United Utilities www.unitedutilities.com

Click here if this is your business
United Utilities www.unitedutilities.com
★★☆☆☆
2.2
33.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
United Utilities www.unitedutilities.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for United Utilities www.unitedutilities.com

Latest Reviews

“Customer service a complete disaster”

★☆☆☆☆

written by michalswiderski on 09/04/2024

UU created an account in my name under old address with an outstanding balance without my permission, advised I don’t live there and was not responsible for the bills but would not close the account. Affected my credit score, asked to raise a complaint but refused on multiple occasions until they finally transferred me to complaints who was very argumentative and told me they have no email address to send evidence of me living at different address.. Spoke to multiple departments and still not resolved. Very poor customer service, stay away from this company!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Dosnt care about the customer needs”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jmariee on 19/10/2023

This is the worst company if you do not agree to there payment plan options they go sneaky Behind your back contact benefits take it out through there and find out other bit of data about you to do this I want compensation from them they are not willing to put my needs first and only bothered about there own company gains the managers are not understanding of your needs I am gona keep complaining until something is done tell all the customers how you make them feel when they ring ask for help I was so mad I was shaking on the phone this company is ruthless

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Billing dead people after being notified of death!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mda1973 on 20/09/2023

So a loved one passed away 4 weeks ago. This company was notified shortly afterwards. A bill statement was issued showing a credit of £54 asking the next of kin to contact them. Upon contact, the deceased brother was told that there was an outstanding balance of £13 that needed to be paid - yes, just £13! Essentially due to further billing added after death! The family grieving a loved one and this two days before the funeral….. Disgraceful, shameful and completely inappropriate.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“So United Utilities decided that its good to charge...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by HR78 on 25/11/2022

So United Utilities decided that its good to charge more than a double for water a single person living alone on studio flat, being frequently away so no way could have that sort of water usage and 5 days and still did not bother to answer an email I have sent on Monday! All what I want now is to start pay my water as go but nobody is bothered to communicate at least. Dont see any reason this company should pocket double of my money. I would understand some increase but not this rip off. I hope someone finally will get the guts to at least attempt some communication before I will have to seek a legal advice. They just taking and advantage of being only one miserable provider in the Northwest

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We were notified of a procedure which would cause our...”

★★★★★

written by AdonisFinn8 on 13/11/2022

We were notified of a procedure which would cause our water to change colour. The letter stated if there was any issue to use the contact number. We house abused people with babies and children. I felt it prudent to call the hotline. From that one phonecard United utilities were faultless. The end result was the agent who brought our occupants the necessary items and was both friendly and reassuring. Very happy customer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“SHARKS!!!!!!!!!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ThaliaWalsh81 on 16/04/2022

This company has left me without water for over 24hrs I pay my water bill every month and ask for nothing! I’ve asked them to pin point where a leak is coming from on my mains pipe which they have said it’s on my boundary wall and it’s my job to deal with it! They have done there investigations but never told me exactly where the leak is! They just got in there vans and left me high and dry! Seriously you people are ruthless leaving a family without any water for over 24hrs is disgraceful If I didn’t have to pay for my water every month with you then I wouldn’t I would switch to someone else, but of course there’s only you! I am literally shaking with utter anger like you wouldn’t believe in the way you have treated us! I hope this happens to each and everyone of you that works for these bunch of heartless B

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“horrible service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mmaher_1992 on 08/09/2021

Horrible service when you want to move out. They charged me an insane amount of money and refused to send me any justification. I don't recommend anyone to trust them. They charged me around 40 ppm for a small house!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Uncaring”

★☆☆☆☆

written by pcjb on 07/08/2020

I'm disabled and have now been waiting for someone to attend a blocked drain, have been waiting 3 days, during which time we have not been able to use toilette. The house is smelling and we are getting loud gurgling noise during the night keeping us awake. Their online chat is a joke and not fit for purpose. I will be seeking legal advice as we cannot stay in house because of this issue. They should lose tender for NW

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Brilliant service ”

★★★★★

written by on 06/12/2017

2 young gentlemen came to my door asking to camera my sewer from United utility's they were extremely polite and professional there was some dirt in my line and they cleared it all for me and I also asked them if they would not mind checking my drains they did so and cleaned them all out for me and water tested them , so thank you to the two guys I dealt with Kind regards

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Useless Utilities ... just don't use them”

★☆☆☆☆

written by SmokeyMo on 30/11/2017

The most horrendous customer service you could ever experience. You never speak to the same person twice, no one takes responsibility, despite payment and promises of water connection - 8 months later still no water. Utterly pathetic and disgraceful service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Exceptional service from United Utilities”

★★★★★

written by ReyLarkin126 on 12/11/2017

Exceptional service from United Utilities with a blocked outside drain. Charged by a private company over £200 and left with blocked drain called United Utilities and they did for free. Got no words to describe their professionalism and customer service. Thank you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst and Terrible customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Lane375 on 17/09/2016

A guy called L was very rude and leaves such a nasty voicemail forcing your to join them. i would never want to have any affiliation with them even if i needed to. Keep out of them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very professional and courteous ”

★★★★★

written by Hazelwood13 on 16/09/2016

A two man team turned up to unblock my sewer pipe, I was very impressed with there efficiency and professionalism, they had finished the job in no time , very satisfied indeed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fantastic”

★★★★★

written by Layla355 on 26/08/2016

Many thanks they were very professional, explained in detail what they were going to do. Also they were very pleasant, gave advice to myself and neighbour and nothing was too much trouble.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“extorting money and issued a ccj without notification”

★☆☆☆☆

written by philmurray on 08/08/2016

hi, my united utilities bill was thousands of pounds, I complained because I live alone in a studio flat. they sent out an engineer and said that the meter is fine and the bill is correct and I should pay up. I recently got a ccj, now I can't get a mortgage as a result of their illegal extortion tactics, the are still acting unreasonable and not willing to negotiate a settlement for their 3500 pound bill. I have not choice but to bring them to a hearing as they have breach consumer rights laws. Stay away from united utilities if you can help it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fabulous Service”

★★★★★

written by Savannaj49 on 16/03/2016

United Utilities have been doing some extensive works outside my home for the past few weeks. During this time, I have been asked on four occasions if I have been happy with the ongoing works, if I have any access issues etc. All of the work force that I have encountered have been amazing, considerate and helpful. The job that they have done so far has been done to a very high standard (re Tarmac ing neatly) and they have always cleaned the area at the end of each day. Thank you so much and great job guys!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Customer service ”

★★★★☆

written by on 03/02/2016

Would just like to say I spoke to a lady about my meter readings, she was the most helpful lady I've spoke to and was very friendly. This made it a lot easier to get things sorted and she kept wishing me the best of luck on my travels abroad. Very pleased

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“fluctuating bills”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Power1976 on 22/12/2015

Has anyone had problems with massively rising bills from UU and unable to do anything about them. I live on my own,do 2 laundry washes a week and bat about 4 times a year yet my bill for 6 months has come in at £179....the last one was £132...£311 per annum for water for 1 person? I had problems last year and when they investigated my meter the previous workman had concreted over it. I had been getting bills for over a year on fabricated readings..They were very apologetic and gave me a big refund of £180. Now they,re hiking them up again and I feel as if I have nowhere to go with my complaint as there is no alternative supplier. I would appreciate hearing from anyone e who has had this problem.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Totally inconsiderate company! Refund me my nights...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 15/10/2015

Woken up a bit before midnight midweek as a result of United utilities using a numatic drill, what sounds like a grinder, beeping from vehicles/lorries etc turning/reversing, loud engines/machinery shouting/voices/laughing from a dozen work men, a radio and increased noise from overflow traffic-just what you need when you're in bed ill! After 2 hours on the phone and incorrect numbers on line I was informed that it wasn't United utilities- in my pj's i asked one of "the workmen" who advised that they were.....surprise surprise from United utilities....to the aparant shock of the representative on the phone from United utilities!! still awake listening to the racket several hours later-furious and appalled!!! No consideration whatsoever and shambolic lack of communication! I was giving zero stars but it wouldn't let me publish! Something else you need to rectify as I rate zero stars not one!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“dirty britain”

★☆☆☆☆

written by martinfox1 on 11/10/2015

what sort of country do we live in where people cant afford to have a bath? this company sends out inflatable " bricks" to its customers to put in the toilet to shorten the flush. This usualy results in a blocked loo, i have 2 sons , both over 6FT and a short flush blocks the toilet. just say put a brick in your cistern i watched the council workers watering the flowers in my town centre in the rain- very depresing when i have a very bad back and cant stand in the shower, cant have a bath as it costs to much. water should be free and sewerage charges as part of a natural way of life. hope the share holders had a nice holiday this year. martin fox

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview