Bon Marche Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Bon Marche
★★★☆☆
2.6
46.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bon Marche - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Bon Marche

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Helpful”

★★★★★

written by Jochap on 18/02/2022

I visited the Torquay store today The manageress & her colleague extremely helpful and friendly Thankyou

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“gift vouchers”

★☆☆☆☆

written by noDalton16 on 23/01/2022

I bought some items online and part paid with a gift voucher. The items were returned through accidentally going to wrong address, however, the payment was cleared through my bank so they had the money, they could have issued me a credit note, especially since I ordered replacement items. But their rules say the money has to go back to the gift voucher, which obviously I didn't have nay more. apparently you're supposed to read the small print. So now they've just kept my money. nice racket! luckily, it was only a small amount, but it would have been the same if it was £100 or £200. Bad system.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent Staff Flowerland Bon Marche Iver Bucks”

★★★★★

written by Brigidnoone on 11/06/2017

I often visit Bon Marche at Flowerland Iver Buckinghamshire. I have voiced my STRONG UPSET at Bon Marche PRESSURISING their staff to get customers to complete reviews as it is HARRASSMENT of customers NOT by staff but vicariously by Bon Marche HQ. Today,(11June - Sunday), I visited that Store again and bought some lovely items. When I visit there on a Sunday, the same lady is almost always in attendance solo, she is just great.  .She has always been very nice, kind, helpful,effecient AND professional. She handed me an invitation to do an online survey with the opportunity of winning free outfits from Bon Marche. I told her that did not interest me, but as I have been so well looked after by her ALWAYS,(vigilant yet not intrusive),I told her that I would give feedback. Truthfully, I don't think Bon Marche appreciate how good and professional their staff AT THAT store are.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Wanted to buy plain £6 tee shirts as I do each year...”

★★☆☆☆

written by JamesonOrtiz110 on 27/05/2017

Wanted to buy plain £6 tee shirts as I do each year size has been changed from small -ex large they are now 12-24 and much smaller sizes come on Bon marche let's go back to the original sizing I can no longer buy my favourite t shirts and I have heard the same comments from other members and I buy and love your clothes and the assistants are brilliant in gravesend and art dartford

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“horrible”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Edithp415 on 24/05/2017

What a horrible Nottingham store. Bad management and like a jumble sale. How she became a manager is anyone's guess. Will shop elsewhere in future as the clothes Are poor quality in comparison to even primark!! Donot recommend at all.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Better fashion”

★★★☆☆

written by on 21/04/2017

Iv shopped at Bon march for a long time from being in my twenties .even then some of the clothes were for older people.but when David Emmanuel collection came in it was fashion for every one.iv moved from my home town to midlands but iv found fashion as gone back to been for more older people again I'm not young now but not old and would like more up to date fashion not short tea shirts longer tops nice denim skirts but not short .i will never stop shopping there but please up date fashion

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor reward for loyalty”

★★☆☆☆

written by 63Cochran on 30/12/2016

Customers are given Spend & Save cards which are stamped by the till staff for each £5 you spend instore. When a card is full with ten stamps you present it to get £5 off a purchase. My wife filled up three such cards during the year but when she handed them over for part payment on a garment she was told she could only use one card per item (I witnessed this). Her response was to choose two cheap accessories that she only had to pay a tiny bit extra for with the cards, that way she got all of the discount she was entitled to in one go.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible returns service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AnnaLouisa on 09/04/2016

I ordered 3 shrugs which arrived quickly but one had a hole at the shoulder. After reading the returns policy which said I had to pay for return postage I drove to my nearest store, paid for parking and obtained the refund from the store but was told I couldn't order a replacement from the shop, it had to be online again and also would have to pay the postage again. Collecting instore means petrol and parking costs incur. The current policy means no free replacement for faulty items. Beware!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Stopped shopping at Bonmarche”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DominikHahn on 25/03/2016

I wanted to purchase the dust coat (David Emmanual design) I required in my size. I went into Doncasters store and they did not have it in my size. 

I asked when will you have this in stock (remember this is a new range so all sizes should be available) ''they did not know and didn't bother to find out) told me same as the online ''live chat'',  for me to try this item on I would have to order it and pay for it first!

Remember I need to try two sizes on to see which is best so I would have to order and pay for two coats just to try them on. 

This is a ridiculous policy who buys clothes just to try them on Bonmarche? You should not be advertising you have all sizes. 

I traveled to the store for coats you did not have in at all, and not for the first time. Doncaster store has bad management. Going to go elsewhere now, terrible service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Poor customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by sthill on 08/03/2016

Paid for goods on line £3.99 for quick delivery .they arrived 8 days later following my complaint through PayPal. No apology or reason given. Bonmarche have finally agreed to give me back my £3.99 but I think that is only because of paypals involvement. Terrible customer service and communication. Never again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Bad service.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ShoppingNanna on 27/01/2016

I went to the store in Caerphilly, South Wales, and picked up various items amounting to £70 or so. When I went to the till, an assistant was serving an elderly lady, and the lady was quite chatty and was returning items. She also had mislaid her loyalty card. This particular assistant ( serving the elderly woman ) was polite and patient. I had no problem with her, but another assistant came out from the back of the shop, She must have seen me waiting to be served, she was no more than 4 feet away, she totally ignored the till. She was adjusting some trousers, and after an awkward couple of minutes, the nice assistant asked the other one to assist her by serving me. Her response was that she would come and serve me, but with a sigh and showing some OBVIOUS irritation. She didn't stop fiddling with the trousers, then announced that " the thing is, I've left the steamer on." The other assistant backed down and said " oh o.k. " Then the girl who was serving had trouble with the till, she asked the ' trouser organising ' woman to help her.. They battled the till, then as the one assistant carried on with the elderly woman, the other one totally ignored me AGAIN, and went back to the precious trousers. I had worked out that I could have been served twice in this time. I put my items on the counter and said I was no longer going to purchase them. I explained my dissatisfaction, and walked away, as I did the one assistant, shouted " I had the steamer on " I said that I was a customer and should have come first. Then I left. I was in a hurry, my daughter was with me, she was anxious because her baby who was in a pram was teething. I believe that the one assistant was ignorant and rude. I will not be going back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Bad Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by hlKent178 on 17/02/2015

Bought a top in Hounslow store, within 2 days went to exchange with the smaller size, the shop assistants were so rude and said the top smells like curry, it was not smelling at all.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No Information Received!!!”

★★☆☆☆

written by Debbie1966 on 19/01/2015

I ordered two items online on the 27th December, to be collected at my local store. As stated on their website, I was meant to be informed when it left dispatch and when it arrived in the store. I received no information for over two weeks,despite emailing Customer Services on three occasions. If I hadn't contacted the store directly myself, I would have never known that my items were ready for collection. Very disappointing that Bon Marche couldn't be bothered to answer any of my emails or even do what they were supposed to ( according to their own website)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Plougonvernumber2's Response to Debbie1966's Review

Written on: 11/02/2015

Yes i have had the same treatment , emailed a question on 24 /01 /2015 no reply
!
phoned on Monday 9/02/2015 left my phone number ! no one had the courtesy to email or phone back ! Terrible customer services! Also awful customer service in Burgess Hill Branch today because i needed a refund for an item that i ordered on line ! , but i did end up buying 2 pairs of jeans in the shop , may have to vote with my feet ! Bon marche invest in some customer service training at head office and branch level !!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I was given a top from bonmarch for xmas the price tag...”

★★☆☆☆

written by 233Flores on 31/12/2014

I was given a top from bonmarch for xmas the price tag was cut off as it was a present it is to big for me I took it back to shop in sheerness and they wouldnt change it as the tag was missing rubbish who gives a present with price tag on it I will never go in that shop again now I will have to take it to a charity shop hopemy granddaughter understands

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BEWARE OF CODE OFFERING 20% DISCOUNT”

★☆☆☆☆

written by sheilabutler17 on 29/11/2014

Bonmarch are stating that they are offering 20% off everything from their online store and also from their flyers mailed and emailed but this is not correct. I attempted to make a purchase using the code but it did not take 20% off of everything. Please make sure that you check your discount.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Terrible Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 29/07/2014

I visited this particular store at Hounslow High Street today. I was busy browsing through their collection when one of the staff member pointed out humbly to me about the unattended ceiling work above me. She also pointed out at the "wet floor" sign board put down on the floor to indicate the unattended ceiling work. i said thanks for her concern and continued with my shopping when i heard somebody commenting. it was the store lady saying commenting loudly that why cant the customers cant see the sign board displayed on the floor. i chose to ignore her remark when i heard her saying that the customers visiting the store need to be given the "specsavers" coupons to help them look better around. i was utterly shocked at the kind of remark passed at me just for being more engrossed in shopping than being all geared and alert for the "danger zone". So next time if anyone is going to the shop please dont forget ur safety gears or else the store lady might pass another remark at u....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Beware of buying”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 162Andrews on 04/06/2014

Beware when you purchase clothes from Bon Marche. Whilst on holiday near Chippenham I bought one skirt and two tops totalling £72.50p. When I got home I had to refold the tops due to storage space and on doing so noticed that there were several small marks on the plain top. Unfortunately I had removed the tags but had the card and till receipt. When I returned to the shop the assistant had a job to notice the marks and I had to point them out to her. She politely informed me that because I had removed the tags then she could not refund or replace. When I challenged this I was further informed that I could have worn the top. This was in front of several more customers and very embarrassing. I had purchased the clothes on Monday afternoon and returned the top on Wednesday lunchtime and had certainly NOT worn the top. The Assistant Manager was called, examined the top and in the process with her finger had caused one of the marks to snag. She further supported what the assistant had said and refused to refund or replace. Not the policy of other stores so take my advice and see that the assistant thoroughly checks whatever you purchase from Bon Marche before you buy it. Don't get caught or better still don't shop there as I will be advising my friends not to do. Disgusted and humiliated I left the top on the counter and left. Never again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bon Marche, Market Harborough”

★★★★☆

written by Jeffery337 on 24/03/2014

The shop in Market Harborough is lovely and the staff are very pleasant, but you urgently need to install another till, one till is nowhere near adequate for the amount of customers, I have lost track of the times I have put my purchases back and walked due to the length of queues and time it takes to get through the till, it's a shame as the quality of the clothes are first class - Bon Marche please take note, install another till before you lose customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Refunds policy”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ladybag1 on 06/01/2014

Item ref: SOO28086043LAV95 - Purchased this jumper for a gift at Christmas. My daughter was thrilled and wore it on Boxing Day whilst out at a sports event. When she took off her coat it was covered in fluff from the jumper. She decided it would be better after the first wash which she did the next day. Unfortunately the jumper is still the same making it impossible to wear. I took it back today with the receipt and was told it wasn't faulty just the type of material!!! and was refused a refund. Not happy and will not use the shop again. The assistant admitted her daughter has one with the same problem not that it helps me with £24 out of pocket. I will be making contact with head office to see if this is how they run their business. Need to have a warning about this material on the garment.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by whites2088 on 17/05/2013

I purchased 2 pairs of trousers on line and after a couple of wears noticed problems with the stitching on both. I emailed customer service and received 2 rude replies neither offered any apology. I had to return items at my own expense and wait until they had inspected them. This company needs training in good customer service. Shame they have lost a customer and I really like some of their clothes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Janet4449 on 20th April 2016 Report this content
Has anybody else had gift vouchers given them and then find you can't use them online or over the phone? I want a skirt and top which for some reason is not in the shop (not an online exclusive) but I cannot purchase them because Bon Marche are still in the dark ages and customer service should be renamed. Unhelpful to customers.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview