Gilera Runner 125 VX Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4 / 5
83% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Build quality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Gilera Runner 125 VX - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Gilera Runner 125 VX

Gilera Runner 125 VX
Gilera Runner 125 VX

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Gilera runner vx 125”

written by Leemister on 06/07/2014

I was given my gilera runner about 3months ago as a birthday gift, it has done me fine since! I would not want another 125cc but this one! Some of the positives are, quick top speed and acceleration(pulls away nicely and gets up to 40 very quick!) . Nice amount of room under the seat, nice dashboard! Sounds gorgeous but I don't have the standard exhaust on mine. Now for some of the cons, suspension isn't the best, abit bumpy here and there. Rather heavy when you have to make a sharp ish turn from still(balance wise it does test you!) also finally the issue that really got me stressed out earlier today when I was on my way to work a good few miles from my house and the bike cut out on me when I was on low revs! Now baring in mind it was absolute smashing it down with rain so I'm assuming some water has got into the bike and messed something up, if you no how to prevent that please email me at [email protected] But overall very good scooter and I would recommend buying it to anyone who is looking to buy a 125cc.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“HELP”

written by on 08/06/2012

ive bought a Gilera runner vx125 4stroke as a spare run-around when i first got it it worked fine then it cut out at the lights and wouldn't start. Its just had a new ignition coil new battery and new spark plug and it will not start what so ever unless I wiggle the wires in the back of the ignition coil. Even then it doesn't start any ideas what it could be ?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Runner125Vx's Comment

Written on: 19/01/2013

i had same on my 125 vx 2005 try a fuel pump

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“could somebody help me please ”

written by madness7 on 02/03/2012

ive just bought a 57 reg ,and the bike goes well, but on the panel i have two bars flashing under neath the temperature gauge or coolent sign, the 1st and last bar keep flashing as soon as i tiun the key,the bike doesnt have to be running for this to happen ,and when riding it keeps flashing , could somebody please help me to let me no why this is happening, thank u very much.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kwilli222's Response to madness7's Review

Written on: 24/08/2012

I had a similar problem on my 57reg vxr200, it was a loose connection on the water temperature sensor. Remove the inspection panel under the seat and the single wire that goes to a sensor on the cylinder barrel, this connection was loose, it's just a simple spade connector that needs to be a tighter fit on the water temp sensor. Takes around 3 mins to fix.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“I got Gilera Runner 125 VX 2009 Reg.”

written by Ziadaldaher on 07/02/2012

Bought it last week and i am "more less" satisfied. It looks great, gets to 60 mph fairly quickly (i would imagine it wont do more then 65mph if i was to push it), can do 100 miles for £9.00 and as its bigger then Peugeot Speedfight 100 i dont look funny on it as i am quite toll:) Also the dashboard is a bit funky and there is speedometer and mileage (these two can show the speed and the mileage in kilometres as well), clock, temperature and fuel level. Sure you have warning lights for oil, lights etc and the red revs "clock" looks cool! Downsides are suspensions really. I would rate them 2 stars. The other thing is handling on low speed. If you are for example emerging from the junction immediately to the left or right after having waited for green light, you are going to say WTF! if you know what i mean :) It just looses the balance... Overall it looks ok and i would recommend it. Cheers!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“ST125 top scooter”

written by on 13/12/2011

I have had a gilera runner St125 for a while now couldn't really afford the £3000 price tag but is what I wanted. It is an Italian scooter so obviously it is built for looks and sporty feel rather than reliability. Had a few things wrong with it. Water leaks new water pump inlet manifolds ... Now a lot of people will tell you that a 125 will do 100 mph but this is untrue. Scoot will. Hit up to 78 on clock but using gps have never seen it go over 70mph. Fitted 210 big bore kit. After fitting the kit the torque is amazing no improvement on top end as big bore is about power! 0-60 is fast !!'nn Few problems after fitting 1. Fuel problem causing engine to cut out Solution using high octane fuel 2. The start up is difficult and wearing variator pulley and starter! Solution fit auto decompression Starts every time no problems!!!!! Fitted gear up variator and clutch Increased top speed in a big way and really recommended

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“i have a gilera runner vx125 2001 when i first bought...”

written by on 05/12/2010

i have a gilera runner vx125 2001 when i first bought the bike after replacing alot of parts on it as it is 10 years old it was exspected,it was great never let me down i used it daily to and from work very nippy no problems dry or wet,then i started to find web sites like pm tuning,adrenalin ped stop,and psn tuning,and s.i.p and started to tune my bike with the 210 malossi kit,polini clutch and bell,polini variator,malossi 34mm carburetter,foam air filter,leo vince pipe,polini gear up kit,sinse this i have had nothing but trouble wont start ,too much compression starter motor cant handle it,other pats like the stater and crank broke up,loom went wrong and too be honest for wot you gain another 20mph its not worth the hassel,your better off keeping it standerd and having it work everyday,as soon as you buy tuning products it will break down all the time,and all these tuning companys will not give any garaentie with the parts they sell you,no returns if they dont fit so do your home work before making an order online,my advise to you keep it standerd its a moped if you want to go faster by an r6 or somthing,my gilera is costing me a fortune now ,ive spent 3000 pound on this bike now, and iam not spending anymore,i would rather burn it, so be warned people unless your rich and can affored to fix it weekly,dont bother,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 10/10/2011

dun the same thing 2 my bike. and wot u say in your review is true i dun the lot 2 it and spent alot ov money on it 2 break all the time; back 2 standerd 4 me.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“well i have had a gilera runner vx125 for 6months and...”

written by on 26/03/2010

well i have had a gilera runner vx125 for 6months and i love it the only problem i have is the liquid collent leaks somtimes. i have had 84mph out of it and it is complealy standard. i think it takes of at the lights is really good it is very nippy through traffic. the only thing i dont really like about it is it attracts to much attention from the young kids around my area

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I bought the a Giilera VX125 04plate 2nd hand, was a...”

written by on 19/11/2009

I bought the a Giilera VX125 04plate 2nd hand, was a good runner, a little slow of the lights, but quiet and very nibble between traffic, loooking for another, very popular model if you have one be sure to ground it , I learnt the hard way and now is a write-off.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“well iv had the Gilera Runner 125 VX for 1 day...and...”

written by on 03/06/2009

well iv had the Gilera Runner 125 VX for 1 day...and its absolutely amazing! i am 17 and way only 9 n a half stone...i got 0 - 60 mph in 6 seconds and i cant wai to try it tommorow and try and hit 80 mph all standard...and yes if u replace the exhaust you can get anohter 2 bhp so another 5 - 10 mph =]

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Gilera Runner 125 VX is a very good bike nice...”

written by on 11/05/2009

The Gilera Runner 125 VX is a very good bike nice drive very fast good fuel aconomy

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“had my gilera runner 125 now 4 about 6 months the only...”

written by on 07/04/2009

had my gilera runner 125 now 4 about 6 months the only problem i have is when it rains really bad the spark plug gets wet and cuts out...apart from that no problems its v.quick aint had another 125cc beat me just yet.so all is well.bit bumpey at times but ill get over it.lol

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I think the Gilera Runner 125 VX is a nice bike but...”

written by lukeyp33 on 19/02/2009

I think the Gilera Runner 125 VX is a nice bike but the suspension could be improved. Also I found starting to be a bit rubbish due to cold weather. I've got an 04 plate brilliant bike got malossi rollers and 210 bore kit at max speed i got 125 most out of it , brilliant bike .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Will let you know once I've owned it for a while. The...”

written by TommyAnnand on 30/11/2008

Will let you know once I've owned it for a while. The speed, the petrol consumtion, the lights, the overall design of the bike.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“To sum up a good scooter let down by poor suspension &...”

written by on 22/11/2008

To sum up a good scooter let down by poor suspension & ride comfort, to be fair I should have bought a scooter with larger wheel diameters so that I got the ride that suited me better, I have upgraded the rear suspension struts to bitubo items & this has improved things, next item is the seat that I am going to have reshaped, I will keep you posted!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dazrolo's Comment

Written on: 13/09/2011

iv just this minute brought a vx 125. got it home and turned the engine off then tried to start it again and there is nothing there just a faint clicking nose coming from the back wheel area!! can you give me any advice on what may be wrong?? !!!!!!!!many thanks!!!!!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dazrolo's Comment

Written on: 13/09/2011

iv just this minute brought a vx 125. got it home and turned the engine off then tried to start it again and there is nothing there just a faint clicking nose coming from the back wheel area!! can you give me any advice on what may be wrong?? !!!!!!!!many thanks!!!!!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“I ' ve not long bought a Gilera Runner 125cc VX and so...”

written by on 08/11/2008

I ' ve not long bought a Gilera Runner 125cc VX and so far it been alright I do agree with some people it could be a bit lighter and it can be a rough ride now and then. My bike is not too bad on top speed, but I am going to get a 210 bore kit and some malossi rollers I sure that will speed it up a little. I did have problems with it to start with trouble starting and just constantly kept stalling, so I had to put new spark plug and carburetor done. So to the person who has problems starting it may be that.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Scooter is great in town & dual carriage way, fast and...”

written by harley 883 on 20/10/2008

Scooter is great in town & dual carriage way, fast and confidence inspiring, generally it is a very good scooter, the main thing that lets it down is the poor quality suspension system that is very hard even when set on the softest settings at the rear twin dampers. To sum up for short journeys ok, for longer journey use without a suspension upgrade and just the thing I am doing by fitting a biturbo twin rear gas shock system. I ordered them today, I will keep you posted after I have used the scoot and tested them!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have a gilera runner sc 125 and I have had 210...”

written by buzboy123 on 07/10/2008

I have a gilera runner sc 125 and I have had 210 variator on it and a Kevlar belt and malossi air filter and I am really happy to say I have had about 110 mph out of it advise to anyone who has the money buy a gilera runner 125 don ' t go for any other scooter.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Good. I got a 54 plate vx and it was smooth as...”

written by on 17/09/2008

Good. I got a 54 plate vx and it was smooth as anything. And I have ridden 50cc to 1000cc. At standard it hit good speeds now. Since I put on some malossi rollers, belt and variator it is up to 90 with a real fast take off. Almost as fun as an 180sp, but a lot smoother.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I just brought my Gilera Runner yesterday for £450...”

written by n0ve08 on 31/08/2008

I just brought my Gilera Runner yesterday for £450 its a 51 plate and after getting rollers and a new belt the bike is sweet could do with new panels though.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I bought my Gilera Runner 125 VX from a local dealer...”

written by Tunny on 28/07/2008

I bought my Gilera Runner 125 VX from a local dealer in Bermuda and to be frank its been nothing but a pain in the xxxx since. The bike itself is excellent but is totally ruined by the bonecrunching ride. I have no faith whatsoever in the dealer. I am sure there is a fault somewhere but not being a mechanic I have no idea where to start. I know that once this problem is sorted that the bike will be as good as the ones ridden by all the other reviewers but at the moment it only rates a 2 and I think I am being generous at that. I can only ride it relatively short distances before I have to stagger off it! Gilera web site also seems poor as I cant even contact them for their opinion on it. Not happy!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by lorrpatt58 on 27th April 2016 Report this content
I have a Gilera 125 and the exhaust keeps cracking. Any ideas why this is happening?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Cuzbuzzgolf on 9th November 2014 Report this content
My son has a gilera runner 125 57 plate that keeps cutting out when it rains...... Is this a common problem? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview