should be grateful that the cancellation charge had been waivered! Take my advice, don’t go anywhere near them, pay a slightly higher premium and go with a reputable company. Avoid at all costs. I had a lucky escape.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 7 0

“Change their name. To Mr d TURPIN INS Co”

★☆☆☆☆

written by aaBullock151 on 27/09/2018

Been with this bunch for 4 years then bought new car equivalent to last car phoned for transfer to be told policy would now increase by £32 a month?? So shopped around and got ins for less than were paying to start £41 now paying £28 monthly I were then told by them it was going to cost £55 to cancel and would be taken by d/d next month so cancelled the d/d take me to court

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Beware the terms”

★☆☆☆☆

written by frMcFarland390 on 17/04/2018

Do not trust the advisers they take your payment details and money before they explain the unacceptable details of the policy I recommend you to stay away or you will regret it at your cost

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“The computer 'slipped' !!?*??”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 05/04/2018

Received renewal quote, found one cheaper. Rang Post Office to cancel and they re-quoted so I decided to stay with them (was £35 cheaper than the original renewal quote and was easier to stay with them). Just noticed today my bank account has been debited with £28.55 more than the quote. Rang them and they said the computer had 'slipped' and it does this sometimes. Apologised and said I would receive my refund in 10 days - why 10 days I asked, because we have to wait for the money to come from your bank before we can refund it!! I said I needed the money today as I hadn't budgeted for £28 more going out my account. Apologised to me and said it couldn't be done today. Guess what...I won't be renewing next year.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Policy cancellation ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by YandelMahoney on 08/03/2018

Have just been charged £69 for cancellation of my policy as my car is off the road, been a customer for several years so no loyalty benefits with the post office

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Worst Insurance You'll Ever Find”

★☆☆☆☆

written by darya95 on 27/12/2017

Worst insurance you'll ever find, caused a lot of headache and stress. All started with a police chase that crashed into my property and damaged my vehicles that I owned. My vehicle that I had insured with Post office themselves was badly damaged from third party. When I proceeded to tell the insurance company about this and process a claim, that was when I found out that this in fact have the worst customer service available and all you get from staff is utter rudeness. The third party vehicle was not insured and Post office with all the advanced technology that they have was not even able to find a simple car from the registration and demanded money so that they could find it. I had set up monthly installments to pay my insurance and then cancelled my policy when nothing was getting anywhere, which I didn't know was that they took the full amount of money for the year without my permission or without any acknowledgement of it. When I chased it up with them the workers was rude and didn't really care and kept diverting you to different people to contact. All they care about is getting there money from you and not even providing you with the service that they promise. Honestly I have been with other insurance companies before and this is one of the worst ones you could ever find. I recommend looking elsewhere for an insurance as Post Office will not benefit you in anyway.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Post Ofice car insurance AN OFFER OR AN INSULT !”

★☆☆☆☆

written by spectroman on 25/11/2017

My car insurance went up from £239.98 to £431.99 there was no claim or change in circumstances. When I phoned to query why the cost had almost doubled the lady could not give an explanation. I explained that I had obtained a more competitive quote and could she match it ? I was offered a £1.99, yes £1.99 discount so did not renew !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“No problems”

★★★★☆

written by Gleasonns437 on 11/09/2017

Searched for best van insurance offers. The post office came out very reasonable. Took up the offer after adding some extras like alloy wheels and tow. No problems. Renewal time came around and the first offer was a bit high. Shopped around and found cheaper but very poor reviews. So contacted post office money and they lowered the price and I am happy with that.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“money grabbing”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Katel1966 on 22/06/2017

I paid £91 for instance, after a monththey cancelled my policy due to the fact they say thy sent an email askingfor my proof of no claims. Cannot see any emails that they say they sent. No trouble sending out a letter to cancel though. And charged me £45 to cancel plus £13 poundsextra for somethingthat's £68 for 1 months insurance. Don't bother with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Third party cover for price of fully comprehensive”

★★☆☆☆

written by Daniela465 on 04/06/2017

My car had a value of £300.00 The insurance quote was for £392.00 by the time that compusory and volentery excesses were taken into account, if i had had a accident, rather than postoffice insurance paying out, i would have owed them money. Not exactly the purpose of car insurance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“zero customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by lbrick on 29/04/2017

Dont waste your money going with the post office .absolutely zero customer service when things go wrong .I was put on hold for 20 mins whilst waiting to speak with someone from customer service team only to be told that even thpugh i had received no letters or emails as they claimed i should of looked on line and they were too busy to speak with me after cancelling my policy with no warning and taking £80 for 5wks insurance (should of been just over £30!!) Appauld

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Do NOT waste your time on this company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 963125 on 01/04/2017

I've tried all morning to purchase car insurance on Post Office website. When it came to paying jjust keeps spinning..... Contacted my bank and it's not a problem at their end. I called Post Office and got cut-off so when to online chat. She was very helpful and said that he would call me back at 11.15 am to sort payment over the phone. He never called. I contacted them again and he said that he would call whenever he had worked his way through all the call-backs he had. I asked when that might be as I had to go out shortly and he replied that he had no idean the it would be. I have since gone elsewhere for my car insurance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Breakdown assistance NOT”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Alfion123 on 31/03/2017

Post Office Car Insurance ( breakdown cover). Our car developed a fault on a very busy, dangerous main dual carriageway road, which put my wifes life in danger as she was on her own and didn't know what to do. We thought if we used our breakdown cover we could get someone out to recover the car and get my wife to safety but guess what? Because we had basic cover (which we were never made aware of at any time), they would not recover the car but send someone to try and get the car going! Very disappointing as it never stated anywhere in our policy AND we were never told or made aware when we bought the policy, that they would not recover the car, beware what you think you are buying as it probably won't be what you think it is! Utter rubbish. My wife was left at the side of the busy road with a faulty car and was told someone would be along in approx 75 minutes to try get the car going. Totally disgusted and will be cancelling and going elsewhere ☹️

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Post office money takes your money and keeps it”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Justanormalperson on 20/03/2017

Filled in form on line. Paid. Then the paperwork came through with errors. Not input by me. Rang and corrected then but means premium increased by £130. Cancelled. Trying to get money back. Poor service and ooor quality. Used social media to try and get reimbursed but now have to use the ombudsman

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Don't bother!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Lisabee69 on 19/11/2016

We insured my 17 year old daughter for her own car whilst she was learning to drive. The first problems began immediately when they repeatedly asked for proof of her no claims and all the requests came to my own e-mail account not hers. (I also have their insurance). Despite me telling them on numerous occasions that they had the wrong details and were breaching confidentiality the requests continued and they began to threaten to cancel the policy! In the end I had to write a letter of complaint, a month later I got a phone call, an apology and £25 good will payment. Today after 8 months of incident free driving she passed her test with NO minors. She rang the Post Office to upgrade her insurance to Full UK and were told she was no longer insurarable!! They cancelled her policy with a small refund for the rest of the month. I am disgusted that the Post Office were quite happy to take our money (and let me tell you it wasn't cheap!) whilst she was a learner but now they don't want to know. DO NOT USE THE POST OFFICE they are inefficient money grabbers!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview