GT Aggressor Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.1 / 5
82% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

If you're a mountain biker you may be looking for all the GT reviews you can get your hands on. Well, you're in the right place at Review Centre; we have all the GT reviews you could wish for. If you own the GT Aggressor then submmit your review below; for other GT reviews click on the GT filter link.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GT Aggressor - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GT Aggressor

GT Aggressor
GT Aggressor
GT Aggressor

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Top Marks For GT XC2”

Written on: 22/07/2014 by Ben-Nelly (1 review written)

This bike is fantastic and i say that after 2yrs of ownership so i know the bike well,its handled absolutely everything ive thrown at it from road work to taming the forest tracks of Northumberland.When the terrain gets rough,unlock the adjustable forks and hang on to the oversize bars,the GT soaks it all up no problem.For the roads simply lock the forks and you've got a very capable road bike with 27 gears at your disposal,very good quality gears as well,the Shimano Deore Rapid Fire shifters make gear changes simple,one click of the lever and they jump instantly into position.The GTXC2 is light as well,12.7kg so its easy throw about when needed through tight twisty trails.The bike has been used for work and not as a toy,its,had a hard life but still rides great despite it showing a few battle scars,my mate who accompanies me on most of my rides has had to replace various components on his more expensive Scott MTB tackling the same terrain as my GTXC2,he's already decided he will be replacing the Scott with a GT when the time comes,if your considering this bike,don't hesitate,get one,they're fantastic bikes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Fitting Paniards”

Written on: 03/09/2013

I do mountain biking in the hills and want to carry camping gear etc, How do you fit paniards to the GT aggressor 1? As far as I can se there are only thee mounting points. There is no welded lug on the drive side.....not sure of the point?????

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 4
★☆☆☆☆

“Rides like a slow tank”

Written on: 06/09/2011 by Dorotheamags (1 review written)

This is the worst bike I have ever ridden. The chain kept on digging into my leg, the seat is terribly uncomfortable, it manoevers terribly through narrow areas, it corners too wide, the gears do not change smoothly, the handlebars are overcrowded....has absolutely no speed. Should be taken off the market.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to Dorotheamags's Review

Written on: 02/12/2011

Thats quite a statment, but in reality i've read what Mountain Bike Magazine said about it and their report is very clear there's no better bike for under £400 for getting into mountain biking and that included handleing, build quality etc. The only gripe you both share and i do to is the saddle is attrocious, but a new saddle for £20 sorted that and now cycling 40 or 50 miles is more pleasent...At the end of the day its still a budget bike and if you willing to spend a futher £1500 you can upgrade the wheels, brakes, suspension etc and probably still have a gripe...Just ride it and enjoy it,A top of the range mountain bike will cost upto £6000..I couldnt see anybody riding that to their local chippy...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Daniel_Skate's Response to Dorotheamags's Review

Written on: 02/11/2013

You are a compleat muppet it's a sick bike for the money you pay iv been riding for years and have a large collection of bikes for different uses and still find it hard to walk past this bike for what ever I'm riding. I love the bit about it corners wide hahahahahahhhhhah your steering it you cretin!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Untipozzo999's Response to Dorotheamags's Review

Written on: 24/06/2013

i think you don't know what you are tlking about.
that's a very good bike. not the best, of course.
but it's very cheap for the kind of bike that is.
don't be morron: if you don't know what you write, DON'T WRITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Thebiggun's Response to Dorotheamags's Review

Written on: 03/04/2012

Wow Dorothey.
That is a pretty brutal review. Perhaps you should return it and try to find a better bike in this price range. BTW its and entry level bike. Hurry, pedal faster or that Chihuahua will bite you in the ankle....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 4
Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“The GT Aggressor is an excellent bike for the...”

Written on: 16/05/2011

The GT Aggressor is an excellent bike for the money,you must understand it isnt a bike made for downhill or freeride its a recreational bike designed for riding forest tracks with minor bumps and shallow hollows the instruction manual that comes with the bike explains this with regards to the forks they are not designed for hardcore riders,the frame will take the punishment no probs but if you want to hammer the bike into doing all sorts then you will have to spend lots of money to upgrade, ie wheels, brakes, chain,cranks and the derailuer... Theres no point in that expense for this type of bike you're better buying the sort of bike that can take the punishment but beaware £1500 is the basic price for a basic do it all mountain bike, you will pay up to £6500 for a top of the range downhill bike, so that sort of puts into perspective just what you get for your money....It is an exceptional bike and if looked after it will last for years, GT has been making bikes for years and their reputation speaks for it's self....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Vancerfan's Comment

Written on: 30/07/2013

i think it is very suitable for outdoor travel.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I purchased my GT XC2 through the cycle to work scheme...”

Written on: 15/05/2011

I purchased my GT XC2 through the cycle to work scheme june 2010,what a bike it's brill, even friends i work with who bought Boardman Mountain Bikes have commented on how well it looks and rides.I live on the East Antrim coast of Northern Ireland so plenty of Ulster Walkways to go riding.I average 50 to 60 miles cross country every second weekend weather permitting and its my transport to work as well.The only complaint i have is the seat.... I've since replaced it with a BRICK lol...comfort is everything....As with all bikes the one thing the GT really likes is the gears and chain well cleaned and given a good oiling every 100 miles or so...Dont use WD40, i use a spray chain oil it stays tacky and makes the removal of dirt much easier to...I give it 10/10 the bike is superb...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Pros - Nicely constructed, gears and brakes very...”

Written on: 12/02/2011

Pros - Nicely constructed, gears and brakes very smooth and efficient. Suspension lock out works well for different terrain.
Handles nicely on all surfaces, so far tested it on; tarmac, mud, gravel, grit and stones and it carries on moving over everything!

Cons - Seat is a little firm.

Defiantly recommend to someone looking for a tough off road bike for recreational use or for on road although its a little sluggish due to its hench 2.1" tyres.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Omg this ha got to be the most diabolical bike in the...”

Written on: 06/11/2010

Omg this ha got to be the most diabolical bike in the world I mean first time I had this so called amazing bike I took it to a red trail what a disaster my crank snapped derailor ,bent into chain gears messed up also forks are terrible may as well have none they collapsed after section 8 avoid this bike at all costs

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★★☆☆☆

“I bought my GT Aggressor 2 six months ago. I had my...”

Written on: 25/10/2010

I bought my GT Aggressor 2 six months ago. I had my heart set on a Kona or Specialized bike but opted for the GT Aggressor 2 because Halfords had a special discount offer on at the time and I could collect the bike from my local store fully assembled and ready to ride. I checked out as many reviews of the bike as I could beforehand and was very encouraged by what other owners had reported about it. Initially I was delighted when I took delivery. It looked great and seemed smooth and well built. However the more I got to use the bike under varying circumstances the more and more disappointed I became. I ve found it very heavy to ride especially off road, the gear changes have been awful and required attention several times, the bike squeakes and squeales too. I can't get a comfortable grip on the handlebars either. Overall I ve been very disappointed with this bike and wish I stuck to buying a Kona or Spealized. My advice - try before you buy !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 18/04/2012

Exactly right. The only good thing about this bike is the frame. I am selling mine to cashconverters.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Great looking bike for a start, and a great range of...”

Written on: 18/09/2010

Great looking bike for a start, and a great range of colours.

I brought a GT agressor 1 second hand off ebay, for around £300. The ride was a bit of a slog going uphill and on road. However, as soon as it pointed downhill, it really was a beautiful ride. I found it flowed really well, was very forgiving, and had a great ride position. Also, due to the incredibly small weight, it was very easy to hop, and use on jumps.

The only real problems i found was that the rear deralier snapped off twice, and the front cogs got chewed up very easily. I spent about £100 on repairing the thing in the firrst 6 months, but wether that is the fault of GT or mine, i dont know.

A great bike for someone starting out in off-road biking, but dont take it anywhere to extreme. hope this was helpful!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“i have recently bought the GT AGGRESSOR XC1 and have...”

Written on: 09/08/2010

i have recently bought the GT AGGRESSOR XC1 and have loved every minute of riding it. the bike is built well and it comes with some pretty good components. i would recommend the bike to anyone from beginner to ammatuer or just people who like to go for a quiet ride on the mountain. i have up graded the wheels to halo and have bought a new crank for the bike as i attempted down hill on it with a few friends, i wouldn't recommend it on this bike!! i would of liked it if GT had stated what this bike can and cant do as i had killed the original wheels doing down hill.. but seriously if you are into mtb'ing then i would recommend you buy this bike or if you dont want to spend so much then GT do the AGGRESSOR XC2 and XC3 which are a cheaper version with not as good quality parts but the frame is still mint, but you can always up grade parts!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“This is a pretty good bike. I bought the 2010 XC3...”

Written on: 09/07/2010

This is a pretty good bike. I bought the 2010 XC3 about 5 months ago, and it's a good buy for its price.

It's a great bike for trails, but don't attempt downhill. The frame is well-built (6065 Aluminium in triple triangle format) so it's rigid and light. Don't try dirt jumping though, the forks are SR suntour 120mm (which are pertty pathetic) and they're worth upgrading to marzocchi or rock shox. Tektro Auriga Comp brakes, same as used on most DJ Konas, although not completely reliable. Crankarms are also worth upgrading as they suck.

Apart from that, a solid buy. Some adjustments to be made, but as long as you've got a bit left in your pocket it's no problem. Worth the 220 quid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“i bought a 2002 GT Aggressor 2.0 i fall of '02 @ a...”

Written on: 04/07/2010 by ColtPython (1 review written)

i bought a 2002 GT Aggressor 2.0 i fall of '02 @ a locl shop in Chicago for i wanna say 3-350$ brand new, STOCK! rarely even took it out of the shed for three years, started riding downtown & along the lakefront maybe 5-6 times a month with friends. got a flat once there and brought it to a local shop in the Loop. i bought some michelin Country Rocks and shelved the stubby off roaders, then put a decent computer on it. Ive ridden it probably 1000 miles in the last 2-3 years, off road about 10% of the time at the forest preserve down the road. This bike is a Divine Conveyance! other than a couple flats, i havent had to do ANYTHING but oil it and clean it off after riding, Keeping it in protected storage is a no-brainer, but jeezus! tires still 98% true,frame's got a few dings, nothing much, the front derailer is starting to chink a lil', but i see some grease/ dirt buildup on it, these bikes are the best thing you can buy (for the price range, of course) The frame is unmatched by ANY of the higher end/ priced makers,(before you start copying Lance Johsnon or something) This bike takes a beating and not even a YELP is uttered, GREAT MACHINE!! the kind of bike you can grow with and upgrade parts on as needed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Bought a GT Agressor three years ago and have been...”

Written on: 12/05/2010 by GinaBeena (12 reviews written)

Bought a GT Agressor three years ago and have been riding it about 20 miles a day since. for that sort of hardcore use it is still in amazing condition. i have gone through a full set of coggs and wheels and it's still performing at its very best. the fork has lost a bit of its spring but other than that it is spot on.
I will be replacing it with another one very soon, same bike. The only reason I am giving it three out of five stars is because it is so very heavy that for off-road mountainbiking it is not perfect. you can hardly pick it up when you have to carry it or lift if over a fence but the price i paid for the bike was around GBP 500 which is amazing value.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great bike, just starting out in mtb'ing and also use...”

Written on: 25/03/2010

Great bike, just starting out in mtb'ing and also use it to get to work. I went for an XC2, great spec for the price and looks great in black and gloss white. Seems like a good frame and is nice to ride, the brakes are very good and so are the gears although i still need to fine tune them a little. Have upgraded the pedals for some white v8's and some white Yeti grips. For the price you really cant go wrong, might upgrade the forks once the oe have given up. So all in all a great starter bike which can be upgraded when needed. Would have loved to have got the XCR or elite but only wanted to spend around the £400 mark on a bike.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“if your after a fantastic bikethat has it all,then the...”

Written on: 20/02/2010

if your after a fantastic bikethat has it all,then the gt aggressor xc 2 09 is for you,ive had mine for the past two weeks and i cantfault it.im a propper bike nut and have had loads of top end bikes,but this is by far the best yet.for the first few days i just found myself looking at it,as it is by far the best looking bike ive had in a while,theres no point in buying a bike for peanuts becouse using it is an effort,but when you spend a bit more,like in this case its worth it,this bike just wants to be used,you look at it and you just want to get on it and ride the hell out of it,and unless im missing something,is that not what we want from a bike.the best £500 ive ever spent,roll on tomorrow,so i can go out on it again,buy it people,you wont regret it,in a word,fantastic,ill shut up now.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“got my son a 2009 aggressor, he needed a bike for...”

Written on: 12/02/2010

got my son a 2009 aggressor, he needed a bike for campus and around town. my son did not want a hi dollar bike in the rack outside the doorm. the aggressor was 350.00 looked ok for the money,3rd time he used it the pedel striped out of crank. shop said thay would have to replace the crank.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“A great mountain bike, nice ride for uphill etc, easy...”

Written on: 11/10/2009

A great mountain bike, nice ride for uphill etc, easy with the gear selection. A comfortable ride.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“i got my GT Aggressor in june and find it an excellent...”

Written on: 26/09/2009 by cillianlally (1 review written)

i got my GT Aggressor in june and find it an excellent bike for quick bursts through the city and racing down through the country but i may have to change the tyres for longer trips.all round beautiful bike with a lovely feel on corners and accelerating,love at first site,must buy hands down

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bought the 09 GT Aggressor in june this year. So far...”

Written on: 14/09/2009

Bought the 09 GT Aggressor in june this year. So far ive had an excellent time with it and am thoroughly pleased and continue to be impressed with the performance of the bike. Ive been using it mainly for off road downhill mountain biking and it has coped effortlessly even although I have been pushing it hard. Ive also used it on road/path and find it to be very smooth due to its lightweight. Buy this now, you will not be dissapointed with whatever riding you wish to use it for!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The GT Aggressor is a great bike. Gears a bit iffy,...”

Written on: 24/06/2009

The GT Aggressor is a great bike. Gears a bit iffy, needed a new back wheel, new cassette, new bottom bracket.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by cavmax on 7th March 2019 Report this content
Can the handle bar be raised on the gt aggressor?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by angieruse12 on 31st December 2013 Report this content
I need to touch up my gt aggressor 3.0 can you tell me the exact colour being red?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview