Amazones Villas Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
5 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Amazones Villas - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Amazones Villas

Amazones Villas
Amazones Villas

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“recommended for couples and families”

Written on: 24/06/2011 by magku (1 review written)

Just got back from Amazones Villas Apartments which are situated in the quieter end of Stalis, and highly recommend for families and couples, but maybe not for groups of young people looking for noisy nightlife right on their doorstep. Dimitris and Natasha, who have 2 charming little boys, run the place, they are so friendly and cannot do enough for you, every day they ask if everything is ok. There is a lovely clean pool with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas, also tables and chairs with sunshades. Snacks and drinks are available all day, reasonable prices too, in a relaxing tree shaded square next to the reception where there is internet access, safe boxes and a nice book swop. As for the apartments, these have 1 & 2 bedroom, ours had a nice sea view, and some overlooked the nice gardens. Each has 2 or 4 cooking rings, microwave, toaster, kettle, plenty of pots and pans for self catering. They are spacious, spotlessly clean and well fitted out, I can honestly say that by Greek standards they are among the best we have stayed in and are planning to return soon. There are a couple of nice tavernas within say 100 yards, also mini markets for odds and ends, the sandy beach is about 5 – 10 minutes pleasant walk (flat for anyone with walking difficulties, or in a wheelchair) along the palm tree lined beach road and the bus stop is about 10 minutes walk. The apartments are situated in a nice quiet area, being within walking distance of the main nightlife area, but “out of earshot” so to speak. In the main area (10 minutes easy walk) is the usual shopping complete with a couple of butchers and a super fruit and veg market for anyone wanting to self-cater. There is also a good bakery for the must have cheese pies, and plenty of giro-pitta takeaways for people who aren’t watching their weight (yummy). Other eating places include Greek dancing and plate smashing if that’s what you like. Here’s the link for anyone who wants it. .Amazones are not available through Portland any more, suggest you book direct at http://www.amazonesclub.com Thanks for a great holiday guys, see you soon

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We chose the Amazones Villas purely from the great...”

Written on: 23/07/2005 by Tan2301 (1 review written)

We chose the Amazones Villas purely from the great comments on the Hols uncovered site. It was our most expensive Greek holiday yet as the only travel co you can book them through is Portland. However the flight times through Portland were very good as normally Crete flight times are very early morning and when you have to be out of the apartments by 10am (as all Greek apartments) the long wait for a 2am coach pickup can be very tiring!

Our first impression of Amazones Villas was the nice layout of the pool area and bar area down the slope.
The apartments were better than the usual Greek apartments! They were very very clean, spacious and the brand spanking new bathroom had just been fully refurbished to an excellent standard.
The kitchen (not that we used it) had all you would need for self catering i.e. Kettle, toaster, microwave, hobs, big fridge freezer and a good supply of kitchenware.
The wardrobes in the bedroom were basic (no draws) but these are to be refurbished this winter in all the apartments. (also the pool area is to be expanded)
The beds were comfortable. The bedroom even had a hairdryer!!
The loo rolls were replaced when ran out and the sheets and towels were changed twice a week. The room was cleaned excellently 6 days a week except Sundays and the beds were made etc. We were very impressed with the friendly, efficient cleaning staff.

The only very slight downside (if you can even call it that!!) was the view; the apartments were behind another apartment which blocked the lovely sea view.
One thing you must be aware of is you will need mosquito protection from the first night!! We got bitten over 30 times in the first night as we forgot to put the mosquito plug in in. Once the plug in's were on, we didn't get bitten at all. You will also need mosquito protection for the evenings for your skin!

Amazones is in a good area, a five minute stroll to the start of Stalis's main strip and the start of the beach. Quiet at night.
Onsite there is a great bar and seating area, Internet cafe, pool with snack bar and reception manned all day and night where you can change money and hire safety boxes etc.
We got to know most of the guests staying and all were friendly. We met a great family Steve, Nicki, Aidan, Lewis and Crystal who were got on with straight way. Spent many great afternoons for after beach drinks at the bar!! Only two rounds though or was it 3??!!!

But the absolute best thing about these apartments is the owner Dimitris, his family and all of his staff. They were all fantastic! They were all so welcoming and friendly and treated you as old friends. We felt at home straight away.
Dimitris and his fianc e Litza (sorry if spelt wrong!) are great. We were really delighted to experience two "real" Greek evenings with them which in the 9 years we have been visiting the Greek Islands, we have never experienced before. Watch out for Dimitris's homebrew Raki though!!! (It's only meant to be sipped!!!! ooops!!)
Excellent service from the snack bar (Dragon), reception (Christine) and especially the barmaid Emma. You would never go without a drink or be lonely with Em around! Can you guess where we spent most of our evenings after dinner!!!!!! And not forgetting the gorgeous Max (the family dog) He's very intelligent as even though there are a lot of strangers staying at the apartments, Max would only bark at any reps or delivery people but loved the residents!

Dimitris hosts entertainment evenings on various nights, Singing bingo, Pool competitions, Quiz nights and BBQ with Greek dancing lessons. Not to be missed as they all are a great laugh esp. the Quiz night and the BBQ. Dimitris and Litza were fantastic to watch when they did the Greek dancing on their own. Made us all look as if we have two left feet!!!

There is a supermarket next door to the apartments but the ones in Stalis high street are cheaper!

Stalis is a long road that leads into Malia. It would take about an hours stroll to reach the end of Stalis.
There are a lot of restaurants at the Amazones end and al the meals we had were great. Our best restaurant was the Golden beach. We went there every day for a lovely breakfast and there is a fantastic atmosphere in the evening where they smash plates, excellent food and fun etc. Alex and Costas two of the waiters have worked together for years and are a great laugh.
Other restaurants we liked are Roma, and the nearest one to Amazones, the romantic corner. There weren't a lot of music bars in the strip nearest Amazones but we only managed to walk down about half of the road so there could be further on.
There were some English young lad and lasses groups in Stalis due to Malia being overrun in the peek season and they all took cabs into Malia for the evening. It's a shame as some groups were pretty rude on the beach and revving up quad bikes in the day.

The beach is a nice sandy strip. The sun beds vary in cost from 3 Euros to 6 euros for two beds and a brolly.

Overall a fantastic holiday and staying at the Amazones Villas made it perfect. No question - you will not be disappointed staying there. It's the fist place we will be going back to (next year hopefully)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview