MBNA Platinum Plus Card Reviews

Click here if this is your business
MBNA Platinum Plus Card
★☆☆☆☆
1.3
13.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

Summary

The MBNA Platinum Plus is proving quite a popular credit card at the moment, but should you get one? Read the reviews to help you decide, then you can use the link below if you wish to sign up for one. If you already own an MBNA Credit Card, Platinum or otherwise we would love to hear what you think of it.

Write a review here or on the MBNA Gold Card.


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
MBNA Platinum Plus Card - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for MBNA Platinum Plus Card

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“MBNA racist staff”

★☆☆☆☆

written by uk-muslim on 03/02/2024

MBNA staff is racist towards shia muslim. Their customer service staff umer behave racistly towards shia muslim customer. No body in UK accept racism. MBNA should ban to operate in UK.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent card to have!”

★★★★★

written by Costoboc on 22/12/2017

Firstly, I'm shocked to see this card has such bad reviews!!??!! I got this card a few years ago to consolidate some debt, as they were offering .99% for a year. Every year after I pay it off they offer me the same promotional interest AGAIN, for another year or for 6 months and sometimes it's actually 0% promotional interests! I've been using this card continuously since I got it, as I can carry a balance for the duration of the promo, paying little interest and than paying the balance in full BEFORE the promo period ends. I probably saved thousands of dollars this way. Of course they would like the customer to carry over the balance after the promo period ends so they can charge their regular interest rate but you have to be smart and pay it in full on time. Using this card smartly you can save A LOT! I did! I can't comment on the customer service, as I never had to call them for any reason. The promo emails that I get from them are pretty clear and self-explanatory.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Blocked card”

★☆☆☆☆

written by GiovannyCampbell on 13/06/2017

After having this credit card over 10 years and using it regularly unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances of losing my job and being on jobseekers i was making minimum payments.i phoned mbna and asked them if they could help in anyway there reply was no and said i just have to make the minimum payment otherwise it will affect my credit rating which i said this was fine.After our conversation she said as you have phoned up asking for help we are going to block your card but you can reapply as soon as you get a job.so after a month i got a job 5 months passed and paid off more than the minimum payment and a fair amount i reapplyed they declined my application. I just feel by asking for a little help when you are going through a tough time doesnt pay off.very disappointed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolutely the WORST credit card company EVER”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Nolad430 on 02/12/2015

Nothing but problems since day one. From doubling balance transfers that put me over my limit when it clearly states you cant go over your limit doing transfers. Asking for the money that put me over the limit. Getting the run around to get the money back onto the card asking me to do a balance transfer from the other credit card. Security team cancelling my card when out with clients because of cash withdrawls. Went to a casino once and used it for a $100 cash advance they then lowered my limit two days after and left me with no money on the card. I have been contacted by them weekly all say they are willing to help only to be stabbed in the back shortly after. I have had the card for a little over a month. I will be paying this card off very soon and closing the account. Do your self a favor and stay clear of this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Long Wait for Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mcksuz on 03/06/2015

Any time I call MBNA MasterCard Customer Service, I am on hold for at least 15 minutes. I've been cut off so many times....very frustrating. Just want to talk to someone about a $1600 charge I did not authorize. Ever since the company changed over, the Customer Service is almost non-exsistant. AARRRRGGGGHHHHH!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Can,t contact”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KristinDalton on 05/10/2014

Trying to contact this company is next to impossible. They have changed their system and looks like they are in a total mess

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“DON'T GO NEAR THEM”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AliciaHampton467 on 07/06/2014

offer great deals but they EST interest is lower then they say, then they charge you when you go over you limit then they take all your deals of you

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Foyezmiah's Comment

Written on: 30/08/2014

That's the same with all deal credit cards you have to stay within your limit and pay on time to keep any offers they give its in the terms and conditions

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrbile service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jamal32 on 24/05/2014

Patronising staff. I'm also totally shocked that I can't choose how much I pay off each month by direct debit. MBNA will only let me pay the minimum amount each month!! Loan sharks!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“suspension of services”

★☆☆☆☆

written by flinty66 on 24/05/2014

took 3 weeks to respond to a complaint! came back with a load of rubbish on the response, the biggest regret i have ever had is taking this card out. they did not explain if i refused to take an interest hike thay would suspend my account! evidence of what is wrong with the greedy banking system. now my credit is perfect score on the same system they use but they are still coming up with another rubbish excuse. its just pure greed on their part. cant wait to part company with them. been with them for years too

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Appropriate for a USA bank I suppose”

★☆☆☆☆

written by maximusvi on 17/05/2014

I was offered an increase on my credit limit by MBNA and then told I didn't qualify despite missing no payments or exceeding my credit limit. Idiots !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“do not take their card they are 0 at costumer service.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Willoughby1975 on 19/04/2014

do not take their card they are 0 at costumer service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Best customer service I experienced in 40 years ”

★★★★★

written by aminbashir on 21/02/2014

I have been MBNA Card holder since 1998. Wish MBNA can start offering other businesses training on ways to keep customers happy. Have been late on payments for 2 days many times but every time I called the issue was resolved to my satisfaction and in less than 2 minutes. Of course I can not expect them to wave interest charges every time I am late but knowing they will do their best makes that difference.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No personal touch, interest and charges and interest”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Malkie24m on 19/01/2014

Stay clear off this company, they are only interested in charges after charges. They are a prime example off what is wrong with the banking system!!p

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“loansharks”

★☆☆☆☆

written by moonos on 06/12/2013

Can't think of anything bad enough to say about this company. I'd rather borrow from a loanshark... correction I did borrow from a loanshark! I've paid my card off in full and would rather go barefoot and hungry before I would use them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AVOID”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 23/11/2013

Made the mistake of setting up a standing order to clear the balance owed on an 'interest free' MBNA card. 'Paperless' account, so no paper statements. A few months later, I went online to check my account, and was shocked to see interest being charged plus several late payment charges of £12. Phoned Customer Services, and was informed that the standing order payments weren't made 'after the dates of the statements and before the payment due dates', hence the late payment fees. Also, as I'd defaulted on the agreement interest was now chargeable. Even though regular monthly payments had been made, they were on an incorrect day of the month. (Should have read the small print). Customer Services were awful and had absolutely no sympathy, the conversation with them actually left me in tears.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“PROTECT YOURSELF AND DON'T GET AN MBNA CREDIT CARD”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 19/11/2013

In the somewhat materialistic society we live in today many of us are unfortunately relying on some form of credit to get us through the busy times. Which is fine, provided one lives within one's means. At the same time life does throw obstacles and hurdles our way and we are subject to relying on credit for sometime to get by. Having said this, as a good person who unfortunately was faced with a very serious medical challenge I did have to rely on credit a little more then preferred. Unfortunately for me, my creditor was MBNA. They have made my life literally a living hell, with false advertising their product, hidden fees, action taken against a loyal long term customer for one late payment and the list goes on and on. Despite having balance coverage insurance, which honestly folks don't bother getting it and if you have it cancel it because when you need it they decline you and when you don't they charge you every month! MBNA is attached with the federal government here in Canada, and without your knowledge they can send you profile on wards to government entities and haunt you through these avenues as well. So far with my experience and a large network of close friends, family and relatives - of which many have seen what MBNA has put me through - they are all cancelling their cards and word travels fast as they are encouraging their own networks to do the same. Social media efforts are being made to make you all aware of this uniquely dangerous organization. My advice is simple, if you have MBNA cancel it, if you don't have it and are on the market for a new credit card then don't apply for MBNA! They will give it to you easier then many esteemed organizations but honestly it is not worth the lifelong scar they put on you! I hope you all will take this sound advice into consideration when evaluating the best credit product for you and your family. Cheers and Best Wishes for a safe financial future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid Avoid Avoid!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 8hours on 13/10/2013

I was until recently an account holder with this "organisation". As I was going on holiday and knew that I would be away when both my statement arrived and the payment was due I went on to the website and made a payment prior to departure. On my next statement I was charged a late payment default fee and interest. When I asked why I was told that I had breached the terms and conditions by paying early. Apparantly payments can only be made between certain set dates. So remember to check your holiday arrangements are OK with MBNA before booking!!! What nonsense - so you do the right thing and ensure a payment is made each month and this is the reaction of this "bank". When I spoke to them they eventually said they would waive the default fee but when I asked to speak to a manager I was told the manager was busy on other things - too busy to speak to a customer??? Paid off the balance less the default fee and interest - they can see me in Court for the rest - bring it on!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Dreadful customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/09/2013

I've been a customer for many years, and have multiple cards with different companies. Typically, I pay off my cards in full each month. I had a basic query, and just had the most awful, frustrating customer service imaginable. It is such a sharp contrast to American Express. I'm going to end my account. I just hate the idea of them profiting from me. This is my first ever customer review - only mbna managed to get me so rattled to do it...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Don't get involved with these people”

★☆☆☆☆

written by K5mbkj on 13/08/2013

Following closing an account and settling the balance on the same day, I subsequently moved house and find out 3 months later interest has been added, although a small amount it really hacked me off, not allowed to say worse. I called them to ask why and the response was very matter of fact and if I didn't pay this minuscule amount they would refer to a collection agency. Poor customer service, no way will I use these again, and they have had plenty out of me over time. Choose wisely, try Nat west I've found them excellent .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“0% turns out higher than 19.95%”

★☆☆☆☆

written by guest1345453 on 18/05/2013

I thought of carrying out some improvements around the house so I decided to apply for the 0% MBNA Master card.. Got approved, transferred the money (with 1% commission fee) and used it wisely. Two-three months later noticed an interest charge on the statement. Called in…turns out I was late by 1 day to pay the minimum payment, ok, possibly delay thru online banking, possibly I did not consider weekends or whatever it may be. Anyway, the operator told me ‘don’t worry, I am going to reverse the interest charge and everything is going to be ok”. I m all confident and happy, receiving another statement in 1 month period with not only old charge not removed, there is a new one! So I call back and the operator tells me ‘you were late with minimum payment, that’s why you lost your promotional fee’. I am not going to continue paying the interest, so I said tell me how to pay right now and I will pay it immediately to avoid any further interest. The operator gave me the estimated amount and I immediately paid it using the online banking. I obviously closed the account since I was frustrated with their service and misleading information. But it did not end there! Oh no! Turns out the operator estimated balance wrong and I overpaid by like $29. So I started receiving statements showing $29 credit although I specifically asked to close my account. It was a credit so I did not pay much attention to the statements and before I knew it, 12 months went by and I received a statement showing only $4 credit. Called their ‘customer service’ again and it turns out they have a fee of $25 for ‘active closed accounts’. To summarize: • The operator did not tell me that I lost my promotional fee and indicated that interest will be reversed – BAD AND MISLEADING CUSTOMER SERVICE • Credit on a closed account not being reimbursed – BAD BUSINESS • Charging a fee on a closed account – BAD BUSINESS. A courtesy phone call would be proper procedure. I am sure that if it was a negative account they would be all over me with phone calls several times per months. Never again will apply to any of MBNA cards and would not recommend their services to anybody. Considering many competitors that offer same and even better deals.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

J.conte's Response to guest1345453's Review

Written on: 31/10/2013

EXACTLY what they did to me! Not interested at all in helping, only concern was for the late fee and the interest. I have completely forgotten (senior moment) my AMEX payment and they actually reversed it simply because I asked, AMAZING customer service that will be rewarded with more of my business...
Stay away from MBNA - they don't give a **** about customers!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Patron101 on 26th June 2015 Report this content
After the 12 months period, is there another way to get the 0% back? Can I re-apply for it?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview