Slaters Menswear Reviews

Slaters Menswear
★★★★☆
4.2
79.0% of users recommend this
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Slaters Menswear - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Slaters Menswear

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“What Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JohnJHM-Hull on 24/03/2020

I have used Slaters in Glasgow since the mid-1970s, now live in Hull and use the shop here. I renew my kilt at Houstons of Paisley, however, took the plunge to have the kilt order via the Hull Slaters shop. Price was not the driver as they both offer similar prices, it was simply location. I placed an order just shy of £600 and paid 50% upfront, the remainder due upon collection, was asked to attend the shop less than a week later to try on the jacket and waistcoat, these are off the peg not tailored! I attend the store, try on told the assistant the waistcoat is too tight, and that I will collect all when I pick up the kilt, she asked for payment noting that they had not charged for the leg flashings and that this was an additional £20, I stated this is OK I will pay when you have the order completed. She appeared to not be happy with this, I left the £20 and stated I would pay the rest on return when the full kilt and jackets were ready. I returned on the 21st March to collect the items, the waistcoat is the same tight unit, the kilt is not to the same quality of supplied by other tailors. I am then asked to pay the additional £20 yet again. The biggest insult to intelligence was a call on the 22nd of March the Sunday from the sales assistant telling me they had changed the back on the waistcoat (off the peg item) to make it 2" larger (a normal step on clothing changes) and that the alteration was now complete. Having spent years purchasing goods from Slaters I would ask that you think hard before making any purchase as customer service has been replaced by money-grabbing, target setting, my biggest mistake was allowing my loyalty to Houstons to be replaced by local access. WILL NOT USE in the future

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Very bad customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Silverhoop on 29/05/2018

Hired a kilt for my son. Initially quite happy with the service as all the details were taken and paid for over 2 months in advance. Received an e-mail when the items came in. Went to the shop to pick them up and although I was being served by someone who looked fairly busy and wasn't giving me much attention I still managed to satisfy myself that everything fitted OK. Wasn't overly enamoured by the condition of the shirt and shoes received but after we washed and ironed the shirt and polished the shoes they were acceptable. It was when I returned the outfit that I ran in to bother. Firstly, it took the staff (And this was the departmental manager) over 5 minutes to find my paperwork. When they did they then told me that the belt for the kilt was missing. I replied that I hadn't received a belt and had not ordered one - My son was wearing the waistcoat and had no need for a belt. I was told by the department manager that it should have been in the bag. I replied that it wasn't and could 100% guarantee that I had not received it. At this point all the departmental manager could do was to keep reiterating that there should have been a belt and I would have to pay for it. No amount of assurances for me would suffice nor did he offer to look in to the matter. All he could say was that it was marked off in their paperwork. Incidentally, this was paperwork that I had not seen before and consisted of a checklist of items, I certainly had not been given that or been asked to sign out items. In a very busy shop in front of customers and my son I was being treated like a thief and a liar. No matter what I said the departmental manager continued to look sideways at me and continue with telling me I would need to pay. At one point he even said that he lived nearby me and he could drive round and pick up the belt!! Again, absolutely astonished by his behaviour. I was eventually asked to sign my paperwork and I made a point of signing that I was being forced to sign for the lack of a belt that I had not received. I have been shopping in Slater's for over 30 years and would never have thought about going elsewhere for shirts, ties or suits, but I'm afraid now that I will no longer give them any custom and I would advise anyone to steer clear and/or at least double check every item that you are booking out.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“jonny overcoat, manchester shop”

★★★★★

written by OliviaSears316 on 28/10/2017

i received my overcoat thank you fits perfect very pleased i will use you again without a doubt also it arived spot on time thanks again

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Why so few larger mens sizes”

★★☆☆☆

written by Maffvilla on 09/07/2016

Visited the newcastle shop today...very few choices for mens suits in 46-48 long.only one i liked and was too small and in general staff didnt seem very keen in trying to source one.complete waste of time and above all very very disappointing and not what i expected at all.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent service and very happy looking friendly staff.”

★★★★★

written by on 24/01/2016

Popped into the Leeds store to buy a white tuxedo trousers and shirt, was in my work gear as been very busy and me leaving things till the last minute as usual, Building boots and work gear did not stop the great service. I would also like to add they did not have a pair of 32 waist 32 leg trousers but said they would get some in by next week for me, but as said we sail on our cruise Tuesday, so they took some of another suit and let me have them, I got them home and they were a bit tight so I went back on the Sunday to change them for a 34 waist but the assistant measured me when I had the trousers on and said they only needed another inch making them a 33 and took them away had them altered, ten minutes later I was on my way with my gear Happy and will definitely shop there again thank you .

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent quality and service”

★★★★★

written by RJLynch on 12/01/2016

After a bad experience of purchasing a three piece suit online I went into my my local Slaters menswear just to have a look at their range. After seeing their excellent collection I tried a two on which looked fantastic but couldnt make my mind up from them so I ended up buying both because of the value and quality. As they didn't quite fit perfectly the gentleman pinned the suit to fit and had them both altered in a week free of charge as part of the service. I can highly recommend Slaters!!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“poor quality”

★★☆☆☆

written by gardi123 on 30/12/2015

On 22 Dec I went to the Brown Sreet shop and bought a Harris Tweed waistcoat for £60. As soon as I got it home and tried it on the buttons unthreaded and came off. The overall quality was flimsy and I can't see it lasting and amount of time. I used to have an account when I was working and bought loads of stuff from here but the quality now is poor. The waistcoat was made in China so I guess I should have been suspicious but I suppose they get everything from China here. Very disappointed for the money.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very Poor Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DLTSalford on 10/12/2015

Has to be the worst customer service/sales in Manchester, I went with a friend to buy a suit, he has bought numerous items with them before and he was shocked at how poor the service was. They need a complete review of customer service and customer engagement. I am disabled and no support was offered and the interest from staff was virtually non existent. The manager came over to speak as we left but the experience has put me off. They lost out on over £200 which was what I was planning to spend. I will now try a better managed shop. Should be ashamed !!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Customer Service Stinks”

★☆☆☆☆

written by debanddoll on 04/07/2015

my son got his wedding suit here and was pleased so his dad decided to go there also - they didnt have his size but said they would order it now 4 weeks later and wedding upon us in the next couple of weeks still no suit. Promised and promised telephone call to let us know when it would be in (3 days is what we are promised) every time we ring them as yet they have never called us - still no suit today so we are going shopping elsewhere. If I had my way my sons suit would be going back - Customer service is terrible and the person dealing with us is the asst manager - god help us all

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Slaters Birmingham”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 205Kearns on 21/03/2015

Have purchased a suits from the slater store in birmingham last week. As the trousers was quite baggy and the length was far too long so they said they can get the length sorted and make the trousers to slim fit style for me. I was very happy until I collected the outfit. I have to say that they have completely ruined the trousers! After collecting the outfit I put them on straight away in the store and i was totally in shock that one leg of the trousers was shorted than the other one. The worse part was they haven't tailored the trousers to slim fit at all although the guy in the reception kept saying that's the slim fit you want. All in all they have not delivered the services they have promised to their customers and they blame their customer if they are not happy with the tailored suits. Please keep yourself away from that shop!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“3 Piece check suit perfect fit”

★★★★★

written by Aracelyf411 on 21/02/2015

Received my suit within a few days after ordering it on line, tried it on and it fitted me perfectly, very surprised. Looking forward to wearing it at the weddings I have been invited too. The one thing I would have liked to have known was the material it was made from which I could not find on the internet. But as it is I am very happy.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Nottingham Store”

★★☆☆☆

written by Will.Eastman1990 on 28/01/2015

Bought a harry brown suit for a wedding. Lasted 3 weeks following the wedding before the trousers literally fell apart. Hems down crotch stitching loose. €75 wasted Lost all faith and bought a full suit from Matalan for job interview. Wore this for 4 months and still perfect. had a corporate event so went back to slayers thinking I would buy a better quality suit. £180 layer and tailored to fit. It has lasted 4 weeks and all the stitching has come out the trousers again leaving me in a board meeting with no crotch in my trousers. How embarrassing. Avoid Slaters at all cost. Poor quality. Next time it will be Matalan or next.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“perfect suits with absolutely amazing quality. ”

★★★★★

written by boyjoe on 10/10/2014

perfect suits with absolutely amazing quality.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Leeds Store”

★★☆☆☆

written by 318Harper on 20/09/2014

We recently hired some suits from Slaters and the whole experience left a lot to be desired. We were seen by a short guy with dark hair for our first fitting who was completely void of any sense of humour. The second time we waited an hour for our best man to be measured up for his suit, I get that it was Saturday and it's going to be busier but the solution to that is having more than one member of staff! We weren't even acknowledged by staff or offered any apology for the wait. Had we not already paid for the grooms suit, I would have walked out. Fast forward to the wedding - they forgot the shoes but sorted that out in plenty of time however the suits were just scruffy! The grooms waistcoat had pulled threads all over it and a button fell off during the reception!! Considering we paid just over £100 per suit I expected a lot better, friendlier service.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“staff who really want to serve you”

★★★★★

written by Nashlo311 on 06/08/2014

Has soon as we arrived we were greeted with offers of support in finding what we was looking for. Staff where very efficient and not what I thought(,I thought they was going to try and sell sell) I was wrong they asked us what we wanted my son was sized up and suit got. Suit sent off for taking up by them(brilliant). Shirts laid out to match suit and lady helped my son pick his tie. Overall we spent 123 pounds on 3 piece suit, shirt, tie and a wallet, which will see him through a wedding, prom and up coming interviews bargain. Just a note they also do a 75 pound deal which is brilliant.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Superb Service”

★★★★★

written by Warren427 on 26/07/2014

I have recently bought a suit from Slaters Norwich for a wedding. I really can't say enough about the product or the service. It was tailored, fantastic quality and the staff went out of their way to ensure I was always kept updated. One of the staff members even helped me pick out a matching tie to go with the suit. The staff genuinely want to ensure the product is perfect for you, they are not just about making the sale and moving on to the next customer. Do yourself a favour and pick Slaters as your suit tailors.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Black Slim Fit Suit”

★★★★★

written by Erikam335 on 11/07/2014

The suit was delivered on time and as described - but too small. So I ordered the next size up and returned the small one. The next suit was despatched quickly and the refund also given quickly. The suit was very good quality for £50 and looked very good on my son for his prom. I would recommend Slaters and the slim fit black suit.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Highland dress hire - the very best of service”

★★★★★

written by Allan Thomson on 16/06/2014

Hire of Highland dress for my daughter's wedding had to be top notch, spot on, stress free. Part 1 - the booking - "Just call in sir" - friendly, efficient, very knowledgeable staff, advised on all the detail to consider. Reasonable price, paid deposit. Part 2 - the collection - email on the arranged date to advise items were ready for collection. Arrived, all fitted, more advice on detail of this fairly complex attire - then a problem. Not due to Slaters, you understand, but me. Broke a nail, cut a finger and got blood on the white dress shirt. Slaters designate this as a "write-off"! Right, Sir, when are you leaving for the wedding? Don't worry. Weve ordered a replacement if you can manage back in to pick it up on the morning you leave. Additional charge? No Sir! We'll email you when it's in. Part 3 - the wedding. That's for me to know - but it'll be great! Thanks, Slaters!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Slaters Reading - Top notch!”

★★★★★

written by Bryfiero on 15/06/2014

Visited the Reading branch as my son was in need of a suit for his upcoming prom. Staff were very knowledgeable, helpful, and polite. Not once did we feel pressured or rushed. The variety of informal menswear was a nice surprise as were the prices. Overall a fantastic shopping experience and we look forward to returning.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Would highly recommend cardiff store”

★★★★★

written by Soozjj on 31/05/2014

So impressed with the service we received from Slaters in Cardiff. We went in for trousers and shirts for our wedding abroad, the store manager was friendly and professional. We were shown many options, with absolutely no pressure to buy. With one look at the bridal party he knew exactly what would suit and fit them perfectly. Prices where so impressive we ended up ordering full suits for all. Slaters tailored the suits as part of their service, this was completed very quickly and communication was excellent. One of our party lives in Australia and so slaters made a suit up to measurements given and organised posting it over. I never write reviews but really felt compelled after our visit. We will ONLY buy formal wear from here from now on. If you can ask for Craig Moody, the store manager. FANTASTIC!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview