Auto Europe Car Hire Reviews - www.auto-europe.co.uk

★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
58% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk

Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★★☆☆☆

“Misleading. Bait & switch. Poor customer service”

Written on: 16/02/2017 by Neckermann (4 reviews written)

Booked a car online for a week for €15 (Goldcar). When I arrived at Goldcar counter in Seville, they had me pay a mandatory 'service fee' of €27. Nowhere in my booking or on their site did Auto Europe mention this fee. Second, I booked the car with the full-empty fuel option, but nevertheless I had to return the car with a full fuel tank, otherwise Goldcar would charge me €80. Third, I wanted to extend my reservation and contrary to what Auto Europe states on their website, this CANNOT BE… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service! Agents in need of training!”

Written on: 23/04/2016 by maialina (14 reviews written)

I recently hired a car in Pisa and according to the Auto Europe website and to the rental voucher they sent me the location of the rental company should have been in the airport terminal when in actual fact all rental companies in Pisa are located in a rental building. Not a big deal...we hopped on a shuttle and reached the building. But on my return I thought I'll let Auto Europe know so that they could amend their website and provide customers with the correct information. Their response… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to maialina's Review

Written on: 25/04/2016

Hi,

thank you for feedback.

Please accept apologies from Auto Europe for the inconvenience and misunderstanding. Please provide your voucher number so that I could forward this to our customer service team to update the information on our website.

Kind regards,
Kate
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment

Heidelinde's reply to Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 09/06/2016

I totally agree with the customer claiming that your personal is not trained. My husband and I had the same experience, your people only speak some English or are even not able to speak the language of your customers (German which is not a small language I think?) The agent put us on music the whole time to get rid of us or because he did not know how to help, The worst experience we have ever had with a company and customer "Support" Service! We will never book again with Auto Europe and will spread the negative word!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service! Agents in need of training!”

Written on: 23/04/2016 by maialina (14 reviews written)

I recently hired a car in Pisa and according to the Auto Europe website and to the rental voucher they sent me the location of the rental company should have been in the airport terminal when in actual fact all rental companies in Pisa are located in a rental building. Not a big deal...we hopped on a shuttle and reached the building. But on my return I thought I'll let Auto Europe know so that they could amend their website and provide customers with the correct information. Their response… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to maialina's Review

Written on: 10/05/2016

Dear Client

Thank you for your feedback.

Your review has been passed to our management team so that it may be investigated further.

Warm Regards
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Very slow, very basic cars”

Written on: 31/01/2016 by Flitton (1 review written)

Very slow service , never seems to be enough staff on duty. We never get the car advertised VW always results in a Skida for example . When you have a great deal of luggage a smaller car isn't ideal . Disappointing… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to Flitton's Review

Written on: 03/02/2016

Dear Client

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to learn that your overall car hire experience was not a pleasurable one.

Suppliers often use a vehicle to describe the group that you are booked, for example a 'Compact' size vehicle group may be described as a 'VW Golf or Similar'; this does not guarantee a VW Golf will be provided. However you should still receive a vehicle of this size.

Please do contact our Customer Service Team and they will check with the local supplier on the vehicle group you were provided with.

Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“car hire with poor service from staff”

Written on: 24/01/2016

My husband and I hired a car, VW Polo, for 5 days in Salzburg. We completed the paperwork and then were handed the keys and told 'the car is out there'. I had to return to the desk to ask precisely where as it was in a park at the side of the building covered in snow. We had to remove the snow ourselves and had there been any scrapes it would have been very difficult to see them. No member of staff came with us to show us the controls, (although there were 3 members of staff in the office) the… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 03/02/2016

Dear Client
We are very sorry to learn that your car hire experience was not a pleasurable one.
So that this can be investigated fully please do contact the Auto Europe Customer Service Team, with your booking details and an account of what happened during your rental.
Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“cheap because the cars you end up with are poor”

Written on: 11/01/2016 by bonefish635 (1 review written)

Booked 'Skoda Yeti' or similar from Geneva for ski trip. We take the same skis every year. Was given some small Omega Mokka or the like, which was so small inside it meant dismantling the ski bag and setting each pair of skis separately somewhere in the cabin. The pick up car park where you find out you've got a smaller car is a bus ride away from the desk where you signed for it, so you end up making do. I'll never use them again… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to bonefish635's Review

Written on: 13/01/2016

Dear Client,
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear you were supplied with a smaller car than anticipated. Please contact our customer service team to verify if you were downgraded locally. Please provide them with your voucher number and all your local rental documents.
Kind regards,
Kate
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“There was a drop-off charge which more then doubled...”

Written on: 03/01/2016 by Jan10630 (1 review written)

I booked a car with pick-up at Amsterdam and drop off in Paris as no drop-off charge was mentioned on the original price comparison. When picking up the car in Amsterdam, we were told that there was a 500 Euro (EXCL VAT) drop off charge which I was not aware off. This was mentioned on the voucher which was sent to me once I booked (which I did not read properly) but it was never mentioned on the original quote. This more then doubled the car rental. I was really disappointed and will from now… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to Jan10630's Review

Written on: 06/01/2016

Dear Client
I am sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties during your car rental. Whenever a search is made on our booking engine with pick-up in one country and drop-off in another, a warning message is displayed. The message informs clients that these international one-way bookings may include restrictions and additional fees. This message is displayed before payment is made. You can find the one-way fee noted on your car rental voucher, below the pick-up and drop-off information. We also allow the booking to be cancelled for free until 48 hours before the pick-up, including in cases where the client finds the one-way fee to be too high. Nevertheless, we apologise for the inconvenience this caused on your trip.
.
Kind regards,
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Don't trust this company”

Written on: 21/12/2015 by MisterPianoman (1 review written)

I have used Auto-Europe for many years during my travels throughout Europe and all is well as long as you don't encounter a problem as I did recently. I was denied the special rates during a car rental in Denmark and was left without a car. To add insult to injury, Auto-Europe flatly refused to refund my money. I was left not only without a car in a foreign country, but out of pocket too. Their response was non-committal and generally disinterested. Something about 'contact our customer service… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to MisterPianoman's Review

Written on: 22/12/2015

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and for being a long-time customer of ours. I am very sorry to hear that your most recent car rental experience did not go as planned, and that we could not be of more help at the time - I understand that this must have caused great distress on your trip. I would, however, ask that you contact our customer service team when you can, and I hope that we can begin to make things right again.

My apologies again for the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Mary
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment

Misterpianoman's reply to Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 23/12/2015

Interesting response. How can things be 'made right again' when I was told in no uncertain terms that there would be no refund. What more is there to say? How can I trust a company like that? My review stands.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“What a car!!”

Written on: 10/12/2015 by Pghewitt (1 review written)

I booked a VW Passat saloon for myself and two colleagues with Enterprise. We were allocated an horrendous van, which is a kind description. Unfortunately one of my colleagues was late arriving and we were told it was the only vehicle available. What nonsense, but we did not have the time to argue. On our return the next day the staff were very polite and apologetic, but the morale of the story is check what you are getting. Will not use Enterprise again. No issues with Auto Europe, although… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to Pghewitt's Review

Written on: 18/12/2015

Hi There

Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear that the location staff were somewhat helpful when you returned to the depot.
It may be that the vehicle they had reserved for you was given to another client if your arrival was later than booked?
Your feedback will be passed to the team here so that they can work with Enterprise to prevent further issues of this nature.
Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Stung with hidden extras”

Written on: 01/12/2015 by Melinav323 (1 review written)

Arrived to collect car, didn't have chance to look at car voucher which had terms and conditions printed on AFTER we had paid for rental (nothing on website to state any of these extras) only to be stung with an extra £ 58.97 for insurance! The car rental itself was only £25! Desperately needing the car I cut my losses and paid the extra. We then had to have fuel money frozen on our account incase we didn't fill car back to full, this was ok (although £227 seems a bit ridiculous for a tank… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 02/12/2015

Dear Clients
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to learn that you have not had a pleasant experience with Auto Europe. We do try our best to make all information provided on our website and also on the car hire voucher as clear as possible.
For further assistance please do contact us directly.
Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Automatic car rental in Poznan”

Written on: 08/11/2015 by Badcompany1 (1 review written)

The car had only 2 panels ( the roof and bonnet) that wasn't scratched, dented or scraped in some way. I was charged a pick up and drop off fee which wasn't explained when I booked the vehicle. The driving experience of this vehicle (Opel Astra) was disgraceful, the brakes were non existent until the last moment and then locked on throwing everyone forward, the window wiper blades were almost just metal, very ineffective with any type of moisture. The interior was averagely clean, however the… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to Badcompany1's Review

Written on: 11/11/2015

Hi There

On behalf of the supplier please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of customer care provided and the poor condition of the vehicle.

Please do contact our team directly with the booking reference and details so that this can be investigated further.

many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Fuertventura Airport via -Avis Car Hire”

Written on: 02/11/2015 by cvRasmussen73 (1 review written)

Regular visitor to Canary Islands first and last time with either entity. Autoreisen you have nothing to fear. Waited 90 minutes to be served, process was back to the "quill age" then to cap it all the car I had booked ie 7 seats was "panned off" without comment a 5 seater VWgolf. After explaining again and again my requirements and what I booked I collected the next day after a couple of reminder calls a vehicle which could accommodate seven people. Thank goodness I had hired a second vehicle… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 03/11/2015

Dear Client,

I am sorry to hear that your car rental experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please contact our customer service department, quoting your voucher number, as they will be able to further look into the matter. A customer service form as well as other contact details can be found on our website.

Kind regards,

Mary,
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Dangerous faulty car from Alamo”

Written on: 31/10/2015 by Thalia359 (1 review written)

We arrived at Reagan (DC) having booked an economy saloon. They only had a Fiat 500 in that category, so offered a choice of a couple of models from the next group up - at no extra charge. I picked a Hyundia saloon with 20K on the clock. Had to drive to Philly to meet family, but soon realised that something was wrong as the steering wheel started vibrating at specific speeds plus there was a pronounced grinding sound that I recognised as a worn or damaged wheel bearing. Once on the Interstate… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Car Supplied Clearly Inadequate for our Needs”

Written on: 21/10/2015

Made it abundantly clear at the time of booking that there were 6 people travelling - all with at least one full size suit cases apiece. However upon arrival at the car rental desk, and for the second trip in succession, it quickly became clear that the vehicle supplied would not accommodate all passengers plus luggage. This meant I had to upgrade to a larger vehicle and of course all the alleged advantages of booking in advance (e.g. supposedly cheaper prices) was immediately wiped out. It… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 22/10/2015

Dear Client
Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your car rental booked via Auto Europe.
Without a reference number I am unable to look at the booking to check the vehicle type; however with 6 passengers we would look to book a 'people carrier' or SUV; the luggage space is given as guide by the suppliers as the vehicle model in groups types may vary on luggage space.
For further information please do contact us directly.
Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Always wanting to sell you extras”

Written on: 11/10/2015 by robert.sneddden1950 (1 review written)

We are veterans at Car Hire in the USA having don't it for nearly 30 years. Alamo failed on these counts:- 1 - Trying to upgrade me to a Cadillac????? 2 - Roadside assistance is really essential (tyre blowout not covered) 3 - Sky Pass only costs $4.95 (Yes per day so read the same print) 4 - We didn't get the car we booked, no mini SUV's 5 - Dodge SUV was dirty inside and outside One of these years we won't get this hassle when having a all inclusive booking. Alamo please recognise an… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to robert.sneddden1950's Review

Written on: 13/10/2015

Hello
Thank you for the review and feedback regarding your Alamo experience.
This has been passed to our team so that they can review with Alamo the procedure of their local staff.
Should you wish to provide further information please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Booked to pick car up with avis at tenerife but auto...”

Written on: 09/10/2015

Booked to pick car up with avis at tenerife but auto Europe hadn't told them we had already upgraded our insurance and pushed very hard to try and sell us even more and kept on and on about it!! Eventually got our car only for it to break down 2 hours later with a 7 week old baby and a boot full of shopping!! Avis we're terrible and basically told us to get a taxi back to the airport to get another car,THANKS !!!When we took the car back at the end of the week no-one wanted to hear about our… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 13/10/2015

Dear Client,

Thank you for the review and we are sorry to learn that your car hire experience did not go as smoothly as it should have.
We do expect all of our suppliers to provide vehicles in a clean and road worthy condition, and in event of any issues with the vehicles, they assist in the best way possible.
Should you wish us to investigate this further with the supplier please do contact our Customer Service Team.
Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“dreadful experience”

Written on: 10/09/2015 by sardinia1 (1 review written)

We have used auto Europe for many years, but this year, both times we rented we had a poor experience. In June, we hired a car from Olbia. had to wait 2 and a half hours to be served and receive car. Last week in Brindisi. One hour wait, but once paperwork was complete, no car!. Further 30 minute wait. Car we eventually took away was dirty, damaged and required me to fill up fluids. Booking works well, prices fine, but poor pick up experience… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to sardinia1's Review

Written on: 11/09/2015

Dear Client,

We are very sorry to hear this.

Please do get in touch with our Customer Services Team directly to provide us with the details. This way we can work with the suppliers you collected from to prevent further issues of this nature.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Avoid the Refundable Excess Policy”

Written on: 03/09/2015 by alexrunner (1 review written)

Don't waste your time with Auto Europe’s refundable excess policy. I rented a Hertz/Dollar car in Spain and I think rental companies go out of their way to find damage when you don't purchase their own Collision Damage Waiver. I was certainly given the hard sell by Hertz to buy their CDW when I checked the car out. They warned me they would find something when I returned the car and sure enough they found a scratch on the wheel arch by running their fingers over its surface. You would… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to alexrunner's Review

Written on: 08/09/2015

Dear Client

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with the way in which your excess refund was handled by our team.

With all refund applications; we do ask that you send a copy of the signed rental agreement, from the start of the rental, a copy of the return paperwork showing the damage caused and also a copy of the suppliers damage invoice. If these items are not submitted we can request them directly from the local supplier, however this can sometimes take a number of weeks to obtain.

The refund amount that we can process is in direct relation to the damage cost, and does not include any administration fees; this information is provided in the terms & conditions shown on your car hire voucher.

Should you require further information please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“2 hour wait in Brindisi”

Written on: 02/09/2015

Never book through this site for Brindisi Airport if flying with Easy Jet as they too use Europcar as the local agent - so the whole plane load has to queue for just 2 service desks - we took 2 hours and others waited for longer in hot conditions outside on the pavement. Will spend more next time and book directly with another low cost provider which isn't in partnership with Easy Jet! We booked a second car the following week for my son and the same thing happened… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 08/09/2015

Dear Client,

Thank you for your review and behalf of Europcar please accept our sincere apologies for the wait you faced to collect your pre-booked vehicle.

In the busy Summer months we would expect that our suppliers have extra staff to cope with the high volume of clients. Your feedback will be passed to our management team so that they can work with Europcar to better improve on the service provided by the Brindisi depot staff.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Poor service”

Written on: 31/08/2015 by PresleyHayes281 (1 review written)

I have just returned from a 5 week hire that was organised via Europcar. When I arrived at Naples to collect my car, I had a 2 hour wait in a hot and chaotic office. When it was my turn, they informed me that they did not have the size/class car that I had booked and paid for and was forced to take a smaller car. When I arrived at my destination some 300km away, I discovered that the car could not be locked with the key or by the plip. After several telephone conversations with Europcar and… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 02/09/2015

Dear Client,
Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service provided and the vehicle.

In most cases the suppliers will ask that a change over of vehicle be done at a location; so that paperwork can be generated and vehicles checked over. If a client is unable to drive to a location they may arrange a delivery; however they will charge for this.

Please do contact our Customer Service Team so that they can investigate this further and check if you did receive an incorrect car size, as a refund may be due for this.

Kind Regards
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview